DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, line 3 “during standby operation . ,”. The period “.” has to be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoscovich et al. (US 10,153,685 B2)).
Yoscovich et al. disclose a power ripple compensation in Figures 1-46.
Regarding claim 1. A power converter module (Figure 1D) comprising: multiple switching elements (S1A-S1B) including a first switching element (S1A), a second switching element (S2A), a third switching element (S2B), and a fourth switching elements (S1B);- wherein the first switching element is coupled between a first terminal of the power converter module (+) and a first capacitor node (the node between S1A and S2A),- wherein the second switching element (S2A) is coupled between the first capacitor node (the node between S1A and S2A) and a switching node (the node between S2A and S2B),- wherein the third switching (S2B) element is coupled between the switching node (the node between S2A and S2B) and a second capacitor node (the node between S2B and S1B) ,- wherein the fourth switching element (S1B) is coupled between the second capacitor node (the node between S2B and S1B) and a reference node (GND), and- the power converter module further including a flying capacitor (C2) coupled between the first capacitor node (the node between S1A and S2A) and the second capacitor node (the node between S2B and S1B), wherein the power converter module is configured to, in standby operation, alter a flying capacitor voltage across the flying capacitor by switching at least two switching elements of the multiple switching elements (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49).
Regarding claim 2. The power converter module (Figure 1D) according to claim 1, wherein - substantially no current flows between the first terminal of the power converter (+) and the switching node (the node between S2A and S2B),-) during standby operation., and- substantially no current flows between the switching node and the reference node during standby operation (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49)
Regarding claim 3. The power converter module according to claim 1 further comprising: an inductor (L) coupled between the switching node (the node between S2A and S2B),- and a second terminal of the power converter module (GND), wherein substantially no current flows through the inductor during standby operation.
Regarding claim 4. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to alter the flying capacitor voltage (C2) by dissipating charges which are stored at output capacitances of the at least two switching elements (S2A and S2B),- .
Regarding claim 5. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to control switching (Figure 3, 10) of the at least two switching elements based on a difference between the flying capacitor voltage (C2) and a setpoint voltage (see col. 10, lines 16-30).
Regarding claim 6. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to alter the flying capacitor voltage (C2) by alternatingly turning on one of the at least two switching elements (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49).
Regarding claim 7. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to alternatingly turn on the second switching element and the third switching element to decrease a magnitude of the flying capacitor voltage (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49).
Regarding claim 8. The power converter module according claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to alternatingly turn on the first switching element (S1A) and the fourth switching element (S1B) to increase a magnitude of the flying capacitor voltage (C2) .
Regarding claim 9. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to determine a switching frequency based on a difference between the flying capacitor voltage (C) and a setpoint voltage, and wherein the power converter module is configured to alternatingly turn on one of the at least two switching elements using the switching frequency (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 30).
Regarding claim 10. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the power converter module is configured to alternatingly turn on one of the at least two switching elements (S1A, S2A, A1B, S2B) using a first switching frequency during a first condition in which a difference between the flying capacitor voltage and a setpoint voltage has a first value, wherein the power converter module is configured to alternatingly turn on one of the at least two switching elements (S1A, S2A, A1B, S2B) using a second switching frequency during a second condition in which a difference between the flying capacitor voltage and the setpoint voltage has second value, the second switching frequency in greater in magnitude than the first switching frequency, and wherein the second value is larger than the first value (see col. 4, line 45 to col. 5, line 30).
Regarding claim 11. The power converter module according to claim 1, wherein the flying capacitor (C2) is a first capacitor; and wherein the power converter module further comprises a second capacitor (C1) coupled between the first terminal of the power converter module (+) and the reference node (GND).
Regarding claim 12. A method of controlling a power converter module (Figure 1D) in standby operation, wherein the power converter module comprises four switching elements and a flying capacitor (C2, the method comprising - altering a flying capacitor (C2) voltage across the flying capacitor by switching at least two of the four switching elements (S1A, S2A, S2B, S1B) (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49).
Regarding claim 13. The method according to claim 12, comprising - altering the flying capacitor voltage (C2) by alternatingly turning on one of the at least two switching elements (S1A, S2A, S2B, S1B).
Regarding claim 14. A control circuit (Figure 1D, 3) configured to control switching of switching elements of a power converter module in standby operation, wherein the power converter module comprises four switching elements (S1A, S2A, S2B, S1B) and a flying capacitor (C), and wherein the control circuit (10) is configured to generate control signals for switching at least two of the four switching elements (S1A, S2A, S2B, S1B) such that a flying capacitor voltage across the flying capacitor is altered (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49).
Regarding claim 15. A computer program (Figure 1D, 3) comprising instructions which, when executed by one or more processors (10) of a control circuit, cause the control circuit to control a power converter module according to the method of claim 12 (see col. 5, line 21 to col. 6, line 49).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 12,549,098 B2) disclose a switched capacitor power converter circuitry operable in first and second modes.
Qui et al. (US 12,212,249 B1) disclose a two-step inverter for wireless power application.
Lim (US 12,155,299 B2) discloses a hybrid power converter with two phases control of flying capacitor balancing.
Deboy et al. (US 12,051,977 B2) disclose a multi-level power converter and control.
Hu et al. (US 11,689,094 B2) disclose an inductive flying capacitor converters and control techniques therefor.
Marxgut (US 2023/0138615 A1) disclose an auxiliary voltage supply for power converter and use thereof in vehicles.
Kidera et al. (US 2021/0367532 A1) disclose a power conversion device.
Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraphs in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although
the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to
specific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may apply
as well.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art is provided and made of record by the
Examiner, as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon.
The references are provided for the convenience of the applicant.
The Examiner request that the references be considered in any subsequent amendments, as they are also representative of the art and may apply to the specific limitations of any newly amended claim(s).
It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing amendments or responses, to
fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the
claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/or
disclosed by the Examiner.
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838