DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Application filed on February 20, 2025. Claims 1-17 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 18, 2025 been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (hereinafter “Kim”, U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0374097).
As per claims 1 and 13, Kim discloses a method and user equipment for processing a cell prediction result by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a configuration message including at least one of i) first event information on prediction time information and ii) second event information on the cell prediction result (paragraphs 0543-0547 discloses receiving measurement configuration information prediction for the measurement object (i.e. cell prediction));
deriving an evaluation result for at least one of the first event information and the second event information using an artificial intelligence or machine learning model (paragraphs 0537-0538 and 0566 discloses deriving predictive measurement result based on prediction time using machine learning model); and
in an event that the derived evaluation result meets at least one of the first event information and the second event information, transmitting a report message including the cell prediction result to the base station (paragraphs 0567-0568 discloses transmitting the predictive measurement result).
As per claim 7, Kim discloses a method for controlling processing of a cell prediction result of a user equipment (UE) by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, a configuration message including at least one of first event information on prediction time information and second event information on the cell prediction result (paragraphs 0650-0653 discloses a UE sending a predictive measure report including the predictive measurement result); and
in an event that an evaluation result derived by an artificial intelligence or machine learning model of the UE meets at least one of the first event information and the second event information, receiving, from the UE, a report message including the cell prediction result (paragraphs 0666-0068 discloses evaluating the predictive measurement results and sending the measurement report based on the evaluation result).
As per claims 2, 8 and 14, Kim discloses:
wherein the first event information includes a timer interval as the prediction time information or one or more predetermined time instances as the prediction time information (paragraphs 0658-0660 discloses a time interval for prediction of time information).
As per claims 3, 9 and 15, Kim discloses:
wherein the artificial intelligence or machine learning model receives at least one of a cell quality measurement result and a beam quality measurement result and outputs the cell prediction result including at least one of a cell quality prediction result and a cell strength prediction result at the prediction time (paragraphs 0510-0512 discloses a beam quality measurement; paragraphs 0537-0538 and 0566 discloses deriving predictive measurement result based on prediction time using machine learning model).
As per claims 4, 10 and 16, Kim discloses:
wherein the report message is transmitted in an event that the evaluation result meets both the first event information and the second event information (paragraphs 0567-0568 discloses transmitting the predictive measurement result).
As per claims 5 and 11, Kim discloses:
wherein the cell prediction result includes at least one of a cell quality prediction result and a cell strength prediction result for a neighboring cell (paragraphs 0241-0244).
As per claims 6, 12 and 17, Kim discloses:
wherein the report message includes indication information including the cell prediction result (paragraphs 0567-0568).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0300749) discloses handling measurement prediction in a wireless communication system is provided. A wireless device derives, at a first time point, a predictive measurement result for a measurement object for a second time point. A wireless device transmits, to the network, information about the predictive measurement result. A wireless device acquires a present measurement result by performing measurement on the measurement object at the second time point. Based on difference between the predictive measurement result and the present measurement result, a wireless device transmits information about the difference to the network.
Park et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0314612 discloses a terminal may comprise receiving, from a serving cell, a first message including measurement report configuration information; in response to transmission of a measurement report message being triggered based on the first message, generating a measurement report message; and in response to a measurement report message transmission condition configured by the first message being satisfied, transmitting the measurement report message to the serving cell.
Park et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0251257 discloses improving mobility management performance by reducing unnecessary handovers in a communication system. a method of a terminal may comprise: receiving cell prediction configuration information; generating measurement results by performing measurements on a serving cell and neighbor cell(s) based on signal strength measurement configuration information; and generating a result of predicting a best cell by performing best cell prediction based on the measurement results.
/LASHONDA JACOBS-BURTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
ljb
July 20, 2026