DETAILED ACTION
A complete action on the merits of claims 1-10 follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “an angle formed by a straight line connecting midpoints (R6) of bottom surfaces of the plurality of second recessed parts and the central axis is smaller than an angle formed by a straight line (K6) connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of first tooth parts and the central axis”. It appears that a straight line (K6) should be formed by connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of second tooth parts and the central axis since it is regarding the second forceps piece similar to claim 1 directing to the first forceps piece being formed by connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of first tooth parts and the central axis. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko (US Pub. No. 2015/0148803).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaneko teaches a treatment tool (Fig. 1) comprising: a sheath 10; and forceps having a first forceps piece 30 provided on a distal end of the sheath and a second forceps 30 piece configured to open and close with respect to the first forceps piece ([0023], [0034] and Fig. 1), wherein the first forceps piece has a plurality of first tooth parts 35 ([0009] and [0028]) protruding toward the second forceps piece and a plurality of first recessed parts alternately disposed in a central axis direction (Fig. 1 and annotated figure below), and in a side view from a direction perpendicular to a central axis of the sheath, when the first forceps piece and the second forceps piece are closed, an angle formed by a straight line (R6) connecting midpoints of bottom surfaces of the plurality of first recessed parts and the central axis is smaller than an angle formed by a straight line (K6) connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of first tooth parts and the central axis (see R6 and K6 on the annotated figure below, please note that R6 and K6 is only drawn on one of the forceps pieces for ease of seeing the lines, but each forceps piece has a similar R6 and K6 line connecting midpoints (R6) of bottom surfaces of the plurality of recessed parts and the central axis, which is smaller than an angle formed by a straight line (K6) connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of tooth parts and the central axis).
Regarding Claim 2, Kaneko teaches wherein the second forceps piece has a plurality of second tooth parts protruding toward the first forceps piece and a plurality of second recessed parts alternately disposed in the central axis direction, and in the side view from the direction perpendicular to the central axis of the sheath, when the first forceps piece and the second forceps piece are closed, an angle formed by a straight line connecting midpoints (R6) of bottom surfaces of the plurality of second recessed parts and the central axis is smaller than an angle formed by a straight line (K6) connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of first tooth parts and the central axis (see the annotated figure above, please note that R6 and K6 is only drawn on one of the forceps pieces for ease of seeing the lines, but each forceps piece has a similar R6 and K6 line connecting midpoints (R6) of bottom surfaces of the plurality of recessed parts and the central axis, which is smaller than an angle formed by a straight line (K6) connecting midpoints of top edges of the plurality of tooth parts and the central axis).
Regarding Claim 3, Kaneko teaches wherein the length in the width direction of the first forceps piece and the second forceps piece is equal to or less than a maximum outer diameter of the sheath (see the annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 4, Kaneko teaches wherein a length in the width direction of the forceps is 1.0 times or more and 1.6 times or less a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps (see the annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 10, Kaneko teaches wherein in the side view from the direction perpendicular to a central axis of the sheath, when the first forceps piece and the second forceps piece are closed, the top edges of the plurality of first tooth parts extend parallel with the central axis of the sheath (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaneko.
Regarding Claim 5, Kaneko teaches wherein an opening width of the forceps in a state of being opened to the maximum is 1.7 times or more and 2.8 times or less a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps (please note that an open configuration is not shown in the figures, but since the forceps pivot around pin 21 to open, based on the shape of the forceps, examiner takes the position that either an opening width of the forceps in a state of being opened to the maximum is 1.7 times or more and 2.8 times or less a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps as claimed, or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention that an opening width of the forceps in a state of being opened to the maximum is 1.7 times or more and 2.8 times or less a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps in order to allow enough clearance to grasp tissue therebetween and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding Claims 6 and 9, Kaneko teaches wherein a length of the forceps in a thickness direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction when the forceps are closed is 0.2 times or more to 0.6 times or less a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps/ wherein a length of the forceps in a thickness direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction when the forceps are closed is 0.3 times a length of a forceps piece in the longitudinal direction (as seen on the annotated figure below, it appears a length of the forceps in a thickness direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction when the forceps are closed is more than 0.2-0.6 or 0.3 times a length of a forceps piece in the longitudinal direction; however, since the drawings are not drawn to scale, either the a length of the forceps in a thickness direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction when the forceps are closed is 0.2-0.6 or 0.3 times a length of a forceps piece in the longitudinal direction as claimed here or alternatively it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to make the length of the forceps in a thickness direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction when the forceps are closed between 0.2-0.6 or 0.3 times a length of a forceps piece in the longitudinal direction, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding Claim 7, Kaneko teaches wherein a length in the width direction of the forceps is 1.1 times a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps (as seen on the annotated figure above, it appears the width to length is about 1.5 times and not 1.1; however, since the drawings are not drawn to scale, either the width to length is less and closer to 1.1 times as claimed here or alternatively it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention to make the width direction of the forceps about 1.1 times a length in the longitudinal direction of the forceps, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding Claim 8, Kaneko teaches wherein an opening width of the forceps in a state of being opened to the maximum is 2.0 times a length of a forceps piece in a longitudinal axial direction (please note that an open configuration is not shown in the figures, but since the forceps pivot around pin 21 to open, based on the shape of the forceps, examiner takes the position that either an opening width of the forceps in a state of being opened to the maximum is 2.0 times a length of a forceps piece in a longitudinal axial direction as claimed, or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the current invention that an opening width of the forceps in a state of being opened to the maximum is 2.0 times a length of a forceps piece in a longitudinal axial direction in order to allow enough clearance to grasp tissue therebetween and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is general recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
Conclusion
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794