DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Svoboda et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0310067 A1).
In respect to Claim 1, Svoboda teaches:
a query processing system comprises: at least one processor, and at least one memory that stores operational instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the query processing system to: determine a set of query rules that includes a maximum result set size rule; (Svoboda teaches [0006] determination of query rules.)
receive a query from a requesting entity; (Svoboda teaches [0054] reception of a query.)
determine a size of a result set of the query; (Svoboda [0034, 0039])
generate compliance data based on determining whether the size of the result set complies with the maximum result set size rule; (Svoboda teaches [0057] generation of compliance data, wherein a request to determine whether a query complies is a component of the rules database.)
when the compliance data indicates the size of the result set complies with the maximum result set size rule: generate a query result for the query based on the result set, wherein the result set is generated based on executing at least one query function indicated in the query against a database system; and transmit the query result to the requesting entity; (Svoboda teaches [0062] generation of results for a query.)
and when the compliance data indicates the size of the result set does not comply with the maximum result set size rule: forego transmission of the query result to the requesting entity (Svoboda [0064])
As per Claim 3, Svoboda teaches:
wherein the result set is generated prior to generating the compliance data, and wherein determining the size of the result set is based on generating the result set (Svoboda teaches [0057] generation of compliance data, wherein a request to determine whether a query complies is a component of the rules database.)
As per Claim 4, Svoboda teaches:
wherein the result set is generated after generating the compliance data, further comprising: generating estimated result set size data based on the query indicating an estimate for the size of the result set, wherein determining the size of the result set is based on applying the estimate for the size of the result set (Svoboda teaches [0062] generation of results for a query.)
As per Claim 5, Svoboda teaches:
wherein the set of query rules further includes at least one additional rule, wherein compliance data indicates the query complies with the set of query rules when the query being determined to further comply with the at least one additional rule, and wherein the query result is transmitted when the compliance data indicates the query complies with the set of query rules (Svoboda [0062])
As per Claim 6, Svoboda teaches:
wherein the compliance data indicates the query does not comply with the set of query rules when the query is determined to not comply with the at least one additional rule, further comprising: foregoing transmission of the query result to the requesting entity when the compliance data indicates the size of the result set complies with the maximum result set size rule and when compliance data indicates the query does not comply with the at least one additional rule (Svoboda [0057])
As per Claim 7, Svoboda teaches:
wherein generating the result set includes accessing a set of records included in a database table stored by the database system, and wherein the result set includes a subset of the set of records included in the database table based on identifying ones of the set of records comparing favorably to filtering parameters indicated in the query (Svoboda teaches [0062] generation of results for a query.)
As per Claim 8, Svoboda teaches:
wherein determining whether the size of the result set complies with the maximum result set size rule is based on: determining a number of records included in the result set; and comparing the number of records included in the result set to a threshold maximum number of records indicated by the maximum result set size rule (Svoboda teaches [0057] generation of compliance data, wherein a request to determine whether a query complies is a component of the rules database.)
Claim 19 is the method claim corresponding to system claim 1, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Claim 20 is the media claim corresponding to system claim 1, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 & 9-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 January 8, 2026