DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/20/2025 in which claims 1-14 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quan et al (hereinafter Quan) (US 2023/0006568 A1).
As to claims 1 and 8, Quan discloses a system, comprising:
a breaker interface to a breaker panel (Fig 22A, 1935) having a plurality of breakers (Fig 22A, 1936);
a direct current (DC) bus (Fig 22A, 2202a, 2202b) that has a variable voltage;
a bidirectional DC terminal (Fig 22A, DC terminal side, parag [0156]), wherein:
the bidirectional DC terminal is connected, at least electrically, to the DC bus via a first interface of the bidirectional DC terminal (see Fig 22A, connection between DC terminal and DC bus 2202a, 2202b); and
an electric vehicle (EV) charger (Fig 22A, 2250) is able to be connected, at least electrically, to the bidirectional DC terminal via a second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal; and
a power storage interface that connects to one or more power storage modules (Fig 22A, 2260), wherein in the event the EV charger (Fig 22A, 2250) is connected to the bidirectional DC terminal (Fig 22A, DC terminal side) via the second interface, the EV charger is able to be powered at least some of the time by the one or more power storage modules, (1) even in the event all of the plurality of breakers in the breaker panel are in use (see Fig 22A, when all the breakers 1936 are closed, the EV charger 2250 will receive power from DC bus) and (2) even in the event a first load associated with the EV charger and a second load associated with all of the plurality of breakers in the breaker panel would, if combined, exceed a limit associated with the breaker panel (see Fig 22A, parags [0155-0157], since the RES 2260 connected directly with DC bus, it will provide power to the EV charger 2250 regardless of the status of breakers).
As to claims 3 and 10, Quan discloses the system recited in claim 1, wherein: the EV charger (Fig 22A, 2250) is coupled to an electric vehicle (Fig 22A, 2004) which in turn includes an EV battery; and the system further includes a controller (Fig 21, 2102) that determines whether to draw power from the EV battery, via the second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal, based at least in part on one or more of the following: a setting associated with a minimum amount of time for grid power to be out for power to be drawn from the EV battery (see parag [0156]), or a setting associated with a minimum amount of power stored by the one or more power storage modules for power to be drawn from the EV battery.
As to claims 4 and 11, Quan discloses the system recited in claim 1, wherein: the EV charger (Fig 22A, 2250) is coupled to an electric vehicle (Fig 22A, 2004) which in turn includes an EV battery; and the system further includes a controller (Fig 21, 2102) that determines a target load to provide power, drawn from the EV battery via the second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal, to based at least in part on a setting that specifies the target load (see parag [0156], batteries of the EV may be used to power a home).
As to claims 5 and 12, Quan discloses the system recited in claim 1, wherein: the EV charger (Fig 22A, 2250) is coupled to an electric vehicle (Fig 22A, 2004) which in turn includes an EV battery; and the system further includes a controller (Fig 21, 2102) that: determines whether to draw power from the EV battery, via the second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal; and in the event it is determined to draw power from the EV battery, via the second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal, configures a component associated with one or more of the following, if needed: drawing power from the EV battery, via the second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal, or providing power to a target load (see parag [0156], batteries of the EV may be used to power a home).
As to claims 6 and 13, Quan discloses the system recited in claim 5, wherein configuring the component associated with drawing power from the EV battery, via the second interface of the bidirectional DC terminal, includes: turning off another power source that is supplying power to EV battery load via the bidirectional DC terminal before drawing power from the EV battery (see parag [0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al (hereinafter Quan) (US 2023/0006568 A1) in view of Carroll (US 11,283,131 B1).
As to claims 2 and 9, Quan does not disclose the system recited in claim 1, wherein there is a configurable number of the one or more power storage modules.
However, Carroll discloses wherein there is a configurable number of the one or more power storage modules (see col 12, lines 29-33). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Quan to include the teachings as taught by Carroll in order to increase the storage capacity of the system.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al (hereinafter Quan) (US 2023/0006568 A1) in view of Ballantine et al (hereinafter Ballantine) (US 2012/0326504 A1).
As to claims 7 and 14, Quan does not disclose the system recited in claim 5, wherein configuring the component associated with providing power to the target load includes configuring a switch associated with selecting a power source for the target load so that the EV battery is selected instead of another power source.
However, Ballantine discloses a switch (Fig 6E, 702, parag [0072]) associated with selecting a power source for the target load so that the EV battery is selected instead of another power source. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Quan to include the switch as taught by Ballantine in order to control power provided from the EV battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2020/204931 A1; US 2020/0070672 A1.
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2849 March 10, 2026
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849