DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This is the non-final office action on the merits of Application No. 19/057,686 filed on 02/19/2025. Claims have been 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 18 and 20 are independent claims.
Priority
Application claims the benefit of German Application No. IN202211048231 filed 08/24/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HILLMAN et al. (US 20190226566 A1) (hereinafter “HILLMAN”) in view of MARUYAMA et al. (US 20100056314 A1)(hereinafter “MARUYAMA”) and further in view of Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HILLMAN discloses a differential assembly (e.g. 10, figs. 1-6) switchable between a locked state and unlocked state (see para 22), the differential assembly comprising:
a differential case (12, fig. 1, para 24);
a lock plate (e.g. 40, figs. 3 or 4A, para 30) and a lock gear (e.g. 18, fig. 4A, para 25) each rotatably disposed within the differential case (12, fig. 1, para 24) so as to rotate about a rotational axis (e.g. 14, fig. 4A), the lock plate (40, fig. 3) configured to be axially translated so as to selectively engage the lock gear when in the locked state;
an actuator assembly (e.g. 28, 32, 36, fig. 4A, para 27) configured to be switched between an energized state and a de-energized state, the actuator assembly comprising
an armature (e.g. 32, fig. 3) and
a stator (e.g. 28, fig. 3) including a stator housing (has no character numeral, the housing of the stator 28) and a stator coil (e.g. not shown but solenoid 28 has coils) disposed within the stator housing, the stator housing including an outer diameter and an inner diameter (see fig. 3, 28 has outer and inner diameters);
an anti-rotation assembly (e.g. an anti-rotation bracket 95, fig. 4b/C, para 45) including an extended member configured to (i) couple the stator housing to the differential case (12);
a slip ring assembly (e.g. 34, 40, 50, fig. 4B/4C) configured to axially translate when switching between the locked state and the unlocked state, the slip ring assembly comprising:
a slip ring (e.g. flange 62, fig. 4B/4C)
one or more pins (50) rotationally coupling the slip ring (62) to the lock plate (40),
wherein the slip ring assembly is configured to transmit an axial locking force from the actuator assembly to the lock plate (40) when the actuator assembly is in the energized state,
wherein the slip ring assembly is configured to transmit an axial return force from the lock plate to the actuator assembly when the actuator assembly is in the de-energized, state, and
wherein the stator housing is radially piloted at the outer diameter so as to radially align the stator housing relative to the rotational axis. (see fig. 4C)
But HILLMAN fails to disclose the anti-rotation assembly including an extended member configured to (i) couple the stator housing to a non-rotating external structure so as to prevent a rotation of the stator housing about the rotational axis, and (ii) guide electrical wiring of the stator coil, the electrical wiring being directly secured to the extended member; and a slip surface configured to interact with the armature so as to enable relative rotation between the slip ring and the armature.
MARUYAMA teaches a similar kind of a differential assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 1) wherein
an actuator assembly (e.g. 17, fig. 1, para 20) configured to be switched between an energized state and a de-energized state (see paras 35-36),
the actuator assembly comprising
an armature (e.g. 75) and
a stator (e.g. 25, para 22) including a stator housing (e.g. 25, 27) and a stator coil (e.g. 19) disposed within the stator housing, the stator housing including an outer diameter and an inner diameter,
an anti-rotation assembly (e.g. 81, fig. 1, para 24) having an extended member (see annotated fig. A below) configured to (i) couple the stator housing (25) to a non-rotating external structure (e.g. stationary member 33, para 24) so as to prevent a rotation of the stator housing about the rotational axis, and (ii) guide electrical wiring (e.g. 79, fig. 1, para 33) of the stator coil (e.g. 19, see fig. 1), (see figs. 1-2 and paras 24-25)
a slip ring (77, para 33) including a slip surface to interface with the armature (75) so as to enable relative rotation between the slip ring (77) and the armature (75).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN by substituting the actuator assembly and modifying the anti-rotation assembly as taught by MARUYAMA, such as the differential assembly would have an appropriate gap relative to the core to reduce magnetic loss and gaps needs to be stable to reduce the energy loss. Therefore, the efficiency and performance of the differential assembly can be improved.
However, MARUYAMA fails to disclose the electrical wiring being directly secured to the extended member.
Fritz teaches a similar kind of a lockable differential assembly (e.g. 10, figs. 1-8) wherein an electrical wiring (296, fig. 5) being directly secured (via mounting bracket 290) to a member (e.g. differential case 215 by a bolt 292). (see para 38 and fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA by adding a mounting bracket (290 of Fritz) with the extended member (81 of MARUYAMA) as taught by Fritz, such as the wire can be secured, therefore tangling of the wires can be mitigated. (see para 38 of Fritz)
Fig. A: Annotated fig. 1 of MARUYAMA
Regarding claim 2, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAM-A further discloses wherein the stator housing (27) is radially piloted at the outer diameter via contact with a feature or surface (e.g. see para 37) of the differential case (e.g. 4). (see para 37” The snug and slidable fit of the sleeve portion 27 on the outer periphery 22 (or the stepped portion 8) positions the core 25 and the solenoid 15 in place as being coaxial with the axis of the differential case 3. This allows omission of any other means for securing or supporting the solenoid 15 relative to the stationary member 33 in the radial direction.)
Regarding claim 3, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the stator housing (25) is further radially aligned based on mutual engagement of the slip ring (77) and the inner diameter of the stator housing (has no character numeral, see fig. 1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses a retaining ring (e.g. an elastic body 35, para 25, fig. 1) configured to axially constrain the stator housing relative to the differential case (3) and wherein the retaining ring is a multi-part retaining ring. (see para 25 and fig. 2 of MARUYAMA)
Regarding claim 6, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, HILLMAN further discloses a lock detection sensor (e.g. 15, 15’, 96, 96’, fig. 4B/C, para 45/46) assembly comprising a sensor (e.g. 15, 15’) and a target (e.g. 96/96’, fig. 4B/C), the lock detection sensor assembly configured to detect an axial distance between the stator (28) and the armature.
Regarding claim 8, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the extended member is further configured to guide electrical wiring of the lock detection sensor assembly, the electrical wiring of the lock detection sensor assembly being directly secured to the extended member.
Fritz further teaches wherein an electrical wiring (296, fig. 5) of the senser assembly (260, fig. 5, para 38) being directly secured (via mounting bracket 290) to a member (e.g. differential case 215 by a bolt 292). (see para 38 and fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA by adding an electrical wiring with the extended member of MARUYAMA as taught by Fritz, such as the tangling of the wires can be mitigated (see para 38 of Fritz) and the design will be compact since the extended member can guide directly and securely both the electrical wiring of the stator coil and the sensor assembly.
Regarding claim 13, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein an electrical current passes through the stator coil (19) so as to generate a magnetic field when the actuator assembly is in the energized state, and wherein the magnetic field causes the armature to experience a magnetic force toward the stator coil. (see paras 33-36)
Regarding claim 14, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the slip ring (77) is configured to radially align the armature (75) relative to the rotational axis. (see fig. 1 and para 33 of MARUYAMA)
Regarding claim 18, HILLMAN discloses a differential assembly (e.g. 10, figs. 1-6, para 27) with a lock detection (via sensor 15, 15’ fig. 4B) capability and switchable between a locked state and unlocked state (see para 22), the differential assembly comprising:
a differential casing (12, fig. 1, para 24);
a lock plate (e.g. 40, figs. 3 or 4A, para 30) and a lock gear (18, fig. 3, para 25) rotatably disposed within the differential casing (12) so as to rotate about a rotational axis (e.g. 14, fig. 4A), the lock plate (40) configured to be axially translated so as to selectively engage the lock gear (18) when in the locked state (fig. 4A, para 25);
a biasing member (34, fig. 4B, para 30) configured to axially bias the lock plate (40) away from the lock gear (18);
an actuator assembly (e.g. 28, 32, 36, fig. 4A, para 27) configured to be switched between an energized state and a de- energized state, the actuator assembly comprising:
an armature (e.g. 32) and
a stator (e.g. 28) including a stator housing with an outer diameter and an inner diameter (see fig. 3);
a lock detection sensor assembly (e.g. 15, 15’, 96, 96’, fig. 4B/C, paras 45-56) comprising a sensor (15, 15’) and a target (96, 96’), the lock detection sensor assembly configured to detect an axial distance between the stator (28) and the armature (32);
an anti-rotation assembly (e.g. an anti-rotation bracket 95, fig. 4b/C) including an extended member configured to (i) couple the stator housing to the differential case (12);
a slip ring assembly (e.g. 34, 40, 50, fig. 4B/4C) configured to axially translate when switching between the locked state and the unlocked state, the slip ring assembly comprising:
a slip ring (e.g. flange 62)
one or more pins (50) rotationally coupling the slip ring (62) to the lock plate (40),
wherein the slip ring assembly is configured to transmit an axial locking force from the actuator assembly to the lock plate when the actuator assembly is in the energized state,
wherein the slip ring assembly is configured to transmit an axial return force from the lock plate to the actuator assembly when the actuator assembly is in the de-energized state, and
wherein the differential casing (12 via 95 as shown in fig. 4B/C) is configured to radially pilot the stator housing (28) at the outer diameter so as to radially align the stator housing relative to the rotational axis (14).
But HILLMAN fails to disclose the anti-rotation assembly including an extended member configured to (i) couple the stator housing to a non-rotating external structure so as to prevent a rotation of the stator housing about the rotational axis, and (ii) guide electrical wiring of the lock detection senser assembly, the electrical wiring being directly secured to the extended member; and a slip surface configured to interact with the armature so as to enable relative rotation between the slip ring and the armature.
MARUYAMA teaches a similar kind of a differential assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 1) wherein
an actuator assembly (e.g. 17, fig. 1, para 20) configured to be switched between an energized state and a de-energized state (see paras 35-36),
the actuator assembly comprising
an armature (e.g. 75) and
a stator (e.g. 25, para 22) including a stator housing (e.g. 25, 27) and a stator coil (e.g. 19) disposed within the stator housing, the stator housing including an outer diameter and an inner diameter,
an anti-rotation assembly (e.g. 81, fig. 1, para 24) having an extended member (81, see fig. 1) configured to (i) couple the stator housing (25) to a non-rotating external structure (e.g. stationary member 33, para 24) so as to prevent a rotation of the stator housing about the rotational axis, and, (see figs. 1-2 and paras 24-25)
a slip ring (77, para 33) including a slip surface to interface with the armature (75) so as to enable relative rotation between the slip ring (77) and the armature (75).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN by substituting the actuator assembly and modifying the anti-rotation assembly as taught by MARUYAMA, such as the differential assembly would have an appropriate gap relative to the core to reduce magnetic loss and gaps needs to be stable to reduce the energy loss. Therefore, the efficiency and performance of the differential assembly can be improved.
However, MARUYAMA fails to disclose the extended member configured to guide electrical wiring of the lock detection sensor assembly, the electrical wiring being directly secured to the extended member.
Fritz teaches a similar kind of a lockable differential assembly (e.g. 10, figs. 1-8) wherein an electrical wiring (296, fig. 5) of the senser assembly (260, fig. 5, para 38) being directly secured (via mounting bracket 290) to a member (e.g. differential case 215 by a bolt 292). (see para 38 and fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA by adding an electrical wiring with the extended member of MARUYAMA by a mounting bracket (290 of Fritz) to secure the wiring (296 of Fritz) as taught by Fritz, such as the tangling of the wires can be mitigated. (see para 38 of Fritz)
Claims 7, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HILLMAN et al. (US 20190226566 A1) in view of MARUYAMA et al. (US 20100056314 A1) and Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1), and further in view of Gostin et al. (US 10920866 B2)(hereinafter “Gostin”).
Regarding claim 7, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 6, HILLMAN further discloses wherein one of the sensor or the target (96’, fig. 4C) is coupled to the armature (32) but fails to disclose a remaining one of the sensor or the target is coupled to the stator.
Gostin teaches a similar kind of differential assembly (e.g. 2, figs. 1-8) wherein one of the sensor (310) and the target (312) is coupled to the armature (172), and the other of the sensor and the target is coupled to the stator (170). (see fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz by adding up a sensor assembly as taught by Gostin such as the actuation can be a reliable and efficient.
Regarding claim 9, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz/Gostin discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the non-rotating external structure (33) is an axle housing or a cover. (see figs. 1-2 and paras 24-25 of MARUYAMA)
Regarding claim 11, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz / Gostin discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the anti-rotation assembly (81) is further configured to rotationally couple the armature (75) to the stator housing so as to prevent a rotation of the armature (75) about the rotational axis (via core 25). (see figs. 1-2 and para 25 of MARUYAMA)
Regarding claim 12, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz / Gostin discloses the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the anti-rotation assembly enables a relative axial motion between the armature (75) and the stator housing. (see figs. 1-2 and para 25 of MARUYAMA)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HILLMAN et al. (US 20190226566 A1) in view of MARUYAMA et al. (US 20100056314 A1) and Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1) and further in view of Seubert et al. (US 20250003483 A1)(hereinafter “Seubert”).
Regarding claim 10, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the extended member comprises a sheet metal structure.
Seubert teaches a gear assembly (e.g. 2, figs. 1-8) wherein the extended member of anti-rotation means (8, fig. 6) comprises a sheet metal structure. (see para 41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz by substituting the extended member material with a sheet metal as taught by Seubert such as the actuation can be a reliable and efficient.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HILLMAN et al. (US 20190226566 A1) in view of MARUYAMA et al. (US 20100056314 A1) and Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1).
Regarding claim 15, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the slip ring assembly further comprises one or more features to axially constrain the armature relative to the slip ring.
MARUYAMA teaches in another embodiment (fig. 5) wherein the slip ring (77) assembly further comprises one or more features (e.g. 205, 209, 303, 305, 307, para 52) to axially constrain the armature (75) relative to the slip ring (77).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz by adding up one or more features as taught by fig. 5 of MARUYAMA such as the actuation assembly can be position property, moreover, the solenoid provides a larger magnetic force due to the contact portion 303, the differential assembly provides improved efficiency in light of the electric power consumption. (see para 52 of MARUYAMA)
Regarding claim 16, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 15, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the one or more features comprise a groove or a raised edge (303) provided in the slip ring.
Regarding claim 17, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 15, MARUYAMA further discloses wherein the one or more features comprise a washer or a snap ring (209, fig. 5 and para 47 of MARUYAMA).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HILLMAN et al. (US 20190226566 A1) in view of MARUYAMA et al. (US 20100056314 A1) and Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1) and further in view of Gostin et al. (US 10920866 B2).
Regarding claim 19, HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz discloses all the elements of the differential assembly as modified according to claim 18, HILLMAN further discloses wherein one of the sensor or the target (96’, fig. 4C) is coupled to the armature (32) but fails to disclose a remaining one of the sensor or the target is coupled to the stator.
Gostin teaches a similar kind of differential assembly (e.g. 2, figs. 1-8) wherein one of the sensor (310) and the target (312) is coupled to the armature (172), and the other of the sensor and the target is coupled to the stator (170). (see fig. 8)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA/ Fritz by adding up a sensor assembly as taught by Gostin such as the actuation can be a reliable and efficient.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HILLMAN et al. (US 20190226566 A1) in view of MARUYAMA et al. (US 20100056314 A1) and further in view of Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1).
Regarding claim 20, HILLMAN discloses a method of assembling a lockable differential assembly (e.g. 10, figs. 1-6, para 27), the method comprising:
providing a lock gear (18, fig. 3, para 25) a lock plate (e.g. 40, figs. 3 or 4A, para 30) each rotatably disposed within a differential casing (12) so as to rotate about a rotational axis (14, fig. 4B)’ the lock plate being axially biased apart from the lock gear ?(18) via a biasing member (e.g. spring 34, fig. 4B),
rotationally coupling the lock plate (e.g. 40, figs. 3 or 4A, para 30) to a slip ring assembly (e.g. 34, 40, 50) comprising a slip ring (66) and one or more pins (50, fig. 4B);
providing an actuator assembly (e.g. 28, 32, 36, fig. 4A, para 27) comprising an armature (e.g. 32) and a stator (e.g. 28), and the slip ring axially coupled to the armature (32), the armature configured to axially translate toward the stator in an energized state of the actuator assembly;
radially piloting (via an anti-rotation bracket 95) an outer diameter of a stator housing (28) via contact with a feature or surface (has no character numeral but pointed by 102 in fig. 4B) of the differential casing (12) so as to radially align the stator housing relative to the rotation axis (14); and
providing a lock detection sensor assembly (e.g. 15, 15’, 96, 96’, paras 45-46) comprising at least one sensor component (e.g. target 96, 96’) respectively coupled to each of the armature (32) and the stator, the lock detection sensor assembly configured to detect an axial distance between the stator (28) and the armature (32);
providing an anti-rotation assembly (95, fig. 4B, paras 45-46) comprising an extended member configured to (i) couple the stator housing to the differential case (12);
wherein the slip ring assembly is configured to transmit an axial locking force from the actuator assembly to the lock plate when the actuator assembly is in the energized state,
wherein the slip ring assembly is configured to transmit an axial return force from the lock plate to the actuator assembly when the actuator assembly is in the de-energized state.
But HILLMAN fails to disclose the anti-rotation assembly including an extended member configured to (i) couple the stator housing to a non-rotating external structure so as to prevent a rotation of the stator housing about the rotational axis, and (ii) guide electrical wiring of the lock detection sensor, the electrical wiring being directly secured to the extended member; and a slip surface configured to interact with the armature so as to enable relative rotation between the slip ring and the armature.
MARUYAMA teaches a similar kind of a differential assembly (e.g. 1, fig. 1) wherein
an actuator assembly (e.g. 17, fig. 1, para 20) configured to be switched between an energized state and a de-energized state (see paras 35-36),
the actuator assembly comprising
an armature (e.g. 75) and
a stator (e.g. 25, para 22) including a stator housing (e.g. 25, 27) and a stator coil (e.g. 19) disposed within the stator housing, the stator housing including an outer diameter and an inner diameter,
an anti-rotation assembly (e.g. 81, fig. 1, para 24) having an extended member (see annotated fig. A above) configured to (i) couple the stator housing (25) to a non-rotating external structure (e.g. stationary member 33, para 24) so as to prevent a rotation of the stator housing about the rotational axis, and (ii) guide electrical wiring (e.g. 79, fig. 1, para 33) of the stator coil (e.g. 19, see fig. 1), (see figs. 1-2 and paras 24-25)
a slip ring (77, para 33) including a slip surface to interface with the armature (75) so as to enable relative rotation between the slip ring (77) and the armature (75).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN by substituting the actuator assembly and modifying the anti-rotation assembly as taught by MARUYAMA, such as the differential assembly would have an appropriate gap relative to the core to reduce magnetic loss and gaps needs to be stable to reduce the energy loss and the . Therefore, the efficiency and performance of the differential assembly can be improved.
However, MARUYAMA fails to disclose the extended member configured to guide electrical wiring of the lock detection sensor assembly, the electrical wiring being secured to the extended member.
Fritz teaches a similar kind of a lockable differential assembly (e.g. 10, figs. 1-8) wherein an electrical wiring (296, fig. 5) of the senser assembly (260, fig. 5, para 38) being directly secured (via mounting bracket 290) to a member (e.g. differential case 215 by a bolt 292). (see para 38 and fig. 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HILLMAN/ MARUYAMA by adding an electrical wiring (296 of Fritz) of the sensor assembly with the extended member of MARUYAMA by a mounting bracket (290 of Fritz) to secure the wiring (296 of Fritz) as taught by Fritz, such as the tangling of the wires can be mitigated. (see para 38 of Fritz)
Response to argument
Applicant contends that HILLMAN/MARUYAMA/ Fusegi combination does not disclose or suggest the newly recited features of claims 1, 8, 18 and 20. While this argument is found persuasive, a new reference (Fritz et al. (US 20200116245 A1)) has been applied that discloses the new limitation, as appears above.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Donofrio et al. (US 7682279 B2) discloses a locking differential wherein electric wirings of a sensor assembly 28 are directly secured and guided as shown in figs 25-26 and 28.
Conclusion
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655