Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Yamane (US 2012/0253128).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamane discloses:
An attachment for an endoscope, the attachment comprising:
a housing (plug 50, see Figs. 17-21 in particular) including one or more angled locking members (57) extending radially-inwardly from an inner surface of the housing (shown in Figs. 17-19), and one or more stabilizing members (64) extending radially-inwardly from the inner surface of the housing, the one or more angled locking members being configured to engage a biopsy port of the endoscope (57 engages with port 49), wherein at least one of the one or more angled locking members includes a first angled locking member including a bent region (several bent portions of 57 are shown in Figs. 17-19); and
a sealing member (33) disposed within the housing.
Regarding Claim 2, Yamane further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more angled locking members is a first angled locking member disposed on a first side of the inner surface of the housing, and the one or more angled locking members include a second angled locking member disposed on a second side of the inner surface of the housing (as shown in Figs. 17-19 there are two locking members 57).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamane further discloses wherein the bent region of the at least one of the one or more angled locking members is substantially V-shaped (as shown in Figs. 17-19, the ends of the locking members 57 are angled in a substantially V-shaped manner).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamane further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more angled locking members is substantially rigid (see Fig. 17, at least a portion of 57, like the distal bent section, is substantially rigid so that it can engage the port 49).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamane further discloses wherein at least one of the one or more angled locking members is resiliently deflectable (see Figs. 20-21 and Paragraphs 0112-0114).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamane further discloses wherein: the one or more angled locking members are positioned to engage a neck region of the biopsy port formed on the handle of the endoscope (see Fig. 17 showing 57 engaging the top of the neck region of the port); the stabilizing members are positioned to engage the neck region (see Fig. 17 showing 64 engaging the bottom of the neck region of the port) and/or the radially-outward periphery of a flanged region proximal to the neck region of the biopsy port formed on the handle of the endoscope.
Regarding Claim 8, Yamane discloses:
An attachment for an endoscope, the attachment comprising:
a housing (87, see Figs. 34-44 in particular);
one or more locking members (101) extending radially-inwardly from an inner surface of the housing (shown in Figs. 36), the one or more locking members including at least one angled locking member extending in a proximal direction to engage a distally facing surface of a flanged region of a biopsy port of the endoscope (101 engages with port portion 89; see Fig. 36 for example); and
one or more stabilizing members (97) extending radially-inwardly from the inner surface of the housing (shown in Fig. 35) and circumferentially spaced apart from the locking members to stabilize a lateral position of the attachment with respect to the biopsy port (see Figs. 38-39, for example, showing the spacing between 97 and 101).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamane further discloses wherein the at least one angled locking member is positioned to seat underneath the flanged region of the biopsy port (see Paragraph 0140 and Fig.36).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamane further discloses wherein the one or more stabilizing members are positioned to engage the neck region (97 engages the neck at 88; see Paragraph 139) and/or the radially-outward periphery of the flanged region proximal to the neck region of the biopsy port.
Regarding Claim 11, Yamane further discloses wherein the at least one angled locking member includes a bent region (see 101 near 101a).
Regarding Claim 12, Yamane further discloses wherein the at least one angled locking member is substantially V-shaped (see Fig. 36 showing 101 having a V-shape at the bent region).
Regarding Claim 13, Yamane further discloses wherein the at least one angled locking member is resiliently deflectable to be moved distally over and distal to the flanged region of the biopsy port (see Paragraph 0153 discussing deflecting 101).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamane further discloses wherein the one or more stabilizing members are positioned to support a biopsy cap within the housing, the biopsy cap including a seal positioned and designed to contact and seal against a proximal end of the biopsy port (the Examiner considers this functional language because it is a wherein clause and does not specifically include the biopsy cap as part of the attachment; the prior art is capable of supporting a cap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamane (US 2012/0253128) in view Ouchi et al. (US 5,993,379).
Yamane discloses the invention substantially as claimed as stated above, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sealing member is disposed within the housing to contact and seal against the biopsy port. Ouchi teaches positioning a sealing member such that it contacts and seals against the biopsy port (see 82, for example, with seal 11/11a in the claimed position). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yamane’s seal to be positioned as shown in Ouchi. Such a modification helps prevent fluid from going between the seal, the housing, and the port.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,895. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the application’s claims. The differences are minor and mostly focused on functional language. The patent claims the housing, locking members, and stabilizing members. The dependent claims include the details related to these members.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowable but for the Double Patenting Rejection.
Claim 15 requires the pair of circumferentially spaced apart locking members and stabilizing members wherein the stabilizing members are disposed adjacent to and circumferentially spaced apart from the locking members. The Examiner does not consider Yamane to disclose this feature. There being no clear reason in the art to modify Yamane to include such a feature, the claim overcomes the closest prior art.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J NEAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795