DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/8/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki et al. (US20030016451).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a display system (Sato, figs. 1-10, especially, figs. 1-2, vehicle information display system, corresponding to the claimed display system) comprising:
a first display device (Sato, figs. 1-10, especially, fig. 1, head-up display device 5, corresponding to the claimed first display device) that projects a first virtual image (Sato, figs. 1-2, paras. [0013], [0016]–[0017], virtual image 4, corresponding to the claimed first virtual image) ahead of a user in a vehicle (Sato, fig. 1, paras. [0016]–[0017], virtual image 4 displayed beyond windshield glass 1); and
a second display device (Sato, fig. 1, paras. [0019]-[0020], meter display device 3, corresponding to the claimed second display device) that projects a second virtual image (Sato, figs. 1-2, paras. [0019]-[0020], virtual image 21, corresponding to the claimed second virtual image) ahead of the user (Sato, fig. 1, para. [0020], virtual image 21 displayed beyond half-mirror 26) and below the first virtual image (Sato, figs. 1-2, para. [0022], virtual image 21 positioned below virtual image 4).
Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein a lower end of the first virtual image and an upper end of the second virtual image are located within a circle whose diameter is a length of the second virtual image in a side view.
However, Aoki teaches the similar first and second displayed image portions (see Aoki, figs. 1-8, especially, figs. 3-4, paras. [0080]-[0093], displayed image portions reflected through respective optical paths, corresponding to the similar first and second displayed images), and further teaches
wherein a lower end of the first virtual image (Aoki, figs. 1-8, para. [0093] and claim 7, lower end point of the displayed image reflected by the first reflecting means, corresponding to the claimed lower end of the first virtual image) and an upper end of the second virtual image (Aoki, para. [0093] and claim 7, upper end point of the displayed image reflected by the second reflecting means, corresponding to the claimed upper end of the second virtual image) are located (Aoki, para. [0093] and claim 7, corresponding reflecting optical paths of the adjacent end points, corresponding to the claimed positional relationship) within a circle whose diameter is a length of the second virtual image in a side view (see Aoki, figs. 6-8, paras. [0095]-[0102], Aoki further teaches adjusting the reflected optical paths to coordinate the adjoining displayed image portions, the claimed circle has no specified center position. Thus, positioning the adjoining end points to coincide in the side view would allow both end points to be contained within a circle having a diameter equal to the length of the second virtual image. Thus, Aoki teaches wherein a lower end of the first virtual image and an upper end of the second virtual image are located within a circle whose diameter is a length of the second virtual image in a side view).
(note: see Sato, fig. 2, para. [0024], Sato further teaches that a lower end 4a of the first virtual image 4 and an upper end 21a of the second virtual image 21 are arranged at the same position or nearby positions in the vehicle front-rear direction.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sato's display system with the teachings of Aoki to adjust the relative positions of the first and second virtual images such that a lower end of the first virtual image and an upper end of the second virtual image coincide in a side view and are located within a circle whose diameter is a length of the second virtual image in the side view, in order to provide positional continuity between the adjoining virtual images and reduce visual discontinuity at their boundary (Aoki, para. [0093] and claim 7).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki et al. (US20030016451), and further in view of Toki (JP2024021820, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 2, Sato in view of Aoki discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein a difference between a first angle of depression and a second angle of depression is 12° or less, the first angle of depression being an angle formed by the lower end of the first virtual image with respect to a viewpoint of the user, the second angle of depression being an angle formed by the upper end of the second virtual image with respect to the viewpoint of the user.
However, Toki teaches a similar head-up display system (figs. 1-2, HUD device 1, windshield 2, first display area D1, and second display area D2; paras. [0016]-[0024]), and further teaches
wherein a difference between a first angle of depression and a second angle of depression is 12° or less (Toki, fig. 2, para. [0024], the upper end of first display area D1 and the lower end of second display area D2 substantially coincide, resulting in an angular difference of approximately 0°, corresponding to the claimed difference between a first angle of depression and a second angle of depression being 12° or less), the first angle of depression being an angle formed by the lower end of the first virtual image with respect to a viewpoint of the user (Toki, fig. 2, paras. [0019]-[0022], image depression angle θd defined with respect to eyebox Eb, corresponding to the similar angle of depression measured from the user's viewpoint), the second angle of depression being an angle formed by the upper end of the second virtual image with respect to the viewpoint of the user (Toki, fig. 2, paras. [0022]-[0024], image depression angles θd1 and θd2 and adjacent display-area boundaries, corresponding to the similar angle of depression measured from the user's viewpoint).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sato's display system in view of Aoki with the teachings of Toki to position the adjacent ends of the first and second virtual images such that a difference between a first angle of depression and a second angle of depression is 12° or less, the first angle of depression being an angle formed by the lower end of the first virtual image with respect to a viewpoint of the user, the second angle of depression being an angle formed by the upper end of the second virtual image with respect to the viewpoint of the user, in order to improve visual continuity between the adjacent virtual images and provide a more continuous display area (Toki, fig. 2, para. [0024]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki et al. (US20030016451), and further in view of Svarichevsky et al. (US20170329143).
Regarding claim 3, Sato in view of Aoki discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein comprising:
a third display device that projects a third virtual image ahead of the user,
wherein the third virtual image is located at a viewing distance of 0.25 diopters or less with respect to a viewing distance of the second virtual image.
However, Svarichevsky teaches the similar display system (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, paras. [0051]-[0053], display system 700 including projection device 730, imaging matrices 752, 754, 756, and display device 760, corresponding to the similar display system), and further teaches
wherein comprising: a third display device (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, paras. [0051]-[0053], third imaging matrix 756 associated with display device 760, corresponding to the similar third display device), that projects a third virtual image ahead of the user (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, paras. [0051]-[0052], third imaging matrix 756 providing virtual graphics at third image plane 786, corresponding to the claimed third virtual image projected ahead of the user), wherein the third virtual image is located at a viewing distance of 0.25 diopters or less with respect to a viewing distance of the second virtual image (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, para. [0052], second image plane 784 at 10-20 meters and third image plane 786 at infinity, resulting in a reciprocal-distance difference of approximately 0.05~0.10 diopters, corresponding to the claimed viewing-distance difference of 0.25 diopters or less).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki by incorporating an additional virtual-image projection arrangement and selecting the viewing distances of the second and third virtual images to differ by 0.25 diopters or less as taught by Svarichevsky, in order to display additional information at different focal distances and reduce the need for the user to refocus between virtual images and real-world objects (Svarichevsky, paras. [0002], [0051]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Sato in view of Aoki discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of the first virtual image projected by the first display device or the second virtual image projected by the second display device is displayed in a plurality of layers.
However, Svarichevsky teaches a similar display system (fig. 7, display system 700 including projection device 730, imaging matrices 752, 754, 756, and display device 760; paras. [0051]–[0053]), and further teaches
wherein at least one of the first virtual image (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, para. [0052], virtual graphics generated at first image plane 782, corresponding to the similar first virtual image) projected by the first display device (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, paras. [0051]-[0052], first imaging matrix 752 configured to generate virtual graphics, corresponding to the similar first display device) or the second virtual image (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, para. [0052], virtual graphics generated at second image plane 784, corresponding to the similar second virtual image) projected by the second display device (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, paras. [0051]-[0052], second imaging matrix 754 configured to generate virtual graphics, corresponding to the similar second display device) is displayed in a plurality of layers (Svarichevsky, fig. 7, paras. [0051]-[0052], stacked imaging matrices 752, 754, 756 generating virtual graphics at respective image planes 782, 784, 786 having different focal distances, corresponding to the similar plurality of virtual-image depth layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki with the teachings of Svarichevsky to have at least one of the first virtual image projected by the first display device or the second virtual image projected by the second display device is displayed in a plurality of layers, by configuring at least one of the virtual images to include image content distributed among multiple depth planes using stacked imaging matrices, in order to display virtual information at different focal distances and augment real-world objects at different depths (Svarichevsky, paras. [0051]-[0052]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki et al. (US20030016451), and further in view of Hada et al. (US20220334390).
Regarding claim 5, Sato in view of Aoki discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the second display device includes:
a display element that emits video light for forming the second virtual image; and
an optical system for projecting the video light from the display element as the second virtual image, and
the optical system includes a concave mirror that reflects the video light at a final stage.
However, Hada teaches a similar head-up display (figs. 1-2, head-up display 100 and projector 20), and further teaches
wherein the second display device includes: (Hada, figs. 1-2, head-up display 100 and projector 20, corresponding to the claimed second display device)
a display element that emits video light for forming the second virtual image; and (Hada, fig. 2, paras. [0066]-[0068], display 22 emitting video light to form a virtual image, corresponding to the claimed display element);
an optical system for projecting the video light from the display element as the second virtual image, and (Hada, fig. 2, paras. [0069]-[0072], first mirror 23 and second mirror 24 guiding light from display 22 toward display medium 10 to form the virtual image, corresponding to the claimed optical system);
the optical system includes a concave mirror that reflects the video light at a final stage. (Hada, fig. 2, paras. [0072]-[0074], concave second mirror 24 reflecting video light toward display medium 10 after first mirror 23, corresponding to the claimed concave mirror at a final stage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato to have the second display device include a display element that emits video light for forming the second virtual image and an optical system for projecting the video light from the display element as the second virtual image, wherein the optical system includes a concave mirror that reflects the video light at a final stage as taught by Hada, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a compact projection optical system by shifting the principal point of the optical system and allowing the display to be positioned closer to the first mirror (Hada, fig. 2, paras. [0034]-[0035], [0072]-[0074], [0131]-[0132]).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki et al. (US20030016451), and further in view of Hada et al. (US20190244587, hereafter Hada’587) and Lawrence (US20220147302).
Regarding claim 6, Sato in view of Aoki discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein comprising:
a first position adjuster that adjusts a first display position in an up-down direction of the first virtual image;
a second position adjuster that adjusts a second display position in an up-down direction of the second virtual image; and
a coordinate changer that changes coordinates of the first virtual image within a displayable range of the first virtual image, based on the first display position and the second display position that have been adjusted.
However, Hada’587 teaches the similar first and second virtual images and their respective displayable areas (Hada’587, figs. 1-4, paras. [0024]-[0030], first virtual image 311, second virtual image 321, first virtual image displayable area 310, and second virtual image displayable area 320, corresponding to the similar claimed first and second virtual images and their displayable ranges), and further teaches wherein comprising:
a first position adjuster (Hada’587, fig. 4, paras. [0048]-[0050], [0086], control unit 70, corresponding to the claimed first position adjuster) that adjusts a first display position (Hada’587, para. [0086], adjusting the position of first virtual image 311, corresponding to the claimed first display position) in an up-down direction of the first virtual image (Hada’587, para. [0086], shifting first virtual image 311 upward or downward, corresponding to the claimed up-down direction of the first virtual image);
a second position adjuster (Hada’587, fig. 4, paras. [0048]-[0050], [0056]-[0059], control unit 70, corresponding to the claimed second position adjuster) that adjusts a second display position (Hada’587, figs. 6-7, paras. [0056]-[0059], changing the position of second virtual image 321 between positions P1, P2, and P3, corresponding to the claimed second display position) in an up-down direction of the second virtual image (Hada’587, figs. 6-9, paras. [0056]-[0059], shifting second virtual image 321 upward or downward, corresponding to the claimed up-down direction of the second virtual image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato to have a first position adjuster that adjusts a first display position in an up-down direction of the first virtual image and a second position adjuster that adjusts a second display position in an up-down direction of the second virtual image as taught by Hada’587, in order to suppress positional misalignment between the first and second virtual images (Hada’587, paras. [0007], [0086]-[0087]), with a reasonable expectation of success).
Sato in view of Aoki and Hada’587 does not explicitly disclose wherein a coordinate changer that changes coordinates of the first virtual image within a displayable range of the first virtual image, based on the first display position and the second display position that have been adjusted.
However, Lawrence teaches the similar first and second displays and a coordinate configuration system (Lawrence, figs. 1-3, first display screen 110, second display screen 120, and coordinate configuration process 300, corresponding to similar first and second display structures and a coordinate configuration system), and further teaches wherein
a coordinate changer (Lawrence, figs. 3-4, coordinate configuration operations 304 and 410, corresponding to a similar coordinate-changing component) that changes coordinates (Lawrence, fig. 4, operation 410, configuring the coordinate system of the secondary screen, corresponding to a similar coordinate-changing function) based on the first display position and the second display position that have been adjusted (Lawrence, fig. 6, operations 604 and 606, detecting a changed relative position of the display screens and updating their coordinate configuration, corresponding to a similar relative-position-dependent coordinate adjustment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki and Hada’587 by incorporating the known relative-position-dependent coordinate adjustment technique taught by Lawrence, so that the coordinate configuration of a displayed image would be updated in response to changes in the relative positions of displayed images, in order to maintain their intended positional relationship and reduce display misalignment (Hada’587, para. [0007]; Lawrence, figs. 3–4 and 6), with a reasonable expectation of success. Such a modification would have involved applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, consistent with MPEP §2143(I)(D).
Regarding claim 7, Sato in view of Aoki, Hada and Lawrence discloses the invention as described in Claim 6, Sato further teaches wherein the first display device includes a first reflector (fig. 1, head-up display device 5 including reflector 9, corresponding to the claimed first reflector) that reflects video light for forming the first virtual image (fig. 1, reflector 9 reflecting image light from display panel 8 to form virtual image 4; paras. [0016]-[0017]), the second display device includes a second reflector (fig. 1, meter display device 3 including half-mirror 26, corresponding to the claimed second reflector) that reflects video light for forming the second virtual image (fig. 1, half-mirror 26 reflecting image light from display panel 7 to form virtual image 21; para. [0020]).
Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the first position adjuster adjusts at least one of an orientation or a position of the first reflector to adjust the first display position of the first virtual image, and the second position adjuster adjusts at least one of an orientation or a position of the second reflector to adjust the second display position of the second virtual image.
However, Aoki teaches the similar optical reflector adjustment system (figs. 6-8, mirror 13a, half-mirror 13b, rotating shafts 13a2 and 13b2, and sliding mechanisms; paras. [0095]-[0101]), and further teaches wherein
the first position adjuster (figs. 6-7, rotating shaft 13a2, sliding piece 13a3, guiding groove 15a, and sliding shaft 15b; paras. [0096]-[0097]) adjusts at least one of an orientation or a position of the first reflector (fig. 7, mirror 13a rotating and moving; para. [0097]) to adjust the first display position of the first virtual image (figs. 7-8, adjustment of reflected-light direction and virtual-image position; para. [0101]), and
the second position adjuster (figs. 6-7, rotating shaft 13b2 and associated sliding mechanism; paras. [0098]-[0100]) adjusts at least one of an orientation or a position of the second reflector (fig. 7, half-mirror 13b rotating and moving; paras. [0099]-[0100]) to adjust the second display position of the second virtual image (figs. 7-8, adjustment of reflected-light direction and virtual-image position; para. [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato to provide adjustable-reflector mechanisms for the first and second display devices as taught by Aoki, in order to adjust the respective virtual-image positions while maintaining their intended positional relationship (Aoki, paras. [0095]-[0102]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki et al. (US20030016451), Hada et al. (US20190244587, hereafter Hada’587) and Lawrence (US20220147302), and further in view of Ono et al. (US20210271076).
Regarding claim 8, Sato in view of Aoki, Hada’587 and Lawrence discloses the invention as described in Claim 6, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein comprising:
a head imager that captures an image of a head of the user;
an estimator that estimates a viewpoint position of the user, based on the image captured by the head imager; and
an adjustment controller that controls the first position adjuster and the second position adjuster, based on the viewpoint position of the user estimated.
However, Ono teaches the similar head-up display system (Ono, figs. 1 and 4, paras. [0048]-[0051], HUD 1 including camera 70, viewpoint detection device 700, HUD controller 20, and mirror adjustment unit 28, corresponding to the similar display system), and further teaches
wherein comprising: a head imager (Ono, figs. 3-4, paras. [0042], [0049], camera 70, corresponding to the claimed head imager) that captures an image of a head of the user (Ono, fig. 3, paras. [0042], [0071], camera 70 capturing an image including the face and eyes of driver 5, corresponding to the claimed image of a head of the user);
an estimator (Ono, fig. 4, paras. [0049], [0072]-[0074], second ECU 701 of viewpoint detection device 700, corresponding to the claimed estimator) that estimates a viewpoint position of the user (Ono, figs. 9 and 10A, paras. [0072]-[0074], second ECU 701 determining viewpoint coordinates of driver 5, corresponding to the claimed estimation of a viewpoint position of the user), based on the image captured by the head imager (Ono, figs. 3-4, paras. [0042], [0072]-[0074], viewpoint coordinates obtained from the face image captured by camera 70, corresponding to the claimed estimation based on the image captured by the head imager); and
an adjustment controller (Ono, fig. 4, paras. [0048], [0068], HUD controller 20 including first ECU 21 and mirror adjustment unit 28, corresponding to the similar adjustment controller) that controls the first position adjuster and the second position adjuster (Ono, figs. 4-6, paras. [0051], [0068], HUD controller 20 controlling mirror adjustment unit 28 to adjust the display position of virtual image 100, corresponding to similar control of a virtual-image position adjuster), based on the viewpoint position of the user estimated (Ono, figs. 5-6, paras. [0051], [0068], adjustment of concave mirror 43 based on the detected viewpoint and viewpoint movement amount of driver 5, corresponding to the claimed viewpoint-based adjustment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hada, and Lawrence with the teachings of Ono to have a head imager that captures an image of a head of the user; an estimator that estimates a viewpoint position of the user, based on the image captured by the head imager; and an adjustment controller that controls the first position adjuster and the second position adjuster, based on the viewpoint position of the user estimated, by incorporating a camera-based viewpoint detection arrangement and configuring the adjustment controller to apply the detected viewpoint position to both virtual-image position adjusters, in order to adjust the respective virtual-image display positions in accordance with movement of the user's viewpoint and maintain visibility of the displayed virtual images (Ono, paras. [0051], [0068], [0072]-[0076]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), further in view of Hata et al. (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka et al. (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki et al. (US20190080496).
Regarding claim 9, Sato in view of Aoki discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Sato further teaches wherein comprising:
a first imager (Sato, fig. 8, para. [0038], front camera 93b, corresponding to the claimed first imager) that captures images of surroundings of the vehicle (Sato, fig. 8, para. [0038], front camera 93b obtaining information concerning the area ahead of the vehicle, corresponding to the claimed imaging of vehicle surroundings); and
a controller (Sato, fig. 8, paras. [0036]-[0038], display control device 92, corresponding to the claimed controller) that controls the first display device (Sato, fig. 8, paras. [0036]-[0038], display control device 92 controlling HUD device 5, corresponding to the claimed first display device), the second display device (Sato, fig. 8, paras. [0036]-[0038], display control device 92 controlling meter display device 3, corresponding to the claimed second display device).
Sato in view of Aoki does not explicitly disclose wherein when the controller causes each of the first display device and the second display device to display notification information to be provided to the user, the controller adjusts, between the first display device and the second display device, at least one of luminance, a size, or chromaticity of the notification information to be displayed together with vehicle surrounding information obtained from the first imager.
However, Hata teaches the similar display system including first and second display devices and a controller (Hata, figs. 1-2, paras. [0011]-[0013], display system 10, upper HUD 20, lower HUD 30, and main control unit 40, corresponding to the similar claimed display system, first display device, second display device, and controller), and further teaches
wherein when the controller causes each of the first display device and the second display device to display notification information to be provided to the user (Hata, fig. 6, para. [0044], main control unit 40 causing upper HUD 20 and lower HUD 30 to display warning marks as upper HUD image 28 and lower HUD image 39, corresponding to the claimed display of notification information), the controller adjusts (Hata, fig. 5, paras. [0041]-[0048], main control unit 40 executing luminance control, corresponding to the claimed controller adjustment), between the first display device and the second display device (Hata, figs. 7-11, paras. [0045]-[0056], coordinated adjustment of upper HUD 20 and lower HUD 30, corresponding to the claimed adjustment between the first and second display devices), at least one of luminance, a size, or chromaticity of the notification information (Hata, figs. 7-11, paras. [0045]-[0056], adjustment of upper HUD luminance B1, lower HUD luminance B2, and inter-display luminance difference, corresponding to the claimed adjustment of luminance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki to adjust the luminance of notification information between the first display device and the second display device as taught by Hata, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the visibility of warning information and reduce visual discomfort caused by differences between the displayed images (Hata, paras. [0044]-[0048], [0056]).
However, Sato in view of Aoki and Hata does not explicitly disclose wherein the notification information to be displayed together with vehicle surrounding information obtained from the first imager, or camera-based adjustment of display luminance.
However, Ishizuka teaches the similar vehicle imaging and display control system (Ishizuka, figs. 1-2 and 4A-6, rear side cameras 12, monitors 16, control devices 18, and surroundings condition monitoring device 24, corresponding to similar vehicle imagers, displays, controllers, and warning-information display arrangements), and further teaches
wherein the notification information (Ishizuka, figs. 4B-6, warning image B, corresponding to the claimed notification information) to be displayed together with vehicle surrounding information (Ishizuka, figs. 4B-6, warning image B displayed in association with captured vehicle-surrounding images, corresponding to the claimed combined presentation of notification and surrounding information) obtained from the first imager (Ishizuka, figs. 1-2, rear side cameras 12, corresponding to the claimed first imager).
Ishizuka further teaches adjusting display luminance (Ishizuka, figs. 8-9, paras. [0068]-[0083], surroundings cameras 14, control device 18, and adjustment of monitor luminance based on brightness extracted from captured images, corresponding to camera-based display luminance adjustment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki and Hata to display notification information together with vehicle surrounding information obtained from the first imager and to use camera-derived brightness information when adjusting the luminance of the displayed notification information as taught by Ishizuka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve the visibility of warning information presented together with vehicle-surrounding images under changing surrounding-light conditions (Ishizuka, paras. [0068]-[0083]).
However, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, and Ishizuka does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller controls the first imager.
However, Wakatsuki teaches the similar vehicle display system including an imager and a controller (Wakatsuki, figs. 1-2, paras. [0026]-[0035], vehicle display device 1, vehicle front side camera 2, controller 13, and image display unit 11, corresponding to similar vehicle imager, controller, and display elements), and further teaches
wherein a first imager (Wakatsuki, fig. 2, para. [0027], vehicle front side camera 2, corresponding to the claimed first imager) that captures images of surroundings of the vehicle (Wakatsuki, fig. 2, paras. [0027], [0031], front area images 20 captured by vehicle front side camera 2, corresponding to the claimed capture of vehicle surroundings), and a controller (Wakatsuki, fig. 2, para. [0035], controller 13, corresponding to the claimed controller) that controls (Wakatsuki, para. [0035], controller 13 controlling vehicle front side camera 2, corresponding to the claimed control relationship) the first imager (Wakatsuki, fig. 2, para. [0035], vehicle front side camera 2, corresponding to the claimed first imager).
Wakatsuki further teaches displaying notification information (Wakatsuki, figs. 7-8, paras. [0033], [0039]-[0041], information image 50a including route guidance, corresponding to the claimed notification information) together with vehicle surrounding information obtained from the first imager (Wakatsuki, figs. 3 and 8, paras. [0031], [0033]-[0042], information image 50a displayed in spatial correspondence with road white lines 21a and 21b detected from front area images 20 captured by vehicle front side camera 2, corresponding to the claimed camera-derived surrounding information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, and Ishizuka to configure the controller to control the first imager as taught by Wakatsuki, in order to coordinate acquisition of vehicle-surrounding images with the generation and display of notification information based on the detected road environment, thereby improving the driver's ability to recognize route guidance information (Wakatsuki, paras. [0033]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 18, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller causes the second display device to display video captured by the first imager.
However, Ishizuka teaches the similar vehicle imaging and display system (Ishizuka, figs. 1-2, cameras 12, monitors 16, and control devices 18, corresponding to similar vehicle imaging, display, and control components), and further teaches wherein the controller (Ishizuka, figs. 1-2, control device 18, corresponding to the claimed controller) causes the second display device (Ishizuka, figs. 1-2, monitor 16 receiving and displaying images under control of control device 18, corresponding to the similar second display device) to display video captured by the first imager (Ishizuka, figs. 1-2 and 6, captured images from camera 12 displayed on monitor 16, corresponding to the claimed display of video captured by the first imager).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato to cause the second display device to display video captured by the first imager as taught by Ishizuka, in order to provide the driver with additional visual information concerning the surroundings of the vehicle, thereby improving the driver's ability to recognize surrounding objects and potential hazards (Ishizuka, paras. [0068]-[0083]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), Hata et al. (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka et al. (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki et al. (US20190080496), and further in view of Kusafuka et al. (US20190004313).
Regarding claim 10, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, and Sato further teaches wherein the first imager captures the images of an area ahead of the vehicle (Sato, fig. 8, para. [0038], front camera 93b, corresponding to the claimed first imager capturing images of an area ahead of the vehicle).
However, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller calculates luminance of the first virtual image in a state of being overlaid on a background, based on the vehicle surrounding information, and adjusts the luminance of the notification information between the first display device and the second display device, based on a calculation result.
However, Kusafuka teaches the similar vehicle head-up display system (Kusafuka, fig. 1, paras. [0014]-[0017], HUD apparatus 1, display 10, controller 20, luminance acquisition unit 50, and virtual image Z, corresponding to similar vehicle display and control components), and further teaches
wherein the controller calculates luminance of the first virtual image in a state of being overlaid on a background (see Kusafuka, fig. 4, steps S1-S2, paras. [0034]-[0037], controller 20 calculating luminance Y3 of a composite display surface combining virtual image Z and background α, corresponding to the claimed luminance calculation in an overlaid state), based on the vehicle surrounding information (Kusafuka, fig. 1, paras. [0021]-[0023], [0034], luminance acquisition unit 50 obtaining background luminance from imaging information and providing it to controller 20, corresponding to the claimed vehicle surrounding information), and adjusts the luminance of the notification information (Kusafuka, figs. 3–4, paras. [0031], [0041]-[0042], controller 20 correcting the luminance of displayed information based on the calculated color difference, corresponding to similar luminance adjustment of notification information), based on a calculation result (Kusafuka, fig. 4, steps S2-S5, paras. [0035]-[0042], correcting display luminance using calculated composite display characteristics).
Kusafuka does not expressly disclose performing the adjustment between the first display device and the second display device. However, the primary combination provides the first and second display devices, and Kusafuka provides a background-dependent composite-luminance calculation and adjustment technique applicable to the displayed information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki to have the controller calculate luminance of the first virtual image in a state of being overlaid on a background, based on the vehicle surrounding information, and adjust the luminance of the notification information between the first display device and the second display device, based on a calculation result, by incorporating the composite-luminance calculation and correction technique taught by Kusafuka, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to account for the luminance contribution of the background and improve visibility of the notification information under changing surrounding illumination conditions (Kusafuka, paras. [0032]–[0046]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), Hata et al. (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka et al. (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki et al. (US20190080496), and further in view of Umezawa (US20200039438).
Regarding claim 11, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller adjusts the luminance of the notification information between the first display device and the second display device to cause the luminance of the notification information in the first virtual image and the luminance of the notification information in the second virtual image to be approximately same.
However, Umezawa teaches the similar vehicle display system (Umezawa, figs. 1A–1B, paras. [0014]-[0016], HUD device 100, HUD control unit 190, first virtual image V1, and second virtual image V2, corresponding to similar vehicle display, controller, and virtual-image components), and further teaches wherein the controller adjusts the luminance of the notification information (Umezawa, figs. 1B-3, paras. [0037]-[0040], HUD control unit 190 including luminance adjustment unit 192b adjusting luminance G1 and G2 of virtual images V1 and V2, corresponding to the claimed luminance adjustment) between the first display device and the second display device (Umezawa, figs. 1A-1B, first and second virtual images V1 and V2, corresponding to similar displayed virtual images) to cause the luminance of the notification information in the first virtual image and the luminance of the notification information in the second virtual image to be approximately same (Umezawa, fig. 2, paras. [0048], [0050], HUD control unit 190 setting luminance difference X to zero when light control value I2 is equal to or less than set value A, thereby setting luminance G1 and G2 identical).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki of display to adjust the luminance of the notification information between the first display device and the second display device to cause the luminance of the notification information in the first virtual image and the luminance of the notification information in the second virtual image to be approximately same as taught by Umezawa, in order to suppress undesirable illumination of the background under low ambient-light conditions and improve driving visibility (Umezawa, fig. 2, paras. [0050]-[0052]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), Hata et al. (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka et al. (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki et al. (US20190080496), and further in view of Kusafuka et al. (US20190004313) and Kusafuka et al. (US20230026137, hereafter Kusafuka '137).
Regarding claim 12, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, and Sato further teaches wherein the first imager captures the images of an area ahead of the vehicle (Sato, fig. 8, para. [0038], front camera 93b capturing images of an area ahead of the vehicle, corresponding to the claimed first imager and image-capturing function).
But Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller calculates chromaticity of the first virtual image in a state of being overlaid on a background, based on the vehicle surrounding information, and adjusts, between the first display device and the second display device, the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image and the chromaticity of the notification information in the second virtual image to be approximately same, based on a calculation result.
However, Kusafuka teaches the similar vehicle head-up display system including a controller, a virtual image, and background chromaticity information (Kusafuka, fig. 1, paras. [0014]-[0023], HUD apparatus 1 including display 10, controller 20, projection optical system 30, chromaticity acquisition unit 40, and virtual image Z visually superimposed on background α, corresponding to the similar vehicle display system including a controller, a virtual image, and background chromaticity information), and further teaches wherein the controller (Kusafuka, fig. 1, paras. [0014], [0017], controller 20, corresponding to the claimed controller) calculates chromaticity of the first virtual image (Kusafuka, fig. 4, para. [0036], step S2, controller 20 calculating chromaticity of the composite display surface, corresponding to the similar calculation of chromaticity of the first virtual image) in a state of being overlaid on a background (Kusafuka, figs. 1 and 3, paras. [0015], [0021]-[0023], virtual image Z visually superimposed on background α, corresponding to the claimed overlaid state), based on the vehicle surrounding information (Kusafuka, figs. 1 and 4, paras. [0021]-[0023], [0034]-[0036], chromaticity acquisition unit 40 acquiring background chromaticity information and controller 20 using the acquired information to calculate composite-display chromaticity, corresponding to the claimed vehicle surrounding information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki with the teachings of Kusafuka to have the controller calculates chromaticity of the first virtual image in a state of being overlaid on a background, based on the vehicle surrounding information, by incorporating background-chromaticity acquisition and composite-display chromaticity calculation into the controller, in order to account for background chromaticity when controlling the virtual image and improve the visibility of displayed information (Kusafuka, paras. [0034]-[0043]).
However, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, Wakatsuki, and Kusafuka does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller adjusts, between the first display device and the second display device, the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image and the chromaticity of the notification information in the second virtual image to be approximately same, based on a calculation result.
However, Kusafuka '137 teaches the similar head-up display system including first and second display devices, a controller, and first and second virtual images (Kusafuka '137, figs. 1, 9, and 12, paras. [0025]-[0036], first projection module 2, second projection module 3, controller 5, first image 51, and second image 52, corresponding to the similar head-up display system including first and second display devices, a controller, and first and second virtual images), and further teaches wherein the controller (Kusafuka '137, fig. 1, paras. [0025]-[0026], controller 5, corresponding to the claimed controller) adjusts, between the first display device (Kusafuka '137, figs. 1 and 9, paras. [0029]-[0033], first projection module 2, corresponding to the similar first display device) and the second display device (Kusafuka '137, figs. 1 and 9, paras. [0034]-[0036], second projection module 3, corresponding to the similar second display device), the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image (Kusafuka '137, figs. 11-12, paras. [0086]-[0089], first image 51 including a portion of display item 56 and its color reproduction characteristics, corresponding to the similar chromaticity of notification information in the first virtual image) and the chromaticity of the notification information in the second virtual image (Kusafuka '137, figs. 11-12, paras. [0086]-[0089], second image 52 including another portion of display item 56 and its color reproduction characteristics, corresponding to the similar chromaticity of notification information in the second virtual image) to be approximately same (Kusafuka '137, figs. 11-12, paras. [0086]-[0089], adjustment of color reproduction areas to reduce differences in the displayed color of display item 56 across boundary 55, corresponding to the similar chromaticity-matching function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, Wakatsuki, and Kusafuka with the teachings of Kusafuka '137 to have the controller adjusts, between the first display device and the second display device, the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image and the chromaticity of the notification information in the second virtual image to be approximately same, based on a calculation result, by applying the inter-display color-matching technique of Kusafuka '137 to the background-dependent chromaticity calculation and correction technique of Kusafuka, in order to reduce differences in the perceived color of notification information displayed in the first and second virtual images while accounting for the background over which the first virtual image is displayed (Kusafuka, paras. [0034]-[0043]; Kusafuka '137, paras. [0086]-[0089]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), Hata (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki (US20190080496), and further in view of Kusafuka et al. (US20230026137, hereafter Kusafuka '137).
Regarding claim 13, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein the controller adjusts the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image, with the chromaticity of the notification information in the second virtual image kept constant.
However, Kusafuka '137 teaches the similar head-up display system (Kusafuka '137, figs. 1 and 9-12, first projection module 2, second projection module 3, controller 5, first image 51, and second image 52, corresponding to similar first and second display devices, controller, and first and second virtual images), and further teaches
wherein the controller adjusts the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image (Kusafuka '137, figs. 11-12, paras. [0086]-[0089], controller 5 adjusting the first color reproduction area 61 of first image 51 to match the second color reproduction area 62 of second image 52, corresponding to similar chromaticity adjustment of notification information in the first virtual image).
Kusafuka '137 further teaches using the second image as a color-matching reference when adjusting the first image (Kusafuka '137, fig. 11, para. [0089], first color reproduction area 61 adjusted to match second color reproduction area 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki to adjust the chromaticity of the notification information in the first virtual image, with the chromaticity of the notification information in the second virtual image kept constant, with a reasonable expectation of success, by adjusting the first virtual image to match the second virtual image while using the second virtual image as an unchanged color reference as taught by Kusafuka '137, in order to avoid a visible color difference between notification information displayed in the first and second virtual images without requiring adjustment of the second virtual image (Kusafuka '137, figs. 11-12, paras. [0086]-[0089]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), Hata et al. (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka et al. (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki et al. (US20190080496), and further in view of Satoh (US20120113261).
Regarding claim 19 Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein comprising:
a side imager that captures video of surroundings of a lateral side of the vehicle,
wherein the controller causes the second display device to display a pseudo image overlaid on the video captured by the side imager, the pseudo image being an image that mimics an interior of the vehicle as a blind spot of the user.
However, Satoh teaches the similar vehicle display system (Satoh, fig. 1, paras. [0047]-[0053], see-through side view monitor system A1 including side camera 1, external monitor 2, and image processing control unit 3, corresponding to the similar vehicle display system), and further teaches wherein comprising:
a side imager (Satoh, fig. 1, para. [0049], side camera 1, corresponding to the claimed side imager) that captures video of surroundings of a lateral side of the vehicle (Satoh, fig. 1, para. [0049], side camera 1 capturing images of the front lateral area of the vehicle, corresponding to the claimed lateral-side video capture);
wherein the controller (Satoh, fig. 1, paras. [0053], [0058], image processing control unit 3 including control unit 35, corresponding to the claimed controller) causes the second display device (Satoh, fig. 1, paras. [0050]-[0051], external monitor 2 receiving monitor image signals generated by image processing control unit 3, corresponding to the claimed second display device) to display a pseudo image (Satoh, figs. 3-2 to 3-5, paras. [0057], [0059], semi-transparent vehicle cabin image formed by vehicle body image formation unit 34, corresponding to the claimed pseudo image) overlaid on the video captured by the side imager (Satoh, figs. 3-1 to 3-5, paras. [0056], [0059]-[0060], image composition device 36 superimposing semi-transparent vehicle cabin image data onto external point-of-view converted image data obtained from side camera 1, corresponding to the claimed overlay relationship), the pseudo image being an image that mimics an interior of the vehicle as a blind spot of the user (Satoh, figs. 3-2 to 3-5, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0057], semi-transparent vehicle cabin image viewed from the driver's point of view and superimposed on the blind-spot image, corresponding to the claimed pseudo image mimicking the vehicle interior in relation to the driver's blind spot).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato to include a side imager that captures video of surroundings of a lateral side of the vehicle and to cause the second display device to display a pseudo image overlaid on the video captured by the side imager, the pseudo image being an image that mimics an interior of the vehicle as a blind spot of the user as taught by Satoh, in order to provide the driver with an intuitive representation of the vehicle-side surroundings and facilitate recognition of the blind-spot image, thereby improving driving safety (Satoh, paras. [0013], [0018]-[0019], [0056]-[0060]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP2017210233, English translation attached) in view of Aoki (US20030016451), Hata et al. (JP2023147782, English translation attached), Ishizuka et al. (US20160297363), and Wakatsuki et al. (US20190080496), and further in view of Ichinokawa (US20200080863).
Regarding claim 20, Sato in view of Aoki, Hata, Ishizuka, and Wakatsuki discloses the invention as described in Claim 9, but Sato does not explicitly disclose wherein comprising: a generator that generates a sound or a vibration, wherein the controller causes the generator to generate the sound or the vibration, based on a display timing of the notification information.
However, Ichinokawa teaches the similar vehicle notification and display system (Ichinokawa, figs. 1-3, HMI 80, HUD 82, meter display unit 84, speaker 86, vibrator 88, and HMI control unit 150, corresponding to similar vehicle display, notification, and control components), and further teaches
wherein comprising: a generator (Ichinokawa, figs. 1-2, speaker 86 and vibrator 88, corresponding to the claimed generator) that generates a sound or a vibration (Ichinokawa, figs. 1-2, speaker 86 outputting voice and vibrator 88 producing vibration, corresponding to the claimed sound or vibration),
wherein the controller (Ichinokawa, fig. 3, HMI control unit 150 including notification mode control unit 153 and notification information generation unit 155, corresponding to the claimed controller) causes the generator to generate the sound or the vibration (Ichinokawa, fig. 3, para. [0055], notification information generation unit 155 causing speaker 86 to output voice or vibrator 88 to vibrate, corresponding to the claimed generator control), based on a display timing of the notification information (Ichinokawa, figs. 4-5, paras. [0054]-[0055], [0060]-[0063], notification mode control unit 153 establishing notification start times and notification modes for HUD 82, speaker 86, and vibrator 88, corresponding to coordinated timing of visual, audible, and tactile notification).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Sato to include a generator that generates a sound or a vibration and to cause the generator to generate the sound or the vibration based on a display timing of the notification information as taught by Ichinokawa, in order to coordinate visual notification with audible or tactile notification at an appropriate notification timing, thereby improving the driver's recognition of lane-change guidance information (Ichinokawa, paras. [0054]-[0055], [0060]-[0063]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claim, in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 or §103 would be proper.
Specifically, with respect to claim 14, although the prior art teaches wherein the controller causes the notification information to be displayed, based on a display reference point that is set inside a first display area of the first display device, when a target object for which the notification information is provided is present inside the first display area, the controller sets the target object as the display reference point, but none of the prior art either alone or in combination disclose or teach an apparatus including, as the distinguishing feature(s) in combination with the other limitations, wherein “when the target object for which the notification information is provided is present outside the first display area, the controller sets the display reference point on a center line in a width direction of the first display area”.
Claims 15-17 are also would be allowable due to their dependence on claim 14.
Conclusion
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872