DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by KOJIMA (US 2021/0234521 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KOJIMA teaches a wireless communication electronic device, comprising:
an antenna (antenna circuit 2, [0029]);
a radio frequency unit electrically connected to the antenna (amplifier circuit 10, [0035]–[0036]);
a power supply unit electrically connected to the radio frequency unit (power supply circuit 3, [0030]); and
a processor electrically connected to the radio frequency unit and the power supply unit (RFIC 4, [0031], [0033]) and configured to:
when the wireless communication electronic device operates in a first operating frequency band, control the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a first driving voltage (KOJIMA's processor controls the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a first driving voltage (Vcc1) when the device operates in a first operating frequency band (LTE band)); and
when the wireless communication electronic device operates in a second operating frequency band, control the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a second driving voltage, wherein the second driving voltage is different from the first driving voltage (with a second, different driving voltage (Vcc2) when the device operates in a second operating frequency band (5G NR band). See [0030], [0037]–[0041], [0066]).
Regarding claim 5, KOJIMA teaches a wireless communication electronic device, comprising:
a radio frequency unit (amplifier circuit 10, [0035]–[0036]);
a power supply unit electrically connected to the radio frequency unit (power supply circuit 3, [0030]); and
a processor electrically connected to the radio frequency unit and the power supply unit (RFIC 4, [0031], [0033]) and configured to:
in different operating frequency bands, control the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with different driving voltages (KOJIMA's processor controls the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a first driving voltage (Vcc1) when the device operates in a first operating frequency band (LTE band), with a second, different driving voltage (Vcc2) when the device operates in a second operating frequency band (5G NR band). See [0030], [0037]–[0041], [0066]).
Regarding claim 8, KOJIMA teaches a driving method for a wireless communication electronic device, comprising:
controlling a power supply unit to drive a radio frequency unit with a first driving voltage by a processor when a wireless communication electronic device operates in a first operating frequency band (KOJIMA's processor controls the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a first driving voltage (Vcc1) when the device operates in a first operating frequency band (LTE band)); and
controlling the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a second driving voltage by the processor when the wireless communication electronic device operates in a second operating frequency band; wherein the second driving voltage is different from the first driving voltage (with a second, different driving voltage (Vcc2) when the device operates in a second operating frequency band (5G NR band). See [0030], [0037]–[0041], [0066]).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by JUN (US 2008/0132186 A1).
Regarding claim 11, JUN teaches a wireless communication electronic device, comprising:
an antenna (FEM 110 branches off into a sending-end and receiving-end using an antenna of the wireless terminal, [0019]);
a radio frequency unit electrically connected to the antenna (RF transmitting unit 130 (including PA 131, frequency up-convergence 132, RF PLL 133) is connected to the antenna via FEM 110; RF receiving unit 120 (LNA 121, amplifiers 123–125) is also connected via FEM 110, [0019]–[0023]);
a power supply unit electrically connected to the radio frequency unit (PA 131 amplifies a voltage to generate RF power; the voltage is extracted and applied to the PA. The PA 131 receives an extracted voltage (e.g., 750 Vdac, 735 Vdac, 1485 Vdac) that drives its output power. Under BRI, the circuitry that supplies this extracted voltage to the PA reads on a power supply unit, [0023], [0028], [0035]–[0036], [0041]); and
a processor electrically connected to the radio frequency unit and the power supply unit (Control unit 160 is electrically connected to memory 150, base band 140, RF receiving unit 120, and RF transmitting unit 130 (including PA 131). Control unit 160 controls the general operation of the terminal, determines RSSI, extracts voltages, and controls PA 131 to amplify the extracted voltage. [0033]–[0036], [0040]–[0041], FIG. 1) and configured to:
when the wireless communication electronic device receives a first wireless signal power, control the power supply unit to drive the radiofrequency unit with a first driving voltage ((e.g., RSSI of −102 dBm), the control unit 160 extracts a corresponding voltage (e.g., 735 Vdac for 31 dBm transmit power at PCL 5) and drives the PA 131 with that voltage. JUN explicitly determines the received signal strength of the wireless terminal (RSSI) and uses it to select the driving voltage; [0040], [0042]–[0044], FIG. 2A, FIG. 3 steps 304–306); and
when the wireless communication electronic device receives a second wireless signal power, control the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a second driving voltage ((e.g., RSSI of −108 dBm), the control unit 160 extracts a different voltage (e.g., 1485 Vdac for 33 dBm transmit power at PCL 5) and drives the PA 131 with that voltage. [0045]–[0046], FIG. 2B), wherein the second driving voltage is different from the first driving voltage (The extracted voltages are different: 735 Vdac when RSSI is −102 dBm vs. 1485 Vdac when RSSI is −108 dBm, both at the same PCL 5; [0044], [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, JUN teaches the wireless communication electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the processor stores a corresponding relationship of a power and driving voltage (Memory 150 stores RF power tables (FIGS. 2A and 2B) that include a corresponding relationship between received signal strength (RSSI values in dBm), transmit power levels (Tx power in dBm), and power control levels (PCL). For each PCL, different received signal strengths map to different transmit powers, which in turn correspond to different extracted voltages. The tables constitute a stored corresponding relationship of received power ↔ driving voltage; [0025]–[0026], [0030], FIGS. 2A, 2B) and configured to:
query the first driving voltage corresponding to the first wireless signal power according to the corresponding relationship when the wireless communication electronic device operates at the first wireless signal power (When the received signal strength is determined (e.g., −102 dBm), the control unit 160 searches the RF power table stored in memory 150 to find the power corresponding to the received signal strength at the requested PCL, and then extracts the corresponding voltage. This search/extract operation reads on "querying" under BRI. [0034]–[0035], [0040], [0043]–[0044], FIG. 3 step 305); and
query the second driving voltage corresponding to the second wireless signal power according to the corresponding relationship when the wireless communication electronic device operates at the second wireless signal power (When a different received signal strength is determined (e.g., −108 dBm), the control unit 160 similarly searches the RF power table and extracts a different voltage (1485 Vdac).[0045]–[0046]).
Regarding claim 15, JUN teaches a driving method for a wireless communication electronic device, comprising:
when the wireless communication electronic device receives a first wireless signal power, controlling a power supply unit to drive a radio wireless signal power, controlling a power supply unit to drive a radiofrequency unit with a first driving voltage by a processor (When the received signal strength is determined (e.g., −102 dBm), the control unit 160 searches the RF power table stored in memory 150 to find the power corresponding to the received signal strength at the requested PCL, and then extracts the corresponding voltage. This search/extract operation reads on "querying" under BRI. [0034]–[0035], [0040], [0043]–[0044], FIG. 3 step 305); and
when the wireless communication electronic device receives a second wireless signal power, controlling the power supply unit to drive the radio frequency unit with a second driving voltage by the processor, wherein the second driving voltage is different from the first driving voltage (When a different received signal strength is determined (e.g., −108 dBm), the control unit 160 similarly searches the RF power table and extracts a different voltage (1485 Vdac).[0045]–[0046]).
Regarding claim 16, the dependent claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth above in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 7, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOJIMA as applied to claims 1, 5, and 8 above, and further in view of Hiddink (US 2005/0143115 A1).
Regarding claim 2, KOJIMA teaches the wireless communication electronic device according to claim 1.
KOJIMA is silent to teaching that wherein the processor stores a corresponding relationship of an operating frequency band and driving voltage and is configured to: when the wireless communication electronic device operates in the first operating frequency band, query the first driving voltage corresponding to the first operating frequency band according to the corresponding relationship; and second operating frequency band, query the second driving voltage corresponding to the second operating frequency band according to the corresponding relationship.
In the same field of endeavor, Hiddink teaches a device wherein the processor stores a corresponding relationship of an operating frequency band and driving voltage and is configured to: when the wireless communication electronic device operates in the first operating frequency band, query the first driving voltage corresponding to the first operating frequency band according to the corresponding relationship; and second operating frequency band, query the second driving voltage corresponding to the second operating frequency band according to the corresponding relationship (Hiddink teaches a transmit power controller 300 that determines an appropriate transmit power level based on the operating frequency band ([0027], [0029]). Specifically, Hiddink teaches power allowability logic 310 implemented as a look-up table (Table 400, FIG. 4) that stores a corresponding relationship between frequency band (frequency range) and power level, indexed by frequency values ([0029], [0032]–[0033]). The controller queries this stored table to determine the appropriate power level for the current operating frequency band ([0029]: "for determining an appropriate transmit power level, T_max… based on the specified requirements for the given region and frequency band"). Hiddink further teaches a power capability logic 320 implemented as a look-up table (Table 500, FIG. 5) that similarly stores and is queried for power levels indexed by frequency range and data rate ([0034]–[0035])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor (RFIC 4) of KOJIMA to store a look-up table mapping operating frequency bands to driving voltages and to query that table when operating in a given frequency band, as taught by Hiddink. The motivation to combine is that implementing the band-to-voltage mapping as a stored look-up table in the processor provides a straightforward, well-known mechanism for automatically and reliably determining the correct driving voltage without requiring external configuration each time the operating band changes. Hiddink explicitly recognizes that such tables can be generated by one of ordinary skill given the regulatory limits and amplifier characteristics for each frequency band ([0032], [0034]), and that indexing by frequency provides efficient retrieval of the appropriate power level.
Regarding claim 3, KOJIMA teaches the wireless communication electronic device according to The wireless communication electronic device according to claim 1.
KOJIMA is silent to teaching that wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a country code; and obtain the corresponding relationship corresponding to the country code among a plurality of the corresponding relationships.
In the same field of endeavor, Hiddink teaches a device wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a country code; and obtain the corresponding relationship corresponding to the country code among a plurality of the corresponding relationships (Hiddink teaches that the transmit power controller 300 receives as an input parameter a worldwide region pointer (i.e., a country code), specifying whether the appropriate regulatory body is the FCC, CEPT, MPT, or another body ([0032]). Hiddink's power allowability table 400 (FIG. 4) stores a plurality of corresponding relationships — one for each region (Europe, US, Japan) — each mapping frequency bands to maximum power levels ([0033]). The processor uses the region pointer to select the column of the table corresponding to the applicable country, thereby obtaining the corresponding relationship corresponding to the country code among a plurality of the corresponding relationships ([0032]–[0033]). Hiddink further teaches that the country/region information is exchanged between the access point and stations and is available once the network administrator configures the device for country selection ([0020])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the processor of KOJIMA in view of Hiddink to obtain a country code and select the appropriate band-to-voltage corresponding relationship from a plurality of such relationships, each corresponding to a different country or regulatory region. The motivation to combine is that different countries impose different maximum output power limits for the same frequency bands (as explicitly recognized by both KOJIMA at [0041] — which references country-specific EIRP regulations — and Hiddink at [0007], [0032]–[0033]), and storing multiple region-specific tables while selecting the applicable one via a country code ensures regulatory compliance across different deployment regions.
Regarding claim 4, KOJIMA teaches the wireless communication electronic device according to claim 1.
KOJIMA is silent to teaching that wherein when the second operating frequency band is greater than the first operating frequency band, the second driving voltage is greater than the first driving voltage.
In the same field of endeavor, Hiddink teaches a device wherein when the second operating frequency band is greater than the first operating frequency band, the second driving voltage is greater than the first driving voltage (Hiddink teaches that different frequency bands have different maximum allowable power levels, and that in practice, higher frequency sub-bands are often permitted higher output power levels. Specifically, Hiddink's power allowability table 400 (FIG. 4) shows that, for example under US regulations, the 5150–5250 MHz band permits a maximum OFDM power of 16 dBm, the 5250–5350 MHz band permits 23 dBm, and the 5725–5825 MHz band permits 29 dBm ([0033], FIG. 4). Thus, Hiddink demonstrates that as the operating frequency band increases within the 5 GHz range, the allowed (and therefore utilized) transmit power level also increases. Since KOJIMA teaches that driving voltage is proportional to output power ([0054]–[0055] of the specification of the application under examination; KOJIMA at [0067], FIG. 6 — showing that OP1dB increases with increasing Vcc), a higher permitted output power for a higher frequency band would necessitate a correspondingly higher driving voltage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the device of KOJIMA such that when the second operating frequency band is greater than the first operating frequency band, the second driving voltage is greater than the first driving voltage, as suggested by the regulatory power limits taught by Hiddink. The motivation to combine is that regulatory frameworks commonly permit higher output power in higher frequency sub-bands (as shown in Hiddink's Table 400 for the 5 GHz UNII bands in the US), and to achieve the communication quality expected under these higher power limits, it is necessary to drive the RF unit with a correspondingly higher voltage, as KOJIMA teaches in the context of Vcc-to-output-power proportionality ([0067], FIG. 6). Configuring the device in this manner ensures that the full regulatory power headroom available at higher frequency bands is utilized, improving communication coverage and quality in those bands while maintaining energy efficiency at lower bands where less power is permitted.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 9 and 10, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2 and 3, respectively.
Claim(s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUN as applied to claims 11 and 15 above, and further in view of Hiddink.
Regarding claim 13, JUN teaches the wireless communication electronic device according to the wireless communication electronic device according to claim 11.
JUN is silent to teaching that wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a country code; and obtain the corresponding relationship corresponding to the country code among a plurality of the corresponding relationships.
In the same field of endeavor, Hiddink teaches a device wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain a country code; and obtain the corresponding relationship corresponding to the country code among a plurality of the corresponding relationships (Hiddink, in the analogous field of wireless communication power control, teaches a transmit power controller 300 that receives as an input parameter a worldwide region pointer (i.e., a country code), specifying whether the appropriate regulatory body is the FCC (United States), CEPT (Europe), MPT (Japan), or another body ([0032]). Hiddink's power allowability table 400 (FIG. 4) stores a plurality of corresponding relationships — one for each region — each mapping frequency bands to maximum power levels. The table includes separate columns for Europe, US, and Japan, with different maximum power levels specified for each region at each frequency range ([0033], FIG. 4). Hiddink's transmit power controller uses the worldwide region pointer to obtain the column (corresponding relationship) that corresponds to the country code, and then determines the appropriate power level for the current operating band from that selected relationship ([0029], [0032]). Hiddink further teaches that the country/region information is exchanged between the access point and stations and is available once the network administrator configures the device for country selection ([0020])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control unit 160 of JUN to further obtain a country code and to select the applicable RF power table (corresponding relationship) from among a plurality of country-specific RF power tables stored in the memory 150, as taught by Hiddink. The motivation to combine is that different countries and regulatory regions impose different emission limits, maximum allowable transmit power levels, and power control requirements for the same frequency bands, as explicitly recognized by Hiddink ([0007]: "A number of regulatory bodies, including the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) in the United States, European Conference of Postal and Telecommunications Administrations (CEPT) in Europe and Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications (MPT) in Japan, have defined emission limits for various frequency bands. The emission limits typically differ from band to band and from region to region"). JUN's own system adjusts transmit voltage based on received signal strength to optimize power efficiency and reduce SAR ([0009], [0047]), and this optimization would logically need to account for the regulatory power limits of the country in which the wireless terminal operates. Incorporating Hiddink's country-code-based table selection into JUN's system would ensure that the voltage extraction and RF power control are performed within the applicable regulatory limits for the specific country where the device is deployed, thereby achieving both regulatory compliance and the power optimization benefits taught by JUN.
Regarding claim 17, the dependent claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 13.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUN as applied to claim 11, and further in view of LEE (US 2016/0295527 A1).
Regarding claim 14, JUN teaches the wireless communication electronic device according to claim 11.
JUN is silent to teaching that wherein when the second wireless signal power is greater than the first wireless signal power, the second driving voltage is greater than the first driving voltage.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE teaches a device wherein when the second wireless signal power is greater than the first wireless signal power, the second driving voltage is greater than the first driving voltage (LEE's control unit 250 reads this proportional mapping from voltage control information previously stored in the storage unit 260 ([0055]–[0056], Table 1), and uses it to set the supply voltage to a level that matches the current signal power — higher signal power corresponding to higher voltage, lower signal power corresponding to lower voltage. LEE explains this approach enables the device to consume only the power appropriate for the current communication traffic level rather than always operating at maximum voltage ([0055], [0067], [0079])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JUN's received-signal-power-to-voltage mapping such that when the received wireless signal power is greater, the driving voltage is also greater, as taught by LEE. The motivation to combine arises from LEE's teaching that setting the driving voltage proportionally to signal power ensures that the power amplifying unit operates with a supply voltage matched to the actual signal level being processed, thereby maintaining signal quality while avoiding unnecessary power consumption ([0055], [0067]). JUN's system already adjusts driving voltage based on received signal conditions; adopting LEE's proportional voltage-to-signal-power relationship would provide JUN's device with an additional operating mode in which the amplifier voltage tracks the received signal power upward when signal conditions are strong — ensuring that when a stronger signal is received and greater output fidelity is achievable, the amplifier is driven at a correspondingly higher voltage to maintain linearity and signal quality. This is consistent with the well-known principle, recognized by both JUN and LEE, that amplifier output performance (linearity, OP1dB) improves with increased supply voltage (LEE [0054], FIG. 3), and that matching the supply voltage to the actual signal power level optimizes both power efficiency and signal integrity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230327686 A1
/WEN W HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648