DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasu et al (U.S. Pub. 2015/0056423) in view of Roy Biswas et al (U.S. Pub. 2024/0098210) and Numata (U.S. Pub. 2021/0053370)
Regarding claim 1, an image forming apparatus comprising: a conveyor to convey a medium in a conveyance direction (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
A pretreatment liquid applier (20) to apply a pretreatment liquid onto the medium conveyed by the conveyor (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0031, 0037)
An image former (40) downstream from the pretreatment liquid applier in the conveyance direction, the image former to form a specific image on the medium on which the pretreatment liquid has been applied (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
A dryer (30) between the pretreatment liquid applier and the image former in the conveyance direction, the dryer to dry the pretreatment liquid applied onto the medium before the image former forms the specific image on the medium (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
Roy Biswas discloses an image reader downstream from the image former (the test charts will be scanned and read after the printing of a plurality of test charts, therefore the image reader will be downstream) in the conveyance direction, the image reader to read specific image on the medium to acquire a read image (Figure 2; Paragraph 0067)
Circuitry configured to determine an amount of the pretreatment liquid of the pretreatment liquid applier based on the read image acquired by the image reader (plurality of test charts will be scanned and used to determine a function between a color parameter and a treatment fluid; Figure 2)
Control the pretreatment liquid applier to apply the pretreatment liquid onto the medium for the amount of the pretreatment liquid determined based on the read image (plurality of color profiles for different levels of treatment fluid will be generated; Figure 2; Abstract; Paragraphs 0056-0067)
Numata discloses controlling the dryer to dry the pretreatment liquid on the medium according to the drying condition determined based on the read image (Figure 17; Paragraphs 0109-0113, 0124)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 2, Roy Biswas discloses the circuitry is further configured to control the pretreatment liquid applier to adjust the amount of the pretreatment liquid determined based on the read image (plurality of test charts will be scanned and used to determine a function between a color parameter and a treatment fluid; Figure 2; Paragraph 0067)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 3, Numata discloses wherein circuitry is configured to control the dryer to adjust the drying condition determined based on the read image (Figure 17; Paragraphs 0109-0113, 0124)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 4, Roy Biswas discloses the image includes solid images filled with different colors; and arranged adjacent to each other (Figure 3; Paragraph 0063)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 5, Roy Biswas discloses the solid image filled with different colors; having different densities; and arranged adjacent to each other (Figure 3; Paragraphs 0063, 0078)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 6, Roy Biswas discloses the solid image filled with solid colors; having different densities; and arranged according to a magnitude of density (Figure 3; Paragraph 0063)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 7, Roy Biswas discloses circuitry is further configured to determine a degree of color bleeding in a part of the specific image in which images filled with solid colors of different colors are arranged adjacent to each other (Paragraphs 0054, 0063)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 8, Roy Biswas discloses wherein the circuitry is configured to determine the degree of color bleeding based on a change amount of luminance values (measures a reflection or transmission property to measure color; Paragraph 0065) in the part of the specific image (Figure 2; Abstract; Paragraphs 0056-0067)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 9, Roy Biswas discloses circuitry is configured to determine the degree of color bleeding based on a width of an illuminance-changing area in which an luminance value of the part of the specific image changes (Figure 2; Abstract; Paragraphs 0056-0067)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 10, an image forming apparatus comprising: a pretreatment liquid applier (20) to apply a pretreatment liquid to a medium (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0031, 0037)
A dryer (30) to dry the pretreatment liquid applied to the medium (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
An image former (40) to form a specific image on the medium on which the pretreatment liquid has been dried (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
Convey the medium to the pretreatment liquid applier, the dryer, and the image former in this order (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
Convey the medium on which an image has been formed downstream in a conveyance direction (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
Roy Biswas discloses circuitry configured to control an amount of the pretreatment liquid; wherein the circuitry is configured determine a control condition of the pretreatment liquid applier in accordance with a determination result based on luminance values (measures a reflection or transmission property to measure color; Paragraph 0065) of read images; and control operations of the pretreatment liquid applier in accordance with the control condition (plurality of color profiles for different levels of treatment fluid will be generated; Figure 2; Abstract; Paragraphs 0056-0067)
Numata discloses controlling the dryer to dry the pretreatment liquid on the medium according to the drying condition determined based on the read image (Figure 17; Paragraphs 0109-0113, 0124)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Regarding claim 11, an image forming method comprising: applying a pretreatment liquid to a medium (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0031, 0037)
Drying the pretreatment liquid applied to the medium (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
Forming a specific image on the medium on which the pretreatment liquid has been dried, in this order while conveying the medium (Figure 1; Paragraph 0031)
Roy Biswas discloses reading an image including the specific image formed on the medium after the specific image is formed; and determining a control condition of the applying the pretreatment liquid in accordance with a determination result of color bleeding based on a luminance value (reflectance or transmission property to measure color) of the read image (plurality of color profiles for different levels of treatment fluid will be generated; Figure 2; Abstract; Paragraphs 0054, 0056-0067)
Numata discloses controlling the dryer to dry the pretreatment liquid on the medium according to the drying condition determined based on the read image (Figure 17; Paragraphs 0109-0113, 0124)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Roy Biswas and Numata into the device of Yasu, for the purpose of improving print quality by preventing bleeding and coalescing of the print agent
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 September 3, 2026