DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,430. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the subject matter found in claims 1-4 of the instant application is found in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,247,430.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “the coupling arm is arranged to transmit a mechanical force to the door gate and tend to pivotally open or close the door gate with respect to the external anchor”. This is objected to due to the phrase “tend to” (i.e. what exactly is being claimed by the phrase “tend to”?). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hall (US 2,592,891).
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses a gate opening apparatus for a door gate, comprising: a housing (considered combination of at least elements 20, 49, 36) having a supporting portion (at least elements 49 and 20) pivotally connected to an external anchor (element 14), and a mounting portion (at least element 36) extending toward the door gate, the housing having a receiving cavity (considered internal “cavity” of elements 49 and 36) and an engagement slot (element 39) communicating the receiving cavity with an exterior of the housing; a motor (element 19) received in the receiving cavity of the housing; and a gear assembly, which comprises: a gear rod (elements 24, 25, 27) having one end connected to the motor without connecting through any clutching device, and another end extending in the receiving cavity toward the mounting portion of the housing, the gear rod having a plurality of first teeth spirally formed thereon; and a driven member (element 29) having a plurality of second teeth engaging with the first teeth of the gear rod, in such a manner that when the gear rod is driven to rotate, the driven member is arranged to move along a longitudinal direction of the housing, the driven member being connected to the door gate; [wherein the gate opening apparatus is arranged to be selectively operated between a power mode and a manual mode (See at least column 3, lines 25-37), wherein in the power mode, the motor is electrically activated to drive the gear rod to rotate so as to drive the driven member to move along a longitudinal direction of the housing for driving the door gate to move in a pivotal manner with respect to the external anchor, wherein in the manual mode, the motor is cut off from electricity and is arranged to exert minimal mechanical resistance so that a user is able to manually move the door gate for opening or closing thereof]* (See column 3, lines 29-37. Examiner notes that “manual mode” is described as “In event of power failure, cotter key 35 may be removed from pin 32, the latter removed from bracket 33, after which the closure may be manually operated”. During this “manual mode”, the gate opening apparatus is considered to fully satisfy the functional limitation “the motor is cut off from electricity and is arranged to exert minimal mechanical resistance so that a user is able to manually move the door gate for opening or closing thereof”).
Examiner’s note: *The above/below statements in brackets are examples of an intended use statement that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to the structure of a gate opening apparatus for a door gate, the prior art must only be capable of meeting the structural recitation in order to be applicable, and in this case, the examiner maintains that the gate opening apparatus for a door gate disclosed by Hall is entirely capable of the intended use statement. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Pedemonte (US 2003/0010142).
Regarding claim 1, Pedemonte discloses a gate opening apparatus for a door gate, comprising: a housing (See Figure 3, considered “housing” of element 1, shown but not labeled) having a supporting portion (portion of element 1 directly connected to element 14) pivotally connected to an external anchor (at least element 2), and a mounting portion (portion of element 1 containing at least elements 7-9) extending toward the door gate, the housing having a receiving cavity (internal portion of element 1, considered area in which element 11 is received) and an engagement slot (portion of element 1 through which element 20 extends) communicating the receiving cavity with an exterior of the housing; a motor (element 11) received in the receiving cavity of the housing; and a gear assembly, which comprises: a gear rod (element 7) having one end connected to the motor without connecting through any clutching device, and another end extending in the receiving cavity toward the mounting portion of the housing, the gear rod having a plurality of first teeth spirally formed thereon; and a driven member (considered combination of elements 8 and 18) having a plurality of second teeth engaging with the first teeth of the gear rod, in such a manner that when the gear rod is driven to rotate, the driven member is arranged to move along a longitudinal direction of the housing, the driven member being connected to the door gate; [wherein the gate opening apparatus is arranged to be selectively operated between a power mode and a manual mode, wherein in the power mode, the motor is electrically activated to drive the gear rod to rotate so as to drive the driven member to move along a longitudinal direction of the housing for driving the door gate to move in a pivotal manner with respect to the external anchor, wherein in the manual mode, the motor is cut off from electricity and is arranged to exert minimal mechanical resistance so that a user is able to manually move the door gate for opening or closing thereof]* (See at least paragraphs [0009], [0013], and [0027-0028]).
Examiner’s note: *The above/below statements in brackets are examples of an intended use statement that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to the structure of a gate opening apparatus for a door gate, the prior art must only be capable of meeting the structural recitation in order to be applicable, and in this case, the examiner maintains that the gate opening apparatus for a door gate disclosed by Pedemonte is entirely capable of the intended use statement. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 2,592,891) in view of Goto et al. (US 2019/0284861) (hereinafter Goto).
Regarding claim 2, Hall discloses [wherein the motor is arranged to drive the gear assembly to rotate, in such a manner that when the motor is connected to a power source, the motor is arranged to possess a predetermined amount of mechanical resistance so as to prevent users from manually actuating the motor for opening or closing the door gate]* (See column 3, lines 25-37, “Due to the irreversibility of screw 27 and tube 29, the closure will be locked at any position at which the motor stops”). Although Hall does not explicitly recite that the motor is configured as a synchronous motor, Goto teaches that it is known in the art to configure a screw-and-nut drive system for a swinging closure member that includes a motor (element 52) received in a receiving cavity of a housing (elements 30a and 30b); and a gear assembly, which comprises: a gear rod (element 32) having one end connected to the motor and another end extending in the receiving cavity, the gear rod having a plurality of first teeth spirally formed thereon; and a driven member (element 46) having a plurality of second teeth engaging with the first teeth of the gear rod, in such a manner that when the gear rod is driven to rotate, the driven member is arranged to move along a longitudinal direction of the housing, and wherein the motor is configured as a synchronous motor (paragraph [0027], “The motor 52 is configured as a permanent magnet synchronous motor”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor of Hall such that it is a synchronous motor, as taught by Goto, since a synchronous motor would function as intended for the purpose of Hall, and since synchronous motors are known in the art for providing steady, constant speed, and a high degree of operating efficiently, which would be desirable for the purpose of Hall. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 3, Hall discloses wherein the driven member comprises an engagement body (body of element 29) having a through hole, wherein the second teeth are formed on a circumferential boundary of the through hole (See Figure 5), the gear rod being arranged to pass through the through hole, in such a manner that the first teeth are arranged to engage with the second teeth, so that when the gear rod is driven to rotate, the engagement body is driven to move along the longitudinal direction of the gear rod.
Regarding claim 4, Hall discloses wherein the driven member further comprises a coupling arm (elements 32-35) pivotally connecting the engagement body to the door gate so that when the engagement body is driven to move along the gear rod, the coupling arm is arranged to transmit a mechanical force to the door gate and tend to pivotally open or close the door gate with respect to the external anchor.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedemonte (US 2003/0010142) in view of Goto et al. (US 2019/0284861) (hereinafter Goto).
Regarding claim 2, Pedemonte discloses wherein the motor is arranged to drive the gear assembly to rotate, in such a manner that when the motor is connected to a power source, the motor is arranged to possess a predetermined amount of mechanical resistance so as to prevent users from manually actuating the motor for opening or closing the door gate (see at least paragraphs [0020] and [0025-0028], also see claim 1). Although Pedemonte does not explicitly recite that the motor is configured as a synchronous motor, Goto teaches that it is known in the art to configure a screw-and-nut drive system for a swinging closure member that includes a motor (element 52) received in a receiving cavity of a housing (elements 30a and 30b); and a gear assembly, which comprises: a gear rod (element 32) having one end connected to the motor and another end extending in the receiving cavity, the gear rod having a plurality of first teeth spirally formed thereon; and a driven member (element 46) having a plurality of second teeth engaging with the first teeth of the gear rod, in such a manner that when the gear rod is driven to rotate, the driven member is arranged to move along a longitudinal direction of the housing, and wherein the motor is configured as a synchronous motor (paragraph [0027], “The motor 52 is configured as a permanent magnet synchronous motor”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor of Pedemonte such that it is a synchronous motor, as taught by Goto, since a synchronous motor would function as intended for the purpose of Pedemonte, and since synchronous motors are known in the art for providing steady, constant speed, and high degree of operating efficiently, which would be desirable for the purpose of Pedemonte. Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed, or substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a combination or substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected. MPEP 2143
Regarding claim 3, Pedemonte discloses wherein the driven member comprises an engagement body (elements 8 and 18) having a through hole, wherein the second teeth are formed on a circumferential boundary of the through hole (See Figure 4), the gear rod being arranged to pass through the through hole, in such a manner that the first teeth are arranged to engage with the second teeth, so that when the gear rod is driven to rotate, the engagement body is driven to move along the longitudinal direction of the gear rod.
Regarding claim 4, Pedemonte discloses wherein the driven member further comprises a coupling arm (elements 20 and 4) pivotally connecting the engagement body to the door gate so that when the engagement body is driven to move along the gear rod, the coupling arm is arranged to transmit a mechanical force to the door gate and tend to pivotally open or close the door gate with respect to the external anchor.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN B REPHANN/Examiner, Art Unit 3634