DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the final line of claim 10 reads “…depending upon said second zone/region/staging area is free or unoccupied.” It would make grammatical sense to add the word “whether” after “upon” in order to more clearly state the alternative scenarios of the area being free or unoccupied. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11 states “structural components are disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations for preventing…” In this case “structural components” is being interpreted as the generic placeholder which is modified by the function of “for preventing” and there is not sufficient structure claimed for performing the function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 4, 11, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "said vertically movable carriage" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brockmeyer et al. (US 3,782,563).
Regarding claim 1, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches a smart conveyor system for an establishment, comprising:
a vertically oriented conveyor tower, having a vertically moving conveyor disposed therein, having a lower end portion operatively associated with a first floor of the establishment, and an upper end portion operatively associated with a second floor of the establishment, such that said vertically oriented conveyor tower extends between said first floor of the establishment and said second floor of the establishment, see column 2, lines 19-37;
a first horizontally oriented loading/unloading station having first conveyors operatively associated with said lower end portion of said vertically oriented conveyor tower for delivering first objects from said first floor of the establishment to said lower end portion of said vertically oriented conveyor tower for delivery of the first objects to said second floor of the establishment by said vertically moving conveyor disposed within said vertically oriented conveyor tower, and for receiving second objects from said lower end portion of said vertically oriented conveyor tower, se column 2, line 55 through column 3, line 33; and
a second horizontally oriented loading/unloading station having second conveyors operatively associated with said upper end portion of said vertically oriented conveyor tower for delivering the first objects from said upper end portion of said vertically oriented conveyor tower for delivery to said second floor of the establishment, and for receiving second objects from said second floor of said restaurant for delivery to said upper end portion of said vertically oriented conveyor tower such that said vertically moving conveyor of said vertically oriented conveyor tower can convey the second objects back to said first floor of the establishment, see column 3, lines 5-38 and column 2, line 32-37, which describes a multi-floor structure.
Regarding claim 16, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations are detachable from said vertically oriented conveyor tower for facilitating cleaning of said first and second horizontally oriented loading and/or /unloading stations, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches movable tables, 25, which constitute the loading/unloading stations.
Regarding claim 17, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, detachable from said vertically oriented conveyor tower, are provided with mechanical connectors and locking structures, 26A, for permitting said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations to be detached from said vertically oriented conveyor tower and to be re-attached to said vertically oriented conveyor tower.
Regarding claim 18, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: said first conveyors, disposed within said first horizontally oriented loading/unloading station, and said second conveyors, disposed within said second horizontally oriented loading/unloading station, are detachable from said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches movable tables, 25, which includes the first and second conveyors of the first and second loading/unloading stations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockenmeyer et al. in view of Mack (US 2016/0029819).
Regarding claim 5, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches the conveyor system for a multi-floored building like a hospital, see column 1, lines 20-23. Brockenmeyer et al. does not specifically teach the establishment is a restaurant. Mack teaches a conveyor system for a restaurant wherein said first floor of said restaurant comprises a kitchen facility, 2, where said food orders are prepared, and said second floor of said restaurant comprises a dining area, 3, where food patrons can eat their food orders.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the conveyor system of Brockenmeyer et al. in a multi-floored restaurant, as taught by Mack, in order to achieve the predictable result of conveying food items between the kitchen area and the dining area.
Regarding claim 6, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches:
sensors, disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, for initiating activation of said conveyors, disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, when patron food order trays are detected within said first horizontally oriented loading/unloading station, and when bus tubs are detected within said second horizontally oriented loading/unloading station, see column 7, line 46 through column 8, line 11.
Regarding claim 7, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: all of said conveyors, disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, are independently operable, see column 3, lines 34-38, which teaches floor having and independent loading/unloading station .
Regarding claim 8, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: a computer-control system for independently controlling all of said conveyors disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, see figure 14 and column 7, lines 40-43.
Regarding claim 14, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: all of said conveyors, disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, are able to be operated in reverse modes, see column 3, lines 28-33.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockenmeyer et al. in view of Mack as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DeMartine et al. (US 2020/0407173).
Regarding claim 9, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches a mechanical and electrical circuit for controlling the conveyor system. Brockenmeyer et al. does not teach: said computer-control system comprises a computer selected from the group comprising a central processing unit (CPU) and a programmable logic controller (PLC). DeMartine et al. teaches a conveyor system with a vertically oriented conveyor tower and horizontally oriented conveyor section that is controlled by a computer, see paragraph 0099. The use of a generic central processing unit for controlling a conveyor system is well known in the art, as shown by DeMartine et al. and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the conveyor system of Brockenmeyer et al. with the computer of DeMartine et al. in order to automatically control the conveyors of the system.
Regarding claim 10, Brockenmeyer et al. teaches: all of said conveyors, disposed within said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, are arranged within a plurality of zones/regions/staging areas wherein said patron food order trays are moved from a first zone/region/staging area to a second zone/region/staging area depending upon said second zone/region/staging area is free or unoccupied, see column 6, lines 15-19.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brockenmeyer et al. in view of DeMartine et al. (US 2020/0407173).
Regarding claim 15, Brockenmeyer et al. does not teach light curtains, as claimed. DeMartine et al. teaches a conveyor system with a vertically oriented conveyor tower and horizontally oriented conveyor section comprising: light curtains operatively associated with said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations for terminating vertical movement of said vertically movable conveyor, disposed within said vertically oriented conveyor tower, should human presence within one of said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations be detected, see paragraph 0082.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the light curtains taught by DeMartine et al. with the conveyor system of Brockenmeyer et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of preventing operation of the conveyor system when there is an obstruction in the conveyor path.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 11-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 claims the smart conveyor includes a vertically movable carriage, and said first and second horizontally oriented loading/unloading stations, all comprise upper and lower conveyor tiers for respectively conveying the first and second objects in a separated manner. The prior art was not found to teach the two tiers of conveyors within the vertically movable carriage (conveyor) and the first and second loading stations, as claimed. Brockenmeyer et al. is considered the best prior art and teach one layer of conveyors and not the two tiers. The examiner was unable to find a teaching of this feature and therefore it would not be obvious to modify the Brockenmeyer et al. reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional prior art cited, including US 11,059,678 and US 3,481,448 teach further examples of conveyor system with a vertical conveyor section and horizontal loading/unloading stations.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
23 October 2026