DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“height” after “sensors” in ln. 1 should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “first and second valves” in ln. 4. There is a lack of clarity for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the first and second valves are part of the plurality of valves previously recited in claim 1 or if the first and second valves are different features from the plurality of valves. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the first and second valves are part of the plurality of valves previously recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kocer (US 20160044862 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kocer discloses a spray system (100, Figs. 1A-1B) comprising:
an agricultural vehicle (103, Fig. 2);
a spray boom (102, Figs. 1A-2) attached to the agricultural vehicle (103, Fig. 2);
a tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B) that stores a liquid agricultural product (Paragraph 0023);
a plurality of spray nozzles (106, Fig. 5) disposed on the spray boom (102, Fig. 5);
a plurality of fluid lines (not explicitly shown, but nozzles 106 are coupled to tank 116 by one or more pipes, tubes, or conduits, Paragraph 0031), each fluid line (Paragraph 0031) fluidly coupling the tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B) to a respective spray nozzle (106, Fig. 5) and to the tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B, Paragraph 0031);
a plurality of valves (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6), each valve (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6) fluidly coupled to a respective fluid line (each nozzle 106 is coupled to a valve 73 and are coupled to tank 116 by one or more pipes, tubes, or conduits, Paragraphs 0031, 0046) and having an open state in which the liquid agricultural product flows from the tank to a respective spray nozzle and a closed state in which a flow of the liquid agricultural product from the tank to the respective spray nozzle is obstructed (ECU 72 can instruct whether the sprayer of respective nozzles 106 and their valves 73 can be opened or closed, Paragraphs 0004, 0048);
a height sensor (108, sensor 108 can detect a distance of a plant from a respective nozzle 106, Figs. 1A-2, Paragraph 0029) disposed on the spray boom (102, shown in Figs. 1A-2); and
one or more processors (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) in communication with the valves (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6) and the height sensor (108, ECU 72 can instruct whether the sprayer of respective nozzles 106 and their valves 73 can be opened or closed based on whether it is in close proximity to a respective stalk or not given information from the sensors 108, Figs. 1A-2, Paragraphs 0004, 0048), the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) configured to cause the valves (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6) to transition between the open state and the closed state at a frequency and a variable duty cycle, the variable duty cycle based at least in part on a measured height of the spray boom (valves 73 are pulse width modulated to dispense the agricultural product as desired, based on measurements provided by sensors 108, between an open and closed position, Paragraphs 0048-0050).
Regarding claim 2, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 1, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to set the variable duty cycle at a default duty cycle when the measured height is lower than or equal to an upper threshold height and greater than or equal to a lower threshold height (based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product based on whether it is in close proximity to a plant and including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
Regarding claim 3, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 2, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to set the variable duty cycle at a higher duty cycle when the measured height is greater than the upper threshold height, the higher duty cycle higher than the default duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from the sensors 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
In regards to claim 4, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 3, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to set the variable duty cycle at a lower duty cycle when the measured height is lower than the lower threshold height, the lower duty cycle lower than the default duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from the sensors 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
With respect to claim 5, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 2, further comprising a plurality of height sensors (108, Figs. 1A-2) height disposed on the spray boom (102, shown in Figs. 1A-2), wherein:
the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to cause first and second valves (annotated in Fig. 6) to operate at a first variable duty cycle (ECU 72 determines a time delay to operate PWM valve 73, Paragraph 0049), the first variable duty cycle based at least in part on a first measured height of the spray boom at a first position of a first height sensor associated with the first valve (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, shown in Fig. 6, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050), and
the first and second valves (annotated in Fig. 6) are neighboring valves (shown in Fig. 6), such that:
when the first measured height is greater than the upper threshold height, both the first and second valves operate at a higher duty cycle than the default duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from the sensors 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, and nozzles may be partitioned into nozzle groups for control, Paragraphs 0046, 0049-0050),
when the first measured height is lower than the lower threshold height, both the first and second valves operate at a lower duty cycle than the default duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from the sensors 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, and nozzles may be partitioned into nozzle groups for control, Paragraphs 0046, 0049-0050), and
when the first measured height is lower than or equal to the upper threshold height and greater than or equal to the lower threshold height, both the first and second valves operate at the default duty cycle (based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product based on whether it is in close proximity to a plant and including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, and nozzles may be partitioned into nozzle groups for control, Paragraphs 0046, 0049-0050).
With respect to claim 6, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 1, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to:
compare the measured height to a plurality of height-range thresholds, each height-range threshold having a respective upper threshold height and a respective lower threshold height and associated with a respective duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured distance of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050), and
set the variable duty cycle to a first duty cycle when the measured height is within a first height-range threshold (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured distance of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
In regards to claim 7, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 1, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to:
determine a model duty cycle using the measured height and a duty-cycle model (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured distance of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, and a number of parameters allow ECU 80 to calibrate the duty cycle curve, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050, 0052), and
set the variable duty cycle to the model duty cycle (one or more nozzles 106 can receive a difference on CAN bus 53 and adjust a duty cycle curve accordingly, Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 8, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 1, wherein the spray nozzles (106, Fig. 5) comprise broadcast nozzles and/or selective spot-spray nozzles (smart nozzles are sprayed at close proximity to the plant for a precise application, Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 10, Kocer discloses a spray system (100, Figs. 1A-1B) comprising:
an agricultural vehicle (103, Fig. 2);
a spray boom (102, Figs. 1A-2) attached to the agricultural vehicle (103, Fig. 2);
a tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B) that stores a liquid agricultural product (Paragraph 0023);
a plurality of spray nozzles (106, Fig. 5) disposed on the spray boom (102, Fig. 5);
a plurality of fluid lines (not explicitly shown, but nozzles 106 are coupled to tank 116 by one or more pipes, tubes, or conduits, Paragraph 0031), each fluid line (Paragraph 0031) fluidly coupling the tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B) to a respective spray nozzle (106, Fig. 5) and to the tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B, Paragraph 0031);
a plurality of valves (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6), each valve (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6) fluidly coupled to a respective fluid line (each nozzle 106 is coupled to a valve 73 and are coupled to tank 116 by one or more pipes, tubes, or conduits, Paragraphs 0031, 0046) and having an open state in which the liquid agricultural product flows from the tank to a respective spray nozzle and a closed state in which a flow of the liquid agricultural product from the tank to the respective spray nozzle is obstructed (ECU 72 can instruct whether the sprayer of respective nozzles 106 and their valves 73 can be opened or closed, Paragraphs 0004, 0048);
a plurality of height sensors (108, Figs. 1A-2) disposed on the spray boom (102, shown in Figs. 1A-2), each height sensor associated with a group of the valves (73, shown in Fig. 6); and
one or more processors (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) in electrical communication with the valves (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6) and the height sensors (108, Figs. 1A-2), the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) configured to cause each group of valves (73, Fig. 6) to transition between the open state and the closed state at a respective frequency and at a respective variable duty cycle, the respective variable duty cycle based at least in part on a respective measured height of the spray boom at a respective position of a respective height sensor (valves 73 are pulse width modulated to dispense the agricultural product as desired, based on measurements provided by sensors 108, between an open and closed position, Paragraphs 0048-0050).
With respect to claim 11, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 10, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to set the respective variable duty cycle at a default duty cycle when the respective measured height is lower than or equal to an upper threshold height and greater than or equal to a lower threshold height (based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product based on whether it is in close proximity to a plant and including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
With respect to claim 12, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 11, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to set the respective variable duty cycle at a higher duty cycle when the measured height is greater than the upper threshold height, the higher duty cycle higher than the default duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from the sensors 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
In regards to claim 13, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 12, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to set the respective variable duty cycle at a lower duty cycle when the measured height is lower than the lower threshold height, the lower duty cycle lower than the default duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from the sensors 108, and based on a given measured characteristic of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with PWM valve to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
In regards to claim 14, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 10, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to:
compare the respective measured height to a plurality of height-range thresholds, each height-range threshold having a respective upper threshold height and a respective lower threshold height and associated with a corresponding duty cycle (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured distance of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050), and
set the respective variable duty cycle to a first duty cycle when the respective measured height is within a first height-range threshold (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured distance of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050).
Regarding 15, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 10, wherein the processor(s) (72, 80, Figs. 6-7) is/are configured to:
determine a respective model duty cycle using the respective measured height and a duty-cycle model (ECU 72 of the smart nozzle 106 determines a timed delay based on the speed of the vehicle in combination with the distance of the plant based on information from a respective sensor 108, and based on a given measured distance of a plant, ECU 72 can cooperate with associated PWM valve 73 to control dispensing of the agricultural product including, but not limited to, flow rate of the agricultural product, controlling the volume of agricultural product dispensed, the length (time) of dispensing and the like, and a number of parameters allow ECU 80 to calibrate the duty cycle curve, Paragraphs 0028, 0049-0050, 0052), and
set the respective variable duty cycle to the respective model duty cycle (one or more nozzles 106 can receive a difference on CAN bus 53 and adjust a duty cycle curve accordingly, Paragraph 0042).
In regards to claim 16, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 10, wherein the spray nozzles the spray nozzles (106, Fig. 5) comprise broadcast nozzles and/or selective spot-spray nozzles (smart nozzles are sprayed at close proximity to the plant for a precise application, Paragraph 0050).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davis et al. (US 20200113171 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Davis discloses a spray system (20, Fig. 1) comprising:
an agricultural vehicle (22, Fig. 1);
a spray boom (28, Fig. 1) attached to the agricultural vehicle (22, Fig. 1);
a broadcast tank (24, Fig. 1) that stores a general-application liquid agricultural product (tank 24 stores a chemical for broadcast spray, Paragraph 0096);
a selective-spot sprayer (SSP) tank (26, Fig. 1) that stores a specific-application liquid agricultural product (tank 26 stores a chemical for spot-treatment, Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of broadcast nozzles (30, nozzles 30 can spray a broadcast spray, Figs. 1-3, 28A-34, Paragraph 0099) disposed on the spray boom (28, Fig. 1, 28A-34);
a plurality of SSP nozzles (130, nozzles 130 can be used for spot treatment, Figs. 1-3, 28A-34, Paragraph 0096) disposed on the spray boom (28, Fig. 1, 28A-34);
a plurality of first fluid lines (50, Fig. 4), each first fluid line (50, Fig. 4) fluidly coupling the broadcast tank (24, Fig. 1) to a respective broadcast spray nozzle (30, nozzles 30 spraying working fluid WF1, Figs. 28-34, Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of second fluid lines (156, Figs. 16, 19), each second fluid line (156, Figs. 16, 19) fluidly coupling the SSP tank (26, Fig. 1) to a respective SSP nozzle (130, nozzles 130 spraying working fluid WF2, Figs. 28A-34, Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of first valves (70, Fig. 4), each first valve (70, Fig. 4) fluidly coupled to a respective first fluid line (50, Fig. 4) and having an open state and a closed state (Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of second valves (178, Figs. 16, 19), each second valve (178, Figs. 16, 19) fluidly coupled to a respective second fluid line (156, shown in Figs. 16, 19) and having the open state and the closed state (Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of height sensors (not shown, but there can be various sensors to observe various conditions associated with spray system 20, Paragraph 0085) disposed on the spray boom (sensors may be disposed near control valves or elsewhere on the spray system 20 including boom 28, Paragraph 0085), each height sensor associated with a respective group of the first and second valves (sensors are in electronic or hydraulic communication with controller 120, 120’ to provide information to control various devices such as valves, Paragraph 0047); and
one or more processors (120, 120’, Figs. 4, 16, 19) in electrical communication with the first (70, Fig. 4) and second valves (178, Figs. 16, 19, Paragraphs 0047, 0096), the processor(s) (120, 120’, Figs. 4, 16, 19) configured to:
cause the first valves of each group (70, Fig. 4) to transition between the open state and the closed state at a respective first frequency and at a respective first variable duty cycle, the respective first variable duty cycle based at least in part on a respective measured height of the spray boom at a respective position of a respective height sensor (controller 120 can output command signals in various formats and configured as an assembly of components such that control of the valves and various devices may be affected and based on hydraulic, mechanical, or other signals and movements, and controller 120 can be in electronic or hydraulic communication with various sensors of the vehicle, Paragraph 0047), and
cause the second valves of each group (178, Figs. 16, 19) to transition between the open state and the closed state at a respective second frequency and at a respective second variable duty cycle, the respective second variable duty cycle based at least in part on the respective measured height of the spray boom (controller 120’ can output command signals in various formats and configured as an assembly of components such that control of the valves and various devices may be affected and based on hydraulic, mechanical, or other signals and movements, and controller 120’ can be in electronic or hydraulic communication with various sensors of the vehicle, Paragraph 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocer (US 20160044862 A1) in view of Davis et al. (US 20200113171 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Kocer discloses the spray system of claim 1, wherein:
the tank (116, Figs. 1A-1B) is a broadcast tank that stores a general-application liquid agricultural product (reservoir tank 116 stores agricultural product, Paragraph 0023),
the fluid lines are first fluid lines (Paragraph 0031),
the valves (48, 51, 73, Figs. 5-6) are first valves (shown in Figs. 5-6), the frequency is a first frequency (valves 73 are pulse width modulated to dispense the agricultural product as desired, based on measurements provided by sensors 108, between an open and closed position, Paragraphs 0048-0050),
the variable duty cycle is a first variable duty cycle (valves 73 are pulse width modulated to dispense the agricultural product as desired, based on measurements provided by sensors 108, between an open and closed position, Paragraphs 0048-0050), and
the system (100, Figs. 1A-1B) further comprises:
a plurality of selective spot-spray (SSP) nozzles (106, smart nozzles are sprayed at close proximity to the plant for a precise application, Fig. 5, Paragraph 0050) disposed on the spray boom (102, Fig. 5).
However, Kocer does not disclose the spray nozzles are broadcast nozzles, and the system further comprises: an SSP tank that stores a target-application liquid agricultural product, a plurality of second fluid lines, each second fluid line fluidly coupling the SSP tank to a respective SSP nozzle, a plurality of second valves, each second valve fluidly coupled to a respective second fluid line and having the open state and the closed state, and wherein the processor(s) is/are in communication with the second valves, the processor(s) configured to cause the second valves to transition between the open state and the closed state at a second frequency and a second variable duty cycle, the second variable duty cycle based at least in part on the measured height of the spray boom.
Davis teaches the spray nozzles (30, spray nozzles 30 spraying working fluid WF1, Figs. 1-3, 28A-34) are broadcast nozzles (nozzles 30 can spray a broadcast spray, Paragraph 0099);
the system (20, Fig. 1) further comprises:
an SSP tank (26, Fig. 1) that stores a target-application liquid agricultural product (tank 26 stores a chemical for spot-treatment, Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of second fluid lines (156, Figs. 16, 19), each second fluid line (156, Figs. 16, 19) fluidly coupling the SSP tank (26, Fig. 1) to a respective SSP nozzle (130, nozzles 130 spraying working fluid WF2, Figs. 28A-34, Paragraph 0096);
a plurality of second valves (178, Figs. 16, 19), each second valve (178, Figs. 16, 19) fluidly coupled to a respective second fluid line (156, shown in Figs. 16, 19) and having the open state and the closed state (Paragraph 0096);
wherein the processor(s) (120’, Figs. 16, 19) is/are in communication with the second valves (178, Figs. 16, 19, Paragraph 0096), the processor(s) (120’, Figs. 16, 19) configured to cause the second valves (178, Figs. 16, 19) to transition between the open state and the closed state at a second frequency and a second variable duty cycle, the second variable duty cycle based at least in part on the measured height of the spray boom (controller 120’ can output command signals in various formats and configured as an assembly of components such that control of the valves and various devices may be affected and based on hydraulic, mechanical, or other signals and movements, and controller 120’ can be in electronic or hydraulic communication with various sensors of the vehicle, Paragraph 0047).
Kocer and Davis are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of agricultural spray systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the additional broadcast nozzles, the additional SSP tank, the plurality of second fluid lines, and the plurality of second valves taught in Davis’ system to Kocer’s system, to have the motivation to avoid the expense and complexity of multiple spray systems and/or machines by allowing multiple working fluids to be applied independently for a wide variety of applications (Davis, Paragraphs 0040-0043).
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752