DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II in the reply filed on July 07, 2026 is acknowledged. Upon reconsideration, the examiner founds that the requirement for restriction is improper, therefore the requirement for restriction is withdrawn in whole and the Species I and II have been rejoined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obermayer et al. (US 20250015504 A1, hereinafter Obermayer) in view of Lee et al. (US 20180254544 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Obermayer (Figs. 1-2) discloses a radiating element (10), comprising:
a feed stalk (20) printed circuit board (22) that comprises a first radio frequency ("RF") transmission line and a second RF transmission line (regarding the first RF transmission line and the second RF transmission line, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer below);
a first dipole radiator that is coupled to the first RF transmission line, the first dipole radiator comprising a first dipole arm and a second dipole arm (regarding the first dipole radiator, the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer below); and
a second dipole radiator that is coupled to the second RF transmission line, the second dipole radiator comprising a third dipole arm and a fourth dipole arm (regarding the second dipole radiator, the third dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer below).
Obermayer does not disclose the limitation wherein a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm.
Lee (Figs. 2-3) teaches a radiating element (100) comprising a first dipole radiator and a second dipole radiator, the first dipole radiator comprising a first dipole arm and a second dipole arm, the second dipole radiator comprising a third dipole arm and a fourth dipole arm, (regarding the first dipole radiator, the second dipole radiator, the first dipole arm, the second dipole arm, the third dipole arm, and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Fig. 3 in Lee below); wherein a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm (regarding the amount of coupling, the conductive rod 150 disposed between the first and the third dipole arms increases the coupling between the first and
the third dipole arms as compared to the coupling between the first and the fourth dipole arms).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by adding a conductive rod disposed appropriately between the respective dipole arms as taught by Lee, so that a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm. This modification would provide a radiating element with an improved cross polarization ratio (see Lee, Fig. 4, [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach the limitation wherein a third amount of coupling between the second dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm exceeds a fourth amount of coupling between the second dipole arm and the third dipole arm.
Lee (Figs. 2-3) teaches an antenna (100) comprising a first dipole radiator and a second dipole radiator, the first dipole radiator comprising a first dipole arm and a second dipole arm, the second dipole radiator comprising a third dipole arm and a fourth dipole arm, (regarding the first dipole radiator, the second dipole radiator, the first dipole arm, the second dipole arm, the third dipole arm, and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Fig. 3 in Lee above); wherein a third amount of coupling between the second dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm exceeds a fourth amount of coupling between the second dipole arm and the third dipole arm (regarding the amount of coupling, the conductive rod 150 disposed between the second and the fourth dipole arms increases the coupling between the second and the fourth dipole arms as compared to the coupling between the second and the third dipole arms).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by adding a conductive rod disposed appropriately between the respective dipole arms as taught by Lee, so that a third amount of coupling between the second dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm exceeds a fourth amount of coupling between the second dipole arm and the third dipole arm. This modification would provide a radiating element with an improved cross polarization ratio (see Lee, Fig. 4, [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 1 as addressed above.
Obermayer (Figs. 1-2) further teaches the feed stalk (20) printed circuit board (22) is positioned between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm and between the second dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm (regarding the first dipole arm, the second dipole arm, the third dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer above).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 2 as addressed above.
Obermayer (Figs. 1-2) further teaches each of the first through fourth dipole arms is positioned next to two other of the first through fourth dipole arms.
The modified Obermayer does not teach the limitation wherein the first through fourth dipole arms together define a square when viewed from the front, with each of the first through fourth dipole arms having a first inner side and a second inner side that each extend outwardly from a center of the square and a first outer side and a second outer side that each define a respective portion of a periphery of the square.
However, in another embodiment (Figs. 13-14), Obermayer teaches a radiating element (10) comprising four dipole arms (12), wherein each of the first through fourth dipole arms is positioned next to two other of the first through fourth dipole arms so that the first through fourth dipole arms together define a square when viewed from the front, with each of the first through fourth dipole arms having a first inner side and a second inner side that each extend outwardly from a center of the square and a first outer side and a second outer side that each define a respective portion of a periphery of the square (regarding the first and second inner sides, the first and second outer sides, and the square defined by the dipole arms, see annotated Fig. 14 in Obermayer below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by substituting the dipole arms of the radiating element with the dipole arms of the embodiment as shown in Figs. 13-14 so that the first through fourth dipole arms together define a square when viewed from the front, with each of the first through fourth dipole arms having a first inner side and a second inner side that each extend outwardly from a center of the square and a first outer side and a second outer side that each define a respective portion of a periphery of the square. This modification would provide a radiating element having rotationally symmetrical dipole arms that may be used for operating in a specific frequency range (see Obermayer, [0107]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 4 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modification related to claim 4, further teaches each of the first through fourth dipole arms comprises a metal loop having an open interior (regarding the metal loop, see annotated Fig. 14 in Obermayer above).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 5 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modifications related to claims 1, 2, and 4, further teaches a difference between the first amount of coupling and the second amount of coupling is provided by a first capacitor (the capacitor formed between the metal rod 150 and the distal ends of the inner sides of the first and third dipole arms; it is well known in the art that conductive objects having induced electric charges and being in close proximity parallel to each other form a capacitor) that is provided between a distal end of the first inner side of the first dipole arm and a distal end of the second inner side of the third dipole arm (regarding the distal ends of the inner sides of the first and third dipole arms, see annotated Fig. 3 in Lee above).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 6 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modifications related to claims 1, 2, and 4, further teaches a difference between the third amount of coupling and the fourth amount of coupling is provided by a first capacitor (the capacitor formed between the metal rod 150 and the distal ends of the inner sides of the second and fourth dipole arms; it is well known in the art that conductive objects having induced electric charges and being in close proximity parallel to each other form a capacitor) that is provided between a distal end of the first inner side of the second dipole arm and a distal end of the second inner side of the fourth dipole arm (regarding the distal ends of the inner sides of the second and fourth dipole arms, see annotated Fig. 3 in Lee above).
Claims 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Obermayer as applied to claim 1 in view of Sun et al. (US 20230071050 A1, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 1 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach a base station antenna, where the radiating element is one of a plurality of lower frequency band radiating elements, and an array of higher frequency band radiating elements is mounted rearwardly of the radiating element.
Sun (Fig. 2) teaches a base station antenna (200), where a radiating element (224) is one of a plurality of lower frequency band radiating elements, and an array of higher frequency band radiating elements (an array of radiating elements 234, an array of radiating elements 244) is mounted rearwardly of the radiating element.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by integrating the radiating element of Obermayer within a base station antenna, where the radiating element is one of a plurality of lower frequency band radiating elements, and an array of higher frequency band radiating elements is mounted rearwardly of the radiating element as taught by Sun. This modification would provide a more compact (having a smaller footprint) base station antenna due to the overlap between radiating elements operating in different frequency bands (see Sun, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 9 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach first through fourth metal cloaking structures that overlap the respective first through fourth dipole arms, where the first through fourth metal cloaking structures are configured to render the respective first through fourth dipole arms substantially transparent to RF radiation emitted by the higher frequency band radiating elements.
Sun (Figs. 4C, 4D; [0100-0102, 0111-0116]) teaches a low-band radiating element (300) comprising first through fourth metal cloaking structures (350) that overlap the respective first through fourth dipole arms (330-1 to 330-4), where the first through fourth metal cloaking structures are configured to render the respective first through fourth dipole arms substantially transparent to RF radiation emitted by the higher frequency band radiating elements (Sun discloses: “The low-band radiating elements 224 according to embodiments of the present invention may be designed to be substantially transparent to RF energy emitted by the mid-band and high-band radiating elements 234, 244, 254.” ([0100]) and “FIGS. 4A-4F illustrate a low-band radiating element 300 according to embodiments of the present invention that may be used to implement the low-band radiating elements 224 of base station antenna 100.” ([0101]); Sun ([0116]) also discloses: “Thus, the dipole arms 330 may tend to allow low-band currents to flow thereon while suppressing formation of mid-band and high-band currents.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by substituting the existing low-band radiating element with the low-band radiating element of Sun so that first through fourth metal cloaking structures that overlap the respective first through fourth dipole arms, where the first through fourth metal cloaking structures are configured to render the respective first through fourth dipole arms substantially transparent to RF radiation emitted by the higher frequency band radiating elements. This modification would provide a more compact (having a smaller footprint) base station antenna due to the overlap between radiating elements operating in different frequency bands (see Sun, Fig. 2), wherein the undesired coupling of mid-band and/or high-band RF energy onto the low-band radiating elements may be significantly reduced (see Sun, [0100]).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 9 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach each of the first through fourth dipole arms comprises a metal loop having an open interior.
Sun (Figs. 4C) teaches a low-band radiating element (300), wherein each of the first through fourth dipole arms (330-1 to 330-4) comprises a metal loop (340) having an open interior.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by substituting the existing low-band radiating element with the low-band radiating element of Sun so that each of the first through fourth dipole arms comprises a metal loop having an open interior. This modification would provide a more compact (having a smaller footprint) base station antenna due to the overlap between radiating elements operating in different frequency bands (see Sun, Fig. 2).
Claims 43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obermayer (cited above) in view of Sun (cited above) and Lee (cited above).
Regarding claim 43, Obermayer (Fig. 1) discloses a radiating element (10), comprising:
a first dipole radiator that comprises a first dipole arm and a second dipole arm (regarding the first dipole radiator, the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm, see annotated Fig. 1 in Obermayer above), the first dipole radiator configured to transmit and receive electromagnetic radiation within a first operating frequency band (inherent – the first dipole radiator is a part of the radiating element 10); and
a second dipole radiator that comprises a third dipole arm and a fourth dipole arm (regarding the second dipole radiator, the third dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Fig. 1 in Obermayer above), the second dipole radiator configured to transmit and receive electromagnetic radiation within the first operating frequency band (inherent – the second dipole radiator is a part of the same radiating element 10).
Obermayer does not disclose the limitations wherein first through fourth metal cloaking structures that form resonant circuits with the respective first through fourth dipole arms, where the resonant circuits are configured to allow currents in the first operating frequency band to flow on the first through fourth dipole arms while blocking currents in a second operating frequency band from flowing on the first through fourth dipole arms, wherein a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm.
Sun (Figs. 4C-4E; [0111-0116]) teaches a radiating element operating in a first frequency band (a low-band radiating element 300) comprising first through fourth metal cloaking structures (350) that form resonant circuits (resonant circuits are formed by the coupling of the corresponding conductive paths 340 and 350 – see Figs. 4C and 4D) with the respective first through fourth dipole arms (330-1 to 330-4 – Fig. 4C), where the resonant circuits are configured to allow currents in the first operating frequency band to flow on the first through fourth dipole arms while blocking currents in a second operating frequency band from flowing on the first through fourth dipole arms (Sun,[0116], discloses: “Thus, the dipole arms 330 may tend to allow low-band currents to flow thereon while suppressing formation of mid-band and high-band currents.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by substituting the radiating element of Obermayer with the radiating element of Sun so that first through fourth metal cloaking structures form resonant circuits with the respective first through fourth dipole arms, where the resonant circuits are configured to allow currents in the first operating frequency band to flow on the first through fourth dipole arms while blocking currents in a second operating frequency band from flowing on the first through fourth dipole arms. This modification would provide a radiating element operating in a first band, wherein the undesired coupling of RF energy from a second operating band onto the radiating element may be significantly reduced (see Sun, [0100]).
The modified Obermayer does not teach the limitation wherein a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm.
Lee (Figs. 2-3) teaches a radiating element (100) comprising a first dipole radiator and a second dipole radiator, the first dipole radiator comprising a first dipole arm and a second dipole arm, the second dipole radiator comprising a third dipole arm and a fourth dipole arm, (regarding the first dipole radiator, the second dipole radiator, the first dipole arm, the second dipole arm, the third dipole arm, and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Fig. 3 in Lee above); wherein a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm (regarding the amount of coupling, the conductive rod 150 disposed between the first and the third dipole arms increases the coupling between the first and the third dipole arms as compared to the coupling between the first and the fourth dipole arms).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by adding a conductive rod disposed appropriately between the respective dipole arms as taught by Lee, so that a first amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm exceeds a second amount of coupling between the first dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm. This modification would provide a radiating element with an improved cross polarization ratio (see Lee, Fig. 4, [0046-0047]).
Regarding claim 45, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 43 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modification according to the teachings of Sun, further teaches each of the first through fourth metal cloaking structures forms a multi-stage resonant circuit (each resonant circuit comprises multiple pairs 360 of coupled transverse segments 348 and 358 - see Fig. 4E) with a respective one of the first through fourth dipole arms.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Obermayer as applied to claim 14 in view of Lai et al. (WO 2022062241 A1, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 14 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach the limitation wherein the metal loop of the first dipole arm includes a slot where the metal is omitted.
Lai (Fig. 16) teaches a radiating element comprising four dipole arms, wherein each of the first through fourth dipole arms comprises a metal loop having an open interior (regarding the first through fourth dipole arms, see annotated Fig. 16 in Lai below), wherein the metal loop of the first dipole arm includes a slot where the metal is omitted (regarding the slot, see annotated Fig. 16 in Lai below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer to form a slot in the metal loop of the first dipole arm where the metal is omitted as taught by Lai. This modification would provide a radiating element having a scattering suppression structure which can suppress the intensity of the scattered signal and reduce the impact on the impedance characteristics of the radiating element (see Lai-English translation, p. 2, second paragraph in the Summary of the Invention).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modification according to the teachings of Lai, further teaches the slot includes first and second slot segments that meet to define a right angle (regarding the first and second slot segments, see annotated Fig. 16 in Lai above).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modification according to the teachings of Lai, further teaches the slot is positioned adjacent an outer corner of the first dipole arm.
Regarding claim 18, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 15 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach the limitation wherein a length of the slot is a quarter wavelength of a frequency within an operating frequency band of the higher frequency band radiating elements.
Lai (Fig. 4) discloses changes in the length of the slot (hollowed-out groove 142), which is the same as the slot in Fig. 16, by changing the length of the conductor branch 143 in order to achieve the desired suppression of scattered signals (see Lai-English translation, p. 6, the paragraph referring to Fig. 4). Furthermore, the use of a quarter wavelength slots or notches for suppressing undesired induced currents on conductive surfaces is well-known in the art. A person skilled in the art knows that the induced current reflected at the end of a quarter wavelength slot (notch) would cancel the induced current at the starting point of the slot due to the 180-degree phase difference between the incoming current and the reflected current (the reflected current would travel a half wavelength path which would result in 180-degree accumulated phase), and, thus, the induced currents on a conductive surface having such slot would be greatly reduced/suppressed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer so that a length of the slot is a quarter wavelength of a frequency within an operating frequency band of the higher frequency band radiating elements. This modification would provide a low-band radiating element wherein induced currents at higher frequency bands are strongly suppressed. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCP A 1980).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Obermayer as applied to claim 14 in view of Enkhbayar et al. (US 12341237 B2, hereinafter Enkhbayar).
Regarding claim 19, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 14 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer does not teach first through fourth metal traces that are positioned radially outwardly of the respective first through fourth dipole arms and configured to capacitively couple with the respective first through fourth dipole arms.
Enkhbayar (Fig. 5) teaches a radiating element comprising a first through fourth dipole arms (regarding the first through fourth dipole arms, see annotated Fig. 5 in Enkhbayar below) and first through fourth metal traces (600-2, 610-2, 640-2, and 650-2) that are positioned radially outwardly of the respective first through fourth dipole arms and configured to capacitively couple with the respective first through fourth dipole arms (Enkhbayar, col. 8, lines 43-48, discloses: “Primary coupling occurs between the first auxiliary arm 600 and the first coupling auxiliary arm 600-1 positioned below the first auxiliary arm 600, secondary coupling occurs between the first coupling auxiliary arm 600-1 and the first
coupling member 600-2, and the same applies to other auxiliary arms.”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by adding first through fourth metal traces that are positioned radially outwardly of the respective first through fourth dipole arms and configured to capacitively couple with the respective first through fourth dipole arms as taught by Enkhbayar. This modification would provide a low-band radiating element capable of suppressing unnecessary radiation by securing good isolation between the low-band radiating element and a high-band radiating element in a multi-band base station antenna (see Enkhbayar, col. 1, lines 59-63).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obermayer (cited above) in view of Enkhbayar (cited above).
Regarding claim 22, Obermayer (Figs. 1-2) discloses a radiating element (10), comprising:
a feed stalk (20) printed circuit board (22) that comprises a first radio frequency ("RF") transmission line and a second RF transmission line (regarding the first RF transmission line and the second RF transmission line, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer above);
a first dipole radiator that is coupled to the first RF transmission line, the first dipole radiator comprising a first dipole arm and a second dipole arm (regarding the first dipole radiator, the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer above); and
a second dipole radiator that is coupled to the second RF transmission line, the second dipole radiator comprising a third dipole arm and a fourth dipole arm (regarding the second dipole radiator, the third dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm, see annotated Figs. 1-2 in Obermayer above),
wherein the feed stalk printed circuit board is positioned between the first dipole arm and the third dipole arm and between the second dipole arm and the fourth dipole arm.
Obermayer does not disclose the limitation wherein distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and third dipole arms are spaced more closely together than distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and fourth dipole arms.
Enkhbayar (Fig. 5) teaches a radiating element comprising a first through fourth dipole arms, wherein distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and third dipole arms are spaced more closely together than distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and fourth dipole arms (regarding the first through fourth dipole arms, their distal ends, and the spacing between the respective distal ends, see annotated Fig. 5 in Enkhbayar above; the spacing d1 between the distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and third dipole arms is smaller than the spacing d2 between the distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and fourth dipole arms).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Obermayer by substituting the radiating element of Obermayer with the radiating element of Enkhbayar so that distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and third dipole arms are spaced more closely together than distal ends of facing inner sides of the first and fourth dipole arms. This modification would provide a low-band radiating element capable of suppressing unnecessary radiation by securing good isolation between the low-band radiating element and a high-band radiating element in a multi-band base station antenna (see Enkhbayar, col. 1, lines 59-63).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 22 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modification related to claim 22, further teaches distal ends of facing inner sides of the second and fourth dipole arms are spaced more closely together than distal ends of facing inner sides of the second and third dipole arms (regarding the respective dipole arms, their distal ends, and the spacing between the respective distal ends, see annotated Fig. 5 in Enkhbayar above; the spacing d1 between the distal ends of facing inner sides of the second and fourth dipole arms is smaller than the spacing d2 between the distal ends of facing inner sides of the second and third dipole arms).
Regarding claim 24, the modified Obermayer teaches the radiating element of claim 23 as addressed above.
The modified Obermayer, by the virtue of the modification related to claim 22, further teaches facing inner sides of the first and third dipole arms are symmetric about a first axis and facing inner sides of the first and fourth dipole arms are symmetric about a second axis (regarding the first symmetry axis and the second symmetry axis, see annotated Fig. 5 in Enkhbayar above).
Conclusion
/MARIN STOYTCHEV STOYTCHEV/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845