DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on February 19, 2025, claim 1-20 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 2/19/2025 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US 2010/0135178 A1) in view of Lai et al (US 2018/0049115 A1) and Emadzadeh et al (US 2015/0146553 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Aggarwal teaches an electronic device comprising [0050 for having device to determine motion and orientation]:
a communication circuit configured to communicate with an external electronic device [0051 for having a processor and on a network];
memory, storing one or more computer programs, including map information including location information of a plurality of access points (APs) in a specific area [0053 for using wireless access points WAP to determine position using RTT];
and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the communication circuit and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0051-0052]:
determine, based on the map information, at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group [0072 for collected RSSI and RTT measurements to three or more WAPs to accurately estimate the WAPs processing times to allow the determination of the mobile station's position in space, figure 8 element 825],
determine, based on a signal received from the AP in the first group, a first distance between an AP in the first group and the electronic device [0074 and 0153 for computed distances determined in B825 and the measured distances determined in B815, mobile station 108 may update the wireless signal model to improve its fidelity],
determine, based on the map information, a second distance between the AP in the first group and the electronic device [Figure 8, element 830],
and determine a second location of the electronic device by using an AP in the second group [0066 for solving for position 0150 determining position using trilateration],
and wherein the first location is determined based on a signal broadcast by the plurality of APs in the specific area [0064-0066 for exploiting different characteristics of the RF signals exchanged between the mobile station and WAPs].
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach determine, based on the map information, at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group.
Lai has a positioning server may acquire at least one candidate AP set from an initial AP set (abstract) and teaches determine, based on the map information, at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group [0021 for AP associated with the terminal such as AP, the initial position of the terminal may be roughly determined. Then, the APs relatively closer to the initial position of the terminal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the position calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to improve the positioning efficiency (Lai, 0021).
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach determine an AP in which a difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches determine an AP in which a difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group [0075-0076 for the threshold. If the sum exceeds the threshold, the mobile device or server determines that the building dimensions evaluation condition is not satisfied with respect to the AP].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of scaling of the best estimate by an allowable error tolerance (Emadzadeh, 0075).
Regarding Claim 11, Aggarwal teaches a method of measuring a location of an electronic device, the method comprising [0050 for having device to determine motion and orientation]:
determining, by the electronic device, based on map information including location information of a plurality of access points (APs) in a specific area [0053 for using wireless access points WAP to determine position using RTT],
determining, by the electronic device, based on a signal received from the AP in the first group, a first distance between an AP in the first group and the electronic device [0072 for collected RSSI and RTT measurements to three or more WAPs to accurately estimate the WAPs processing times to allow the determination of the mobile station's position in space, figure 8 element 825];
determining, by the electronic device, based on the map information, a second distance between the AP in the first group and the electronic device [0072 for collected RSSI and RTT measurements to three or more WAPs to accurately estimate the WAPs processing times to allow the determination of the mobile station's position in space, figure 8 element 825];
determining, by the electronic device [0074];
and determining, by the electronic device, a second location of the electronic device by using an AP in the second group [0074 and 0153 for computed distances determined in B825 and the measured distances determined in B815, mobile station 108 may update the wireless signal model to improve its fidelity],
wherein the first location is determined based on a signal broadcast by the plurality of APs in the specific area [0064-0066 for exploiting different characteristics of the RF signals exchanged between the mobile station and WAPs].
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group.
Lai has a positioning server may acquire at least one candidate AP set from an initial AP set (abstract) and teaches at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group [0021 for AP associated with the terminal such as AP, the initial position of the terminal may be roughly determined. Then, the APs relatively closer to the initial position of the terminal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the position calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to improve the positioning efficiency (Lai, 0021).
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach an AP in which a difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches an AP in which a difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group [0075-0076 for the threshold. If the sum exceeds the threshold, the mobile device or server determines that the building dimensions evaluation condition is not satisfied with respect to the AP].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of scaling of the best estimate by an allowable error tolerance (Emadzadeh, 0075).
Regarding Claim 19, Aggarwal teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that [0050 for having device to determine motion and orientation],
when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations of measuring a location of an electronic device, the operations comprising [0051 for having a processor and on a network]:
determining, by the electronic device, based on map information including location information of a plurality of access points (APs) in a specific area [0053 for using wireless access points WAP to determine position using RTT],
determining, by the electronic device, based on a signal received from the AP in the first group [0072 for collected RSSI and RTT measurements to three or more WAPs to accurately estimate the WAPs processing times to allow the determination of the mobile station's position in space, figure 8 element 825],
a first distance between an AP in the first group and the electronic device [0074-0075 for actual distance];
determining, by the electronic device, based on the map information, a second distance between the AP in the first group and the electronic device group [0074 and 0153 for computed distances determined in B825 and the measured distances determined in B815, mobile station 108 may update the wireless signal model to improve its fidelity];
determining, by the electronic device [0074];
and determining, by the electronic device, a second location of the electronic device by using an AP in the second group [0074 and 0153 for computed distances determined in B825 and the measured distances determined in B815, mobile station 108 may update the wireless signal model to improve its fidelity],
wherein the first location is determined based on a signal broadcast by the plurality of APs in the specific area [0064-0066 for exploiting different characteristics of the RF signals exchanged between the mobile station and WAPs].
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group.
Lai has a positioning server may acquire at least one candidate AP set from an initial AP set (abstract) and teaches at least one AP located within a certain distance from a first location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a first group [0021 for AP associated with the terminal such as AP, the initial position of the terminal may be roughly determined. Then, the APs relatively closer to the initial position of the terminal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the position calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to improve the positioning efficiency (Lai, 0021).
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach an AP in which a difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches an AP in which a difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group [0075-0076 for the threshold. If the sum exceeds the threshold, the mobile device or server determines that the building dimensions evaluation condition is not satisfied with respect to the AP].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of scaling of the best estimate by an allowable error tolerance (Emadzadeh, 0075).
Regarding Claim 2, 12, and 20, Aggarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine the first location by using all APs detected in the specific area [0087 for a mobile station centric algorithm for position determination using ranging models which can be based upon RTT and other supplemental measurements, such as, for example, RSSI].
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Aggarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0050-0051].
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach cause the electronic device to select an AP in the first group to be included in the second group based on at least one of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) indicating a strength of a received signal, an estimated distance between the electronic device and the AP in the first group, or a number of non-response of the AP in the first group to a request from the electronic device.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches cause the electronic device to select an AP in the first group to be included in the second group based on at least one of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) indicating a strength of a received signal [0079 for RTT/RSSI correlation evaluation tests RTT data derived from an AP's signals and timing information for consistency with RSSI data derived from the AP's transmissions],
an estimated distance between the electronic device and the AP in the first group, or a number of non-response of the AP in the first group to a request from the electronic device [0063 for comparing the variability in calculated distances to the dimensions of the building].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of scaling of the best estimate by an allowable error tolerance (Emadzadeh, 0075).
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Aggarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0050-0051]:
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach determine a score of an AP in the first group based on whether the RSSI is below a certain level, whether a change in the estimated distance between the electronic device and the AP in the first group exceeds a certain level, and/or whether the number of non- response times of the AP in the first group to a request from the electronic device exceeds a certain level, and select an AP in the first group to be included in the second group based on the determined score.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches determine a score of an AP in the first group based on whether the RSSI is below a certain level [0089 for correlation coefficient is less than the minimum acceptable correlation coefficient, the RTT/RSSI correlation evaluation criteria is not satisfied with respect to the AP],
whether a change in the estimated distance between the electronic device and the AP in the first group exceeds a certain level, and/or whether the number of non-response times of the AP in the first group to a request from the electronic device exceeds a certain level [0074 for calculates a sum (μ+σ) by adding the average distance computed at and the standard deviation],
and select an AP in the first group to be included in the second group based on the determined score [0046 for algorithms module then determines which APs satisfy all tested evaluation conditions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of determining addresses suitable for use in RTT-based location fixing (Emadzadeh, 0046).
Regarding Claim 5 and 15, Aggarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0073 for using mobile devices]:
determine, based on a signal received from the AP in the third group, a third distance between the AP in the third group and the electronic device [0074 for round-trip time between the mobile station and WAP k may be analyzed in a ranging mode],
determine, based on the map information, a fourth distance between the AP in the third group and the electronic device [0153 for computed distances determined in B825 and the measured distances determined in B815, mobile station 108 may update the wireless signal model to improve its fidelity],
and determine a third location of the electronic device by using an AP in the fourth group [0121 for mobile station may determine its position using conventional trilateration].
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach determine, based on the map information, at least one AP located within a certain distance from the second location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a third group.
Lai has a positioning server may acquire at least one candidate AP set from an initial AP set (abstract) and teaches determine, based on the map information, at least one AP located within a certain distance from the second location of the electronic device among the plurality of APs as a third group [0021 for AP associated with the terminal such as AP, the initial position of the terminal may be roughly determined. Then, the APs relatively closer to the initial position of the terminal].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the position calculations as taught by Lai for the purpose to improve the positioning efficiency (Lai, 0021).
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach determine an AP in which a difference between the third distance and the fourth distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the third group as a fourth group.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches determine an AP in which a difference between the third distance and the fourth distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the third group as a fourth group [0074 for calculates a sum (μ+σ) by adding the average distance computed at and the standard deviation].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of determining addresses suitable for use in RTT-based location fixing (Emadzadeh, 0046).
Regarding Claim 8, Agarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to [0050-0051]: determine at least one AP located within a certain distance from the second location of the electronic device as a first group based on information on the second location of the electronic device being stored in the memory [0193 for if new WAPs are discovered, the initial processing times may be computed],
determine, based on a signal received from the AP in the first group, a first distance between an AP in the first group and the electronic device [0074],
determine, based on the map information, a second distance between the AP in the first group and the electronic device [0153 for computed distances determined in B825 and the measured distances determined in B815].
Aggarwal fails to explicitly teach and determine an AP in which the difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group.
Emadzadeh has a method for evaluating the suitability of AP signaling for RTT-based location calculation (abstract) and teaches and determine an AP in which the difference between the first distance and the second distance is less than a certain level among at least one AP in the first group as a second group [0075 for calculated prior to commencing the evaluation of APs in the building].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the threshold calculations as taught by Emadzadeh for the purpose of determining addresses suitable for use in RTT-based location fixing (Emadzadeh, 0046).
Regarding Claim 9, Aggarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0119],
cause the electronic device to determine a location of the electronic device by using an AP in the second group [0121 for each WAP k, the mobile station may determine its position using conventional trilateration].
Regarding Claim 10, Aggarwal teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0098-0099],
cause the electronic device to transmit a signal requesting map information to an external device based on a fact that there is no map information in the memory [0105 for having map information downloaded from the server].
Claims 6-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al (US 2010/0135178 A1) in view of Lai et al (US 2018/0049115 A1) and Emazadeh et al (US 2015/0146553 A1), as applied to Claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Duan et al (US 2022/0322277 A1).
Regarding Claim 6 and 16, Agarwal fails to explicitly teach the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to select an AP in the first group to be included in the second group based on a dilution of precision (DoP) indicating a degree to which APs to be calculated are unevenly distributed.
Duan has wireless positioning accuracy of a user equipment is impacted by locations of the transmit/receive points (abstract) and teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively [0038],
cause the electronic device to select an AP in the first group to be included in the second group based on a dilution of precision (DoP) indicating a degree to which APs to be calculated are unevenly distributed [0039 for select or exclude one or more candidate TRPs from being used for wireless positioning based on the determined GDOP].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the dilution of precision calculations as taught by Duan for the purpose of determine the final TRPs based on GDOPs indicated by the UE towards the location server (Duan, 0039).
Regarding Claim 7 and 17, Agarwal fails to explicitly teach the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine the AP used to determine the DoP as the second group based on identifying that the DoP is less than a specified value.
Duan has wireless positioning accuracy of a user equipment is impacted by locations of the transmit/receive points (abstract) and teaches the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to determine the AP used to determine the DoP as the second group based on identifying that the DoP is less than a specified value [0128 for GDOPs greater than the GDOP threshold may be excluded from the indication].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the mobile device position techniques, as disclosed by Aggarwal, further including the dilution of precision calculations as taught by Duan for the purpose of determine the final TRPs based on GDOPs indicated by the UE towards the location server (Duan, 0039).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guvenc et al (US 2009/0069029 A1) has a linear least squares (LLS) estimator provides a low complexity estimation of the location of a mobile termina.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648