DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-13, as originally filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on 26 August 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guyot et al. (US 2020/0093229).
Regarding claim 1, Guyot et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a connection pin (30)
that connects a first connection target (first link 10) and a second connection target (other link described in paragraph 19, line 8) by being inserted in an insertion hole (20) of the first connection target and an insertion hole (as shown in Figs. 1, 2a and 2b on 14 wherein a second link would have a male portion 14 insertable into 20 and accepting the connection pin) of the second connection target;
a pin locker (40)
that is movable in a moving direction in a recess formed in one of the first connection target and the second connection target (Figs. 2a-2b as shown), the moving direction being different from a direction in which the insertion hole of the one of the first connection target and the second connection target extends (Figs. 2a and 2b as shown), and
that has a pin insertion part (420) having a size that allows the connection pin to pass through, a part of an edge of the pin insertion part being the pin engaging part (Fig. 2a and 2b as shown), and
a holder (100) that is disposed detachably on the one of the first connection target and the second connection target and that holds the pin locker,
wherein:
the pin locker has a first abutting part, the recess has a first abutted part to be abutted by the first abutting part (Figs. 3a and 3b show wherein lateral sides of 42 abut against sides of the recess),
the pin locker is disposed with a space between the pin locker and the first abutted part, and is rotatable on a predetermined axis in a region of the space in the recess (Figs. 2a-3b as shown), and
a size of the space between the pin locker and the first abutted part is such that when the pin locker rotates and the first abutting part abuts the first abutted part, the connection pin being inserted in the insertion hole is allowed to pass through the pin insertion part (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein the predetermined axis is a central axis passing through a center of a cross section perpendicular to the moving direction of the pin locker (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein the connection pin includes a first part (34) and a second part (Paragraph 24 describes wherein the majority of the bar has a diameter D1) between which a step is formed (Fig. 1 as shown), the second part being thicker than the first part (Fig. 1 as shown, Paragraph 26), and the pin locker has a pin engaging part (42) that is configured to engage with the step of the connection pin.
Regarding claim 4, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein when the first abutting part abuts the first abutted part, the rotation of the pin locker on the predetermined axis in the recess is limited such that the second part of the connection pin being inserted in the insertion hole is allowed to pass through the pin insertion part, the predetermined axis extending in the moving direction and passing through the pin locker (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 5, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein a size of a space between the first abutting part and the first abutted part with respect to a rotation direction of the pin locker is smaller than a size of a space between the second part of the connection pin inserted in the insertion hole and a wall surface of the pin insertion part with respect to the rotation direction of the pin locker (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein a maximum size of a space between the first abutting part and the first abutted part with respect to a direction perpendicular to a surface of the first abutted part on a plane perpendicular to the moving direction is smaller than a maximum size of a space between the second part and a wall surface of the pin insertion part with respect to a direction perpendicular to a surface of the second part of the connection pin inserted in the insertion hole on a plane that is perpendicular to the moving direction and that passes through a center of the insertion hole (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein the connection pin has an end surface that is perpendicular to a longitudinal direction of the connection pin, wherein when the pin locker is at a specific position in the moving direction and when the first abutting part abuts the first abutted part, at least either an orientation of the pin insertion part with respect to the insertion hole or a position of the pin insertion part on a plane perpendicular to the moving direction is limited such that the pin locker does not abut the end surface of the connection pin being inserted in the insertion hole (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein when the pin locker is at a specific position in the moving direction and when the first abutting part abuts the first abutted part, at least either an orientation of the pin insertion part with respect to the insertion hole or a position of the pin insertion part on a plane perpendicular to the moving direction is limited such that the pin locker does not overlap the insertion hole when viewed in a direction in which the insertion hole extends (Figs. 2a-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 9, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein: the first abutting part is a lateral surface of the pin locker, the lateral surface extending in the moving direction, the first abutted part is a lateral wall surface of the recess, the lateral wall surface extending in the moving direction and being to be abutted by the lateral surface of the pin locker, and the lateral surface of the pin locker and the lateral wall surface of the recess have an ellipse shape or a rounded rectangle shape when viewed in the moving direction (Figs. 1-3b as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein the pin locker is movable in the recess in the moving direction between a first position (Fig. 2a) and a second position (Fig. 2b), the second position being a specific position different from the first position, wherein the connection structure further includes: a bias (46) that biases the pin locker in a single direction along the moving direction (Figs. 2a-2b as shown) wherein the holder holds the pin locker at the first position in cooperation with the bias, and when the pin locker is positioned at the first position by the bias and the holder, the step of the connection pin engages with the pin engaging part (Fig. 2a as shown), wherein when the pin locker is positioned at the second position by a user's manipulation against a biasing force of the bias, the second part of the connection pin is allowed to pass through the pin insertion part (Fig. 2b as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein the pin locker includes a second abutting part that abuts an inside wall of the recess when the pin locker is at the second position, the inside wall crossing the moving direction (Fig. 2b as shown).
Regarding claim 13, Guyot et al. further discloses a device main body as the first connection target; a band as the second connection target to be used for attaching the device main body to an object; and the connection structure according to claim 1 (the link as shown is attached to an additional that forms a band as described in the Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyot et al. as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Perkins et al. (US 12,127,636).
Regarding claim 12, Guyot et al. further discloses wherein: the bias is a helical compression spring (Fig. 1 as shown), but fails to disclose the second abutting part is disposed inside the helical compression spring.
Perkins teach wherein a protrusion (240) is disposed within a helical spring (250).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the spring and locking member assembly could use a protrusion as provided by Perkins to partially capture the spring to ease assembly of the device and prevent loss of the spring during disassembly operations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 17, 18 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 122256814. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as they include the same limitations only in a rearranged order.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chatelain (US 2013/0286796) for a bracelet wherein a spring is captured on a pin.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677