DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of in the reply filed on 9/8/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the various ceramic precursors are not mutually exclusive and all the species are part of the group silicon oxy carbide. This is not found persuasive. Silicone carbide, silicon aluminum oxynitride, silicon carbon nitride are all outside of this group. Furthermore, several of these material have different classification see various subgroups of C04B35/50+. Applicant makes no argument in regards to the election of species applied between 9-12 and 13-16, so the examiner infers that applicant at least thinks that
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/8/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “power” appears to a typographical error and was intended to read “powder.” Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 15, 17, 20, 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12074326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 1, the content of this claim is recited in claims 8 and 15 of 12074326.
As to claim 3, the content of this claim is recited in claims 20 of 12074326.
As to claim 4, the content of this claim is recited in claims 15 of 12074326.
As to claims 5 and 6, the content of this claim is recited in claims 15 of 12074326.
As to claim 7, the content of this claim is recited in claim 20 and 21 of 12074326.
As to claim 8, the content of this claim is recited in claim 17 of 12074326
The examiner notes selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, see MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Claims 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 12074326 in view of Easter (US 2021/0296652). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claims 9-11, 12074326 does not explicitly claim the content of these claims.
Easter teaches a method of making lithium ion battery anodes [Abstract. ]Easter teaches milling the electrically conductive ceramic composite to form a powder [0036]; and prelithiating the powder to form a prelithiated composite anode of a lithium ion battery [0041]. Easter teaches the prelithiated composite anode comprises activated sites for attachment of lithium ions phrased as “an anode of a lithium ion battery” [0009, 0041]. Easter teaches the prelithiating comprises forming the powder into an anode and precycling the anode through repeated charge - discharge cycles to form the prelithiated composite anode of the lithium ion battery [0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of 12074326 and included the contents of claims 9-11, as suggested by Easter, as this had demonstrated success at creating a lithium anode. Moreover, this was just combining prior art element according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 2, 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim of U.S. Patent No. 12074326 in view of Yu (Hydrothermal Synthesis of Cellulose-Derived Carbon Nanospheres from Corn Straw as Anode Materials for Lithium ion Batteries). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
As to claim 2, 12074326 does not explicitly claim the content of this claim.
Yu teaches a method of making lithium ion batteries [Abstract] wherein a waste material corn straw which is a lignocellulose (a polysaccharide) waste byproduct [Introduction, page 1] is dried [Page 2 Materials and Methods or the dehydration process Page 3 Results] put through a hydrothermal carbonization process as this was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance”[Introduction Page 2]. This material and preparation also resulted in optimal reactive sites for lithiation [Conclusion, Page 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Easter and including a drying process for preparing the bioderived carbon that resulted in graphitic carbon having optimal specific surface area regions within the electrically conductive ceramic composite electrode of the battery, as suggested by Yu, as these materials and preparation method was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” ” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance” and resulting in optimal reactive sites for lithiation.
As to claim 17-20, 12074326 does not explicitly state the claim the content of these claims.
Yu teaches a method of making lithium ion batteries [Abstract] wherein a waste material corn straw which is a lignocellulose (a polysaccharide) waste byproduct [Introduction, page 1] is put through a hydrothermal carbonization process as this was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance”[Introduction Page 2]. This material and preparation also resulted in optimal reactive sites for lithiation [Conclusion, Page 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Easter and included a polysaccharide waste product prepared by hydrothermal carbonization, as suggested by Yu, as these materials and preparation method was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” ” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance” and resulting in optimal reactive sites for lithiation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, optimization requires determining maximizing an output parameter by varying input parameters, unclear what input parameters are required to be varied. So it is unclear how one of ordinary skill in the art would determine an “optimal” value. For purposes of examination, the examiner has assumed that optimal merely meant “more than otherwise.”
Unclear what the term “macerating” means in the context of claims 7 and 8 as macerating typically involves soaking/immersing a substance in another, but as this step must be prior to mixing it is unclear how it would be accomplished.
The examiner notes that [0044] of applicant’s specification notes the macerating process may utilize chopping and milling. Though from this paragraph it is unclear if those elements alone would constitute macerating or not. For the purpose of examination the examiner has assumed that macerating is any milling or comminution process.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “macerating” in claim 8 is used by the claim to mean “milling” to the extent the examiner can determine, while the accepted meaning is “immersing.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Unclear what the term “precarbonizing” means in the context of claim 8 as precarbonizing typically refers to a heat treatment applied to coal but could just mean added carbon source.
For purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner has assumed either case would meet the claim.
Unclear exactly what is intended by “precycling,” the examiner understands that a cycle in the context of batteries is a charge/discharge cycle and these make up the lifetime of the battery. However, the examiner does not understand what applicant exactly intends by precycling. What making how does cycling differ from precycling.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Silicon carbon nitride and silicon carbide do not contain oxygen and thus do not contain all the limitations of claim 4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Easter (US 2021/0296652).
As to claim 1, Easter teaches a method for making a ceramic composite electrode comprises: selecting a bioderived carbon (coal) compatible with a polymer derived ceramic resin [Abstract, 0009-0010], wherein the carbon material of the bioderived carbon is derived from a biological source (coal is formed from ancient decayed plant matter) [0009-0010]; mixing the bioderived carbon with the polymer derived ceramic precursor to form a mixture of the bioderived carbon and the polymer derived ceramic precursor [0011]; and pyrolyzing the mixture such that the mixture forms a silicon oxycarbide (SiOC) ceramic composite in the form of an electrically conductive ceramic composite electrode of a battery [0010, 0011].
As to claim 2, Easter teaches the bioderived carbon is dried at a temperature phrased as calcining, prior to the step of mixing, such that the resulting bioderived carbon is a porous graphitic carbon having optimal specific surface area regions within the electrically conductive ceramic composite electrode of the battery [0036].
As to claim 3, Easter teaches a step of milling the electrically conductive ceramic composite to form a power [0045, 0028-0029] and forming the powder into the electrically conductive ceramic composite electrode of the battery [Claim 21, 22].
As to claim 4, Easter teaches the polymer derived ceramic precursor is a resin comprised of silicon, oxygen and carbon [0026-0029].
As to claim 5, Easter teaches the polymer derived ceramic precursor is comprised of a silicon oxycarbide [0036], silicon carbon nitride, silicon titanium oxycarbide, silicon aluminum oxycarbide, silicon-aluminum oxynitride, silicon carbide or mixtures thereof.
As to claim 6, Easter teaches polymer derived ceramic precursor is comprised of silicon oxycarbide [0036].
As to claim 7, Easter teaches comprising a step of macerating phrased as milling the bioderived carbon prior to the step of mixing [0036].
As to claim 9, Easter teaches milling the electrically conductive ceramic composite to form a powder [0036]; and prelithiating the powder to form a prelithiated composite anode of a lithium ion battery [0041].
As to claim 10, Easter teaches the prelithiated composite anode comprises activated sites for attachment of lithium ions phrased as “an anode of a lithium ion battery” [0009, 0041].
As to claim 11, Easter teaches the prelithiating comprises forming the powder into an anode and precycling the anode through repeated charge - discharge cycles to form the prelithiated composite anode of the lithium ion battery [0038].
As to claim 19, Easter teaches the step of selecting includes selection to obtain oxygen- containing functional groups from a list of functional groups including hydroxyl, carbonyl, carboxyl groups and combinations thereof being created after the step of pyrolyzing as Easter notes “hydrogen and an inert gas, for example, may be utilized to modify the content of oxygen and/or carbon from the surface of the material and open pores” hence oxygen containing function groups are present on the surface [0032-0034, 0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easter (US 2021/0296652).
As to claim 8, Easter teaches comprising at least partially precarbonizing the bioderived carbon phrased as calcining prior to the step of mixing [0036] or adding carbon [0032, 0033].
From the phrasing in Easter it is ambiguous if the calcining or adding carbon if before, after, or during milling prior to the step of mixing. However, selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results, see MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
As to claim 12, Easter teaches precycling [0038] and notes that the material can be reformed and printed into a more complex shape [0035, 0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and had reforming into the anode occur after precycling, as suggested by Easter, in order to reform the anode material into a more complex shape.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easter (US 2021/0296652) in view of Marcus (US 2022/0093985). note this is an alternative rejection of claim 12.
As to claim 12, Easter teaches precycling [0038] and notes that the material can be reformed and printed into a more complex shape [0035, 0038]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention and had reforming into the anode occur after precycling, as suggested by Easter, in order to reform the anode material into a more complex shape.
In the alternative, Marcus teaches a method of making electrode materials for use in batteries [Abstract] wherein post-recycled electrodes, an electrode that has be previously subjected to multiple cycles [Fig 4, 5, Claim 24] which allows for anodes to be “made from low cost starting materials” [0010] and anodes made from reforming these materials have improved life cycle [0015-0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Easter and precycled the anode and reformed, as suggested by Marcus, in order to form an anode from cheaper materials that had a longer life cycle.
Claims 2, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easter (US 2021/0296652) in view of Yu (Hydrothermal Synthesis of Cellulose-Derived Carbon Nanospheres from Corn Straw as Anode Materials for Lithium ion Batteries). Note this is an alternative rejection of claims 2 and 19.
As to claim 2, Easter teaches the bioderived carbon is dried at a temperature phrased as calcining, prior to the step of mixing, such that the resulting bioderived carbon is a porous graphitic carbon having optimal specific surface area regions within the electrically conductive ceramic composite electrode of the battery [0036].
Alternatively, Yu teaches a method of making lithium ion batteries [Abstract] wherein a waste material corn straw which is a lignocellulose (a polysaccharide) waste byproduct [Introduction, page 1] is dried [Page 2 Materials and Methods or the dehydration process Page 3 Results] put through a hydrothermal carbonization process as this was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance”[Introduction Page 2]. This material and preparation also resulted in optimal reactive sites for lithiation [Conclusion, Page 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Easter and including a drying process for preparing the bioderived carbon that resulted in graphitic carbon having optimal specific surface area regions within the electrically conductive ceramic composite electrode of the battery, as suggested by Yu, as these materials and preparation method was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance” and resulting in optimal reactive sites for lithiation.
As to claim 17-20, Easter does not explicitly state preparing polysaccharides as the source of carbon for the bioderived carbon, the polysaccharides are a waste product, or there is a step of hydrothermal carbonization of the bioderived carbon prior to the step of mixing.
Yu teaches a method of making lithium ion batteries [Abstract] wherein a waste material corn straw which is a lignocellulose (a polysaccharide) waste byproduct [Introduction, page 1] is put through a hydrothermal carbonization process as this was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance”[Introduction Page 2]. This material and preparation also resulted in optimal reactive sites for lithiation ie functional groups [Conclusion, Page 10]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Easter and included a polysaccharide waste product prepared by hydrothermal carbonization, as suggested by Yu, as these materials and preparation method was “a simple operation process [with] mild synthesis conditions” that resulted in “excellent conductivity and rate performance” and resulting in optimal reactive sites for lithiation.
Conclusion
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759