DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Specification, paragraph 0033, the component “bracket bolts 48” is absent from the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0031: The text “passage 87 of thefront support member” contains a grammatical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradley (US 20200406988 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bradley teaches “A fairing that is configured to be mounted to a surface of a trailer, the fairing comprising:
a first end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1);
a second end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1);
a main portion extending between the first end and the second end and defining a fairing interior, the main portion comprising:
a first end wall connected to the first end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1), and
a second end wall connected to the second end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1); and
a support member integrally formed within the fairing interior and extending between the first end wall and the second end wall (see Bradley, Figure 19, Annotation Set 1).”
Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1
Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 2, Bradley teaches “The fairing of claim 1, wherein the support member is a front support member;
and the fairing further comprises:
a rear support member integrally formed within the fairing interior and extending between the first end wall and the second end wall (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 1).”
Regarding claim 3, Bradley teaches “The fairing of claim 2, wherein the front support member and the rear support member are connected with a plurality of brace members (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 2).”
Regarding claim 4, Bradley teaches “The fairing of claim 1, wherein the support member includes:
a first end that is integrally formed with the first end wall (support rods engage the frame, which includes integral formation, Bradley, paragraph 0086), and
a second end that is integrally formed with the second end wall (support rods engage the frame, which includes integral formation, Bradley, paragraph 0086).”
Regarding claim 5, Bradely teaches “The fairing of claim 1, wherein the main portion defines a front end of the fairing that is connected to double-sided tape for attachment to the surface of the trailer (double sided tape attaches leading edge to trailer surface, see Bradley, paragraph 0085).”
Regarding claim 6, Bradley teaches “The fairing of claim 1, further comprising:
a first external bracket (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3); and
a second external bracket (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3);
wherein the fairing is configured to be attached to the surface of the trailer such that:
the first end of the fairing is between the first external bracket and the surface, and
the second end of the fairing is between the second external bracket and the surface (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3).”
Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baxter (US 20210001929 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Baxter teaches “A fairing that is configured to be mounted to a surface of a trailer, the fairing comprising:
a first end (see Baxter, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1);
a second end (see Baxter, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1);
a main portion extending between the first end and the second end and defining a fairing interior, the main portion comprising:
a first end wall connected to the first end (see Baxter, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1), and
a second end wall connected to the second end (see Baxter, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1); and
a support member integrally formed within the fairing interior and extending between the first end wall and the second end wall (see Baxter, paragraph 0032).”
Baxter, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 2, Baxter teaches “The fairing of claim 1, wherein the support member is a front support member;
and the fairing further comprises:
a rear support member integrally formed within the fairing interior and extending between the first end wall and the second end wall (see Baxter, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1).”
Baxter, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 3, Baxter teaches “The fairing of claim 2, wherein the front support member and the rear support member are connected with a plurality of brace members (see Baxter, Figure 8, Annotation Set 1).”
Baxter, Figure 8, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 4, Baxter teaches “The fairing of claim 1, wherein the support member includes:
a first end that is integrally formed with the first end wall (main portion of fairing surface includes first end wall, support members may be integrally formed with main portion of fairing surface, see Baxter, paragraph 0032), and
a second end that is integrally formed with the second end wall (main portion of fairing surface includes second end wall, support members may be integrally formed with main portion of fairing surface, see Baxter, paragraph 0032).”
Regarding claim 5, Baxter teaches “The fairing of claim 1, wherein the main portion defines a front end of the fairing that is connected to double-sided tape for attachment to the surface of the trailer (Double sided tape is connected to front end transition zone of fairing to fix the fairing to the trailer, see Baxter, paragraph 0041).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradley (US 20200406988 A1), in view of Ragan (US 12291285 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Bradley teaches “A fairing that is configured to be mounted to a surface of a trailer, the fairing comprising:
a first end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1);
a second end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1);
a main portion extending between the first end and the second end and defining a fairing interior, the main portion comprising:
a first end wall connected to the first end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1), and
a second end wall connected to the second end (see Bradley, Figure 17, Annotation Set 1).”
Bradley does not teach “a flexible attachment member within the fairing interior and connected to and extending between the first end wall and the second end wall.”
However, Ragan teaches “a flexible attachment member within the fairing interior and connected to and extending between the first end wall and the second end wall (see Ragan, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flexible retaining strap between fairing walls as taught by Ragan, into the fairing assembly taught by Bradley, to prevent the fairing outer walls from ripping away from the trailer under abnormal stress conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Ragan, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 8, Bradley, in view of Ragan, teaches “The fairing of claim 7, wherein the flexible attachment member is connected to the first end wall via a first attachment bracket; and
wherein the flexible attachment member is connected to the second end wall via a second attachment bracket.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flexible retaining strap between fairing walls as taught by Ragan, into the fairing assembly by fastening the ends of the retaining strap to the end wall brackets as taught by Bradley, to prevent the fairing outer walls from ripping away from the trailer under abnormal stress conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, Bradley, in view of Ragan, teaches “The fairing of claim 8, wherein the fairing is configured to be attached to the surface of the trailer such that:
the first end of the fairing is between the first external bracket and the surface (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3), and
the second end of the fairing is between the second external bracket and the surface (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3).”
Bradley, in view of Ragan, does not teach “further comprising:
a first external bracket attached to the first end wall of the fairing such that the first end wall is between the first external bracket and the first attachment bracket; and
a second external bracket attached to the second end wall of the fairing such that the second end wall is between the second external bracket and the second attachment bracket.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a separate bracket at which the flexible strap may be attached, so that the device may be installed with or without the flexible strap, whichever is preferred, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 10, Bradley, in view of Ragan teaches “The fairing of claim 8, wherein the flexible attachment member includes: a first loop that loops around the first attachment bracket; and a second loop that loops around the second attachment bracket (strap couples to attachment rings, therefore strap may utilize a loop, see Ragan, col. 2, ln. 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flexible retaining strap fastened between fairing wall connections via anchor loops as taught by Ragan, into the fairing assembly by fastening the ends of the retaining strap to the end wall brackets as taught by Bradley, to prevent the fairing outer walls from ripping away from the trailer under abnormal stress conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Bradley, in view of Ragan teaches “The fairing of claim 8, wherein the first attachment bracket includes a first cavity that retains a first end of the attachment member; and
wherein the second attachment bracket includes a second cavity that retains a second end of the attachment member (strap couples to attachment rings, therefore strap may utilize a plug that can be passed through the ring to be retained on the other side, see Ragan, col. 2, ln. 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flexible retaining strap fastened between fairing wall connections via anchor loops as taught by Ragan, into the fairing assembly by fastening the ends of the retaining strap to the end wall brackets as taught by Bradley, to prevent the fairing outer walls from ripping away from the trailer under abnormal stress conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12, Bradley, in view of Ragan teaches “The fairing of claim 7, wherein the flexible attachment member is at least one of a strap, a cable, a wire, or a rope (see Ragan, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flexible retaining strap (cord, strap, wire, and rope are all used interchangeably in this context) between fairing walls as taught by Ragan, into the fairing assembly taught by Bradley, to prevent the fairing outer walls from ripping away from the trailer under abnormal stress conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Bradley, in view of Ragan, teaches “The fairing of claim 7, further comprising:
a first external bracket (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3); and
a second external bracket (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3);
wherein the fairing is configured to be attached to the surface such that:
the first end of the fairing is between the first external bracket and the surface (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3), and
the second end of the fairing is between the second external bracket and the surface (see Bradley, Figure 21, Annotation Set 3).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the flexible retaining strap between fairing walls as taught by Ragan, into the fairing assembly taught by Bradley, to prevent the fairing outer walls from ripping away from the trailer under abnormal stress conditions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 allowed.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 14 is the inclusion of the claim of limitations directed to “a flexible attachment member threaded through a passage of the support member and connected to and extending between the right end wall and the left end wall.” Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record, rendering claim 14 allowable.
Claims 15-20 are also allowed by virtue of dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references disclose similar aerodynamic fairing components for transport trucks.
Nelson et al. (US 20140265434 A1)
Baxter (US 20210001929 A1)
/JRC/
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612