Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2025 and 08/26/2025 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toshiaki et al. [JP 5162911]
Toshiaki et al., an applicant’s cited prior art, disclose an image forming apparatus comprising a toner image forming device [Fig. 3], and a transfer device including an intermediate transfer belt [20] comprising a binder resin [Para. 0037-0038], at least one modified silicone oil of a modified silicone oil having a benzene ring or a polyether-modified silicone oil [Para. 0069-0073], and an epoxide derivative [Para. 0061-0063].
Regarding claim 15, Toshiaki et al. disclose the image forming apparatus comprising a primary transfer device [unlabeled roller connected to the power source 81 in Fig. 3], and a secondary transfer device [25].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, 10, 13, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiaki et al. in view of Makoto et al. [JP 5162911]
Toshiaki et al., as discussed above disclose the claimed invention except for a content of the modified silicone oil with respect to 100 parts by mass of the binder resin is 0.5 parts by mass or more and 6.0 parts or less.
Makoto et al., an applicant’s cited prior art, disclose an image forming apparatus [Fig. 1 ] comprising an endless belt [6] having a binder resin [Para. 0061], and at least one modified silicone oil [Para. 0109]; wherein the content of the modified silicone oil with respect to 100 parts by mass of the binder resin preferably is 1 to 7 parts by mass [Para. 0113].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the endless belt disclosed by Toshiaki et al. having the content of the modified silicone oil with respect to 100 parts by mass of the binder resin preferably is 1 to 7 parts by mass as taught by Makoto et al. for the purpose of improving the mechanical characteristic such as flexing endurance, electrical characteristic, and surface characteristic of the endless belt.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Toshiaki et al. disclose the image forming apparatus comprising a primary transfer device [unlabeled roller connected to the power source 81 in Fig. 3], and a secondary transfer device [25].
Prior Art
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
- Kubo et al. [11,988,981] disclose an image forming apparatus.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to HOAN H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-2141.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9AM-5:30PM.
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Walter Lindsay can be reached on 571-272-1674. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private
PAIRsystem, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you
would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the
automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HOAN H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 04/04/26