DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 12. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The description of Fig 15 on Pg 3, Ln 13 is incomplete.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parvizian (US 2009/0145340).
Regarding claim 1, Parvizian teaches a potty-training system (¶ [1]) for use with a toilet, comprising: a stool (118A, Fig 1-2); the stool comprising a platform (100A) and a plurality of risers (100B; ¶ [51], Ln 12-18; therefore plurality of risers are possible); the platform having a front end (opposite end of 106) and a rear end (106) oppositely positioned from one another on the platform (as shown in Fig 1-2); the rear end of the platform comprising a curved cutout (106); the platform having a top platform surface (112) and a bottom platform surface (114) oppositely positioned from one another on the platform (as shown in Fig 1); the bottom platform surface comprising a first interlocking structure (116); each of the plurality of risers having a top riser surface (112) and a bottom riser surface (114); the bottom riser surface comprising the first interlocking structure (116, Fig 2); the top riser surface comprising a second interlocking structure (110); the top riser surface of a first riser of the plurality of risers being engaged with the bottom platform surface (as shown in Fig 2); and the first interlocking structure being configured to engage with the second interlocking structure (¶ [45]).
Parvizian further teaches in claim 3 the top platform surface further comprising a non-slip surface (¶ [48]; therefore rubber provides a non-slip surface); the stool further comprising a plurality of non-slip feet (116); and the plurality of non-slip feet being connected to the bottom surface of a last riser of the plurality of risers (¶ [53-54]); and
in claim 4 the plurality of risers comprising the first riser, a last riser, and at least one middle riser; the top riser surface of the at least one middle riser being connected to the bottom riser surface of the first riser; and the top riser surface of the last riser being connected to the bottom riser surface of the at least one middle riser (¶ [51], Ln 12-18; therefore inherent feature to use a two additional risers).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (KR 101499107B1, cited in IDS), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a potty-training system (Fig 1-6) for use with a toilet, comprising: a lid (200); the lid comprising a rear portion (200b), a front portion (200a), and a pivoting connector (220); the rear portion and the front portion pivotably connected to one another by the pivoting connector (Machine Translation Pg 3, ¶ 8-9, which begins with “1-6…”); the lid further comprising a seat extension (230) and an attachment mechanism (210); the seat extension being connected to the front portion (via 233); the seat extension extending perpendicularly from the front portion, adjacent to the pivoting connector (as shown in Fig 4-5); the attachment mechanism being connected to the rear portion (as shown in Fig 1-5); and the attachment mechanism being configured to attach the lid to a toilet seat (MT Pg 3, ¶6 which begins with “The chair 100…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parvizian, in view of Kim.
Regarding claims 6-7, Parvizian is silent regarding a toilet seat lid comprising a rear and front portions pivotable to each other, a seat extension and an attachment mechanism.
Attention is directed to Kim that teaches in claim 6 a lid (200); the lid comprising a rear portion (200b), a front portion (200a), and a pivoting connector (220); the rear portion and the front portion pivotably connected to one another by the pivoting connector (Machine Translation Pg 3, ¶ 8-9, which begins with “1-6…”); and in claim 7 the lid further comprising a seat extension (230) and an attachment mechanism (210); the seat extension being connected to the front portion (via 233); the seat extension extending perpendicularly from the front portion, adjacent to the pivoting connector (as shown in Fig 4-5); the attachment mechanism being connected to the rear portion (as shown in Fig 1-5); and the attachment mechanism being configured to attach the lid to a toilet seat (MT Pg 3, ¶6 which begins with “The chair 100…”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a toilet seat lid that has a front portion, a rear portion, a pivoting connector, a seat extension, and an attachment mechanism, in view of Kim's teaching. Stools and specialized toilet seat lids are often used together for toilet training of children.
Claim(s) 9, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Parvizian.
Regarding claim 9, 11-12, Kim is silent regarding a stool comprising a platform and a plurality of risers with interlocking features.
Attention is directed to Parvizian that teaches in claim 9 a stool (118A, Fig 1-2); the stool comprising a platform (100A) and a plurality of risers (100B; ¶ [51], Ln 12-18; therefore plurality of risers are possible); the platform having a front end (opposite end of 106) and a rear end (106) oppositely positioned from one another on the platform (as shown in Fig 1-2); the rear end of the platform comprising a curved cutout (106); the platform having a top platform surface (112) and a bottom platform surface (114) oppositely positioned from one another on the platform (as shown in Fig 1); the bottom platform surface comprising a first interlocking structure (116); each of the plurality of risers having a top riser surface (112) and a bottom riser surface (114); the bottom riser surface comprising the first interlocking structure (116, Fig 2); the top riser surface comprising a second interlocking structure (110); the top riser surface of a first riser of the plurality of risers being engaged with the bottom platform surface (as shown in Fig 2); and the first interlocking structure being configured to engage with the second interlocking structure (¶ [45]).
Parvizian further teaches in claim 11 the top platform surface further comprising a non-slip surface (¶ [48]; therefore rubber provides a non-slip surface); the stool further comprising a plurality of non-slip feet (116); and the plurality of non-slip feet being connected to the bottom surface of a last riser of the plurality of risers (¶ [53-54]); and in claim 12 the plurality of risers comprising the first riser, a last riser, and at least one middle riser; the top riser surface of the at least one middle riser being connected to the bottom riser surface of the first riser; and the top riser surface of the last riser being connected to the bottom riser surface of the at least one middle riser (¶ [51], Ln 12-18; therefore inherent feature to use a two additional risers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a stool with stacking risers with interlocking features, in view of Parzivian's teaching. Stools with adjustable height and specialized toilet seat lids are often used together for toilet training of children.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parvizian, in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 14, Parzivian teaches a potty training system for use with a toilet, comprising: a stool (118A, Fig 1-2); the stool comprising a platform (100A) and a plurality of risers (100B; ¶ [51], Ln 12-18; therefore plurality of risers are possible); the platform having a front end (opposite end of 106) and a rear end (106) oppositely positioned from one another on the platform (as shown in Fig 1-2); the rear end of the platform comprising a curved cutout (106); the platform having a top platform surface (112) and a bottom platform surface (114) oppositely positioned from one another on the platform (as shown in Fig 1); the bottom platform surface comprising a first interlocking structure (116); each of the plurality of risers having a top riser surface (112) and a bottom riser surface (114); the bottom riser surface comprising the first interlocking structure (116, Fig 2); the top riser surface comprising a second interlocking structure (110); the top riser surface of a first riser of the plurality of risers being engaged with the bottom platform surface (as shown in Fig 2); and the first interlocking structure being configured to engage with the second interlocking structure (¶ [45]). Parzivian is silent regarding a lid comprising a rear portion, a front portion, and a pivoting connector. Attention is directed to Kim that teaches a lid (200); the lid comprising a rear portion (200b), a front portion (200a), and a pivoting connector (220); the rear portion and the front portion pivotably connected to one another by the pivoting connector (Machine Translation Pg 3, ¶ 8-9, which begins with “1-6…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a toilet seat lid that has a front portion, a rear portion, and pivoting connector so that the front portion and the rear portion are pivotably connected to one another, in view of Kim's teaching. Stools and specialized toilet seat lids are often used together for toilet training of children.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, 10, 13, 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,842,234 to Dixon and KR 101699181B1 to Lee are directed to the state of the art as relevant teachings of the claimed invention.
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754