Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/19/2025 has been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP H0362051 A.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 17-19, JP ‘051 discloses an image forming apparatus [Fig. 2] comprising an apparatus body [1] including a control unit [133], a wiring member including a first connector electrically connected to the control unit [Fig. 15], and a removable fixing unit [33] including a second connector [172b] insertable into and removable from the first connector [Fig. 15]; wherein the wiring member including a fuse [174] to be blown in accordance with a command from the control unit [Fig. 15].
Regarding claim 4, JP ‘051 discloses the control unit including a detection circuit configured to output a signal corresponding to whether the fuse has been blown [Claim 1].
Claims 9, 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yumiko et al. [JP 2019101276 A]
Regarding claims 9, 10 and 12, Yumiko et al., an applicant’s cited prior art, disclose an image forming apparatus [1] comprising an apparatus body [Fig. 1] including a control unit [10] electrically connected to a first connector [A11], a removable unit [U5] including a second connector [U11] insertable and removable from the first connector [Fig. 4], and a storage unit [20] configured to store information related to a deterioration such as insertion/removal of the first connector and the second connector [Fig. 8].
Regarding claim 13, Yumiko et al. disclose notification of information urging replacement of the first connector [Fig. 5; see page 4 of the detailed translation regarding Fig. 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
JP H0362051 A in view of Yumiko et al.
Regarding claim 2, JP ‘051, as discussed above, disclose the claimed invention except for a storage unit configured to store information related to a deterioration of the first connector.
Yumiko et al. disclose an image forming apparatus comprising a storage unit [20] configured to store information related to a deterioration such as insertion/removal of the first connector and the control unit is configured to provide notification of information urging replacement of the wiring member based on the information [Fig. 5; see page 4 of the detailed translation regarding Fig. 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the image forming apparatus disclosed by JP ‘051 having a storage unit configured to store information related to a deterioration such as insertion/removal of the first connector and the control unit is configured to provide notification of information urging replacement of the wiring member based on the information as taught by Yumiko et al. for the purpose of avoiding a failure caused by the attachment/detachment of a unit such as the fixing unit.
Regarding claim 14, JP ‘051, as discussed above, disclose the claimed invention except for the first and second connectors are drawer connectors.
Yumiko et al. disclose an image forming apparatus comprising first and second connectors are drawer connectors [Fig. 4].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the image forming apparatus disclosed by JP ‘051 having first and second connectors are drawer connectors as taught by Yumiko et al. for the purpose of performing the attachment/detachment of the removable unit with ease.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-8, 11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to HOAN H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2141.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9AM-5:30PM.
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached on 571-272-1674. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private
PAIRsystem, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you
would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the
automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HOAN H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 04/04/26