DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the other-side glasses frame” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In an effort to promote compact prosecution, the examiner has interpreted “the other-side glasses frame” as an other-side glasses frame.
With regard to dependent claims 2-11, claims 2-11 are rejected as they depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claim 1 and therefore inherit all of the deficiencies of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grendol et al (U.S. Patent Number 4,704,015).
With regard to independent claim 1, Grendol et al teaches a glasses (Figure 1, element 1) having a coupling bridge (see annotated Figure 1 below), comprising: glasses frames (Figure 1, element 3) provided with a one-side glasses frame and [an] other-side glasses frame (see annotated Figure 1 below); a glasses frame bridge connecting the one-side glasses frame and the other-side glasses frame (Figure 1, see annotated Figure 1 below); and a coupling bridge that is coupled to a lower part of the glasses frame bridge and is coupled to side surfaces of the one-side glasses frame and the other-side glasses frame (column 2, lines 40-56 and annotated Figure 1 below), wherein, in the coupling bridge, a coupling portion is formed in a horizontal direction to be coupled to the glasses frame bridge (column 2, lines 40-56 and annotated Figure 1 below), support portions are formed to extend downward from both ends of the coupling portion and to adhere closely to the glasses frames (column 2, lines 40-56 and annotated Figure 1 below), and the coupling bridge is detachably coupled to the glasses frame bridge (column 3, lines 7-11).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such glasses wherein the coupling bridge comprises a guide portion in which a groove of a predetermined depth is formed along an outer circumferential surface of an edge portion of the coupling portion and the support portions (column 2, lines 40-56 and Figure 1, element 15).
With regard to dependent claim 3, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 2, and further teaches such glasses wherein the glasses frame bridge comprises coupling tips provided to enable the coupling bridge to be coupled to a lower part of the coupling portion (Figure 1, element 9).
With regard to dependent claim 4, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 3, and further teaches such glasses wherein the one-side glasses frame and the other-side glasses frame comprise a plurality of guide protrusions provided on an inner edge thereof; and a plurality of support protrusions provided on a lower part of the guide protrusions (Figure 1, element 7).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 4, and further teaches such glasses wherein the coupling bridge comprises a coupling groove formed in the coupling portion and provided so that the coupling tips are inserted in a fitting manner (column 2, lines 40-56); guide grooves formed on a side surface of the support portions and provided so that the guide protrusions are inserted; and support grooves formed on a side surface of the support portions and provided so that the support protrusions are inserted (Figure 1, element 15).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 5, and further teaches such glasses wherein the coupling bridge comprises a nose support provided in the support portions to support a nose of a user (Figure 1, element 19).
With regard to dependent claim 7, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such glasses wherein the support portions are formed to curve downward and outward so as to correspond to a shape of an inner side of the glasses frame (Figure 1).
With regard to dependent claim 8, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such glasses wherein the coupling bridge is formed of an elastic material to resist lateral pressure from the glasses frame (column 2, lines 65-67).
With regard to dependent claim 9, Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 4, and further teaches such glasses wherein the support protrusions are provided in a wedge shape protruding upward (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grendol et al (U.S. Patent Number 4,704,015), as applied to claim 6 above, in view of Dighton et al (U.S. Patent Number 9,766,478).
With regard to dependent claim 10, although Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to dependent claim 6, Grendol et al fails to teach such glasses wherein the nose support is formed by digital modeling and 3D printing of a nose shape of a user. In a related endeavor, Dighton et al teaches glasses wherein a nose support is formed by digitally modeling the nose of a user (column 5, line 59-column 6, line 12), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to form the nose support, as taught by Grendol et al, with digital modeling, as taught by Dighton et al, as a known technique for forming glasses.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grendol et al (U.S. Patent Number 4,704,015), as applied to claim 1 above.
With regard to dependent claim 11, although Grendol et al teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, Grendol et al fails to teach such glasses wherein the coupling bridge is formed in a color different from that of the glasses frames or the glasses frame bridge. However, it should be noted that it has been held that a change in color, appearance, or transparency alone does not confer patentable novelty or non-obviousness unless it solves a unique technical problem or yields surprising functional benefits (e.g., In re Cohn 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971)), such that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the glasses, as taught by Grendol et al, with differing colors, to provide aesthetic appealing options for a wearer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bradley, Jr. (U.S. Patent Number 4,331,393), Bennato (U.S. Patent Number 5,182,586), Tackles (U.S. Patent Number 5,387,949), Bolle (U.S. Patent Number 5,412,438), Simioni (U.S. Patent Number 5,526,070), Sved (U.S. Patent Number 5,790,230) and Chen (U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0206690) all teach coupling bridges.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
13 October 2026