Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the reference characters “6” and “7” have been used to designate a wheel and an impeller for a turbine and a compressor, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Badey et al. (WO 2014041265 A2) in view of Shimizu et al. (US 20090320468 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Badey discloses an assist motor assembly including a rotor located on a rotation shaft (implied, see: “[06] Electrical machines are known having a stator and a rotor integral with a shaft. The rotor may be integral with a drive shaft and/or driven and may belong to a rotating electrical machine”), and
a stator (fig. 2b) located around the rotor (implied), wherein the stator includes:
a stator core (core, annotated fig. 2b; see also fig. 2a);
an insulator (insulator, annotated fig. 2b) provided around the stator core;
a coil (coil, annotated fig. 2b) wound around the insulator;
a bus bar (bus bar, annotated fig. 2b) connected to an inner coil end of the coil (inner coil end, annotated fig. 2b); and
a temperature measurement device (sensor, annotated fig. 10b) including: a temperature-sensitive element unit (para [082]: “The temperature sensor 303 is preferably a CTN (Negative Temperature Coefficient) type sensor. Of course, in a variant, a sensor 303 of CTP type (Positive Temperature Coefficient) is used, this depends on the applications. These CTN and CTP sensors are thermistors whose resistance varies as a function of temperature.”) located next to the inner coil end (see fig. 10a) and configured to detect a temperature of the coil (implied; see para [083]: “The tab 301 exerts an elastic action against the sensor 303 so as to keep the sensor 303 in contact against the coil 19 and to prevent the movements of the sensor 303. A resin-type material can be introduced into the housing 302 to improve heat transfer and electrical isolation between the sensor 303 and the coil. This resin also fixes the sensor 303.”); and
a signal cable (cable, annotated fig. 10b) extending from the temperature- sensitive element unit, wherein
the temperature-sensitive element unit is located in an element pocket (the pocket is limited by walls 301 and 203 as seen in fig. 10b) provided in the insulator, and
wherein the signal cable extends away from the element pocket (see annotated fig. 10b) and crosses behind the bus bar as viewed from an axial direction of the rotation shaft (not shown but required to connect the sensor to a controller).
Badey does not disclose: a turbocharger comprising the assist motor assembly and the rotation shaft coupling a turbine impeller and a compressor impeller. These limitations are basically describing an intended use for the assist motor and such applications and configurations are known to those having ordinary skills in the art in view of Shimizu who discloses a supercharger (see fig. 1) in which “This electrically assisted method is for supplementing compressor driving power by an amount equivalent to a shortfall in exhaust gas energy by driving a rotary motor directly connected to a rotating shaft connecting a turbine to the compressor.”, (para [0004]).
To use the assist motor assembly in a turbocharger, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: a turbocharger comprising the assist motor assembly and the rotation shaft coupling a turbine impeller and a compressor impeller.
Regarding claim 2, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, wherein the temperature-sensitive element unit is inserted in a first direction along the rotation shaft, and wherein the signal cable extends out from the temperature- sensitive element unit in a second direction, which is opposite to the first direction (implied, the sensor is placed in the axial direction and the cable goes out in the opposite direction; see fig. 10b).
Regarding claim 3, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, further comprises
an insulating material (insulating material, annotated fig. 17) located next to an outer coil end of the coil (see fig. 17), wherein
the insulating material includes a groove (groove, annotated fig. 17); and wherein
the bus bar extends from the insulating material to the inner coil end (see bus bar in annotated fig. 17 and in fig. 5), and wherein the signal cable includes:
a first portion (first portion, annotated fig. 17) that crosses behind the bus bar;
a cable end portion located outside of the stator (implied; not shown but required to send the signal to a controller); and
a second portion (second portion, annotated fig. 17) located between the first portion and the cable end portion, and wherein the second portion is fitted into the groove (see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second signal cable connected to the temperature-sensitive element unit (implied, at least two wires are connected to each sensor- see para [082]: “This sensor 303 is connected, here by electrical wires visible in FIG. 10b, to the control and control stage of the machine (not shown) able to cut off the supply of the stator coils 1 1 when overheating of the machine is detected .”), and
a first electromagnet assembly and a second electromagnet assembly arranged in a circumferential direction of the rotation shaft (see fig. 2b; each electromagnet includes a coil, insulator and a core), wherein
each of the first electromagnet assembly and the second electromagnet assembly includes the stator core, the insulator, and the coil (implied), wherein
the bus bar is located between the first electromagnet assembly and the second electromagnet assembly (see fig. 2b, portions of the busbar is between two adjacent electromagnets; see fig. 5), which are adjacent as viewed from the axial direction, and wherein
the second signal cable extends away from the element pocket of the insulator and crosses behind the bus bar as viewed from the axial direction (the two wires are routed together; the signal wires are routed from the inner radial side of an electromagnet to its outer radial side where they are further routed circumferentially through at least a groove).
Regarding claim 5, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, wherein the inner coil end extends in the axial direction (see annotated fig. 2b), and is located adjacent to the temperature-sensitive element unit in the element pocket, in a circumferential direction of the rotation shaft (see fig. 10a).
Regarding claim 6, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, further comprising a mold resin located between the temperature-sensitive element unit and the coil (para [083]: “A resin-type material can be introduced into the housing 302 to improve heat transfer and electrical isolation between the sensor 303 and the coil. This resin also fixes the sensor 303.”).
Regarding claim 7, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 1, wherein the element pocket includes a gap that exposes a part of the temperature-sensitive element unit in the element pocket (see fig. 10b, the left side of the sensor is open to sense the temperature of the coil), and wherein the coil and the temperature-sensitive element unit face each other at the gap (see fig. 10b; see also para [082]: “20 comprises a flexible and hollow lug 301 carried in this embodiment by the upper transverse edge of the front edge 203. This lug 301 delimits a housing 302, clearly visible in Figure 10b, open on the side of the coil 19 and for receiving a temperature sensor 303.”).
Regarding claim 8, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses a turbocharger comprising: a turbine impeller; a rotation shaft fixed to the turbine impeller; a motor including a rotor located on the rotation shaft, and a stator located around the rotor, wherein the stator includes: a stator core; an insulator located around the stator core, wherein the insulator includes an element pocket; a coil wound around the insulator, wherein the coil includes an inner coil end (191, fig. 2b) and an outer coil end (192, fig. 2b); and a temperature sensing device located next to the inner coil end and configured to detect a temperature of the coil, wherein the temperature sensing device is located in the element pocket and hold by the element pocket (discussed regarding claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 8, wherein the stator includes a bus bar connected to the inner coil end (discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 9, further comprising a resin holder that holds the bus bar (para [065]: “Preferably, the frames 31 -34 are embedded in a body 38 made of electrically insulating material, such as plastic.”) and that extends in a circumferential direction of the rotation shaft (see figs. 2b, 3a-3c, 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 10, wherein the bus bar includes an input terminal (see terminals 41-43 in fig. 5), and wherein the resin holder is located between the input terminal and the inner coil end (see fig. 3b).
Regarding claim 12, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 9, wherein the stator further includes a signal cable connected to the temperature sensing device (fig. 10b), and wherein the signal cable extends away from the element pocket of the insulator and crosses the bus bar as viewed from an axial direction of the rotation shaft (discussed regarding claim 4; see also fig. 17).
Regarding claim 13, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 12, wherein the temperature sensing device extends along the axial direction (see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 14, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 8, further comprising a compressor impeller, wherein the rotation shaft is coupled to the turbine impeller and the compressor impeller (discussed in claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger comprising: a turbine impeller; a rotation shaft fixed to the turbine impeller; a motor including a rotor located on the rotation shaft, and a stator located around the rotor, wherein the stator includes: a stator core; an insulator located around the stator core, wherein the insulator includes an element pocket; a coil wound around the insulator; a temperature sensing device configured to detect a temperature of the coil; and a signal cable connected to the temperature sensing device, wherein the temperature sensing device is located in the element pocket (discussed regarding claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 15, further comprising a bus bar that is connected to the coil and that extends in a radial direction of the rotation shaft (see figs. 3c and 5).
Regarding claim 17, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 16, wherein the signal cable crosses the bus bar as viewed from an axial direction of the rotation shaft (discussed regarding claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 15, further comprising a resin holder extending in a circumferential direction of the rotation shaft (discussed in claim 10), wherein the resin holder includes a cable holding unit holding the signal cable (see groove in fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 18, wherein the cable holding unit includes a groove that extends in a radial direction of the rotation shaft, and wherein the signal cable is routed through the groove (see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 20, Badey as modified by Shimizu in claim 1 and discussed in claim 1 discloses the turbocharger according to claim 19, but is silent about wherein the groove includes a claw holding the signal cable located in the groove.
However, using claws to secure a wire in a groove is known to those having ordinary skills in the art. In the instant case, the motor causes vibration and it’s critical to robustly secure the cables in the groove to prevent damage.
To robustly secure the signal cable in the groove, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that: the groove includes a claw holding the signal cable located in the groove.
Conclusion
The prior art, listed on PTO-892, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20120111145 A1 teaches using a claw holding to secure a cable.
/MASOUD VAZIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834