Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Rucker et al. (US 2006/0195117).
Regarding Claim 1, Rucker discloses:
A biopsy cap housing defining an upper chamber and a lower chamber, the biopsy cap housing comprising:
a first center-split half (806, see Fig. 8) comprising: a first portion defining a first half of the upper chamber (see portion above protrusion 138, Fig. 5); a second portion defining a first half of the lower chamber (see portion below protrusion 138, Fig. 5); and a first pivot member integrally formed with the first portion of the first center-split half (see Figs. 5, 6, and 8 showing pivot member near 124); and
a second center-split half (808, see Fig. 8) comprising: a first portion defining a second half of the upper chamber (see portion above protrusion 138, Fig. 5); a second portion defining a second half of the lower chamber (see portion below protrusion 138, Fig. 5); and a second pivot member integrally formed with the first portion of the second center-split half (see Figs. 5, 6, and 8 showing pivot member near 124);
wherein: mating surfaces of the first and second center-split halves are configured to interlock to define the upper and lower chambers (see Fig. 8 showing the unlocked state); and the upper chamber is configured to receive a biopsy cap (see Fig. 5, for example showing the upper chamber receiving a biopsy cap).
Regarding Claim 2, Rucker further discloses wherein: a first slit extends through a sidewall of the first and second portions of the first center-split half and is in substantial alignment with the first pivot member; and a second slit extends through a sidewall of the first and second portions of the second center-split half and is in substantial alignment with the second pivot member (see Fig. 8, for example, showing the slit running through the pivot members).
Regarding Claim 4, Rucker further discloses wherein the first and second pivot members include a thickness greater than a wall thickness of the first and second center-split halves to provide a strengthened or otherwise fortified section of the biopsy cap housing (see Fig. 5, for example, showing the thicker wall portion near 124).
Regarding Claim 5, Rucker discloses:
A biopsy cap housing defining an upper chamber and a lower chamber, the biopsy cap housing comprising:
a first center-split half (806, see Fig. 8) comprising: a first portion defining a first half of the upper chamber (see portion above protrusion 138, Fig. 5); a second portion defining a first half of the lower chamber (see portion below protrusion 138, Fig. 5); and a first pivot member integrally formed with the first portion of the first center-split half (see Figs. 5, 6, and 8 showing pivot member near 124); and
a second center-split half (808, see Fig. 8) comprising: a first portion defining a second half of the upper chamber (see portion above protrusion 138, Fig. 5); a second portion defining a second half of the lower chamber (see portion below protrusion 138, Fig. 5); and a second pivot member integrally formed with the first portion of the second center-split half (see Figs. 5, 6, and 8 showing pivot member near 124);
wherein: the upper chamber is configured to receive a biopsy cap (see Fig. 5, for example showing the upper chamber receiving a biopsy cap); and the lower chamber is configured to reversibly engage a biopsy port of an endoscope (see Fig. 5, for example showing the lower chamber receiving the endoscope port).
Regarding Claim 6, Rucker further discloses wherein the first portion of the first center-split half and the first portion of the second center-split half are movable toward each other with the second portion of the first center-split half and the second portion of the second center-split half moving away from each other to disengage the biopsy cap housing from the biopsy port of an endoscope (see Fig. 5-8 where pinching the top portion will move the bottom portion away so that the biopsy cap can be removed).
Regarding Claim 7, Rucker further discloses wherein: a first slit extends through a sidewall of the first center-split half and is in substantial alignment with the first pivot member; and a second slit extends through a sidewall of the second center-split half and is in substantial alignment with the second pivot member (see Fig. 8, for example, showing the slit running through the pivot members).
Regarding Claim 11, Rucker further discloses wherein the first and second pivot members include a thickness greater than a wall thickness of the first and second center-split halves (see Fig. 5, for example, showing the thicker wall portion near 124).
Regarding Claim 12, Rucker further discloses wherein the first and second pivot members include an increased thickness to provide a strengthened or otherwise fortified section of the biopsy cap housing (see Fig. 5, for example, showing the thicker wall portion near 124).
Regarding Claim 13, Rucker discloses:
A biopsy cap housing defining an upper chamber and a lower chamber, the biopsy cap housing comprising:
a first housing portion (806, see Fig. 8) comprising:
a first portion partially defining the upper chamber (see portion above protrusion 138, Fig. 5); second portion partially defining the lower chamber (see portion below protrusion 138, Fig. 5); and a first pivot member integrally formed with the first portion of the first housing portion (see Figs. 5, 6, and 8 showing pivot member near 124); and
a second housing portion (808, see Fig. 8) comprising: a first portion partially defining the upper chamber (see portion above protrusion 138, Fig. 5); a second portion partially defining the lower chamber (see portion below protrusion 138, Fig. 5); and a second pivot member integrally formed with the first portion of the second housing portion (see Figs. 5, 6, and 8 showing pivot member near 124);
wherein: the upper chamber is configured to receive a biopsy cap (see Fig. 5, for example showing the upper chamber receiving a biopsy cap); the lower chamber is configured to reversibly engage a biopsy port of an endoscope (see Fig. 5, for example showing the lower chamber receiving the endoscope port).
Regarding Claim 14, Rucker further discloses wherein the first portion of the first housing portion and the first portion of the second housing portion are movable toward each other with the second portion of the first housing portion and the second portion of the second housing portion moving away from each other to disengage the biopsy cap housing from the biopsy port of an endoscope (see Fig. 5-8 where pinching the top portion will move the bottom portion away so that the biopsy cap can be removed).
Regarding Claim 15, Rucker further discloses wherein: a first slit extends through a sidewall of the first housing portion in substantial alignment with the first pivot member; and a second slit extends through a sidewall of the second housing portion in substantial alignment with the second pivot member (see Fig. 8, for example, showing the slit running through the pivot members).
Regarding Claim 19, Rucker further discloses wherein the first and second pivot members include a thickness greater than a wall thickness of the first and second center-split halves (see Fig. 5, for example, showing the thicker wall portion near 124).
Regarding Claim 20, Rucker further discloses wherein the pivot members include an increased thickness to provide a strengthened or otherwise fortified section of the biopsy cap housing (see Fig. 5, for example, showing the thicker wall portion near 124).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,897. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims the biopsy cap housing with the first and second halves in much the same manner as this application. The differences are enough that a statutory rejection would not be appropriate, but the patent anticipates the subject matter of the present application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,690,499. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims the biopsy cap housing with the first and second halves in much the same manner as this application. The differences are enough that a statutory rejection would not be appropriate, but the patent anticipates the subject matter of the present application.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J NEAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795