DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4 are currently pending.
Claims 1-4 are being examined in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, the recitation of “Beauveria bassiana” on line 4 should be italicized.
Claim 3, the recitation of “Beauveria bassiana” on line 1 should be italicized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellar et al (US 2016/0270407 A1; 9/22/2016.).
The instant claims recite an insecticidal method comprising a step of treating soil or a plant with a microbial insecticide formulation, wherein said formulation comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of a Beauveria bassiana KNU-101 strain deposited under accession number: KCTC 13660BP, a culture of the strain, a concentrate of the culture, and a dried product of the culture, as an ingredient.
Kellar teaches a method for controlling one or more pest with a biopesticide comprising contacting a plant or plant part with one or more of the biopesticides (para 0321), or treating a soil with one or more of the biopesticides (para 0322), wherein said one or more of the biopesticides comprises a Beauveria bassiana strain (para 0083-0084), said biopesticides may be used as a pesticide directly from a culture medium or subject to purification and/or further processing steps (para 0091), said one or more pest comprises thrips (para 0308, 0319), and said biopesticides retain a sufficient effective amount of activity when used (para 0080). The biopesticide may be in the form of granule (para 0067-0068).
Kellar does not teach the claimed Beauveria bassiana strain having the claimed accession number (claim 1).
However, Kellar does teach said one or more biopesticides comprises a Beauveria bassiana strain, and said one or more biopesticides controls pests including thrips. Hence, Kellar’s strain and the claimed strain exhibit same characteristics – having insecticidal activity against thrips. Therefore, the reference strain would nevertheless have rendered the claimed strain obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of the clear, close relationship between the strains as evidenced by their belonging to the same species and their essential characteristics. Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Kellar’s strain for other Beauveria bassiana strains such as the claimed strain for the predictable result of controlling one or more pest.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kellar et al (US 2016/0270407 A1; 9/22/2016.) as applied to claims 1-2 and 4 above, further in view of Nunez-Gaona et al (Braz. Arch. Biol. Technol. 2010;53(4):771-777.).
Kellar does not teach the culture medium comprises a mixture of water and bran (claim 3).
However, Kellar does teach said one or more biopesticides may be produced in a liquid culture media or a solid culture media fermentation process, the media comprises yeast extract and glycerol (para 0090), and said fermentation process is well known in the art (para 0091). Nunez-Gaona teaches a fermentation process comprising culturing a Beauveria bassiana strain in a medium comprises a mixture of water and bran (p.772 col left – para 3-4).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate water and bran, since Kellar discloses that fermentation process of one or more biopesticides including Beauveria bassiana is well known in the art, and Nunez-Gaona discloses that water and bran are routinely incorporated in a Beauveria bassiana culture. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate water and bran, with a reasonable expectation for successfully controlling one or more pest.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759