DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to original claims filed on 02/20/2025. Presently, Claims 1 - 15 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“the connecting element … is configured to enable a variable relative movement …” in Claims 1 and 11, and “the connecting element is configured to move the first portion variably …” in Claim 6.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “the connecting element” can comprise “a joint, a guide element, a gear, and/or an elastic element or be designed as a joint, a guide element, a gear, and/or an elastic element”, and can comprise “a mechanical spring, an angle joint, a ball joint, a radial bearing, a thrust bearing, a coupling gear, a straight guide, an axle, and/or a shaft” (Para 0012).
“the drive unit is configured to move the patient seat …” in Claims 1, 9 and 11, and “the drive unit is configured to position the patient seat variably …” in Claim 3, “the drive unit … configured to automatically position a diagnostically relevant body region …” in Claims 12 and 13.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “drive unit” can comprise “any kind of drive, for example, an electric or pneumatic drive, in particular, a hydraulic drive”, and can comprise “a guide element, such as, for example, a gear, a bearing, a rail, a guide rod, an axle, a shaft, and/or a linear guide” (Para 0022).
“a positioning unit … is configured to automatically position …” in Claims 2, and 11-13.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “positioning unit” has “a drive … designed as an electric drive, a pneumatic drive, or a hydraulic drive”, and can comprise “a mechanical spring or a gas pressure spring” (Para 0029).
“the further connecting element is configured to position the headrest …” in Claim 4, “the further connecting element is configured to enable variable positioning of the headrest …” in Claim 5.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “further connecting element” can comprise “a coupling gear or a plurality of guide elements, for example, a joint and a plain bearing, a plurality of joints, or one or more joints and bearings” (Para 0058).
“the guide element is configured to move the at least antenna element …” in Claim 7.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “guide element” can be “a gear, a bearing, a rail, a guide rod, an axle, a shaft, and/or a linear guide” (Para 0022), and can comprise “pivot bearings, a plain bearing, a joint, a hinge and/or a folding element” (Para 0063).
“a pivoting mechanism … is configured to pivot the at least one antenna element …” in Claim 8.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “pivoting mechanism” can have “at least one pivot bearing, in particular a thrust bearing, or a hinge” (Para 0070).
“a securing element … is configured to limit an extent …” in Claim 10.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “securing element” can comprise “a pin, a bolt, a latching mechanism, a screw, a stop element, a damping element, or the like” (Para 0095).
“a sensor … is configured to determine information about a spatial arrangement …” in Claim 13.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “sensor” can be “an optical sensor, in particular, a distance sensor or a camera” (Para 0108).
“a drive … is configured to affect an engagement …” in Claim 15.
A review of the Specification discloses that the corresponding structure for the “drive” can have “a mechanical, hydraulic, or pneumatic positioning unit” (Para 0132), such as “a piston” (Para 0189).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, Line 7, recites “a spatial direction”. Claim 1, which Claim 9 is dependent on, also recites “a spatial direction” (Line 19). It is unclear whether the “a spatial direction” recited in Claim 9 is the same or different from the “a spatial direction” recited in Claim 1. For present purposes of examination, the two recited “a spatial direction” in the two claims are interpreted to refer to a same spatial direction.
Claim 11, Lines 4-8, recites “a first portion”, “a second portion”, “a connecting element”, “a radio-frequency unit” and “a drive unit”. Claim 1, which Claim 11 is dependent on, also recites the same terms (Lines 3-8). It is unclear whether each of the listed terms as recited in Claim 11 and in Claim 1 refer to a same or different components. For present purposes of examination, each of the listed terms as recited in Claim 11 and in Claim 1 are interpreted to refer to a same component.
Claims 10 and 12-15 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi (US 20180011153 A1; hereafter Pourrahimi), in view of Abkai et al (US 20180199853 A1; hereafter Abkai).
With regard to Claim 1, Pourrahimi discloses a patient seat (a diagnostic arrangement 200, excluding magnet and gradient coils in MRI scanner 202) for supporting a patient during a magnetic resonance examination (Pourrahimi, Para 0026; “… a diagnostic arrangement 200 includes an MRI scanner 202 having a scanning bore 204 to accommodate an extremity, such as the head, or spine of a patient sitting on chair 206.”), comprising:
a first portion (the part annotated as “seat” in cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi);
a second portion (the part annotated as “back rest” in cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi);
a connecting element (the part annotated as “connection 1” in cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi);
a radio-frequency unit with at least one antenna element (MRI scanner 202 inherently contains radio-frequency unit with at least one antenna element, as disclosed in Para 0010; “When an RF coil transmits a magnetic pulse (wave) the precession of the protons are disturbed accordingly. … The more the number of RF transmit and RF receive coils the more information about the local hydrogen protons.”); and
wherein the first portion and the second portion form parts of a receiving surface for the patient (Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi cited below shows that the two parts (blue and red) forms a receiving surface for a patient),
wherein the connecting element mechanically connects the first portion to the second portion and is configured to enable a variable relative movement between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi cited below shows that the connecting part (green) connects the blue and red parts. Fig. 3 shows that the connecting part can be adjusted so as to make the chair fully flat), and
wherein the at least one antenna element of the radio- frequency unit is configured to receive signals in a power and frequency range of a magnetic resonance examination (Pourrahimi, Para 0010; “To produce signals from protons one or more additional coils are used to transmit and receive radio frequency electromagnetic waves pulses.”).
Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi
Pourrahimi does not clearly and explicitly disclose comprising a drive unit, wherein the drive unit is configured to move the patient seat variably along a spatial direction.
Abkai in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising a drive unit (drive means 11), wherein the drive unit is configured to move the patient seat variably along a spatial direction (Abkai, Para 0047; “The drive means 11 is controlled by means of a control unit 12 to move the patient seat 7 in the patient opening 6 along a travel curve 13 (shown as an arrow) to an imaging position 14”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi, as suggested by Abkai, in order to use a drive means to move the patient seat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of improved safety and efficiency of loading patient into a scanner by using such drive means for controlled movements.
With regard to Claim 3, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 1. Pourrahimi further discloses wherein the patient seat is moveable along a first spatial direction and a second spatial direction, which is aligned orthogonally to the first spatial direction (Pourrahimi, Para 0026; “the height-adjustable support 208 may use other known mechanisms to adjust the height of its seat”. According to the cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi, the base 210 has wheels so can move the seat horizontally. Hence, the seat can be positioned variably along 2 orthogonal directions). Pourrahimi and Abkai as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose using the drive unit to position the patient seat variably along a spatial direction.
Abkai further discloses using the drive unit to position the patient seat variably along a spatial direction (Abkai, Para 0036; “… a patient seat is attached to the MRI machine, wherein the patient seat has adjusting means driven by at least one drive means controlled by means of a control unit in order to move the patient seat into the patient opening along a travel curve as far as an imaging position … the position of the adjustable element is used to determine a length of the travel curve of the patient seat for the control of the control unit.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as further suggested by Abkai, in order to include a drive or control unit to position the patient seat variably along a spatial direction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of increasing imaging quality by precisely positioning the patient in imaging volume in an automatic manner (Abkai, Para 0038; “An advantage of this method is that the patient is automatically moved into the imaging position in a convenient and precise manner. As a result, compared to the manual positioning of the patient, positioning errors are prevented.”).
With regard to Claim 6, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 1. Pourrahimi further discloses wherein the connecting element is configured to move the first portion variably relative to the second portion such that a relative position of a head of a patient positioned on the patient seat appropriately for an application and a portion of the patient seat remains substantially unchanged (Pourrahimi, Para 0032; “FIG. 3 shows an example adjustable bore-orientation MRI scanner adjusted for a patient lying down.”. When compared to the lying-down position in Fig. 3 or conventional bed in Fig. 1, the seating position in Fig. 2 (cited above) has a different position for the back rest relative to the seat part, but the relative position between the head rest and the back rest remains unchanged).
With regard to Claim 7, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 1. Pourrahimi further discloses wherein the radio-frequency unit has a guide element, and wherein the guide element (the height-adjustable supporting frame 212) is configured to move the at least one antenna element variably relative to a portion of the patient seat (Pourrahimi, Para 0029; “… the height-adjustable supporting frame 212 may use other known mechanisms to adjust the height of the MRI scanner 202.” The disclosed MRI scanner 202 contains RF unit).
With regard to Claim 8, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 1. Pourrahimi further discloses wherein the radio-frequency unit has a pivoting mechanism, which is configured to pivot the at least one antenna element about an axis aligned substantially parallel to a medial direction of the patient when the patient is positioned on the patient seat appropriately for an application (Pourrahimi, Para 0029; “… the MRI scanner 202 that is configured to controllably and/or adjustably rotate around A-A′ axis.”. Here the disclosed “A-A’ axis” is parallel to a medial direction of a patient).
With regard to Claim 9, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose a patient seat as claimed in Claim 1 (a diagnostic arrangement 200, excluding magnet and gradient coils in MRI scanner 202), wherein the drive unit (drive means 11) is configured to move the patient seat variably relative to the patient receiving region of the magnetic resonance device at least along a spatial direction (Abkai, Para 0047; “The drive means 11 is controlled by means of a control unit 12 to move the patient seat 7 in the patient opening 6 along a travel curve 13 (shown as an arrow) to an imaging position 14”). Pourrahimi further discloses a magnetic resonance device (Pourrahimi, Para 0026; “… a diagnostic arrangement 200 includes an MRI scanner 202 having a scanning bore 204 to accommodate an extremity, such as the head, or spine of a patient sitting on chair 206.”) for performing a magnetic resonance examination on a patient arranged in a patient receiving region (scanning bore 204) of the magnetic resonance device.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi and Abkai, in view of Vartiainen et al (US 20190328600 A1; hereafter Vartiainen).
With regard to Claim 2, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 1, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose comprising a positioning unit, which is configured to automatically position the first portion variably relative to the second portion.
Vartiainen in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising a positioning unit, which is configured to automatically position the first portion variably relative to the second portion (Vartiainen, Para 0020; “With reference to FIG. 5, the chair 14 includes a locking system 46 to lock a position of the back rest 22 relative to the seat portion 18”; Para 0021; “… a controller 62 detects (via information provided by a presence sensor) when the patient's head contacts the head rest 42 …”. These disclosures show that a position of the back rest relative to the seat portion is automatically determined by detecting when a patient’s head contacts the head rest). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as suggested by Vartiainen, in order to automatically position the back rest variably relative to the seat portion of the chair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of increased level of comfort for patients by setting the chair to a reclined state suitable for each individual patient.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi and Abkai, in view of Iwasawa et al (US 20200256937 A1; hereafter Iwasawa).
With regard to Claim 4, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 1. Pourrahimi further discloses comprising a headrest (the part annotated as “head rest” in the cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi) and a further connecting element (the part annotated as “connection 2” in the cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi). Pourrahimi and Abkai as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the further connecting element is configured to position the headrest variably relative to the first portion and/or the second portion, and wherein the radio-frequency unit is arranged on the headrest.
Abkai further discloses wherein the further connecting element is configured to position the headrest variably relative to the first portion and/or the second portion (Abkai, Para 0048; “FIG. 2 shows the adjustment of the headrest 16 relative to the patient seat 7, beginning at a starting position 30 to an end position 31 …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as further suggested by Abkai, in order to make the headrest’s position relative to the seat to be adjustable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of improved comfort level of patient and improved imaging quality by properly setting the position of head rest relative to the seat.
Pourrahimi and Abkai as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the radio-frequency unit is arranged on the headrest.
Iwasawa in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the radio-frequency unit is arranged on the headrest (Iwasawa, Para 0049; “… the coil unit 410B is fixed to the fixture 500.”. As demonstrated in the cited Fig. 5, the fixture 500 acts as a head rest, and the coil unit 410 B (contains RF coils) is fixed to the fixture 500). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as suggested by Iwasawa, in order to arrange the RF coil on the headrest. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of increased image quality by minimizing possible gap between the patient’s head and RF coils (Iwasawa, Para 0060; “since the flexible coil units 410A and 410B can cover the head without the gap regardless of the size of the head of the subject, it is possible to prevent sensitivity of the coil from decreasing due to the gap.”).
Fig. 5 of Iwasawa
With regard to Claim 5, Pourrahimi, Abkai and Iwasawa disclose the patient seat as claimed in Claim 4, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the further connecting element is configured to enable variable positioning of the headrest substantially parallel to an anterior-posterior direction and/or a superior-inferior direction of an upper body of a patient positioned on the patient seat appropriately for an application.
Abkai further discloses wherein the further connecting element is configured to enable variable positioning of the headrest substantially parallel to an anterior-posterior direction and/or a superior-inferior direction of an upper body of a patient positioned on the patient seat appropriately for an application (Abkai, Para 0048; “FIG. 2 shows the adjustment of the headrest 16 relative to the patient seat 7, beginning at a starting position 30 to an end position 31 …”. The disclosed adjustment is along a superior-inferior direction of the patient’s upper body). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi, Abkai and Iwasawa, as further suggested by Abkai, in order to enable variable positioning of the headrest along a superior-inferior direction of the patient’s upper body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of improved comfort level of patient and improved imaging quality for patients of different height.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi and Abkai, in view of Amano (US 20120324648 A1; hereafter Amano).
With regard to Claim 10, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the magnetic resonance device as claimed in Claim 9, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose comprising a securing element, which is configured to limit an extent of an alignment of the first portion relative to the second portion in order to avoid a collision of the patient seat and/or a patient positioned on the patient seat appropriately for an application with a housing portion of the magnetic resonance device.
Amano in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising a securing element (the chair moving mechanism 7), which is configured to limit an extent of an alignment of the first portion relative to the second portion in order to avoid a collision of the patient seat and/or a patient positioned on the patient seat appropriately for an application with a housing portion of the magnetic resonance device (Amano, Para 0096; “… the chair 5 has the backrest 5b and seat 5c connected together to be rotatable about a pivot shaft 59. … The seat 5c is supported by the support block 15 through the chair moving mechanism 7.” Further demonstrated in Fig. 11, an extent of the backrest 5b relative to seat 5c is limited by the chair moving mechanism 7, with the range of reclining denoted by arrows (highlighted by circle)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as suggested by Amano, in order to include a member for limiting an alignment between the back rest and the seat portion of the patient seat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of ensuring the safety of patient by avoiding collision of patient’s head to other part of the device and reducing the risk of sudden falling.
Fig. 11 of Amano
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi, Abkai and Vartiainen, further in view of Laine (US 20200107978 A1; hereafter Laine).
With regard to Claim 11, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the magnetic resonance device (Pourrahimi, Para 0026; “… a diagnostic arrangement 200 includes an MRI scanner 202 having a scanning bore 204 to accommodate an extremity, such as the head, or spine of a patient sitting on chair 206.”) as claimed in Claim 9 with a patient seat for supporting a patient during a magnetic resonance examination, comprising:
a first portion (the part annotated as “seat” in cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi);
a second portion (the part annotated as “back rest” in cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi);
a connecting element (the part annotated as “connection 1” in cited Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi);
a radio-frequency unit with at least one antenna element (MRI scanner 202 inherently contains radio-frequency unit with at least one antenna element, as disclosed in Para 0010; “When an RF coil transmits a magnetic pulse (wave) the precession of the protons are disturbed accordingly. … The more the number of RF transmit and RF receive coils the more information about the local hydrogen protons.”);
a drive unit (drive means 11 of Abkai); and
wherein the first portion and the second portion form parts of a receiving surface for the patient (Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi cited above shows that the seat and the back rest form a receiving surface for a patient),
wherein the connecting element mechanically connects the first portion to the second portion and is configured to enable a variable relative movement between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 2 of Pourrahimi cited above shows that “connection 1” connects the seat and the back rest. Fig. 3 shows that the connecting part can be adjusted so as to make the chair fully flat),
wherein the at least one antenna element of the radio-frequency unit is configured to receive signals in a power and frequency range of a magnetic resonance examination (Pourrahimi, Para 0010; “To produce signals from protons one or more additional coils are used to transmit and receive radio frequency electromagnetic waves pulses.”), and
wherein the drive unit is configured to move the patient seat variably along a spatial direction (Abkai, Para 0047; “The drive means 11 is controlled by means of a control unit 12 to move the patient seat 7 in the patient opening 6 along a travel curve 13 (shown as an arrow) to an imaging position 14”).
Pourrahimi and Abkai as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose:
comprising a positioning unit, which is configured to automatically position the first portion variably relative to the second portion, and
wherein the drive unit and the positioning unit are configured to feed the patient seat along the spatial direction to the patient receiving region of the magnetic resonance device and to simultaneously move the first portion variably relative to the second portion.
Vartiainen in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising a positioning unit, which is configured to automatically position the first portion variably relative to the second portion (Vartiainen, Para 0020; “With reference to FIG. 5, the chair 14 includes a locking system 46 to lock a position of the back rest 22 relative to the seat portion 18”; Para 0021; “… a controller 62 detects (via information provided by a presence sensor) when the patient's head contacts the head rest 42 …”. These disclosures show that a position of the back rest relative to the seat portion is automatically determined by detecting when a patient’s head contacts the head rest). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as suggested by Vartiainen, in order to automatically position the back rest variably relative to the seat portion of the chair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of increased level of comfort for patients by setting the chair to a reclined state suitable for each individual patient.
Pourrahimi, Abkai and Vartiainen do not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein the drive unit and the positioning unit are configured to feed the patient seat along the spatial direction to the patient receiving region of the magnetic resonance device and to simultaneously move the first portion variably relative to the second portion.
Laine in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the drive unit and the positioning unit are configured to feed the patient seat along the spatial direction to the patient receiving region of the magnetic resonance device and to simultaneously move the first portion variably relative to the second portion (Laine, Para 0027; “… the chair is rotated more (comparing to FIGS. 1 and 2) counterclockwise, still around the axis A, and the chair 3 is even more inclined. … the seat portion comprises wheels 11, which are arranged into the first guiderail 8 so that the seat portion 3 may move linearly along the first guiderail 8.”. In this disclosure and also in Figs. 1-3, when the chair becomes more inclined (i.e. the angle between its seat portion 3 and back portion 4 increases), the seat portion 3 simultaneously moves along the guiderail 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi, Abkai and Vartiainen, as suggested by Laine, in order to simultaneously adjust position and extension of a patient chair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of saving examination time by implementing all needed movements simultaneously.
With regard to Claim 12, Pourrahimi, Abkai, Vartiainen and Laine disclose the magnetic resonance device as claimed in Claim 11. Pourrahimi further discloses wherein a diagnostically relevant body region of a patient positioned on the patient seat is moveable at least along a first spatial direction and a second spatial direction, which is aligned orthogonally to the first spatial direction in an imaging volume of the magnetic resonance device (Pourrahimi, Para 0032; “… chair 306 may further include a height-adjustable support 308 and/or a moveable base 310. This example embodiment is configured to allow the patient's head to be in close proximity to the opening 304, shown on the front side of the scanner, to position the patient's head or the patient's entire upper body within the MRI magnet to start the scanning process.”. Fig. 3 further demonstrates that the support 308 and the base 310 can position a patient along 2 orthogonal directions in a scanning bore or opening 304). Pourrahimi, Abkai, Vartiainen and Laine as discussed above do not explicitly and clearly disclose automatically positioning a body region of patient in an imaging volume.
Abkai further discloses automatically positioning a body region of patient in an imaging volume (Abkai, Para 0036; “… the patient seat has adjusting means driven by at least one drive means controlled by means of a control unit in order to move the patient seat into the patient opening along a travel curve as far as an imaging position at which the head of the patient is at least partially arranged in an imaging area of the MRI machine … The position of the adjustable element relative to the primary magnetic field unit and/or relative to the patient seat is automatically determined …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi, Abkai, Vartiainen and Laine, as further suggested by Abkai, in order to automatically position the patient seat in the scanning bore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of increasing imaging quality by precisely positioning the patient in imaging volume in an automatic manner (Abkai, Para 0038; “An advantage of this method is that the patient is automatically moved into the imaging position in a convenient and precise manner. As a result, compared to the manual positioning of the patient, positioning errors are prevented.”).
With regard to Claim 13, Pourrahimi, Abkai, Vartiainen and Laine disclose the magnetic resonance device as claimed in Claim 12, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose comprising:
a sensor, which is configured to determine information about a spatial arrangement of the at least one antenna element relative to a portion of the patient seat,
wherein the drive unit and/or the positioning unit of the patient seat are configured to position the diagnostically relevant body region of the patient in the imaging volume in dependence on the information about the spatial arrangement of the at least one antenna element relative to the portion.
Abkai in the same field of endeavor discloses comprising:
a sensor (Abkai, Para 0047; “… a detector apparatus 18, which is designed in the present case as a laser apparatus and has a laser 19, a reflector 20 and a sensor 21”), which is configured to determine information about a spatial arrangement of the at least one antenna element (high-frequency coil) relative to a portion of the patient seat (Abkai, Para 0047; “The reflector 20 is attached to the adjustable element, such as the head rest 16 and/or on the high-frequency coil, so that the position of the adjustable element relative to the laser 19 and thus relative to the patient seat 7 and/or relative to the primary field unit 5 may be determined.”),
wherein the drive unit and/or the positioning unit (control unit 12) of the patient seat are configured to position the diagnostically relevant body region of the patient in the imaging volume (imaging area 15) (Abkai, Para 0047; “The drive means 11 is controlled by means of a control unit 12 to move the patient seat 7 in the patient opening 6 along a travel curve 13 (shown as an arrow) to an imaging position 14, in which the portion 2 of the head 3 is arranged in an imaging area 15 of the MRI machine.”) in dependence on the information about the spatial arrangement of the at least one antenna element relative to the portion (Abkai, Para 0049; “FIG. 3 shows a sketch to illustrate the adjustment of the high-frequency coil 17 relative to the patient seat 7, starting from a starting position 40 to an end position 41, as indicated by the arrow 42.” Further demonstrated in Fig. 3, the movement of the seat would take into consideration of the distance between 40 and 41, so that the portion 2 to be imaged is moved to the imaging position 14 at the imaging area 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi, Abkai, Vartiainen and Laine, as further suggested by Abkai, in order to use a sensor to determine a location of RF coil so as to guide the positioning of a patient in the imaging area. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of improved imaging quality by precisely positioning the portion to be imaged in the imaging area (Abkai, Para 0020; “… positioning errors are prevented by determining the position prior to entry, or upon entry, and by automatically positioning the patient instead of manual positioning of the patient.”; Para 0029; “A precise determination of the position of the adjustable element is made possible by use of the laser apparatus.”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi and Abkai, in view of Damadian et al (US 6934574 B1; hereafter Damadian).
With regard to Claim 14, Pourrahimi and Abkai disclose the magnetic resonance device as claimed in Claim 9, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose:
comprising a locking mechanism with a first part and a second part,
wherein the first part and the second part are designed to be complementary to one another and are configured to mechanically engage with one another,
wherein the second part is mechanically connected to the patient seat,
wherein the first part is arranged within the patient receiving region and mechanically connected to a housing portion of the magnetic resonance device, and
wherein the locking mechanism is configured to limit a movement of a portion of the patient seat along a spatial direction.
Damadian in the same field of endeavor discloses:
comprising a locking mechanism (locking mechanism 237) with a first part and a second part (Damadian, Column 5, Lines 24-27; “A locking mechanism 237 allows back rest portion 232 to be set at a variety of angles such that a patient may be positioned in a stand-up or a lie-down (recumbent) position, or any angle in between.”. In the cited Fig. 3 below, the two parts of the locking mechanism are highlighted with annotations “the first part” and “the second part”),
wherein the first part and the second part are designed to be complementary to one another and are configured to mechanically engage with one another (As demonstrated in the cited Fig. 3 below, the two parts of the locking mechanism are complementary to each other, and can be mechanically engaged with each other so that the back rest portion 232 can be set at a fixed angle),
wherein the second part is mechanically connected to the patient seat (As demonstrated in the cited Fig. 3 below, the part annotated as “the second part” has its upper end connected to the back rest portion 232),
wherein the first part is arranged within the patient receiving region and mechanically connected to a housing portion of the magnetic resonance device (As demonstrated in the cited Fig. 3, the part annotated as “the first part” is inside of magnet 150. In the figure, the part is connected to base 231, further to wheels 235, 236, which are fixed by perpendicular notches 260 inside the magnet 150, as disclosed in Column 5, Lines 16-21; “… perpendicular notches 260 that are adapted to receive wheels 235, 236. The perpendicular notches 260 prevent the removable patient positioner 230 from inadvertently rolling when removable patient positioner 230 is positioned within magnet 150.”. Hence, the lower part of the locking mechanism can be regarded as being mechanically connected to a housing portion of the magnet), and
wherein the locking mechanism is configured to limit a movement of a portion of the patient seat along a spatial direction (Damadian, Column 5, Lines 24-27; “A locking mechanism 237 allows back rest portion 232 to be set at a variety of angles such that a patient may be positioned in a stand-up or a lie-down (recumbent) position, or any angle in between.”. With the disclosed locking mechanism, the back rest portion’s movement is limited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi and Abkai, as suggested by Damadian, in order to include the disclosed locking mechanism to limit the movement of the patient seat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of improved safety for patient by avoiding collision of patient’s head to the magnet and improved imaging quality by maintaining patient to a desired position inside the magnet.
Fig. 3 of Damadian
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pourrahimi, Abkai and Damadian, further in view of Vartiainen.
With regard to Claim 15, Pourrahimi, Abkai and Damadian disclose the magnetic resonance device as claimed in Claim 14, but do not explicitly and clearly disclose wherein the locking mechanism has a drive, which is configured to affect an engagement of the first part and the second part in dependence on an activation signal when the patient seat is located in an application-appropriate position relative to the patient receiving region for performing the magnetic resonance examination.
Vartiainen in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the locking mechanism has a drive (a controller 62), which is configured to affect an engagement of the first part and the second part (Vartiainen, Para 0021; “… a controller 62 … sends a signal to the locking system 46 to move the pin or other locking member to lock the position of the back rest 22.”) in dependence on an activation signal when the patient seat is located in an application-appropriate position relative to the patient receiving region for performing the magnetic resonance examination (Vartiainen, Para 0021; “… a presence sensor … that detects the presence of the patient's head on the head rest 42, and sends a signal to the controller 62 when the patient's head hits the head rest 42”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pourrahimi, Abkai and Damadian, as suggested by Vartiainen, in order to activate the locking mechanism in response to a signal that the patient seat is properly located for imaging. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of making the patient positioning easier and more consistent and therefor obtaining images of high quality (Vartiainen, Para 0035; “the apparatus 10 makes patient positioning easier, and helps ensure that the patient's head is located at the same location.”).
Conclusion
/L.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798