DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 20240430348; “Park” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses: a rotary shaft assembly (4000, fig. 40), comprising:
a base (4060, fig. 40);
a first rotating mechanism (4031, fig. 40), rotatably connected to one side of the base (¶251);
a second rotating mechanism (4032, fig. 40), rotatably connected to another side of the base opposite to the one side (fig. 40, (¶251); and
a damping mechanism (4042, 4052a, 4052b, fig. 40), comprising an abutting member (4042) slidably connected to the base (fig. 45, “cam members 4041 and 4042 moved in the y-axis or −y-axis direction may perform a cam operation with a cam structure formed at the y-axis or −y-axis edge of the seventh rail 4031c of the first arm member 4031 and a cam structure formed at the y-axis or −y-axis edge of the eighth rail 4032c of the second arm member 4032”, ¶251) and a first elastic member (4052a, 4052b); wherein the first rotating mechanism is rotatably connected to the abutting member (¶250-251) through cooperation of a first circular-arc rail (see ‘CAR1’ in annotated fig. 40 below) and a first circular-arc groove (distal end 4031c, fig. 40), and the second rotating mechanism is rotatably connected to the abutting member through cooperation of a second circular-arc rail (see ‘CAR2’ in annotated fig. 40 below) and a second circular-arc groove (distal end of 4032c, ¶266); an axis of the first circular-arc groove (407, fig. 43) is parallel to an axis of the second circular-arc groove (408, fig. 43, ¶258); and the first elastic member has a pre- elastic force (compression, ¶266) that causes the abutting member to press against the first rotating mechanism (¶266) and/or the second rotating mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses:
wherein the first rotating mechanism comprises a first rotating member (4031c) rotatably connected to the base (¶251); the first circular- arc rail is disposed on one of the first rotating member and the abutting member (as disclosed in the mapping of claim 1, see annotated fig. 40 above), the first circular-arc groove (distal end of 4031c, ¶266) is defined on the other of the first rotating member (fig. 40) and the abutting member, and a first rotation axis between the first rotating member and the abutting member is collinear with the axis of the first circular-arc groove (examination of fig. 45 discloses this limitation); and the second rotating mechanism comprises a second rotating member (4032c) rotatably connected to the base (¶251), the second circular-arc rail is disposed on one of the second rotating member and the abutting member (as disclosed in the mapping of claim 1, see annotated fig. 40 above), the second circular-arc groove (distal end of 4032c, ¶266) is defined on the other of the second rotating member (fig. 40) and the abutting member, and a second rotation axis between the second rotating member and the abutting member is collinear with the axis of the second circular-arc groove (examination of fig. 45 discloses this limitation, ¶269).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses:
wherein the first rotation axis between the first rotating member and the base is parallel to a first direction (Y-axis, see figs. 40-43, ¶258-259), the second rotation axis between the second rotating member and the base is parallel to the first direction (see fig. 43, ¶258-259), the first rotation axis is spaced apart from the second rotation axis, and the first rotating member (4031c) and the second rotating member (4032c) are staggered in the first direction (fig. 45).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses: a foldable shell, characterized by comprising: a rotary shaft assembly (4000, fig. 40), comprising:
a base (4060, fig. 40);
a first rotating mechanism (4021, 4031, fig. 40), rotatably connected to one side of the base (¶251);
a second rotating mechanism (4022, 4032, fig. 40), rotatably connected to another side of the base opposite to the one side (fig. 40, (¶251); and
a damping mechanism (4042, 4052a, 4052b, fig. 40), comprising an abutting member (4042) slidably connected to the base (fig. 45, “cam members 4041 and 4042 moved in the y-axis or −y-axis direction may perform a cam operation with a cam structure formed at the y-axis or −y-axis edge of the seventh rail 4031c of the first arm member 4031 and a cam structure formed at the y-axis or −y-axis edge of the eighth rail 4032c of the second arm member 4032”, ¶251) and a first elastic member(4052a, 4052b); wherein the first rotating mechanism is rotatably connected to the abutting member (¶250-251) through cooperation of a first circular-arc rail (see ‘CAR1’ in annotated fig. 40 above) and a first circular-arc groove (distal end 4031c, fig. 40), and the second rotating mechanism is rotatably connected to the abutting member through cooperation of a second circular-arc rail (see ‘CAR2’ in annotated fig. 40 above) and a second circular-arc groove (distal end of 4032c, ¶266); an axis of the first circular-arc groove (407, fig. 43) is parallel to an axis of the second circular-arc groove (408, fig. 43, ¶258); and the first elastic member has a pre-elastic force (compression, ¶266) that causes the abutting member to press against the first rotating mechanism (¶266) and/or the second rotating mechanism; and
two frame bodies (3810, 3820, fig. 42), wherein the rotary shaft assembly is disposed between the two frame bodies (fig. 43), an end (4021) of the first rotating mechanism away from the base is connected to one of the two frame bodies (¶248), and an end (4022) of the second rotating mechanism away from the base is connected to the other of the two frame bodies (¶249).
Regarding claim 22, Park discloses: an electronic device (3800), comprising:
a flexible screen (3860, fig. 38);
two frame bodies (3810, 3820, fig. 42); and
a rotary shaft assembly comprising:
a base (4060, fig. 40);
a first rotating mechanism (3831, 4021, 4031, figs. 40, 44), rotatably connected to one side of the base (¶251);
a second rotating mechanism (3832, 4022, 4032, fig. 40), rotatably connected to another side of the base opposite to the one side (¶251); and
a damping mechanism (4042, 4052a, 4052b, fig. 40), comprising an abutting member (4042) slidably connected to the base (fig. 45, “cam members 4041 and 4042 moved in the y-axis or −y-axis direction may perform a cam operation with a cam structure formed at the y-axis or −y-axis edge of the seventh rail 4031c of the first arm member 4031 and a cam structure formed at the y-axis or −y-axis edge of the eighth rail 4032c of the second arm member 4032”, ¶251) and a first elastic member (4052a, 4052b); wherein the first rotating mechanism is rotatably connected to the abutting member (¶250-251) through cooperation of a first circular-arc rail (see ‘CAR1’ in annotated fig. 40 above) and a first circular-arc groove (distal end 4031c, fig. 40), and the second rotating mechanism is rotatably connected to the abutting member through cooperation of a second circular-arc rail (see ‘CAR2’ in annotated fig. 40 above) and a second circular-arc groove (distal end of 4032c, ¶266); an axis of the first circular-arc groove (407, fig. 43) is parallel to an axis of the second circular-arc groove (408, fig. 43, ¶258); and the first elastic member has a pre-elastic force (compression, ¶266) that causes the abutting member to press against the first rotating mechanism (¶266) and/or the second rotating mechanism;
wherein the rotary shaft assembly is disposed between the two frame bodies (fig. 43), an end (4021) of the first rotating mechanism away from the base is connected to one of the two frame bodies (¶248), an end (4022) of the second rotating mechanism away from the base is connected to the other of the two frame bodies (¶249), and the flexible screen is connected to the two frame bodies and the rotary shaft assembly (¶241, 255-256, 248-249).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claims 1-2, a combination of limitations that teaches: further comprising a support mechanism, wherein the support mechanism comprises a first side support member and a second side support member; the first side support member is slidably and rotatably connected to the base, and the first side support member is rotatably connected to the first rotating mechanism; the second side support member is slidably and rotatably connected to the base, and the second side support member is rotatably connected to the second rotating mechanism; and the first rotating member and the second rotating member rotate relative to the base, so that the first side support member and the second side support member are able to achieve unfolding or folding relative to each other. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 4-10, 20 are objected to by virtue of dependency to claim 12.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest,
in combination with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that teaches: wherein the rotary shaft assembly further comprises a synchronization mechanism, the synchronization mechanism comprises a linkage member, a first synchronization member, and a second synchronization member; the linkage member is connected to the base and able to slide relative to the base in a first direction, and the linkage member comprises a first connection part and a second connection part; the first synchronization member is rotatably connected to the first connection part through cooperation of a first spiral groove and a first transmission part, and the second synchronization member is rotatably connected to the second connection part through cooperation of a second spiral groove and a second transmission part; and a rotation direction of the first spiral groove is opposite to that of the second spiral groove. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 12-17 are objected to by virtue of dependency to claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is:
US 20220417351 A1 Mobile Terminal. This invention relates generally to a mobile terminal comprising: a first body; a second body rotatably provided in the first body; a display which is provided on surfaces, of the first and second bodies, a first hinge, and a second hinge which rotatably couples the first and second bodies and is configured to interlock the first and second bodies in order to rotate the first and second bodies together.
US 20220321685 A1 Elastic Driving Body. This invention generally relates to an elastic driving body that is provided in a central portion in which two panel units are connected in a foldable display device with a foldable flexible display panel such that the two panel units are folded or unfolded in a semiautomatic manner and that allows the foldable display device to be folded or unfolded without using a drive device such as a motor.
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2841