DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 13-17, 23 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: It has been held that an element is “adapting” and “adaptation” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform and are intended use and typical of claim limitation which may not distinguish over the prior art. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GAJIC et al (20240381179).
Regarding claim 1, GAJIC et al disclose, a method implemented in a telecommunication network (fig. 2) including at least one management infrastructure electrically powered by at least one electrical energy supplier (36, fig. 1) via an electrical grid the method comprising (abstract, fig. 1-7):
receiving by an electronic device (i.e., apparatus/network element) connected to the telecommunication network data representative of distribution, by type of production energy source, of electric power produced by the at least one electrical energy supplier or available on the electrical grid (¶ 0053, 0057, the energy type data may be obtained from at least one application function associated to an energy supplier for at least a part of the communication network);
testing by the electronic device at least one condition relating to said distribution (¶ 0053, 0058-0060, the energy type data may be obtained by using a specified event identification indicating a capability of providing the energy type data, changes in at least one of an availability of at least one energy type, or an energy supplier providing an energy type may be derived, in the first mapping process, location information related to a network element or network function may be mapped to an energy service area or point of supply of an energy type indicated in the energy type data, and an energy type or a mixture of energy types used for the energy supply to a network element or network function may be deduced); and
adapting operation of the electronic device or operation of another electronic device connected to the telecommunication network, when the at least one condition is met (¶ 0053-0054, 0060-0066, 0169, operation conducted in the communication network, and to process a result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation or network optimization operation based on the energy type data).
Regarding claim 2, GAJIC et al disclose in claim 1, further, wherein the electronic device is a user equipment configured to establish a radio link with the telecommunication network and wherein the adapting comprises adapting the user equipment (¶ 0053, 0125, apparatus, such as a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 3, GAJIC et al disclose in claim 1, further comprising receiving , by the electronic device , other data representative of another distribution, by type of production energy source, of an electric power at least partly powering another telecommunication network; and connecting the electronic device to the telecommunication network or to the other telecommunication network as a function of said distribution and said other distribution (¶ 0056-0060, 0067, 0073, 0106, information indicating a respective partition of an energy type of a specific characteristic, information indicating a mixture of different energy types used for the energy supply and a respective partition of the different energy types, information indicating an energy service area of an energy type powered by the energy supply, information indicating a point of supply of an energy type used for the energy supply, information indicating a duration of availability of an energy supply by an energy type, information indicating a price for an energy supply by an energy type, or information indicating an available amount of an energy type and producing different energy types, e.g., renewable/green energy, carbon-free energy, solar-, wind-originated etc., the equipment and infrastructure of the communication network may be powered by different types of energy sources. That is, each service provided by the network may be powered by a single energy type or an energy type mixture.).
Regarding claim 4, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the frequency bands usable by the electronic device to establish said radio link are determined as a function of said distribution (¶ 0053, 0116, 0125, apparatus, such as a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 5, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the electronic device determines a network slice via which the electronic device accesses the telecommunication network as a function of said distribution (¶ 0053, 0102, 0173-0174, the network slice which is used by the company. That is, in the context of the network slice(s) they get from their Network Slice Provider(s) (NSP), the companies as network slice consumers (NSC) may decide to accept some limited QoS degradation from their NSP(s), provided they can specify which QoS limitation they are ready to accept, and related energy savings can be measured and reported to them. That is, an energy aware QoS management is conceivable).
Regarding claim 6, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein a maximum transmission power of the electronic device is modified as a function of said distribution (¶ 0053, 0132-0133, determined that (sufficient) renewable energy is available, a maximum UL/DL data rate may be increased in PCC rules, or otherwise a maximum UL/DL data rate may be decreased. Also an indication that a guaranteed UL/DL data rate is to be maintained unchanged regardless of the availability of the energy type can be indicated).
Regarding claim 7, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein services available for execution by the electronic device are determined as a function of said distribution (¶ 0056-0060, 0067, 0073, 0106, information indicating a respective partition of an energy type of a specific characteristic, information indicating a mixture of different energy types used for the energy supply and a respective partition of the different energy types, information indicating an energy service area of an energy type powered by the energy supply, information indicating a point of supply of an energy type used for the energy supply, information indicating a duration of availability of an energy supply by an energy type, information indicating a price for an energy supply by an energy type, or information indicating an available amount of an energy type and producing different energy types, e.g., renewable/green energy, carbon-free energy, solar-, wind-originated etc., the equipment and infrastructure of the communication network may be powered by different types of energy sources. That is, each service provided by the network may be powered by a single energy type or an energy type mixture.).
Regarding claim 8, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the representative data are received by the electronic device within a block of system information (¶ 0060, 0084-0085, receive mapping data including a mapping of location information related to a network element or network function to an energy service area or point of supply of an energy type or a mixture of energy types, to derive, on the basis of the domain specific energy consumption information and the mapping data, energy mixture information related to the part of the communication network or to a communication connection in the communication network, and to expose the energy mixture information to an internal network element or network function, or an external party connected to the communication network).
Regarding claim 9, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further , wherein the electronic device is equipped with a subscriber identification module configured to store data indicative of said at least one condition (¶ 0053, 0116, 0125, the apparatus comprising at least one processing circuitry, and at least one memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing circuitry, cause the apparatus at least: to obtain energy type data related to an energy supply of at least a part of the communication network, to conduct a first mapping process of mapping the obtained energy type data to at least one network element or network function of the communication network or to at least one communication operation conducted in the communication network, and to process a result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation or network optimization operation based on the energy type data).
Regarding claim 10, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the electronic unit device is an infrastructure device of the telecommunication network (¶ 0053, 0116, 0119, 0125, the apparatus comprising at least one processing circuitry, and at least one memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing circuitry, cause the apparatus at least: to obtain energy type data related to an energy supply of at least a part of the communication network, to conduct a first mapping process of mapping the obtained energy type data to at least one network element or network function of the communication network or to at least one communication operation conducted in the communication network, and to process a result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation or network optimization operation based on the energy type data and such as a base station (BS), an access point (AP), a NodeB (NB), an eNB or a gNB, a distributed or a centralized unit, which controls a respective coverage area or cell(s) and with which one or more communication stations such as user equipments, e.g. user devices or terminal devices, or another device having a similar function, such as a modem chipset, a chip, a module etc., which can also be part of a station, an element, a function or an application capable of conducting a communication, such as a UE).
Regarding claim 11, GAJIC et al discloses in claims 1 and 10, further, wherein the electronic device is designed to establish a radio link with at least one user equipment (¶ 0053, 0116, 0119, 0125, the apparatus comprising at least one processing circuitry, and at least one memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processing circuitry, cause the apparatus at least: to obtain energy type data related to an energy supply of at least a part of the communication network, to conduct a first mapping process of mapping the obtained energy type data to at least one network element or network function of the communication network or to at least one communication operation conducted in the communication network, and to process a result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation or network optimization operation based on the energy type data and such as a base station (BS), an access point (AP), a NodeB (NB), an eNB or a gNB, a distributed or a centralized unit, which controls a respective coverage area or cell(s) and with which one or more communication stations such as user equipments, e.g. user devices or terminal devices, or another device having a similar function, such as a modem chipset, a chip, a module etc., which can also be part of a station, an element, a function or an application capable of conducting a communication, such as a UE).
Regarding claim 12, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, 10, further, further comprising establishing , by the electronic device and as a function of said distribution, a list of network slices usable by the at least one user equipment; and transmitting said list of network slices from the electronic device to the at least one user equipment (¶ 0053, 0102, 0173-0174, the network slice which is used by the company. That is, in the context of the network slice(s) they get from their Network Slice Provider(s) (NSP), the companies as network slice consumers (NSC) may decide to accept some limited QoS degradation from their NSP(s), provided they can specify which QoS limitation they are ready to accept, and related energy savings can be measured and reported to them. That is, an energy aware QoS management is conceivable).
Regarding claim 13, GAJIC et al discloses in claims 1, further, wherein the electronic is configured, to transmit to the other electronic device data causing an adaptation of the operation of the other electronic device, when said at least one condition is met (¶ 0061-0063, 0201-0202, result of the second mapping process is then transmitted to an a network element or network function for processing the result. The receiving network element or network function may be an internal network element or network function, and/or an external party connected to the communication network).
Regarding claim 14, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further , wherein the adapting comprises postponing execution of a task when said at least one condition is met (¶ 0067, 0078, 0133, 0154, instructions are provided which automate a switching between different policies for QoS management. For example, the OAM derives policies and conditions when a certain PCC rule such as a PCC rule following a more aggressive energy saving strategy should be activated e.g. when the amount of available renewable energy is below a certain threshold. Corresponding rules are configured at the PCF, for example, wherein dynamic PCC rules are provisioned by the PCF to network elements implementing the ruses, e.g. to the SMF, once the conditions for the switching are met).
Regarding claim 15, GAJIC et al discloses in claims 1, 14, further, wherein said task is an updating of a software component of the electronic device (¶ 0157, updated with the new Event IDs and associated AF identification, Application ID(s)).
Regarding claim 16, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the adapting comprises selecting a predefined algorithm to implement a specific functionality (¶ 0169, defined that a guaranteed UL/DL data rate is to be kept unchanged regardless of the availability of a respective energy type. Furthermore, the OAM can define policies and conditions when certain PCC rule is to be activated, for example by indicating certain thresholds for an available amount of renewable energy, or the like. The QoS setting information defining the corresponding rules are then configured at the PCF which then determines in S420 corresponding dynamic PCC rules to be provisioned by the PCF to the corresponding NF (e.g. the SMF) once predefined conditions (e.g. thresholds) are met. That is, the PCF determines the PCC rules following the guidelines from OAM).
Regarding claim 17, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein the adapting comprises modifying a location, within the telecommunication network, of buffers used by user equipment connected to the telecommunication network (¶ 0176-0180, corresponding RAN energy consumption information related to individual UEs are collected via subscribing to the AMF Namf_Location_ProvideLocationInfo service, the AMF provides RAN domain location information, such as cell ID and/or geo-location information per targeted UE to the NWDAF, the analytics function retrieves information from the OAM regarding the mapping between UE's serving gNB and corresponding energy type data, such as its energy service area or point of supply, the NWDAF derives the RAN (or CN) energy type/mixture information and exposes it to interested consumers, e.g. other network functions).
Regarding claim 18, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein said at least one condition is met when said distribution indicates that an electric power portion obtained from fossil energies is higher than a predetermined threshold (¶ 0131-0133, 0169, 0171, the energy type data or results of the mapping processing, which inform about the mixture of energy types, are used for optimizing network management procedures. For example, according to examples of embodiments, a control procedure related to energy consumption in the communication network is determined. For example, energy saving decisions can be enhanced; this is achieved by deriving, for example, cell switch on/off thresholds so as to save energy particularly when no renewable energy is supplied).
Regarding claim 19, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein said at least one condition is met when said distribution indicates that an electric power portion derived from wind is higher than a predetermined threshold (¶ 0106, 0128-0129, a specific event ID which is referred to as “energy type”, for example is provided which is required to indicate that an AF is capable of providing the information regarding the energy type or regarding a change of energy type, such as renewable, green, wind, solar, carbon-free, non-renewable, etc. energy types, along with further information, e.g., location energy service area or point of supply).
Regarding claim 20, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein said representative data are transmitted by a server associated with one of the electrical energy supplier and the electrical grid (¶ 0125, 0144, OAM functions concern operations and maintenance functions which provide necessary tools for e.g. network operators to operate and maintain the networks. It is to be noted that the functionality of the OAM entity may reside in a single entity, such as a server, or may be distributed over a plurality of entities. For the sake of simplicity, in the following, it is assumed that the OAM functionality is provided by the OAM entity).
Regarding claim 21, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein said representative data are transmitted through an operation, administration and maintenance architecture associated with the telecommunication network(¶ 0062-0063, 0201, 0202, when processing the result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation, the result of the first mapping may be transmitted to at least one of a network element or network function of the communication network, or an external party connected to the communication network, when processing the result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation, a second mapping process for mapping the energy type data to energy consumption measurement data related to at least a part of the communication network may be conducted, and a result of the second mapping process may be transmitted to a network element or network function for processing the result).
Regarding claim 22, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, wherein said representative data are transmitted through at least one management function that is configured to manage the telecommunication network (¶ 0062-0063, 0201, 0202, when processing the result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation, the result of the first mapping may be transmitted to at least one of a network element or network function of the communication network, or an external party connected to the communication network, when processing the result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation, a second mapping process for mapping the energy type data to energy consumption measurement data related to at least a part of the communication network may be conducted, and a result of the second mapping process may be transmitted to a network element or network function for processing the result).
`Regarding claim 23, GAJIC et al discloses in claim 1, further, an electronic device comprising:
a communication device configured to establish a link with a telecommunication network comprising at least one management infrastructure electrically powered by at least one electrical energy supplier via an electrical grid, and to receive data representative of a distribution, by type of production energy source, of electric power produced by the at least one electrical energy supplier or available on the electrical grid (¶ 0053, 0058-0060, the energy type data may be obtained by using a specified event identification indicating a capability of providing the energy type data, changes in at least one of an availability of at least one energy type, or an energy supplier providing an energy type may be derived, in the first mapping process, location information related to a network element or network function may be mapped to an energy service area or point of supply of an energy type indicated in the energy type data, and an energy type or a mixture of energy types used for the energy supply to a network element or network function may be deduced); and
circuitry configured to test at least one condition relating to said distribution and to adapt, when said at least one condition is met, operation of the electronic device (¶ 0053-0054, 0060-0066, 0169, operation conducted in the communication network, and to process a result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation or network optimization operation based on the energy type data).
Regarding claim 24, GAJIC et al discloses in claims 1 and 23, further, wherein said electronic device is a user equipment, and wherein the communication device is configured to establish a radio link with the telecommunication network (¶ 0053, 0125, apparatus, such as a mobile phone).
Regarding claim 25, GAJIC et al disclose in claim 1, further, an electronic device comprising:
a communication device configured to establish a link with a telecommunication network comprising at least one management infrastructure electrically powered by at least one electrical energy supplier via an electrical grid, and to receive data representative of a distribution, by type of production energy source, of electric power produced by the at least one electrical energy supplier or available on the electrical grid (¶ 0053, 0058-0060, the energy type data may be obtained by using a specified event identification indicating a capability of providing the energy type data, changes in at least one of an availability of at least one energy type, or an energy supplier providing an energy type may be derived, in the first mapping process, location information related to a network element or network function may be mapped to an energy service area or point of supply of an energy type indicated in the energy type data, and an energy type or a mixture of energy types used for the energy supply to a network element or network function may be deduced); and
adaptation circuitry configured to test at least one condition relating to said distribution and to control, when said at least one condition is met, a transmission, to another electronic device connected to the telecommunication network, of data causing an adaptation of operation of the other electronic device (¶ 0053-0054, 0060-0066, 0169, operation conducted in the communication network, and to process a result of the first mapping process for conducting a report operation or network optimization operation based on the energy type data and ¶ 0061-0063, 0201-0202, result of the second mapping process is then transmitted to an a network element or network function for processing the result. The receiving network element or network function may be an internal network element or network function, and/or an external party connected to the communication network).
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643