DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to application no. 19/057994 filed 20 February 2025.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1-10 are rejected as shown in this detailed action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a reception unit configured to receive” (claim 1);
“a guidance unit configured to guide” (claim 1);
“a second authentication information obtainer configured to acquire” (claim 5);
“a medium issuer configured to issue” (claim 5);
“the guidance unit is configured to guide” (claim 7);
“an image capture unit … configured to capture” (claim 8);
“the detector is configured to detect” (claim 8);
“the detector is configured to detect” (claim 9).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. See the 35 § 112(b) rejections below; the structure to perform these functions is not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim limitations, set forth in the Claim Interpretation section above, invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No association between the recited functions and structure can be found in the specification. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-9 recite a system comprising a device and a plurality of processors which is considered a machine or manufacture. Claim 10 recites a method which is considered a process.
Step 2A-Prong One
(Claims 1 and 10) These claims recite the concept of determining a customer’s purpose for a visit to a financial service location and assisting the customer is carrying out their purpose (see, for example, “a reception step of receiving a purpose of the customer's visit; and a guidance step of guiding the customer to a target transaction processor corresponding to the purpose of the customer's visit among the plurality of types of transaction processors” in claim 10). This concept falls into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas including commercial interactions and managing interactions between people. Thus, these claims recite an abstract idea.
The dependent claims further refine the abstract idea recited in claims 1 and 10 by further defining the types of assistance the customer can receive and additional steps utilized to assist the customer is carrying out their purpose. These claims also fall into the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, claims 1-10 all recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the additional element of a system comprising a visit reception device and a plurality of types of processors (claims 1-9) and includes no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The system does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claim 10 recites that the method is “to be performed by a financial service location system including a visit reception device operable by a customer and a plurality of types of transaction processors. However, the system is not positively recited as performing any method steps. Thus, the system is outside the scope of the claims.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A-Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims do not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0081858 (“Block”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Block teaches a method and a financial service location system for use in a financial service location, comprising:
a visit reception device operable by a customer (See “A welcome terminal 10 is schematically represented in FIG. 1” in ¶ 0047 and “when a banking customer approaches the welcome terminal 10 [...] the welcome terminal 10 may operate to prompt the banking customer to provide inputs responsive to the outputs through the display 44, speaker 38 and other suitable output devices” in ¶ 0059.);
a plurality of types of transaction processors each configured to perform different transaction processing according to a purpose (See “banking resources such as automated teller machines, the teller terminal 22 and the banking computers 20” in ¶ 0086 and “Some exemplary banking resources that may be activated […] are computer terminals, computer databases, self service terminal, safety deposit boxes, access control devices, drawers, office space, storage areas, meeting rooms, automatic banking machines, teller areas, safety deposit box areas, and vault areas” in ¶ 0199.),
wherein the visit reception device includes: a reception unit configured to receive a purpose of the customer's visit (See “The welcome terminal 10 may also be operative to provide outputs that describe what banking transactions or services are available at the banking facility 200 where the welcome terminal 10 is located. The welcome terminal 10 may be positioned inside the banking location near a customer entrance” in ¶0058, “the welcome terminal 10 may provide outputs that prompt the banking customer to provide selected inputs if they would like to perform a transaction like one of the transactions displayed. The banking customer may then provide one or more inputs operative to select one or more transaction types they would like to perform at the banking facility 200. In an exemplary embodiment, the welcome terminal may operate in accordance with its programming to cause indicia corresponding to the desired tasks to graphically appear in a list in an area of the display 44 of the welcome terminal 10 for reference by the banking customer” in ¶ 0060, and “Customer #1 has provided inputs that correspond to a request to open a banking account at the welcome terminal 10” in ¶ 0090.); and
a guidance unit configured to guide the customer to a target transaction processor corresponding to the purpose of the customer's visit among the plurality of types of transaction processors (See “At step 308 the input received from the banking customer is analyzed through operation of a computer to determine which transaction may be processed first. The determination may be made by a banking computer system determining which resources are needed for each requested transaction and which of the needed resources are then currently available. The banking customer may be routed to a first location at step 310 through outputs from the welcome terminal and/or other devices. In some exemplary embodiments one or more computers may operate to present the banking customer with a map at the welcome terminal displaying how to proceed to the first location” in ¶ 0099 and “A banking resource such as a computer terminal or other device at the first location operates to begin processing the first transaction before the banking customer arrives at the first location” in ¶ 0100.).
Regarding Claim 2, Block further teaches the plurality of types of transaction processors include: a service location-side customer service device configured to transmit information regarding a verification document of the customer to a customer service terminal operated by an attendant at a remote location, and receive information to be handed over to the customer from the customer service terminal (See “After the request is received at the machine, the request for $1500 may go to the services cloud 113 which determines if the request will be passed on to the remote teller 22. However, the services cloud 113 knows that through a bank policy file that a scan or the driver's license will be needed in addition to the card and PIN validation. The machine 760 prompts the customer to enter their driver's license into the driver's license scanner 57. The license images of the front and back may be sent to the services cloud 113. The services cloud 113 then requests a driver's license verification service to verify the scanned image and requests a facial recognition service to compare the drivers license picture to the live image being sent from the camera 70 in front of the machine, for example. The services cloud 113 may receive the card and PIN verification from the machine processor, a document OK message from the driver's license verification service and a 95% match or better message from the facial recognition service” in ¶ 0272 and “All of this verification information as well as the cash withdrawal transaction request goes to the services cloud 113 client software on the remote teller's workstation 22. The remote teller views the request, the verification from the PIN, driver's license, and facial recognition, and the teller then checks the customer's account balance. […] Once the remote teller is satisfied that the requirements of the transaction have been met, the teller instructs the services cloud 113 to proceed with the transaction and dispense the requested amount. In this situation the remote teller sends data to the machine 760 and the machine runs as usual to complete the cash withdrawal” in ¶ 0273.); and a money handling device operable by the customer and configured to handle deposit and withdrawal of money (See “A customer can touch the corresponding key to select the transaction function desired. Touching the ATM key 214 correspond to a customer selection that causes the customer station to function as an automated banking machine, which can include a user data reader (e.g., card reader, biometric reader), cash dispenser, check acceptor, an/or a deposit acceptor” in ¶ 0227.).
Regarding Claim 3, Block further teaches at least one of the plurality of types of transaction processors enables remote interaction with an attendant at a remote location by being connected to a customer service terminal operated by the attendant (See “There are many additional functions that may be performed by a remote teller, such as routine teller transactions in a more self-service way with the option of a video connection 789 to the remote teller. Many teller transactions may be automated at an automated banking machine 760” in ¶ 0264, “the remote teller's involvement may be made as efficient and brief as possible, whereby the remote teller resource may process more transactions per machine than if the remote teller was required to engage the customer through video chat 789 for every step of the transaction, unless requested by the customer. The automated banking machine 760 may be connected to middleware logic, such as between the machine and the host” in ¶ 0265, “the transaction request may be sent to the remote teller workstation on which the services cloud 113 client is running. That same remote teller 22 workstation may also be running the bank's teller application. When the request for $800 arrives at the services cloud 113 client, the request may contain enough information to identify the customer's PIN, convey that information to the teller that the PIN is valid, as well as the information related to the fact that the customer requested $800” in ¶ 0268, and “The bank may have a policy that requires the remote teller 22 to determine if the customer has a sufficient account balance. After the teller determines that the customer's account balance is sufficient, the remote teller 22 may return a command to the services cloud 113 to proceed with the transaction and dispense the requested amount. In this situation the remote teller sends data to the machine 760 and the machine runs as usual to complete the cash withdrawal” in ¶ 0269.).
Regarding Claim 4, Block further teaches at least one of the transaction processors includes a first authentication information obtainer configured to acquire information for identity verification from the customer (See “The machine 760 prompts the customer to enter their driver's license into the driver's license scanner 57. The license images of the front and back may be sent to the services cloud 113. The services cloud 113 then requests a driver's license verification service to verify the scanned image and requests a facial recognition service to compare the drivers license picture to the live image being sent from the camera 70 in front of the machine, for example. The services cloud 113 may receive the card and PIN verification from the machine processor, a document OK message from the driver's license verification service and a 95% match or better message from the facial recognition service” in ¶ 0272.).
Regarding Claim 5, Block further teaches the visit reception device further includes: a second authentication information obtainer configured to acquire information for identity verification from the customer (See “FIG. 3 shows schematically an exemplary method of processing banking transactions using a welcome terminal 300. The method may include a step 302 where an image of a banking customer approaching or at a banking terminal may be captured through operation of one or more computers. The image may be optical or of any method that may be useful to identify or track the banking customer. The banking customer may be identified in step 304. The identification may be by computer analysis of optical images, facial images, infrared images or any other method to identify the banking customer” in ¶ 0099.); and a medium issuer configured to issue a medium bearing information specifying the customer (See “The banking customer may be recognized when the customer arrives at the bank. This may be done through operation of one or more computers, based on received data in one or more of the ways previously discussed. At step 604 the banking customer is presented an image through an output device. The image may be a personalized welcoming image and may be presented in one or more of the ways” in ¶ 0162 and Fig. 12 showing at step 2 “Screen will recognize user and display user’s most common transactions along with all other terminal capable transactions. […] HELLO ANNIE, HOW CAN I HELP YOU?”).
Regarding Claim 6, Block further teaches the second authentication information obtainer includes a camera configured to capture an image of a proof of identity of the customer (See “The welcome terminal 10 is operatively connected to a camera 74 which is operative to capture images” in ¶ 0047 and “In some exemplary embodiments the welcome terminal 10 may be operable to use a camera 74 on the welcome terminal or other cameras 70 operatively connected to the network 102 to capture images of a banking customer at or approaching the welcome terminal. By processing the image data using image recognition software locally or such software in operative connection with other computers, the banking customer may be identified” in ¶ 0060.).
Regarding Claim 7, Block further teaches the transaction processor is in a section isolated from others within the financial service location, the financial service location system further comprises a detector capable of detecting presence of a person in a detection region within the section (See “upon being detected, a particular banking customer or a person belonging to a specific banking customer segment would have a space reserved for them (a private financial consultation room, for example) allowing them to proceed directly to that space. This may include, for example, the computer operating in accordance with an instruction to activate an output device to indicate the customer's name or other identifier on an output device associated with the private meeting room. One or more sensors adjacent to the meeting room may operate to unlock a door or other access control device as the user's identification device is sensed in proximity to the door. In some exemplary embodiments after a reservation was in place for a particular customer, no other banking customer could use that room even if they also had a similar device. In some exemplary embodiments once the banking customer for whom the room was reserved for enters the room, they may again need to identify themselves with the device or otherwise before they may proceed with the special services” in ¶ 0098.), and the guidance unit is configured to guide a second customer who is waiting for a turn to the target transaction processor, in response to a first customer finishing using the target transaction processor and the person not being detected in the detection region by the detector (See “analysis may be used to determine when the resource associated with a particular terminal is likely to become available, through operation of one or more computers connected in the system operating in accordance with programmed instructions to analyze the activities and/or messages from such terminals to make such a determination. The terminals or other computers may also be in operative connection with cameras, motions sensors, light sensors or other suitable sensors in the rooms that can provide signals indicative of when each room has persons present therein” in ¶ 0056, “Alternatively, if the currency exchange terminal 10 was not immediately available but a teller station was available, then the task queuing manager software would be operative to direct the banking customer to proceed to the banking teller station and then the customer would then be directed to the currency exchange terminal 88 after the transaction at the teller station was completed” in ¶ 0067.).
Regarding Claim 8, Block further teaches an image capture unit provided within the section and configured to capture an image of the person, wherein the detector is configured to detect the person in the detection region based on the image captured by the image capture unit (See “The activities conducted at the terminals 20 and the messages that pass between such terminals and other computers are analyzed through operation of one or more computers in the system. Such analysis may be used to determine when the resource associated with a particular terminal is likely to become available, through operation of one or more computers connected in the system operating in accordance with programmed instructions to analyze the activities and/or messages from such terminals to make such a determination. The terminals or other computers may also be in operative connection with cameras, motions sensors, light sensors or other suitable sensors in the rooms that can provide signals indicative of when each room has persons present therein. Of course this approach is exemplary and in other embodiments other approaches may be used” in ¶ 0056 and ¶ 0057.).
Regarding Claim 9, Block further teaches the detector is configured to detect a headcount of the person in the detection region based on the captured image (See “The banking facility 200 may contain cameras 70 for capturing images. The data corresponding to which images can be used for recognizing customers and tracking customers within a banking facility 200. Such cameras may be in operative connection with suitable interfaces and computers so as to enable such computers to identify and/or determine the location of persons within the facility. Connected computers may be operative to analyze such image data to determine the locations of particular individuals in various locations. This may include, for example, the number of customers waiting to use a particular resource. It may also include evaluating the number of customers in various offices or in waiting areas at automated banking machine terminals, or in other locations, so as to provide data which is used by the computers for purposes of determining how to direct customers so as to accomplish transactions in the most expeditious manner” in ¶ 0057.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0337783 (“Konecny”): Konecny discloses a module system for use by a financial institution that allows for banking transactions including assistance by a remote teller and assignment of spaces for customers based on their purpose at the location.
US 2021/0042673 (“Lieberman”): Lieberman discloses a system for use at a financial institution which includes assignment of spaces for a customer based on their purpose at the institution. See Fig. 2 which guides customers to their assigned spaces such as “Teller 3” or “ATM 4.”
/MEREDITH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622