CTNF 19/057,146 CTNF 88147 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (lDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over the Chinese application No. 109828610 B to LIU et al. (employing the provided machine translation and hereafter “ LIU ”), in view of WIPO Patent Publication No. WO 2005008567 A1 to KIM et al. (hereafter “ KIM ”) . Regarding claim 1 , LIU teaches an image capturing apparatus (Fig. 1: a long-distance target tracking system) comprising: a first camera ( Fig. 1: a long-focus camera 4 ) ; and a second camera ( Fig. 1: short-focus-camera 5 ) having an image capturing angle of view that is a wider angle than an image capturing angle of view for the first camera ( Fig. 1, pg. 4/16: the long-focus camera 4 viewing angle is very narrow than the short-focus-camera 5 ); wherein the image capturing apparatus is configured to rotationally drive the first camera and the second camera in the same rotational direction in joint operation with each other ( pg. 5/16, Steps S1 to S4, the controller controls the first motor drives the first turntable 2 on the supporting table 1 to rotate, the first turntable 2 drives the short focus camera 5 to rotate, the short focus camera the target image capture the visual angle range of inside and sending to the controller, the controller stores the target image to the storage module, the first rotary table 2 drives the upper second rotary table 3 to rotate together with the long focus 4 camera ). LIU does not teach to make a rotational speed of the first camera larger than a rotational speed of the second camera. However, KIM discloses to make a rotational speed of the first camera larger than a rotational speed of the second camera ( Fig. 1, pg. 9 lines 3-5: pan/tilt unit 124 of the narrow field of view device 120 has a high speed and precise rotation function for acquiring the image target ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the step to make a rotational speed of the first camera larger than a rotational speed of the second camera as taught by KIM into LIU imaging device. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to track a moving subject so as to keep the subject centered while panning or tilting through the wide angle view. Regarding claim 2 , LIU and KIM combination teaches the image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, in addition LIU discloses further comprising: a pedestal unit (Fig. 1: supporting table 1); and a movable unit for which a first rotational drive is possible in relation to the pedestal unit ( Fig. 1: a first motor driving a first rotating table 2 to rotate the short-focus camera 5 ); wherein a second rotational drive is possible for the first camera in relation to the movable unit ( Fig. 1: a second motor driving the second turntable 3 to rotate the long-focus camera 4 ). Regarding claim 10 , LIU and KIM combination teaches the image capturing apparatus according to claim 1, in addition LIU discloses wherein the rotational drive comprises at least one of a pan drive, and a tilt drive ( Fig. 1: the first motor is controlled by the controller to rotate, the first turntable 2 top part rotatably connect with a second turntable 3, the second turntable 3 is fixedly mounted with a long-camera 4, a long-camera 4 and short-focus camera the optical axis 5 are parallel to each other through a gasket, the first turntable 2 is inside with a second motor driving the second turntable 3 to rotate ). Regarding claim 11 , Method claim 11 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 11, corresponds to apparatus claim 1, is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above . 07-21 AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over the LIU and KIM combination as applied above , in view of Examiner’s Official Notice . Regarding claims 12 , although the wording is different, the material is considered substantively equivalent to the material associated with claims 1 or 11, as discussed above, except a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store a computer program. Nevertheless, Official Notice is taken regarding embodying/translating the functionality associated with a circuitry-based apparatus as/into a program stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium; a concept that is well-known and accepted in the camera art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have embodied the steps taught by LIU being stored as an instruction on non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in order to allow for portability of the functionality; i.e., downloading it to a plurality of cameras being manufactured or downloading it to add to existing firmware functionality to a similar device . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Contact 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE whose telephone number is (571)270-7204 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.usp to. gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ye Lin can be reached on 571-272-7372 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 . /ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/057,146 Page 2 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/057,146 Page 3 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/057,146 Page 4 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/057,146 Page 5 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/057,146 Page 6 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/057,146 Page 7 Art Unit: 2638