Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 states the stop (33) physically interacts with the gripper (22) and/or first actuator (30) to arrest horizontal travel. The disclosure is limited to functional statements and schematic figures, without identifying the particular mechanical interface that performs the claimed/disclosed functions.
Similarly, claims 4-8 are rejected due to same reasoning as claim 3.
Claims 7-8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 8 recite “a retraction” and “an extension”, it is unclear what elements are retracting or extending.
Claim 11 states “said frame and/or said housing of the device” lacks antecedent basis. It should be, for example, said at least one of the frames or the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Ekshinge et al. (US 11358843).
Regarding claim 1:
Ekshinge et al. teaches a device for lifting and moving a stack of flat products lying on top of one another, the device comprising:
a horizontally movable gripper (12) configured for reaching under the stack;
a first actuator (44) configured for selectively positioning said gripper in a first horizontal position or in a second horizontal position;
and a second actuator (44) configured for establishing an additional horizontal position for said gripper.
Regarding claim 2:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein said second actuator is configured to establish the additional horizontal position by performing a shifting movement.
Regarding claim 3:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 1, which comprises a movable stop (14) for said gripper, and wherein said second actuator is configured to shift said movable stop for said gripper.
Regarding claim 4:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein said movable stop is mounted for rotation. Movable stop rotates due to being coupled to a rotary cylinder (48) that rotates the retractable attachment (22).
Regarding claim 5:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein said second actuator is configured to selectively position said movable stop in a passive position (Fig. 8) or in at least one active position (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 3, which comprises a linkage (40) coupling said movable stop to said second actuator.
Regarding claim 7:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 3, wherein, during a retraction, said first actuator stops at said movable stop in an active position thereof.
Regarding claim 8:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 7, wherein, during an extension, said first actuator moves said movable stop out of the active position.
Regarding claim 9:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein said second actuator is a cylinder device selected from the group consisting of a pneumatic cylinder, a hydraulic cylinder, and an electric cylinder (col 3, lines 54-55).
Regarding claim 11:
Ekshinge et al. teaches the device according to claim 1, further comprising at least one of a frame or a housing (20), and wherein said gripper is arranged for movement relative to said frame and/or said housing of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekshinge et al. (US 11358843) in view Matti (US 20130177374).
Regarding claim 10:
Ekshinge et al. disclose the device according to claim 1.
Ekshinge et al. don’t disclose the device according to claim 1 further comprising at least one additional actuator configured for establishing another additional horizontal position for said gripper.
On the other hand, Matti teaches the device according to claim 1 further comprising at least one additional actuator (25) configured for establishing another additional horizontal position for said gripper.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ekshinge et al. in view of Matti to include an additional actuator for establishing another additional horizontal position. Doing so would allow the device to handle various configurations and sizes for flat products to be handled and transported.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Ackermann et al. (US 12139351) and Tomasetta et al. (US 10968051) disclose other configurations for the device for lifting and moving a stack of products.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ELIA AHADI/Examiner, Art Unit 3652