DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-13 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2024-025508 filed on 02/22/2024 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 02/19/2025 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 02/19/2025 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-2, 5-6, 10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishino et al. [hereafter Kishino], US Pub 2014/0043628.
As to claim 1[independent], Kishino teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium [fig. 1, element 102 (memory 102); 0033] that stores a program for causing a computer to execute a control method [0033 Kishino teaches that the memory 102 stores different programs, and processor 101 (CPU 101) executes data and programs which are stored in the memory 102 and realizes the processes], the program supporting a general-purpose program for generating data that is capable of being printed by a printing device manufactured by any one of a plurality of manufacturers [figs. 3-5, 7; abstract, 0034, 0036, 0039, 0043-0044, 0050-0055, 0092 Kishino teaches that processor 101 (CPU 101) executes settings on printer driver related to converting a color gamut of print data into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printer 108 based on or using settings of a color conversion function selected by user on display screen of display device 103 (e.g., figs. 3-5, para., 0039, 0092)],
wherein the control method comprises [fig. 1, element 101 (processor 101/ CPU 101); 0033]:
a display control step of displaying a setting reception screen for receiving a setting of a color conversion function for converting a color gamut of print data to be printed by the printing device into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printing device [figs. 3-5, 7; abstract, 0034, 0036, 0039, 0043-0044, 0050-0055, 0092 Kishino teaches that processor 101 (CPU 101) executes settings on printer driver related to converting a color gamut of print data into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printer 108 based on or using settings of a color conversion function selected by user on display screen of display device 103 (e.g., figs. 3-5, para., 0039, 0092)]; and
an execution step of executing the color conversion function received on the setting reception screen [fig. 15, step 1507; 0063, 0065-0066 Kishino teaches that the controller 170 is executed the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen].
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino teaches wherein in the execution step, the color conversion function according to the setting of the color conversion function received on the setting reception screen is executed on the data generated by the general-purpose program [figs. 3-5, 7; abstract, 0034, 0036, 0039, 0043-0044, 0050-0055, 0092 Kishino teaches that processor 101 (CPU 101) executes settings on printer driver related to converting a color gamut of print data into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printer 108 based on or using settings of a color conversion function selected by user on display screen of display device 103 (e.g., figs. 3-5, para., 0039, 0092)].
As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino teaches wherein in the display control step, the setting reception screen is displayed together with a print setting screen on which a print condition regarding printing in the printing device is capable of being set [figs. 3-5, 7; abstract, 0034, 0036, 0039, 0043-0045, 0050-0055, 0092 Kishino teaches that processor 101 (CPU 101) executes print settings on printer driver other settings related to converting a color gamut of print data into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printer 108 based on or using settings of a color conversion function selected by user on display screen of display device 103 (e.g., figs. 3-5, para., 0039, 0092)].
As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino teaches wherein the setting reception screen includes a selection part by using which whether to execute the color conversion function is to be selected as the setting of the color conversion function [figs. 3-5, 7; abstract, 0034, 0036, 0039, 0043-0045, 0050-0055, 0092 Kishino teaches that processor 101 (CPU 101) executes print settings on printer driver other settings such as whether settings (e.g., element 34 in fig. 3 & 0044-0045) to be selected related to converting a color gamut of print data into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printer 108 based on or using settings of a color conversion function selected by user on display screen of display device 103 (e.g., figs. 3-5, para., 0039, 0092)].
As to claim 10 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino teaches wherein the color conversion function is a function that cannot be executed on the printing device by the general-purpose program [figs. 3-5, 7; abstract, 0034, 0036, 0039, 0043-0044, 0050-0055, 0092 Kishino teaches that processor 101 (CPU 101) executes settings on printer driver related to converting a color gamut of print data into a color gamut reproducible in printing by the printer 108 based on or using settings of a color conversion function selected by user on display screen of display device 103 (e.g., figs. 3-5, para., 0039, 0092)].
As to claim 12 [independent], However, the independent claim 12 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 12 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 13 [independent], However, the independent claim 13 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 13 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 3, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishino et al. [hereafter Kishino], US Pub 2014/0043628 in view of Oh et al. [hereafter Oh], US Pub 2012/0038938.
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 2], Kishino doesn’t teach a transmission step of transmitting an execution result in the execution step to the printing device, wherein
in the printing device, the execution result transmitted in the transmission step is capable of being reflected in the print product printed by the printing device.
Oh teaches a transmission step of transmitting an execution result in the execution step to the printing device [fig. 9, steps 960-980; 0063, 0066, 0088-0089 Oh teaches that the controller 170 is executed the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen, the color conversion table is generated using the plurality of selected color rendering intents, the selected input ICC profile, the selected output ICC profile, and the set weighted values. Then, print data is generated using the generated color conversion table, and the generated print data is transmitted to the printer 50 to perform printing], wherein
in the printing device, the execution result transmitted in the transmission step is capable of being reflected in the print product printed by the printing device [fig. 9, steps 960-980; 0063, 0066, 0088-0089 Oh teaches that the controller 170 is executed the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen, the color conversion table is generated using the plurality of selected color rendering intents, the selected input ICC profile, the selected output ICC profile, and the set weighted values. Then, print data is generated using the generated color conversion table, and the generated print data is transmitted to the printer 50 to perform printing].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oh teaching to execute & generate the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen to modify Kishino’s teaching to receive a selection of ICC color profile and multiple color rendering intents to be applied to an ICC color profile is received and intents are one of perceptual, relative colorimetric, saturation and absolute colorimetric. A color conversion table is generated using the selected input ICC profile, the selected output profile and the selected intents in order to create print data that is generated using the generated color conversion table by a printer driver. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have benefited the user to generate the color conversion table by combining multiple color rendering intents, thus allowing generation of the color conversion table according to the user preference while compensating the colors in the print controlling terminal.
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino doesn’t teach wherein the setting reception screen includes as the setting of the color conversion function a saturation adjustment part, by using which saturation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function.
Oh teaches wherein the setting reception screen includes as the setting of the color conversion function a saturation adjustment part, by using which saturation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function [figs. 3-7; 0067-0079 Oh teaches the setting of the color conversion function a saturation and gradation adjustment part, by using which saturation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oh teaching to execute & generate the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen to modify Kishino’s teaching to receive a selection of ICC color profile and multiple color rendering intents to be applied to an ICC color profile is received and intents are one of perceptual, relative colorimetric, saturation and absolute colorimetric. A color conversion table is generated using the selected input ICC profile, the selected output profile and the selected intents in order to create print data that is generated using the generated color conversion table by a printer driver. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have benefited the user to generate the color conversion table by combining multiple color rendering intents, thus allowing generation of the color conversion table according to the user preference while compensating the colors in the print controlling terminal.
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino doesn’t teach wherein the setting reception screen includes as the setting of the color conversion function a gradation adjustment part, by using which gradation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function.
Oh teaches wherein the setting reception screen includes as the setting of the color conversion function a gradation adjustment part, by using which gradation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function [figs. 3-7; 0067-0079 Oh teaches the setting of the color conversion function a saturation and gradation adjustment part, by using which saturation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oh teaching to execute & generate the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen to modify Kishino’s teaching to receive a selection of ICC color profile and multiple color rendering intents to be applied to an ICC color profile is received and intents are one of perceptual, relative colorimetric, saturation and absolute colorimetric. A color conversion table is generated using the selected input ICC profile, the selected output profile and the selected intents in order to create print data that is generated using the generated color conversion table by a printer driver. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have benefited the user to generate the color conversion table by combining multiple color rendering intents, thus allowing generation of the color conversion table according to the user preference while compensating the colors in the print controlling terminal.
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino doesn’t teach wherein the setting reception screen includes, as a setting of the color conversion function, a color tone adjustment part, by using which a color tone of a printing portion of print product is adjusted, the print product printed by the printing device and an execution result of the color conversion function being reflected to the print product.
Oh teaches wherein the setting reception screen includes, as a setting of the color conversion function, a color tone adjustment part [figs. 3-7; 0067-0079 Oh teaches the setting of the color conversion function a saturation and gradation adjustment part, by using which saturation is adjusted through execution of the color conversion function], by using which a color tone of a printing portion of print product is adjusted, the print product printed by the printing device and an execution result of the color conversion function being reflected to the print product [fig. 9, steps 960-980; 0063, 0066, 0088-0089 Oh teaches that the controller 170 is executed the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen, the color conversion table is generated using the plurality of selected color rendering intents, the selected input ICC profile, the selected output ICC profile, and the set weighted values. Then, print data is generated using the generated color conversion table, and the generated print data is transmitted to the printer 50 to perform printing].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Oh teaching to execute & generate the color conversion process based on received setting reception screen to modify Kishino’s teaching to receive a selection of ICC color profile and multiple color rendering intents to be applied to an ICC color profile is received and intents are one of perceptual, relative colorimetric, saturation and absolute colorimetric. A color conversion table is generated using the selected input ICC profile, the selected output profile and the selected intents in order to create print data that is generated using the generated color conversion table by a printer driver. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have benefited the user to generate the color conversion table by combining multiple color rendering intents, thus allowing generation of the color conversion table according to the user preference while compensating the colors in the print controlling terminal.
10. Claims 4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishino et al. [hereafter Kishino], US Pub 2014/0043628 in view of Suzuki, US Pub 2021/0117135.
As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino doesn’t teach an acquisition step of acquiring capability information regarding a capability of the printing device to perform printing from the printing device prior to the display control step; and
a determination step of determining whether or not the capability information acquired in the acquisition step includes information enabling display of the setting reception screen,
wherein in the display control step, the setting reception screen is displayed when it is determined that the information enabling display of the setting reception screen is included in the capability information as a result of the determination in the determination step, and the setting reception screen is not displayed when it is determined that the information enabling display of the setting reception screen is not included in the capability information.
Suzuki teaches an acquisition step of acquiring capability information regarding a capability of the printing device to perform printing from the printing device prior to the display control step [fig. 7; 0105 Suzuki teaches that the client 100 receives capability of the printer 200 to perform printing from the printing device prior to the display setting screen]; and
a determination step of determining whether or not the capability information acquired in the acquisition step includes information enabling display of the setting reception screen [figs. 6-7, 8-9; 0097-0102, 0105 Suzuki teaches that the client 100 receives capability of the printer 200 to perform printing from the printing device prior to the display setting screen. The client 100 enables the setting screen to have the extended print setting UI illustrated in FIG. 9 on the basis of the print job analysis result and the device capability information of the selected printer (200a or 200b or 200c) indicating further if it is not prescribed in internet printing protocol (IPP), can be set on the extended print setting screen],
wherein in the display control step, the setting reception screen is displayed when it is determined that the information enabling display of the setting reception screen is included in the capability information as a result of the determination in the determination step [figs. 6-7, 8-9; 0097-0102, 0105 Suzuki teaches that the client 100 receives capability of the printer 200 to perform printing from the printing device prior to the display setting screen. The client 100 enables the setting screen to have the extended print setting UI illustrated in FIG. 9 on the basis of the print job analysis result and the device capability information of the selected printer (200a or 200b or 200c) indicating further if it is not prescribed in internet printing protocol (IPP), can be set on the extended print setting screen], and the setting reception screen is not displayed when it is determined that the information enabling display of the setting reception screen is not included in the capability information [figs. 6-7, 8-9; 0097-0102, 0105 Suzuki teaches that the client 100 receives capability of the printer 200 to perform printing from the printing device prior to the display setting screen. The client 100 enables the setting screen to have the extended print setting UI illustrated in FIG. 9 on the basis of the print job analysis result and the device capability information of the selected printer (200a or 200b or 200c) indicating further if it is not prescribed in internet printing protocol (IPP), can be set on the extended print setting screen].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Suzuki teaching to acquire capability information of printer includes information enabling display of the print setting screen via IPP protocol to modify Kishino’s teaching to a printer driver that is set to acquire first attribute information in connection with printing from a printer using a predetermined printing protocol & generates a print job based on the printing protocol based on the data received from an application. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide printer driver that accommodate the extended application capable of running on a sandboxed virtual environment is realized so that security and convenience are achieved.
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 1], Kishino doesn’t teach wherein a program that operates based on an internet printing protocol (IPP) is used as the general-purpose program.
Suzuki teaches wherein a program that operates based on an internet printing protocol (IPP) is used as the general-purpose program [fig. 7; 0105].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Suzuki teaching to acquire capability information of printer includes information enabling display of the print setting screen via IPP protocol to modify Kishino’s teaching to a printer driver that is set to acquire first attribute information in connection with printing from a printer using a predetermined printing protocol & generates a print job based on the printing protocol based on the data received from an application. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide printer driver that accommodate the extended application capable of running on a sandboxed virtual environment is realized so that security and convenience are achieved.
Conclusion
//HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682