DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention l, Species l corresponding to claims 1-33 in the reply filed on12/17/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no serious search burden exist. This is not found persuasive because of the distinct inventions and divergent subject matter, as previously set forth in the Election/Restriction Requirement mailed 12/3/25.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “self-alignment compliance assembly” recited in claim 31.
Self-alignment Compliance Assembly (122) is interpreted as requiring the corresponding structure of a housing (124) defining a cavity (126) along an longitudinal axis (68), a probe (94) disposed through the cavity (126), the housing (124) fixed to a probe feed bracket (98) such that the housing (124) moved concurrently with the prove feed bracket (98), first reaction surfaces (128a), second reaction surfaces (128B), first biasing members (130), second biasing members (140), providing independent movement of the probe (94) relative to the probe feed bracket (98), passive self-alignment of the probe (94) to holes (52), a first ledge (132) and second ledge (134) [as described in paragraph 0139 –0151 of the specification of the instant application], or an equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-16 and 19-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “ONCE (ONe-sided Cell End effector) Robotic Drilling System) by Russell DeVlieg.
Regarding to claim 1, DeVlieg discloses a processing system (ONCE robotic drilling system) for manufacturing a component (wing trailing edge flaps, as described on page 1 in lines 1-3 of the Introduction section in DeVlieg), the processing system comprising: a workpiece (wing trailing edge flaps, workpiece, as described on page 1 in lines 1-3 of the Introduction section and page 3 lines 1-3 under the “Clamp Axis” section in DeVlieg) having a work surface (a surface of the wing trailing edge flaps and workpiece, as described on page 1 in lines 1-3 of the Introduction section and page 3 lines 1-3 under the “Clamp Axis” section in DeVlieg); an end-effector tool (ONCE end effector, as described on page 3 lines 1-2 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section in DeVlieg) including: a fixture (base, as described on page 3 lines 4-7 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section in DeVlieg) and a set of first process tools (process tools, as described on page 3 lines 4-7 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section in DeVlieg) attached to the fixture (base) in a predetermined pattern [as described on page 3 column 1 lines 4-7 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section and page 3 column 2 lines 1-5 in DeVlieg], and the first process tools are configured to perform a task to the work surface [as described on page 3 column 1 lines 4-7 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section and page 3 column 2 lines 1-5 in DeVlieg]; a controller (Fanuc 18i series CNC, as described on page 3 column 1 lines 1-10 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section in DeVlieg) in communication with the end-effector tool [as described on page 3 column 1 lines 1-10 under the “Multifunction End Effector” section and page 3 column 2 lines 1-5 in DeVlieg], the controller including a processor (processor of CNC controlling operations, as described on page 3 line 1 to page 7 column 2 line 14 in DeVlieg) configured to execute instructions from a memory to thereby cause the controller to: control movement of the end-effector tool (ONCE end effector) to position the first process tools relative to the work surface such that the predetermined pattern is aligned at a predetermined location relative to the work surface [as described on page 3 line 1 to page 7 column 2 line 14 in DeVlieg] ; and control operation of the first process tools such that the first process tools perform the task to the work surface to form a first processed area at the predetermined location of the work surface [as described on page 3 line 1 to page 7 column 2 line 14, and can be seen from Figures 1-12 in DeVlieg].
Regarding to claim 2, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1 wherein: the work surface presents a first configuration (a first configuration of clamping and shuttle table, as described on page 3 under “Clamp Axis” and “Shuttle Table” section and can be seen from Figures 2, 3, and 11 in DeVlieg); the fixture (base) includes a fixture platform having an outer surface presenting a second configuration (a second configuration of clamping and shuttle table, as described on page 3 under “Clamp Axis” and “Shuttle Table” section and can be seen from Figures 2, 3, and 11 in DeVlieg) complementary to first configuration; and a portion of each of the first process tools is movable through the fixture platform when the task is performed to the work surface [as described on page 3 column 1 line 1- page 3 column 2 line 14 and can be seen from Figures 1-11 in DeVlieg].
Regarding to claim 3, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 2 wherein the controller (Fanuc 18i series CNC) is configured to control operation of each of the first process tools simultaneously [as described on page 3 column 1 line 1- page 3 column 2 line 14 and on page 4 under the “Process Tools” section and can be seen from Figures 2, 3, and 11 in DeVlieg].
Regarding to claim 5, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 2 wherein the end-effector tool includes a coupler attached to the fixture [as can be seen from Figure 2-3 and 8 in DeVlieg].
Regarding to claim 6, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1: wherein the end-effector tool is further defined as a first end-effector tool (Drilling Spindle, as can be seen from Figure 6 in DeVlieg) having the first process tools, further including a second end-effector tool (Probe tool, as can be seen from Figure 7 in DeVlieg) having a set of second process tools [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section], the first process tools are configured to perform a first process to the work surface and the second process tools are configured to perform a second process to the work surface [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section]; and the first end-effector tool and the second end-effector tools are interchangeable with each other to perform separate task to the work surface [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 1-11 in DeVlieg].
10. Regarding to claim 7, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 6 wherein each of the first process tools includes a drill assembly configured to form a hole in the work surface such that the first processed area forms a pattern of holes at the predetermined location [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
11. Regarding to claim 8, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 7 wherein the drill assembly of each of the first process tools is configured to form a countersink aligned with the respective hole of the work surface [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
.
12. Regarding to claim 9, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 6 wherein each of the first process tools includes an applicator configured to apply a compound to the work surface such that the first processed area forms a pattern of the compounds at the predetermined location [as described on page 5 under the “Ink Marking” section in DeVlieg].
13. Regarding to claim 10, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 7 wherein each of the second process tools includes an assembler configured to insert a fastener into the respective hole of the work surface such that the first processed area forms a pattern of fasteners in the respective holes at the predetermined location [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
14. Regarding to claim 11, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 6 wherein each of the second process tools include a measuring device configured to measure characteristics of the workpiece [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
15. Regarding to claim 12, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 11 wherein the measuring device of each of the second process tools include a probe assembly configured to measure characteristics of the workpiece [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
16. Regarding to claim 13, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 12 wherein the probe assembly of each of the second process tools includes a probe insertable into the respective hole of the work surface to measure characteristics of the respective hole [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
17. Regarding to claim 14, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1 wherein: the end-effector tool includes a set of second process tools (Probe tool, as can be seen from Figure 7 in DeVlieg) attached to the fixture proximal to the set of the first process tools (Drilling Spindle, as can be seen from Figure 6 in DeVlieg); and the first process tools are configured to perform a first process to the work surface and the second process tools are configured to perform a second process to the work surface [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg]. .
18. Regarding to claim 15, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 14 wherein: each of the first process tools (drill spindle) includes a drill assembly configured to form a hole in the work surface; and each of the second process tools (Probe Tool) includes a measuring device configured to measure characteristics of the workpiece [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
19. Regarding to claim 16, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1 wherein the end-effector tool includes an end-effector attachment assembly (portion of end-effector tool attaching to end effector, as can be seen from Figures 1-11 in DeVlieg) configured to engage the workpiece to secure the end-effector tool at the predetermined location [as can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
.
20. Regarding to claim 19, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1 wherein: the end-effector tool includes a plurality of positioning sensors (camera; LVDT, as can be seen from Figure 5 and described on page 4 column 1 line 4-13 and page 5 under the “Scanning (Resynching)” section) coupled to the fixture; and the positioning sensors are configured to align the end-effector tool relative to the workpiece such that the first process tools align at the predetermined location [as can be seen from Figures 1-12 in DeVlieg].
21. Regarding to claim 20, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 19 wherein the positioning sensors include a camera assembly [as described on page 5 under the “Scanning (Resynching)” section and can be seen from Figure 5 in DeVlieg].
22. Regarding to claim 21, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 19 wherein: the workpiece includes at least one reference guide (nominal target position, as described on page 5 under the “Scanning (Resynching) and Ink Marking” sections); and the positioning sensors are configured to identify the reference guide to position the end- effector tool relative to the work surface such that the first process tools align in the predetermined location [as can be seen from Figures 1-12 in DeVlieg].
23. Regarding to claim 22, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1 wherein each of the first process tools includes a drill assembly [Figure 6 in DeVlieg].
24. Regarding to claim 23, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 22 wherein the drill assembly of each of the first process tools includes: a drill having a processing bit [Figure 6]; a drill feed actuator (spindle motor, as described on page 4 column 1 under “Process Tools” section) coupled to the drill and configured to move the processing bit along a longitudinal axis between a retracted position and an extended position[Figure 6]; and a drill actuator (servo-driven digital drive, as described on page 4 column 1 under “Process Tools” section) coupled to the processing bit and configured to selectively operate the processing bit [as described on page 4 column 1 under “Process Tools” section can be seen from Figure 6 in DeVlieg].
25. Regarding to claim 24, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 23 wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the drill of each of the first process tools such that the processing bit of the respective drill creates a respective hole in the work surface to form a pattern of holes at the predetermined location [as can be seen from Figures 1-12 in DeVlieg].
26. Regarding to claim 25, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 1 wherein each of the first process tools includes a probe assembly [Figure 7 in DeVlieg].
27. Regarding to claim 26, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 25 wherein the probe assembly of each of the first process tools includes a probe configured to measure characteristics of the workpiece [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
.
28. Regarding to claim 27, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 26 wherein the work surface of the workpiece defines a plurality of holes, and the respective probe is insertable into the respective holes of the work surface to measure characteristics of the respective holes [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
29. Regarding to claim 28, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 27 wherein the probe assembly of each of the first process tools includes a first sensor (LVDT, as described on page 4 lines 4-13 in DeVlieg) coupled to the respective probe to measure a depth of the respective holes [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg].
30. Regarding to claim 29, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 28 wherein: the probe assembly of each of the first process tools includes a probe cap (end portion of probe, Figure 7) attached to the respective probe such that the respective probe cap moves with the respective probe between a retracted position and an extended position [Figure 7 in DeVlieg]; and wherein the first sensor (LVDT) of the probe assembly of each of the first process tools is configured to determine the depth of the respective holes based on the position of the respective probe cap [as described on page 4 lines 4-13 and page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 11-12 in DeVlieg].
31. Regarding to claim 30, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 27 wherein: each of the holes includes a countersink portion and a second portion [as described on page 6 under the “Drilling/Countersinking/Measuring” section and can be seen from Figures 10-12 in DeVlieg], with the countersink portion and the second portion of each of the holes being different outer diameters (tolerance) and the probe assembly of each of the first process tools includes a second sensor (camera, Figure 5) coupled to the respective probe to measure a depth of the countersink portion of the respective holes [as described on page 4 lines 4-13 and can be seen from Figure 7 in DeVlieg].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell DeVlieg.
Regarding to claim 4, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 2 wherein: the work surface of the workpiece and the outer surface of the fixture face each other when the end-effector tool is disposed adjacent to the workpiece [Figures 1-12 in DeVlieg]. However, DeVlieg does not explicitly disclose the workpiece being a panel of an aircraft and the first configuration of the work surface is arcuate in a convex orientation and/or a concave orientation; and the second configuration of the outer surface of the fixture platform is arcuate in a convex orientation and/or a concave orientation opposite of the work surface such that the work surface and the fixture platform are complementary. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the workpiece to include a panel of an aircraft having an arcuate in a convex/concave orientation in a first configuration and a second configuration, as a simple substitution of one known workpiece shape for another, which would yield predictable results.
36. Regarding to claim 17, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 16 wherein: having an end-effector attachment assembly (portion of end-effector tool contacting workpiece, as can be seen from Figures 5 in DeVlieg). However, DeVlieg does not explicitly disclose the end-effector attachment assembly including a plurality of holders attached to the fixture and a vacuum assembly in fluid communication with the holders; and the controller being configured to activate the vacuum assembly when the holders engage the workpiece to create suction between the holders and the workpiece to vacuum attach the end- effector tool to the workpiece at the predetermined location. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of holders having a vacuum assembly and the controller configured to activate the vacuum assembly when the holder engage the workpiece to create suction to attach the end-effector tool to the workpiece, as a simple substitution of one known gripping technique for another, which would yield predictable results.
37. Regarding to claim 18, DeVlieg discloses the processing system as set forth in claim 17. However, DeVlieg does not explicitly disclose the holders being suction cups. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the holders being suction cups, as a known technique applied to a known device for gripping a workpiece, which would yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NIRVANA DEONAUTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726