DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 13, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
2.. An Amendment was filed October 9, 2024 (hereinafter “Amendment”) and has been entered into the record and fully considered. The Amendment was filed in response to a Non-Final Rejection dated May 14, 2026.
Despite the Amendment to the Claims and Applicant’s remarks, the Rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection are hereby maintained.
An explanation of the maintained Rejections and a response to Applicant’s arguments are set forth below. Please see the “Conclusion” section of this Action below for important information regarding responding to this Action.
The IDS dated August 13, 2026, has been considered.
Status of Claims:
Claims 1 – 20 remain pending and are examined as set forth below.
The independent claims were amended in substantially identical/similar fashion, making it unnecessary to address each Claim. The dependent Claims were not amended in any substantive manner. Therefore, the following explanation of the maintained rejections with regard to Claim 1 is considered explanatory of the Rejection as a whole.
It is noted that independent Claims 16 and 20 were substantially broadened in accordance with extensive deletions of previous limitations.
OFFICE NOTE: Interviews are always welcome at any stage of prosecution. Please use the AIR form for scheduling an interview if such is desired. The link for the AIR form is found at the end of this Action.
With regard to the Amendment:
Claim 1 was amended as follows:
Summary of the Amendment and Broadest Reasonable Interpretation:
Claim terminology is to be given its plain and ordinary meaning to a person of ordinary skill in the art, consistent with the specification. This is true, unless the terms are given a special meaning. See MPEP §2111.01
Here, no special meaning is detected. As noted in the Amendment, the only changes relate primarily to “summarizing” encoded data in the graph and the use of a “community-finding algorithm.”
For reference, specification 0029 clarifies that the transaction data which is “summarized” in the encoded node/edge relates to a summary “at a customer level.”
The community of interest algorithm is defined as being applied to the graph. A “community,” as used in the specification, clearly refers to a “group” of nodes/edges illustrated in the graph. This is clear from the title which refers to “groups” of nodes and in 0002 as a “grouping of nodes” this concept is illustrated in Fig. 2 which identifies a “community” of nodes/edges 202:
Thus, these terms appear – subject to further consideration – to be defined in the specification based on their plain and ordinary meaning.
With regard to §101:
The Examiner notes with gratitude that the independent Claim 1 has been amended in an attempt to advance prosecution. However, with regard to 101, respectfully, the Amendment does not advance prosecution in a material manner.
Thus, the amendments to the Claim do not alter the analysis set for the Non-Final Rejection regarding §101. The only changes are summarized above and merely relate to:
Summarizing transaction details at a customer level
Applying the community finding algorithm to the graph to identify a community/group of nodes which merit further investigation
It is noted that the “limitation” relating to simplifying an observation of the graph is merely an intended or desired outcome. It is scarcely limiting.
These limitations are recited at a very high – extremely high – level of generality. There is nothing concrete or substantive about these recitations. Summarizing encoded data in a graph is a common function of graphical analysis. Applying any type of community finding algorithm or clustering algorithm is likewise extremely common. These are broad and abstract concepts. Computerized systems very typically and commonly perform such functions.
The Claim provides no specificity in terms of “how” these functions are accomplished or what detailed processes are used or whether they are special or used or applied in any special way. Only the mere outcome or result that the observations are simplified is recited. No special functionality is recited. No new computerized components are recited.
These limitations recite results or “outcome” of computer processing without specifying “how” a technical problem is solved. That is, the solution of a technical problem is not reflected in the Claim.
Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the computer elements at each step of the process is purely typical of processing data in a graphical context. Using a computer to receive data and encode it into the graph are among the most basic functions of a computer. Without greater specificity as to “how” certain functions solve a technical problem, the currently recited limitations can be achieved by any general purpose computer without special programming. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions. Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of the Claim add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
Claim 1 does not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer elements nor does the claim reflect how an improvement in any other technology or technical field is achieved. Thus, Claim 1 amounts to nothing significantly more than instructions to “apply” the abstract idea of generating an AI chatbot to provide an estimate of a home for the purpose of some insurance product using some unspecified, generic algorithm and computer components. Such is not sufficient to integrate a practical application in the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the Rejection is maintained.
With regard to §103:
The Rejection is maintained on the same basis as set forth in the Non-Final Rejection:
Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0117429 to Silva et al. (hereinafter “Silva”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0237493 Gu et al. (hereinafter “Gu”)
Respectfully, both references teach the newly added limitations. Both are explained in detail in the Non-Final Rejection and no detailed explanation of the maintained Rejections here is deemed necessary.
Silva teaches summarizing data in a graphical format, for example in Fig. 13A (see 0076). More importantly, Silva teaches that data encoded into the graph is summarized at a customer – or “entity” – level:
“[0039] For example, nodes in a graph represent the entities involved in a transaction, and edges in the graph represent their transaction relations. Examples of the entities can be accounts, clients, cards, IP addresses, devices, and so on, which are identified and extracted from the tabular transaction data. They represent the generic types of entities which can be involved in a transaction. A node can have attributes specific to each entity, such as the ID of the entity or its type. Whenever two entities co-exist together in the same transaction, this relationship will be encoded in their shared edge. An edge can have attributes shared by the entities such as the timestamp or the amount of the transaction.
[0040] The process calculates one or more vectors for the one or more graphs, where the one or more vectors each identifies a corresponding portion of the one or more graphs (104). Calculating vectors for the graphs is also called graph embedding. The process converts each graph into one or more vectors, which embeds its information. Graph embedding permits the graph to be more efficiently explored. In one aspect, a graph can be represented by a list of vectors, which is smaller than the original list of transactions, meaning storing the list of vectors takes less memory than storing the original list of transactions. Thus, processing the vectors is faster than processing the original transaction data or a graphical form of the transaction data. In another aspect, vectors can be easily searched and compared because comparing vectors typically uses fewer computational resources than comparing graphs. In various embodiments, the process computes the Euclidean distance between the calculated vectors in vector space, and stores this information to represent a corresponding graph or portion of a graph.” (Emphasis Added)
It is clear from Silva that “vectors” would mean – to a person of ordinary skill in the art – the process of encoding the graph with the summarized data. The data is summarized in that it is “smaller” than the original list of transactions. Silva teaches the same outcome as the claimed invention – the study or observation of the graph is “efficiently explored.”
Furthermore, Gu teaches throughout the use of a community finding algorithm. (See at least 0021 – 0022.)
Both references teach groups or clusters – i.e. communities – of nodes/edges. See, for example, Silva: 0047 – 0048.
Therefore, despite the Amendments to Claim 1, the Claims remain obvious on the basis of Silva in view of Gu.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments set forth in the Remarks section of the Amendment have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to section 101 rejection, Applicant argues, in part, as follows:
The Office respectfully disagrees. The limitations of the Claim are recited at a high level of generality. Grouping nodes and edges together for closer analysis – whether they be called groups or clusters or communities – is a common function of computers programed to facilitate graphical analysis. The limitations as recited in the claim are not “specific.” Greater specificity as to “how” the technical benefits are achieved is required.
Thus, the 101 Rejection must be maintained.
With regard to 103, Applicant argues:
Again, the Office disagrees. Silva teaches summarization of transactions – at the entity level – as quoted above in 0039 – 0040. Remember, in the jargon of Silva, an “entity” is a customer/consumer/party to a transaction. While transactions are summarized and encoded into the graph, from these sections it is also clear that transactions between a pair of users are consolidated into a single node.
Perhaps, given the mutual disagreement on this reference, a follow interview is warranted.
The Rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
5. Applicant should carefully consider the following in connection with this Office Action:
A. Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
B. Search and Prior Art
The search conducted in connection with this Office Action, as well as any previous Actions, encompassed the inventive concepts as defined in the Applicant’s specification. That is, the search(es) included concepts and features which are defined by the pending claims but also pertinent to significant although unclaimed subject matter. Accordingly, such search(es) were directed to the defined invention as well as the general state of the art, including references which are in the same field of endeavor as the present application as well as related fields (e.g. the use of graph technology and clustering algorithms to detect fraud) Indeed, there is a plethora of prior art in these fields – sponsored search.
Therefore, in addition to prior art references cited and applied in connection with this and any previous Office Actions, the following prior art is also made of record but not relied upon in the current rejection:
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0312485 to Sror et al. This reference relates to the concept of finding communities/groups of users.
U.S. Patent No. 12,688,275 to Ly. This reference relates to the concept of community finding algorithms.
C. Responding to this Office Action
In view of the foregoing explanation of the scope of searches conducted in connection with the examination of this application, in preparing any response to this Action, Applicant is encouraged to carefully review the entire disclosures of the above-cited, unapplied references, as well as any previously cited references. It is likely that one or more such references disclose or suggest features which Applicant may seek to claim. Moreover, for the same reasons, Applicant is encouraged to review the entire disclosures of the references applied in the foregoing rejections and not just the sections mentioned.
D. Interviews and Compact Prosecution
The Office strongly encourages interviews as an important aspect of compact prosecution. Statistics and studies have shown that prosecution can be greatly advanced by way of interviews. Indeed, in many instances, during the course of one or more interviews, the Examiner and Applicant may reach an agreement on eligible and allowable subject matter that is supported by the specification.
Interviews are especially welcomed by this examiner at any stage of the prosecution process. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool (e.g. TEAMS).
To facilitate the scheduling of an interview, the Examiner requests the use of the AIR form as follows:
USPTO Automated Interview Request http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Other forms of interview requests filed in this application may result in a delay in scheduling the interview because of the time required to appear on the Examiner's docket. Thus, the use of the AIR form is strongly encouraged.
E. Communicating with the Office
/William (Bill) Bunker/
U.S. Patent Examiner
AU 3691
william.bunker@uspto.gov
(571) 272-0017
October 17, 2026
/ABHISHEK VYAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3691