DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 February 2025 and 19 September 2025, have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received on 19 February 2026 are accepted.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lambert et al. (US 7,681,925).
With respect to claim 1, Lambert discloses a flow path connection mechanism, comprising:
a first coupling member (Fig. 1, element 20) that is a tubular body whose center axis (Fig. 1 below) is an axis extending in a prescribed direction (Fig. 1 below) and includes inside a circulation path (Fig. 1, i.e. central axis) for a liquid (Column 1, lines 61-63 and Column 8, lines 2-5);
a second coupling (Fig. 1, element 18) member that is a tubular body centered about the center axis, is connected to the first coupling member (Fig. 4, elements 18, 20) in an axis direction, and includes inside a circulation path (Fig. 1, i.e. central axis) for the liquid so that the liquid is allowed to circulate through the first and second coupling members in the axis direction (Column 1, lines 61-63 and Column 8, lines 2-5); and
a connection member (Fig. 1, element 16) that connects the first coupling member to the second coupling member (Column 5, lines 57-62),
wherein the connection member has a cylindrical shape (Fig. 9, element 107) centered about the center axis and is mounted to the second coupling member (Fig. 2, elements 16, 18) so as to be rotatable about the center axis (Figs. 3-5; Column 5, lines 57-65),
the first coupling member (Fig. 2, element 20) is inserted into the connection member (Fig. 3, elements 16, 20) in the axis direction, and the connection member is rotated in one direction relative (Fig. 3 to Fig. 4) to the first coupling member, so that engagement is established between the first coupling member and the connection member in the axis direction to bring about a connected state where the first coupling member is connected to the second coupling member (Column 5, lines 57-65), and
the connection member includes a convexity (Fig. 9, element 104) protruding in the axis direction (Fig. 9, i.e. top to bottom direction of element 104) from an end surface of the connection member opposite to a connection side with the first coupling member (Column 7, lines 26-48).
[AltContent: textbox (axis direction and/or prescribed direction)][AltContent: textbox (Central axis)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: arrow]
The examiner notes to applicant that the limitations concerning how the members are coupled and the convexity are broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Lambert as applied above.
With respect to claim 2, Lambert discloses wherein one of the first (Fig. 1, element 20) and second coupling (Fig. 1, element 18) members is inserted into another of the first and second coupling members, and thus the circulation path of the first coupling member is connected to the circulation path of the second coupling member in the axis direction (Column 5, lines 57-65), and the connection member (Fig. 1, element 16) is rotatable without a possibility of sliding against a sealing member for preventing liquid leakage (Column 5, lines 57-65 and Column 8, lines 2-8).
With respect to claim 3, Lambert discloses wherein the connection member (Fig. 1, element 16) includes a plurality of the convexities (Fig. 9, array of element 104), and the plurality of the convexities are arranged at equal intervals of 45o or less (Fig. 9, i.e. array of element 104 = zero degrees) in a circumferential direction about the center axis (Fig. 9, element 107).
With respect to claim 4, Lambert discloses wherein the convexity (Fig. 9, element 104) protrudes in a hemispherical shape (Fig. 9, i.e. front face of element 104) in the axis direction from the end surface of the connection member, and as viewed from the axis direction, the convexity has a diameter not less than twice a protruding height of the convexity (Column 7, lines 26-48).
The examiner notes to applicant that the limitation “the convexity has a diameter not less than twice a protruding height of the convexity” is broad in scope and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art in view of Figure 9 of Lambert and as applied above.
2. Claim 5 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lambert et al. (US 7,681,925) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oda et al. (US 2004/0001126).
With respect to claim 5, Lambert discloses the flow path connection mechanism (Lambert at Fig. 1, element 14) which would be obvious to use (Lambert at Column 8, lines 2-5) in the ink jet recording apparatus of Oda (Oda at Fig. 1, element 12), wherein the liquid is ink (Oda at paragraph 0004), and the inkjet recording apparatus uses the ink to perform printing (Oda at paragraph 0004).
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/056,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 19/056,164 claims a similar flow path connection mechanism. The instant claims are broader in scope than the claims in copending Application No. 19/056,164 because the instant claims remove elements such as the “concavo-convex structure” and rename “circumferential direction” to “rotatatable”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the removing of elements and/or renaming directional limitations does not alter the device of the invention as a whole.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
/GEOFFREY S MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 07/22/2026