DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al (US 2009/0071486 A1) in view of Goldfarb et al (US 2016/0058619 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Perez et al disclose an ear tip device (Perez et al; Fig 4), comprising: a base capable of positioning proximate a user's ear canal (Perez et al; Fig 4; base 300); a bubble attached to the base that is capable of inflation and deflation (Perez et al; Fig 4; Para [0019] bubble 420); a sound tube for delivering inflating air to the bubble during inflation of the bubble (Perez et al; Fig 4; exit port 415); at least one of a pump bulb for delivering inflating air to the bubble during inflation of the bubble (Perez et al; Fig 4; pump 425); and wherein the bubble automatically extends into the user's ear canal, conforming to the user's ear canal, during inflation and retracts from the user's ear canal during deflation (Perez et al; Para [0019][0022]); but do not expressly disclose at least one of a one-way valve for delivering inflating air one direction through the sound tube. However, in the same field of endeavor, Goldfarb et al disclose a device comprising at least one of a one-way valve for delivering inflating air one direction through the sound tube (Goldfarb et al; Para [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the valve taught by Goldfarb as valve in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to protect against penetration of moisture (Goldfarb et al; Para [0022]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al (US 2009/0071486 A1) in view of Goldfarb et al (US 2016/0058619 A1) and further in view of Semcken (US 2013/0051593 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Perez et al in view of Goldfarb et al disclose the ear tip device of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the bubble is substantially cylindrical. However, in the same field of endeavor, Semcken disclose a device wherein the bubble is substantially cylindrical (Semcken; Fig 6). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the shape of the bubble taught by Semcken as shape of the bubble in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to provide an precise and comfortable fit (Semcken; Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 3-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al (US 2009/0071486 A1) in view of Goldfarb et al (US 2016/0058619 A1) and further in view of Kirsch et al (US 2017/0026732 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Perez et al in view of Goldfarb et al disclose the ear tip device of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the bubble automatically inserts into the ear canal on inflation. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kirsch et al disclose a device wherein the bubble automatically inserts into the ear canal on inflation (Kirsch et al; Fig 6; Para [0024]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the inflating mechanism of the bubble taught by Kirsch et al as the inflating mechanism of the bubble in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the quality of the listener's audio experience (Kirsch et al; Para [0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Perez et al in view of Goldfarb et al disclose the ear tip device of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the bubble is inflated by a self-inflating mechanism that utilizes the body's natural deformation for inflation. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kirsch et al disclose a device wherein the bubble is inflated by a self-inflating mechanism that utilizes the body's natural deformation for inflation (Kirsch et al; Fig 6; Para [0030][0027]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the inflating mechanism of the bubble taught by Kirsch et al as the inflating mechanism of the bubble in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the quality of the listener's audio experience (Kirsch et al; Para [0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Perez et al in view of Goldfarb et al disclose the ear tip device of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein an auto-deflation feature that activates upon being pulled from the ear. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kirsch et al disclose a device wherein an auto-deflation feature that activates upon being pulled from the ear (Kirsch et al; Fig 6; Para [0069]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the deflating mechanism of the bubble taught by Kirsch et al as the deflating mechanism of the bubble in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to improve the quality of the listener's audio experience (Kirsch et al; Para [0072]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al (US 2009/0071486 A1) in view of Goldfarb et al (US 2016/0058619 A1) and further in view of Saxton et al (US 2004/0258263 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Perez et al in view of Goldfarb et al disclose the ear tip device of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose wherein the device includes an expansion area specifically designed to accommodate jaw motions, thereby complimenting the fit in the user's ear. However, in the same field of endeavor, Saxton et al disclose a device wherein the device includes an expansion area specifically designed to accommodate jaw motions, thereby complimenting the fit in the user's ear (Saxton et al; Para [0008][0079]-[0082][0114]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the inflating mechanism of the bubble taught by Saxton et al as the inflating mechanism of the bubble in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to provide more comfortable devices (Saxton et al; Para [0010]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al (US 2009/0071486 A1) in view of Goldfarb et al (US 2016/0058619 A1) and further in view of Ambrose et al (US 2018/0160212 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Perez et al in view of Goldfarb et al disclose the ear tip device of Claim 1, but do not expressly disclose further comprising a coupling area capable of coupling with different personal listening devices and hearing aids. However, in the same field of endeavor, Ambrose et al disclose a device further comprising a coupling area capable of coupling with different personal listening devices and hearing aids (Ambrose et al; Fig 37; Para [0002][0252]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective date of the application to use the coupling mechanism of the bubble taught by Ambrose et al as the coupling mechanism in the device taught by Perez. The motivation to do so would have been to produce the desired improvement in performance (Ambrose et al; Para [0203]).
Conclusion
/KUASSI A GANMAVO/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692