DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (CN 113141744; Liang” hereinafter) in view of Kang et al. (KR 20220061805A; “Kang” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Liang discloses an electronic device comprising: a first housing (base 10); a second housing (telescopic bracket 20) configured to slide relative to the first housing (par. [n0033]); a display (30) comprising a first display area (a first portion of the display 30 disposed above the base 10 represented by “first display area” in annotated fig. 3) disposed on the first housing (fig. 3) and a second display area (a second portion of the display 30 disposed above the telescopic bracket 20 in extended state represented by “second display area” in annotated fig. 3) extending from the first display area (fig. 3), wherein the display is configured so that at least a portion of the second display area can be slid based on sliding of the second housing (the second display area of the display 30 is disposed below the base 10 or telescopic bracket 20 in retracted state as depicted in fig. 1 and slide out in the extended state as depicted in fig. 3); a first battery (81) disposed in the first housing (par. [n0045]); a second battery (82) disposed in the second housing (par. [n0045]) and configured to slide based on the sliding of the second housing (battery is disposed in the telescopic bracket 20, and the telescopic bracket 20 is slidable with respect to the base 10 according to par. [n0033], [n0067]; so, the battery 82 is configured to slide along with the telescopic bracket 20); a plate (21 or the main body of the telescopic bracket 20 where the battery 20 is disposed or accommodated) configured to provide a seating space for the second battery (figs. 2-3, and 10).
Liang does not explicitly disclose a plate disposed in the second housing and configured to provide a seating space for the second battery based on the sliding of the second housing; and a support member, comprising a support, having at least one end connected to the first housing and at least one other end connected to the plate, wherein the support member is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing.
Kang teaches an electronic device (200) comprising a second housing (202); the housing accommodates a printed circuit board or a battery (par. [0070]; the electronic device further comprises printed circuit board (261, 262) accommodated in the housing, and a bracket (270) supporting the printed circuit boards (261, 262) (par. [0087]); a support member (link 400), comprising a support (link structures 410, 420, 430, 440), having at least one end connected to a first side member (201a) and at least one other end connected to the bracket (270) (par. [0087]), wherein the support member (400) is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing (202) (the link structure 400 is configured to unfold when the device 200 extended and the second housing or structure 202 slide out, fig. 8-9, par. [0070]. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang to incorporate a plate disposed in the second housing and configured to provide a seating space for the second battery based on the sliding of the second housing; and a support member, comprising a support, having at least one end connected to the first housing and at least one other end connected to the plate, wherein the support member is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing as suggested by Kang because such modification helps in extending and retracting of the device, and further helps in the expansion and contraction of the display screen.
Regarding claim 2, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) discloses wherein the second battery (82) is configured to be disposed between at least the first display area and the second display area when the electronic device is in a closed state (second battery 82 is disposed between the upper visible portion of the display and the retracted portion of the display 30, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) discloses wherein the second battery is configured to be positioned above the first battery when the electronic device is in a closed state (fig. 2-3, 9-10).
Regarding claim 4, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Kang) discloses wherein the plate (270) is disposed below the display (103) and configured to slide based on the sliding of the second housing (202).
Regarding claim 5, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) disclose wherein the second battery (82) is disposed below at least a portion of the plate (21) (figs. 2-3, 10).
Regarding claim 6, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) disclose wherein the plate comprises a flat surface and a curved surface extending from the flat surface to correspond to a curved surface of the second housing (the main body of the telescopic bracket 20 has a flat surface and a and a curved surface extending from the flat surface to correspond to a curved surface of the telescopic bracket, figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Kang) discloses wherein the support member comprises: a first support member (411, 421, 431, 441) configured to rotate in a first direction based on the sliding of the second housing (202) (figs. 8-13); and a second support member (412, 423, 432, 442) sharing a central axis with the first support member (each of the first arms 411, 421, 431 or 441 and the respective second arms 412, 422, 432 or 442 rotates along a respective shaft that is disposed between them, figs 8-13), wherein the second support member is configured to rotate in a second direction opposite to the first direction based on the sliding of the second housing (first arms 411, 421, 431 or 441 and the respective second arms 412, 422, 432 or 442 rotates in opposite direction, figs 8-13).
Regarding claim 8, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 7.
Kang further teaches wherein the plate comprises a first slit (hole in the bracket 270 where the shaft 411a is accommodated) configured for connection to the first support member (410) and a second slit (hole in the bracket 270 where the shaft connected to the end of the arm 421 is accommodated, similar to that of the shaft 411a of the arm 411) configured for connection to the second support member (420) (fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to have wherein the plate comprises a first slit configured for connection to the first support member and a second slit configured for connection to the second support member as taught by Kang because such modification helps the first and the second support members or arm of the link structure to rotatably coupled to the plate.
Regarding claim 9, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 7.
Kang further teaches wherein the first slit is provided in a first protruding area protruding from the plate (270) (fig. 16), and wherein the second slit is provided in a second protruding area protruding from the plate (fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to have the first slit is provided in a first protruding area protruding from the plate, and wherein the second slit is provided in a second protruding area protruding from the plate as taught by Kang because such modification provides more space for the rotations of the first and the second support members or arm of the link structure.
Regarding claim 10, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 7.
Kang further teaches wherein the first housing (201) comprises: a third slit (hole in the farm structure 201 where the shaft 412a is accommodated) configured to engage with the first support member (410) (fig. 16); and a fourth slit (hole in the frame 201 where the shaft connected to the end of the arm 421 is accommodated, similar to that of the shaft 412a of the arm 412) configured to engage with the second support member (420) (fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to have the first housing comprises: a third slit configured to engage with the first support member; and a fourth slit configured to engage with the second support member as taught by Kang because such modification helps the first and the second support members or arm of the link structure to rotatably coupled to the first frame or first housing.
Regarding claim 11, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 1.
Kang further teaches wherein the support member comprises at least one protrusion (shaft 411a, 412a) extending in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the support member (410) from proximate the at least one end of the support member (fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to have the support member comprises at least one protrusion extending in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the support member from proximate the at least one end of the support member as taught by Kang because such modification helps in the rotational movement of the support member or arm of the link structure.
Regarding claim 12, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 10.
Kang further teaches wherein the first support member (410) comprises a first protrusion (412a) positioned proximate an end connected to the first housing (201), and a second protrusion (411a) positioned proximate another end connected to the plate (270) (fig. 16), wherein the first protrusion engages with the third slit (hole in the housing or frame 201 into which the shaft 412a is accommodated) of the first housing, and wherein the second protrusion engages with the first slit (hole in the bracket 270 into which the shaft 411a is accommodated) of the plate (fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to have the first support member comprises a first protrusion positioned proximate an end connected to the first housing, and a second protrusion positioned proximate another end connected to the plate, wherein the first protrusion engages with the third slit of the first housing, and wherein the second protrusion engages with the first slit of the plate as taught by Kang because such modification helps the support member or arm of the link structure to rotatably coupled to the first housing and the plate.
Regarding claim 13, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 10.
Kang further teaches wherein the second support member (420) comprises a third protrusion (shaft that is connected to the end of the arm 422 and the first structure or housing 201, similar to the shaft 412a, fig. 16) positioned proximate an end connected to the first housing (201), and a fourth protrusion (shaft that is connected to the end of the arm 422 and the bracket, similar to the shaft 411a) positioned proximate another end connected to the plate (270) (fig. 16), wherein the third protrusion engages with the third slit (hole in the housing or frame 201 into which the shaft of the arm 422 is accommodated) of the first housing, and wherein the second protrusion engages with the first slit (hole in the bracket 270 into which the shaft of the arm 421 is accommodated) of the plate (fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to have the second support member comprises a third protrusion positioned proximate an end connected to the first housing, and a fourth protrusion positioned proximate another end connected to the plate, wherein the third protrusion engages with the fourth slit of the first housing, and wherein the fourth protrusion engages with the second slit of the plate as taught by Kang because such modification helps the support member or arm of the link structure to rotatably coupled to the first housing and the plate.
Regarding claim 14, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) discloses
a first printed circuit board (50) disposed in the first housing (10); and a second printed circuit board (60) disposed in the second housing (20) and configured to slide based on the sliding of the second housing (figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Liang discloses an electronic device comprising: a first housing (base 10); a second housing (telescopic bracket 20) configured to slide relative to the first housing (par. [n0033], figs 2-3); a display (30) comprising a first display area (a first portion of the display 30 disposed above the base 10 represented by “first display area” in annotated fig. 3) disposed on the first housing (10) (fig. 3) and a second display area (a second portion of the display 30 disposed above the telescopic bracket 20 in extended state represented by “second display area” in annotated fig. 3) extending from the first display area (fig. 3), wherein the display is configured so that at least a portion of the second display area is configured to slide based on sliding of the second housing (the second display area of the display 30 is disposed below the base 10 or telescopic bracket 20 in retracted state as depicted in fig. 1 and slide out in the extended state as depicted in fig. 3); a first electrical component (circuit board assembly 50, battery 10) disposed in the first housing (par. [n0045], figs. 2-3); a second electrical component (PCB 60, battery 82) disposed in the second housing (par. [n0045]; figs 2-3) and configured to slide based on the sliding of the second housing (battery 82 and the circuit board 60 are disposed in the telescopic bracket 20, and the telescopic bracket 20 is slidable with respect to the base 10 according to par. [n0033], [n0067], figs 2-3; so, the battery 82 and is configured to slide along with the telescopic bracket 20); a plate (21 or the main body of the telescopic bracket 20 where the battery 20 is disposed or accommodated) configured to provide a seating space for the second component (figs. 2-3 and 10)
Liang does not explicitly disclose the plate being disposed in the second housing and configured to provide a seating space for the second component based on the sliding of the second housing; and a support member, comprising a support, having at least one end connected to the first housing and at least one other end connected to the plate, wherein the support member is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing.
Kang teaches an electronic device (200) comprising a second housing (202); the housing accommodates a printed circuit board or a battery (par. [0070]; the electronic device further comprises printed circuit board (261, 262) accommodated in the housing, and a bracket (270) supporting the printed circuit boards (261, 262) (par. [0087]); a support member (link 400), comprising a support (link structures 410, 420, 430, 440), having at least one end connected to a first side member (201a) and at least one other end connected to the bracket (270) (par. [0087]), wherein the support member (400) is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing (202) (the link structure 400 is configured to unfold when the device 200 extended and the second housing or structure 202 slide out, fig. 8-9, par. [0070]. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang to incorporate a plate disposed in the second housing and configured to provide a seating space for the second battery based on the sliding of the second housing; and a support member, comprising a support, having at least one end connected to the first housing and at least one other end connected to the plate, wherein the support member is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing as suggested by Kang because such modification helps in extending and retracting mechanism of the device and the expansion and contraction of the display screen.
Regarding claim 17, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) discloses wherein the second battery (82 or circuit board assembly 60) is configured to be disposed between at least the first display area and the second display area when the electronic device is in a closed state (second battery 82 and board 60 is disposed between the upper visible portion of the display and the retracted portion of the display 30, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) discloses wherein the second battery is configured to be positioned above the first battery when the electronic device is in a closed state (fig. 2-3, 9-10).
Regarding claim 19, Liang in view of Kang (relied on Liang) discloses a first printed circuit board (50) disposed in the first housing (10); and a second printed circuit board (60) disposed in the second housing (20) and configured to slide based on the sliding of the second housing (figs 2-3).
Claim(s) 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Kang as applied to claim 14, and in further view of Kim et al. (US 20220182477 ; “Kim” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 14.
Liang in view of Kang does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 14, further comprising: a flexible printed circuit board configured to electrically connect the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board.
Kim teaches an electronic device comprising a flexible printed circuit board (490) configured to electrically connect a first printed circuit board (460) and a second substrate (250) (par. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to incorporate a flexible printed circuit board configured to electrically connect the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board as taught by Kim because such modification helps to maintain electrical connection between two relatively movable substrates or circuit boards.
Regarding claim 20, Liang in view of Kang discloses the device as claimed in claim 94.
Liang in view of Kang does not explicitly disclose the electronic device of claim 14, further comprising: a flexible printed circuit board configured to electrically connect the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board.
Kim teaches an electronic device comprising a flexible printed circuit board (490) configured to electrically connect a first printed circuit board (460) and a second substrate (250) (par. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Liang in view of Kang to incorporate a flexible printed circuit board configured to electrically connect the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board as taught by Kim because such modification helps to maintain electrical connection between two relatively movable substrates or circuit boards.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US 20220171434) teaches an electronic device comprising: a first housing (110); a second housing (120) configured to slide relative to the first housing; a display (130) comprising a first display area (130a) disposed on the first housing and a second display area (130b) extending from the first display area (figs 1-2), wherein the display is configured so that at least a portion of the second display area can be slid based on sliding of the second housing (figs 1-2); a first battery (370) disposed in the first housing; a member (320) disposed in the second housing; and a support member (340), comprising a support (820, 810), having at least one end connected to the first housing and at least one other end connected to the plate (figs. 3-8), wherein the support member is configured to move based on the sliding of the second housing (figs 3-8).
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841