DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “retrieval element” in claim 16, 17, 23, and 26.
The specification of the present invention discloses the equivalent structure capable of performing the function of a retrieval element is a basket defining a containment volume ([0059] and FIG 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dostal et al. (US 9,480,491).
Regarding claim 16, Dostal et al. discloses a retrieval group (FIG 1) for a surgical device comprising: a retrieval element (60, 70, FIG 1, 2, and 4) configured to receive one leading end of a suture thread (Col 6 lines 27-35 discloses basket 60 is configured for “entrapping objects when open”. The shape of the basket and spacing of wires 61a-d is configured for receiving a suture thread); a switch (30, FIG 2) configured to switch the retrieval element between a non- operational configuration (FIG 3), wherein the retrieval element is in a retracted position and does not intercept the leading end of the suture thread (In the retracted/closed basket position of FIG 3, the retrieval element is not exposed and therefore it is non-operational for intercepting a suture thread), and a semi-operational configuration (FIG 4), wherein the retrieval element in an extracted position to intercept said leading end (FIG 4 shows the basket in the extended/open position. In this position, the retrieval element is at least configured to receive a suture thread passing therethrough. Examiner notes the suture thread is not positively recited in the claim and therefore description of the retrieval element in relation to a suture thread is interpreted as an intended use of the device. Further, switch 30 is used to switch between the non-operational and the semi-operational configuration by partially retracting the thumb pad 31, col 9 line42-col 10 line 15), and between the semi-operational configuration and an operational configuration, wherein the retrieval element is in the retracted position and holds said leading end (Col 10 lines 16-34 describe a position where the retrieval element has been used to contact an object and then closed in order to trap the object for removal. This position could be achieved wherein the suture thread is the object), and at least one attachment element (81, FIG 1-2; the distal end of the handle base 10 is interpreted as an attachment element because it could be inserted into a correspondingly tapered shape opening such as the port of a trocar) configured to reversibly connect the retrieval group to an insertion arm of a pointer (the distal end of the handle base is at least configured to be connected to an insertion arm of a pointer having an appropriate size and shape. Examiner notes the insertion arm is not positively recited element of the claim), said pointer comprising an insertion arm that has a folded contact end configured to abut the surgical device against a patient's bone, and a handle connected to a connection end of the insertion arm opposite to said folded contact end, and extending transversely to said insertion arm (the preceding limitations further define the pointer, which is not positively recited and therefore need not be explicitly disclosed in the prior art. The device of Dostal is at least configured such that it could be used in combination with another surgical instrument having such features).
Regarding claim 17, Dostal et al. discloses a containment channel (50, FIG 2) of the retrieval element (FIG 7), wherein said retrieval element is located completely inside of said containment channel (Col 6 line 4-30) in the retracted position (FIG 3) and emerges at least partially beyond an outlet section of said containment channel in the extracted position (FIG 4).
Regarding claim 18, Dostal et al. discloses said retrieval element is a basket made of flexible material (Col 6 lines 27-63), wherein the basket defines a containment volume (FIG 1-2 and 7 show the area formed by the basket wires) suitable for receiving said leading end of the suture thread (The area provides sufficient space for a suture thread to pass therethrough).
Regarding claim 19, Dostal et al. discloses said containment volume is configured to expand in transition from the retracted position to the extracted position (“The user then pulls the thumb back toward the hand, sliding thumb pad 31 back toward proximal end 15 of wide portion of slot 14b (arrow 55a). This action pulls sheath 50 back relative to drive wire 70 and basket 60 (arrow 55b). Basket 60 is then exposed and resumes its expanded shape, as shown in FIGS. 1 and 4”) and to shrink in transition from the extracted position to the retracted position (“longitudinal movement of sheath 50 relative to basket 60, forcing basket 60 to collapse and become enclosed within sheath 50”).
Regarding claim 20, Dostal et al. discloses the basket is a cage defined by a plurality of threads (61a-d) spaced apart by interstices (FIG 1-2 show the interstices between each thread. Also shown in FIG 4b and 9), said interstices configured to enable passage of the suture thread (These spacings are at lease sized and configured to enable passage of a suture thread).
Regarding claim 21, Dostal et al. discloses said basket is made of a shape memory material (Col 6 lines 31-35).
Regarding claim 22, Dostal et al. discloses s said basket is made of Nitinol (Col 6 lines 31-35).
Regarding claim 23, Dostal et al. discloses the switch comprises a slider (Thumb slide 30) configured to move the retrieval element (col 5 lines 16-49 and col 9 lines 42-65).
Regarding claim 24, Dostal et al. discloses the slider is a sliding block (FIG 2, the combination of 31 and 33 is interpreted as a sliding block).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dostal et al. (US 9,480,491) in view of Mercereau et al. (US 2003/0109889).
Regarding claim 25, Dostal et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 23.
Dostal et al. is silent regarding the slider being a castor.
However, Mercereau et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor a retrieval element (82, 84, 64, 66, 70a-d, [0074-0076]) which can be extended (FIG 17) and retracted (FIG 16) using a switch (18) comprising a slider ([0070-0072, [0076]) which is a castor (drum 52 is interpreted as a castor, [0076-0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the switch of Dostal to comprise a castor, as taught by Mercereau et al., for the purpose of configuring the slider switch with the additional ability to articulate the retrieval element.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dostal et al. (US 9,480,491) in view of Teague et al. (US 2004/0215212).
Regarding claim 26, Dostal et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 16.
Dostal et al. is silent regarding a spring connected to the switch and configured to keep the retrieval element in the retracted position.
However, Teague et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor a retrieval element (34, [0039-0044]) which can be extended (FIG 4) and retracted (FIG 2) using a switch (74) and a spring (170) connected to the switch (FIG 9C, [0058]) and configured to keep the retrieval element in the retracted position ([0058], the spring biases the slider 74 towards a retracted position of the retrieval element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the switch of Dostal to be connected to a spring configured to keep the retrieval element in the retracted position, as taught by Teague et al., for the purpose of configuring the switch to be biased towards a retracted position of the retrieval element.
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771