DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/05/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koopman (US 20210374936 A1).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopman (US 20210374936 A1) in view of Roberts (US 20220292278 A1).
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koopman (US 20210374936 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koopman discloses A method, comprising: (¶6 “According to an embodiment, there is provided a method for training a deep learning model of a patterning process.”)
receiving a training input tensor (¶147 “. In an embodiment, the input image 1000 may be represented as a input tensor having dimensions (b, w, h, c), where b represents a batch size (e.g., total number of images used for training),”) and a ground truth output (¶148 “The ground truth image 1001 (or a set of ground truth images) is a segmented image of the input image 1000 used to establish a ground truth for the input image 1000”) in a neural network, (¶133 “Furthermore, the present disclosure includes a method for training machine learning model (specifically a convolutional neural network)”) the neural network comprising a kernel and an associated dilation factor; (¶8 “the at least one dilation kernel comprises a plurality of weights, a dilation rate,”)
providing a predicted output from the neural network based, (¶6 “generating a predicted image,”) at least in part, on applying the kernel and the associated dilation factor to the training input tensor; and (¶139 “The input tensor is convolved with a kernel tensor W, the resulting convolution may be increased with a bias vector and passed through an activation function such as a rectifier LinearUnit (ReLU)”)
training the neural network by modifying the kernel and the associated dilation factor to reduce an error between the predicted output and the ground truth output. (¶6 “trained deep learning model by iteratively assigning weights to the at least one dilated kernel based on a back propagation through the deep learning model using a loss function such that the predicted image reproduces the plurality of features of the input image.”)
Regarding claim 2, Koopman discloses wherein the neural network is a convolutional neural network (¶133 “Furthermore, the present disclosure includes a method for training machine learning model (specifically a convolutional neural network)”) and the kernel is a convolutional neural network kernel (¶138 “In an architecture based on convolutions, each layer performs certain convolution operations based on one or more kernels (typically defined by weights associated with the kernels”)
Regarding claim 3, Koopman discloses wherein the kernel is a sparse kernel or an atrous kernel. (¶21 “including a processor for learning a weight matrix for a kernel of dilated convolution through deep learning, generating an atypical kernel pattern based on the learned weight matrix,”)
Regarding claim 4, Koopman discloses wherein the training input tensor comprises image signal values. (¶129 “The radiation distribution (pupil or aerial image) is turned into detection signal by absorption of incident energy on the detector.”)
Regarding claim 5, Koopman discloses wherein the associated dilation factor comprises a two- dimensional dilation factor. (¶11 discloses the dilation kernel having two dimensions “the at least one dilation kernel comprises a first set of weights,… a second dilation kernel of the at least one dilation kernel comprises a second set of weights,”)
Regarding claim 6, Koopman discloses wherein further comprising a different dilation factor for two or more of a plurality of kernels in the neural network. (¶11 “the at least one dilation kernel comprises a first set of weights… a second dilation kernel of the at least one dilation kernel comprises a second set of weights”)
Regarding claim 7, Koopman discloses wherein further comprising a dilation factor per kernel for two or more of a plurality of layers in the neural network. (¶11 discloses the dilation kernel having two dimensions “the at least one dilation kernel comprises a first set of weights,… a second dilation kernel of the at least one dilation kernel comprises a second set of weights,”)
Regarding claim 8, Koopman discloses wherein training the neural network further comprises using a backpropagation algorithm or a genetic algorithm. (¶144 “The training of the deep learning model 1006 may begin with an initialization of weights of each layer and progressively modifying the weights based on backpropagation of the error signal with respect to the loss function”)
Regarding claim 11, Koopman discloses wherein further comprising using the trained neural network to filter input data. (¶102 “the radiation emitted by radiation source 2 is collimated using lens system 12 and transmitted through interference filter 13 ” and ¶129 “The radiation distribution (pupil or aerial image) is turned into detection signal by absorption of incident energy on the detector.”)
Regarding claim 12, Koopman discloses An apparatus, comprising: (¶2 “The techniques may be used in connection with a lithographic apparatus or a metrology apparatus.”)
a neural network (¶133 “Furthermore, the present disclosure includes a method for training machine learning model (specifically a convolutional neural network)”) comprising a kernel and an associated dilation factor, (¶8 “the at least one dilation kernel comprises a plurality of weights, a dilation rate,”) the neural network operable to apply the kernel to an input tensor using the associated dilation factor (¶139 “The input tensor is convolved with a kernel tensor W, the resulting convolution may be increased with a bias vector and passed through an activation function such as a rectifier LinearUnit (ReLU)”) to generate a predicted output. (¶6 “generating a predicted image,”)
Regarding claim 13, Koopman discloses wherein the neural network is a convolutional neural network (¶133 “Furthermore, the present disclosure includes a method for training machine learning model (specifically a convolutional neural network)”) and the kernel is a sparse or atrous convolutional neural network kernel. (¶21 “including a processor for learning a weight matrix for a kernel of dilated convolution through deep learning, generating an atypical kernel pattern based on the learned weight matrix,”)
Regarding claim 14, Koopman discloses wherein further comprising a different dilation factor for two or more of a plurality of layers in the neural network. (¶11 “a second dilation kernel of the at least one dilation kernel comprises a second set of weights, a second dilation rate and a depth equal to a number of classes of the set of classes, wherein the second set of weights is different from the first set of weights and/or the second dilation rate is different from the first dilation rate.”)
Regarding claim 15, Koopman discloses wherein further comprising a dilation factor per kernel for two or more of a plurality of kernels in the neural network. (¶11 “the at least one dilation kernel comprises a first set of weights… a second dilation kernel of the at least one dilation kernel comprises a second set of weights”)
Regarding claim 18, Koopman discloses A method, comprising applying a dilation factor to a neural network filter kernel of a neural network, (¶144 “The training involves a forward propagation of an input through different layers of the neural network to reach an output, where each layer performs a convolution operations with dilated kernels” ) the dilation factor learned through training the neural network. (¶6 “trained deep learning model by iteratively assigning weights to the at least one dilated kernel based on a back propagation through the deep learning model using a loss function such that the predicted image reproduces the plurality of features of the input image.” Koopman disclose adjusting the dilated kernel by iteratively assigning weights)
Regarding claim 19, Koopman discloses wherein the neural network comprises a convolutional neural network (¶133 “Furthermore, the present disclosure includes a method for training machine learning model (specifically a convolutional neural network)”) and the neural network filter kernel comprises a convolutional neural network kernel. (¶138 “In an architecture based on convolutions, each layer performs certain convolution operations based on one or more kernels (typically defined by weights associated with the kernels”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koopman (US 20210374936 A1) in view of Roberts (US 20220292278 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Koopman discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the neural network comprises an autoencoder.
In related art, Roberts discloses the neural network comprises an autoencoder. (¶63 “The machine learning model may be a classifier or combination of classifiers including neural networks such as fully-connected, convolutional, recurrent, autoencoder,”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the autoencoder disclosed by Roberts into the method of deep learning for predicted image generation disclosed by Koopman to aid the deep learning model in learning features and classes from the truth image to produce a better predicted image.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Cho (US 20220300803 A1) discloses a method for performing a dilated convolution operation using an atypical kernel pattern and a dilated convolutional neural network system using the same. The method for performing a dilated convolution operation includes learning a weight matrix for a kernel of dilated convolution through deep learning, generating an atypical kernel pattern based on the learned weight matrix, and performing a dilated convolution operation on input data by applying the atypical kernel pattern to a kernel of a dilated convolutional neural network.
Shu (US 20250166411 A1) discloses a deepfake detection method based on identity and face shape features is provided. The Deepfake detection method combines an identity feature with a three-dimensional (3D) face shape feature, and designs a face shape consistency self-attention (FSCA) module and an identity guided shape consistency attention (IGSCA) module to mine an identity and face shape inconsistency feature. The Deepfake detection method achieves strong targeting performance based on reference face information of different faces, and additionally utilizes a reference face to assist in detecting a target face, achieving strong targeting performance. The Deepfake detection method combines identity and shape features to achieve good generalized detection performance, improving Deepfake detection performance and accuracy.
/MICHAEL KIM MAIDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665