DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
(1) In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121 (b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131 (b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
(2) Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In Abstract, “Various embodiments provide”, “In accordance with one embodiment” should be removed.
Double Patenting
*** Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11797528. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 11797528 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 11797528 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 11797528
Instant Application
1. A method comprising: receiving, by computing hardware, a request to identify targeted data for a data subject; determining, by the computing hardware accessing metadata for a data source, that a first targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, wherein the first targeted data type is associated with a data portion from the request the metadata comprising data types corresponding to one or more data objects in the data source and a set of known queryable data types for the data source; identifying, by the computing hardware and based on the first targeted data type, a first data object from a plurality of data objects using the metadata for the data source, wherein each data object of the plurality of data objects is used in storing data for the data source and the metadata identifies the first data object as associated with the first targeted data type; identifying, by the computing hardware, a first data field from a first graph data structure of the first data object by using the first targeted data type as a start node to traverse the first graph data structure, wherein the first graph data structure provides a graphical representation mapping a first plurality of targeted data types for the targeted data to a first plurality of data fields used for storing first portions of the data having the first plurality of targeted data types in the first data object, the first plurality of targeted data types comprises the first targeted data type, and the first graph data structure identifies that the first data field from the first plurality of data fields is used for storing a first particular portion of the first portions of the data having the first targeted data type; querying, by the computing hardware, the first data object based on the first data field and the first particular portion for the first targeted data type to identify a first targeted data portion for the data subject; determining, by the computing hardware traversing the first graph data structure from the start node associated with the first targeted data type to a second node and a third node of the first graph data structure, that the first targeted data portion is associated with a second targeted data type corresponding to the second node and a third targeted data type corresponding to the third node; determining, by the computing hardware accessing the metadata for the data source and traversing one or more graph data structures associated with the data source comprising the first graph data structure, that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; identifying, by the computing hardware and based on the second targeted data type and not on the third targeted data type, a second data object from the plurality of data objects using the metadata for the data source, wherein the metadata identifies the second data object as associated with the second targeted data type; identifying, by the computing hardware, a second data field from a second graph data structure of the second data object by using the second targeted data type as a start node to traverse the second graph data structure, wherein the second graph data structure provides a graphical representation mapping a second plurality of targeted data types to a second plurality of data fields used for storing second portions of the data having the second plurality of targeted data types in the second data object, the second plurality of targeted data types comprises the second targeted data type, and the second graph data structure identifies that the second data field from the second plurality of data fields is used for storing a second particular portion of the second portions of the data having the second targeted data type; querying, by the computing hardware, the second data object based on the second data field and the first targeted data portion associated with the second targeted data type to identify a second targeted data portion for the data subject; and performing a targeted data action based on the first targeted data portion or the second targeted data portion.
1. A method comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject; determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type; determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type; determining, based on a second graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type; based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject; based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject.
3. The method of claim 1 further comprising generating, by the computing hardware, the metadata for the data source, wherein generating the metadata comprises: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types including the first plurality of targeted data types and the second plurality of targeted data types; performing a determination that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and modifying, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source and exclude the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining that the first data source is not queryable utilizing the first data type.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the targeted data action comprises at least one of generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises a storage location for each of the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion, providing the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion for display on a graphical user interface to a user who submitted the request for the targeted data, or removing the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion from the data source.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises storage locations for the targeted data; providing the targeted data for display on a graphical user interface of a client device that submitted the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject; or removing the targeted data from the first data source.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein scanning the data source to identify the plurality of targeted data types found in the data source comprises: identifying a plurality of data fields used for storing the targeted data in the plurality of data objects for the data source; processing combinations of data fields of the plurality of data fields using a machine learning model to generate an indication that each combination of the combinations of data fields is used for storing data associated with a common targeted data type; and identifying the plurality of targeted data types based on the plurality of data fields and the indication for each combination of the combinations of data fields.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining, based on the first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that the first data source stores data of the second data type comprises utilizing a machine learning model to process features of data fields of the first data source to generate a prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type.
8. A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions; and a processing device communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein, the processing device is configured to execute the instructions and thereby perform operations comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, wherein the request comprises a data portion associated with a first targeted data type; and responsive to receiving the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject: determining, by accessing metadata for a data source, that the first targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, the metadata comprising data types corresponding to one or more data objects in the data source and a set of known queryable data types for the data source; identifying, based on the first targeted data type, a first data object from a plurality of data objects using the metadata for the data source, wherein each data object of the plurality of data objects is used in storing data for the data source and the metadata identifies the first data object as associated with the first targeted data type; identifying a first data field from a first graph data structure of the first data object by using the first targeted data type as a start node to traverse the first graph data structure, wherein the first graph data structure provides a graphical representation mapping a first plurality of targeted data types for the targeted data to a first plurality of data fields used for storing first portions of the data having the first plurality of targeted data types in the first data object, the first plurality of targeted data types comprises the first targeted data type, and the first graph data structure identifies that the first data field from the first plurality of data fields is used for storing a first particular portion of the first portions of the data in the first data object associated with the first targeted data type; identifying a first targeted data portion stored in the first data object based on the first data field and the first particular portion for the first targeted data type; determining, by traversing the first graph data structure from the start node associated with the first targeted data type to a second node and a third node of the first graph data structure that the first targeted data portion is associated with a second targeted data type corresponding to the second node and a third targeted data type corresponding to the third node; determining, by accessing the metadata for the data source and traversing one or more graph data structures associated with the data source comprising the first graph data structure, that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; identifying, based on the second targeted data type and not on the third targeted data type, a second data object from the plurality of data objects using the metadata for the data source, wherein the metadata identifies the second data object as associated with the second targeted data type; identifying a second data field from a second graph data structure of the second data object by using the second targeted data type as a start node to traverse the second graph data structure, wherein the second graph data structure provides a graphical representation mapping a second plurality of targeted data types for the targeted data to a second plurality of data fields used for storing second portions of the data having the second plurality of targeted data types in the second data object, the second plurality of targeted data types comprises the second targeted data type, and the second graph data structure identifies that the second data field from the second plurality of data fields is used for storing a second particular portion of the second portions of the data in the second data object associated with the second targeted data type; identifying a second targeted data portion based on the second data field and the first targeted data portion; and causing performance of a targeted data action based on at least one of the first targeted data portion or the second targeted data portion.
8. A system comprising: one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions; and processing hardware configured to cause execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject; determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type; determining, by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type; determining, by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type; based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject; based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types including the first plurality of targeted data types and the second plurality of targeted data types; performing a determination that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and modifying, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source and exclude the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise generating metadata for the first data source by: determining that the third data type is eligible to query the first data source in response to scanning a plurality of data types comprising the first data type, the second data type, and the third data type in the first data source; and generating the metadata of the first data source to include the third data type within a set of known queryable data types for the first data source.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types including the first plurality of targeted data types and the second plurality of targeted data types; performing a determination that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and modifying, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source and exclude the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the first data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the first data source; and excluding the first data type from the set of known queryable data types for the first data source from the metadata.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types including the first plurality of targeted data types and the second plurality of targeted data types; performing a determination that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and modifying, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source and exclude the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the set of known queryable data types from the metadata of the first data source does includes a third data type; and in response to determining that the third data type is eligible to query the first data source, modifying the metadata to include the third data type in the set of known queryable data types.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types including the first plurality of targeted data types and the second plurality of targeted data types; performing a determination that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and modifying, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source and exclude the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
12. The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that a new field corresponding to an additional data type is added to a first graph data structure for the first data source after generation of the metadata for the first data source; determining that the additional data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the first data source in response to detecting the additional data type in an additional graph data structure of an additional data object in the first data source; and modifying the metadata of the first data source to include the additional data type within the set of known queryable data types for the first data source.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code that is stored thereon, the program code executable by one or more processing devices for performing operations comprising: determining, by accessing metadata for a data source, that a first targeted data type is eligible for querying targeted data from the data source, wherein the first targeted data type is associated with a data portion received in a request to identify the targeted data for a data subject, the metadata comprising data types corresponding to one or more data objects in the data source and a set of known queryable data types for the data source; identifying, based on the first targeted data type, a first data object from a plurality of data objects for the data source, wherein each data object of the plurality of data objects is used in storing data for the data source and the first data object is associated with the first targeted data type; identifying a first data field from a first graph data structure of the first data object by using the first targeted data type as a start node to traverse the first graph data structure, wherein the first graph data structure provides a graphical representation mapping a first plurality of targeted data types for the targeted data to a first plurality of data fields used for storing first portions of the data having the first plurality of targeted data types in the first data object, the first plurality of targeted data types comprises the first targeted data type, and the first graph data structure identifies that the first data field from the first plurality of data fields is used for storing a first particular portion of the first portions of the data in the first data object associated with the first targeted data type; identifying, based on the first data field, a first targeted data portion stored in the first data object; determining, by traversing the first graph data structure from the start node associated with the first targeted data type to a second node and a third node of the first graph data structure, the first targeted data portion is associated with a second targeted data type corresponding to the second node and a third targeted data type corresponding to the third node; determining, by accessing the metadata for the data source and traversing one or more graph data structures associated with the data source comprising the first graph data structure, that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source and the third targeted data type is not eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; identifying, based on the second targeted data type and not on the third targeted data type, a second data object from the plurality of data objects for the data source, wherein the second data object is associated with the second targeted data type; identifying a second data field from a second graph data structure of the second data object by using the second targeted data type as a start node to traverse the second graph data structure, wherein the second graph data structure provides a graphical representation mapping a second plurality of targeted data types for the targeted data to a second plurality of data fields used for storing second portions of the data having the second plurality of targeted data types in the second data object, the second plurality of targeted data types comprises the second targeted data type, and the second graph data structure identifies that the second data field from the second plurality of data fields is used for storing a second particular portion of the second portions of the data in the second data object associated with the second targeted data type; identifying, based on the second data field, a second targeted data portion stored in the second data object; and causing performance of a targeted data action based on at least one of the first targeted data portion or the second targeted data portion.
16. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by processing hardware, cause the processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject; determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type; determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type; determining, based on a second graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type; based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject; based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types including the second targeted data type; performing a determination that the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and modifying, based on the determination, the metadata to include the second targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types the data source.
17. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise determining that the first data type is eligible for querying the second data source by: accessing a set of known queryable data types for the second data source from metadata of the second data source; and determining that the set of known queryable data types comprises the first data type.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein scanning the data source to identify the plurality of targeted data types found in the data source is performed by: identifying a plurality of data fields used for storing the targeted data in the plurality of data objects for the data source; processing combinations of data fields of the plurality of data fields using a machine learning model to generate an indication that each combination of the combinations of data fields is used for storing data associated with a common targeted data type; and identifying the plurality of targeted data types based on the plurality of data fields and the indication for each combination of the combinations of data fields.
19. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein determining, by the computing hardware, that the first data source stores data of the second data type comprises utilizing a machine learning model to process features of data fields of the first data source to generate a prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type.
Noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11797528 to arrive at the claims 4-7, 14-15 and 19-20 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
*** Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12353405. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the U.S. Patent No. 12353405 and is covered by the U.S. Patent No. 12353405 and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
U.S. Patent No. 12353405
Instant Application
1. A method comprising: determining, by computing hardware and in response to a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, a first targeted data type associated with a first data object in a data source; generating, by the computing hardware and in response to determining that the first targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source from metadata of the data source, a first query to identify a first targeted data portion for the data subject from the first data object via a first graph data structure representing the first data object; determining, by the computing hardware, a second targeted data type by traversing a plurality of nodes of the first graph data structure from a start node corresponding to the first targeted data type to a second node corresponding to the second targeted data type; determining, by the computing hardware accessing metadata of the data source in response to determining the second targeted data type, that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; generating, by the computing hardware and in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data, a second query to identify a second targeted data portion for the data subject from a second data object in the data source via a second graph data structure representing the second data object, the second data object being associated with the second targeted data type; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action based on the first targeted data portion or the second targeted data portion.
1. A method comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject; determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type; determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type; determining, based on a second graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type; based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject; based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the metadata for the data source by: scanning the data source to identify a plurality of targeted data types found in the data source, the plurality of targeted data types comprising the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type; determining that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type are eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source based on the plurality of targeted data types found in the data source; and generating the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within a set of known queryable data types for the data source.
3. The method of claim 2, further comprising: determining that the plurality of targeted data types comprises a third targeted data type; determining that the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and excluding the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source from the metadata.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining that the first data source is not queryable utilizing the first data type.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises storage locations for the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion; providing the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion for display on a graphical user interface of a client device that submitted the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject; or removing the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion from the data source.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises storage locations for the targeted data; providing the targeted data for display on a graphical user interface of a client device that submitted the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject; or removing the targeted data from the first data source.
10. A system comprising: one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions; and processing hardware configured to cause execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: determining, in response to a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, a first targeted data type associated with a first data object in a data source; determining, by accessing metadata comprising a set of known queryable data types for the data source, that the first targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; generating, in response to determining that the first targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source, a first query to identify a first targeted data portion for the data subject from the first data object via a first graph data structure representing the first data object; determining a second targeted data type by traversing a plurality of nodes of the first graph data structure from a start node corresponding to the first targeted data type to a second node corresponding to the second targeted data type; determining, by accessing the metadata of the data source in response to determining the second targeted data type, that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; generating, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from, a second query to identify a second targeted data portion for the data subject from a second data object in the data source via a second graph data structure representing the second data object, the second data object being associated with the second targeted data type; and performing a targeted data action based on the first targeted data portion or the second targeted data portion.
8. A system comprising: one or more non-transitory computer readable media storing instructions; and processing hardware configured to cause execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject; determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type; determining, by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type; determining, by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type; based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject; based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise generating the metadata for the data source by: determining that the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type are eligible to query the targeted data from the data source in response to scanning a plurality of targeted data types comprising the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type in the data source; and generating the metadata of the data source to include the first targeted data type and the second targeted data type within a set of known queryable data types for the data source.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise generating metadata for the first data source by: determining that the third data type is eligible to query the first data source in response to scanning a plurality of data types comprising the first data type, the second data type, and the third data type in the first data source; and generating the metadata of the first data source to include the third data type within a set of known queryable data types for the first data source.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a third targeted data type by traversing the first graph data structure from the start node to a third node associated with the third targeted data type; determining that the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source; and excluding the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source from the metadata.
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the first data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the first data source; and excluding the first data type from the set of known queryable data types for the first data source from the metadata.
14. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that a new field corresponding to an additional targeted data type is added to the first graph data structure after generation of the metadata for the data source; determining that the additional targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source in response to detecting the additional targeted data type in an additional graph data structure of an additional data object in the data source; and modifying the metadata of the data source to include the additional targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the set of known queryable data types from the metadata of the first data source does includes a third data type; and in response to determining that the third data type is eligible to query the first data source, modifying the metadata to include the third data type in the set of known queryable data types.
14. The system of claim 10, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that a new field corresponding to an additional targeted data type is added to the first graph data structure after generation of the metadata for the data source; determining that the additional targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the data source in response to detecting the additional targeted data type in an additional graph data structure of an additional data object in the data source; and modifying the metadata of the data source to include the additional targeted data type within the set of known queryable data types for the data source.
12. The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that a new field corresponding to an additional data type is added to a first graph data structure for the first data source after generation of the metadata for the first data source; determining that the additional data type is eligible to query the targeted data from the first data source in response to detecting the additional data type in an additional graph data structure of an additional data object in the first data source; and modifying the metadata of the first data source to include the additional data type within the set of known queryable data types for the first data source.
15. The system of claim 10, wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises storage locations for the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion; providing the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion for display on a graphical user interface of a client device that submitted the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject; or removing the first targeted data portion and the second targeted data portion from the data source.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises storage locations for the targeted data; providing the targeted data for display on a graphical user interface of a client device that submitted the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject; or removing the targeted data from the first data source.
17. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by processing hardware, cause the processing hardware to perform operations comprising: generating, in response to determining that a first targeted data type is eligible for querying targeted data from a data source by accessing metadata of the data source, a first query to identify a first targeted data portion for a data subject from a first data object in the data source via a first graph data structure representing the first data object; determining a second targeted data type by traversing a plurality of nodes of the first graph data structure from a start node corresponding to the first targeted data type to a second node corresponding to the second targeted data type; determining, by accessing metadata of the data source in response to determining the second targeted data type, that the second targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source; generating, in response to determining that the second targeted data type is eligible to query the targeted data, a second query to identify a second targeted data portion for the data subject from a second data object in the data source via a second graph data structure representing the second data object, the second data object being associated with the second targeted data type; and performing a targeted data action based on the first targeted data portion or the second targeted data portion.
16. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by processing hardware, cause the processing hardware to perform operations comprising: receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject; determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type; determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type; determining, based on a second graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type; based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject; based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject; and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject.
18. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise determining that the first targeted data type is eligible for querying the targeted data from the data source by: accessing a set of known queryable data types for the data source from the metadata of the data source in response to a request to identify targeted data for a data subject; and determining that the set of known queryable data types comprises the first targeted data type.
17. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise determining that the first data type is eligible for querying the second data source by: accessing a set of known queryable data types for the second data source from metadata of the second data source; and determining that the set of known queryable data types comprises the first data type.
20. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 18, wherein the operations further comprise: determining a third targeted data type by traversing the first graph data structure from the start node to a third node associated with the third targeted data type; and excluding the third targeted data type from the set of known queryable data types for the data source from the metadata in response to determining that the third targeted data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the data source.
18. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the set of known queryable data types from the metadata of the second data source does not include the second data type; and in response to determining that the second data type is ineligible to query the second data source, modifying the metadata to exclude the second data type in the set of known queryable data types.
Noted, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12353405 to arrive at the claims 5-7, 13-15, 18 and 20 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaitheeswaran et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0166573 A1) in view of Atkins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,240,422 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Vaitheeswaran teaches a method comprising:
receiving a request to identify targeted data for a data subject, the request comprising a first data value of a first data type for the data subject (paragraph [0104], paragraph [0030], receiving a search query that includes one or more query terms; each query terms at least partially represents metadata associated with at least one business objects data source of multiple object data sources);
determining, by computing hardware, that the targeted data comprises a second data type (paragraph [0030], [0044], [0058], [0069], for each query term, the business object engine also identifies metadata associated with the identified one or more business object data sources by searching the multiple master tables; the search engine can identify a match for query term by identifying the type of data that the query term represented, the search engine can search index document storage and metadata that satisfies the converted query format, upon identifying columns that match the search query, the search engine can generate a query that includes the identified metadata; also see paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue}).
Vaitheeswaran does not explicitly disclose: determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type.
Atkins teaches: determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type (Fig. 5, col. 9, line 5-55, the next child node to be processed is the List Node object 122 representing the list of Account object 124 maps the number of object contained in the list to the database; the node object 124 provides the functionality to map from and to the number of entries in the list of accounts; the node object 132, 134 provides functionality to map from and to the AccountID attribute in Account objects; the associated database fields object 136, 138 provides the functionality to map to and from the buffer of ACCOUNT_ID_1 respectively ACCOUNT_ID_2 column of the CUSTOMER table; the list node 122 also contains a reference TableManager object 140 for the ACCOUNT_OVERFLOW table, this part of the tree is traversed for any overflow objects that exist in the list of Account objects; in combination with the teaching of data type validation based on relationship between vertex taught by Vaitheswaran (paragraph [0030], [0044], [0058], [0069], for each query term, the business object engine also identifies metadata associated with the identified one or more business object data sources by searching the multiple master tables; the search engine can identify a match for query term by identifying the type of data that the query term represented, the search engine can search index document storage and metadata that satisfies the converted query format, upon identifying columns that match the search query, the search engine can generate a query that includes the identified metadata; also see paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue}), it reads on as claimed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type into data retrieval of Vaitheeswaran.
Motivation to do so would be to include determining, based on a first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a first data source stores data of the second data type and that the first data source is queryable utilizing a third data type to provide an overflow mechanism used to enhance the speed of access (Atkins, col. 1, line 60-67).
Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins further teach: determining, based on a second graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a second data source stores data of the first data type and that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0030], [0044], [0058], [0069], for each query term, the business object engine also identifies metadata associated with the identified one or more business object data sources by searching the multiple master tables; the search engine can identify a match for query term by identifying the type of data that the query term represented, the search engine can search index document storage and metadata that satisfies the converted query format, upon identifying columns that match the search query, the search engine can generate a query that includes the identified metadata; also see paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue});
based on determining that the second data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the second data source utilizing the first data value to retrieve a second data value of the third data type for the data subject (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0073]-[0074], [0078], [0098], line 10-13, matching ‘Sales Revenue’ and ‘Sale Person’ with term ‘sales’, matching ‘store name’ with ‘Store Name’, matching ‘Bangalore’ with column ‘City’, generating tuples as ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name, City’, ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name’, ‘Sales Revenue, City’; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified; the business object data sources can be searched to identify data items that satisfy the tuples); based on determining that the first data source is queryable utilizing the third data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the first data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a third data value of the second data type for the data subject (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], paragraph [0098], line 10-13, generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue}; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified; also see paragraph [0073]-[0074], [0078], [0098], line 10-13, matching ‘Sales Revenue’ and ‘Sale Person’ with term ‘sales’, matching ‘store name’ with ‘Store Name’, matching ‘Bangalore’ with column ‘City’, generating tuples as ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name, City’, ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name’, ‘Sales Revenue, City’; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified; the business object data sources can be searched to identify data items that satisfy the tuples); and performing, by the computing hardware, a targeted data action utilizing the third data value as the targeted data for the data subject (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0084], executing on multiple business objects data sources through the data source connection to fetch data items represented by the tuples).
Regarding claim 2, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach determining that the first data source is not queryable utilizing the first data type (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0085]-[0086], [0098], line 10-13, validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; determining the ‘Review group’ may not have relationship with other, and consequently disregard all tuples containing ‘Review Group’, noted, tuples that are not passed validation check, which are considered “not queryable”; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified).
Regarding claim 3, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: generating a location map for the targeted data that comprises storage locations for the targeted data; providing the targeted data for display on a graphical user interface of a client device that submitted the request to identify the targeted data for the data subject; or removing the targeted data from the first data source (Atkins, Fig. 5, col. 9, line 5-55, the next child node to be processed is the List Node object 122 representing the list of Account object 124 maps the number of object contained in the list to the database; the node object 124 provides the functionality to map from and to the number of entries in the list of accounts; the node object 132, 134 provides functionality to map from and to the AccountID attribute in Account objects; the associated database fields object 136, 138 provides the functionality to map to and from the buffer of ACCOUNT_ID_1 respectively ACCOUNT_ID_2 column of the CUSTOMER table; the list node 122 also contains a reference TableManager object 140 for the ACCOUNT_OVERFLOW table, this part of the tree is traversed for any overflow objects that exist in the list of Account objects).
Regarding claim 6, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach: determining, based on a third graph data structure by the computing hardware, that a third data source stores data of the second data type and that the third data source is queryable utilizing the first data type (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0030], [0044], [0058], [0069], for each query term, the business object engine also identifies metadata associated with the identified one or more business object data sources by searching the multiple master tables; the search engine can identify a match for query term by identifying the type of data that the query term represented, the search engine can search index document storage and metadata that satisfies the converted query format, upon identifying columns that match the search query, the search engine can generate a query that includes the identified metadata; also see paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], [0098], generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue}); determining the ‘Review group’ may not have relationship with other, and consequently disregard all tuples containing ‘Review Group’, noted, tuples that are passed validation check, which are considered “queryable”; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified); and based on determining that the third data source is queryable utilizing the first data type, querying, by the computing hardware, the third data source utilizing the second data value to retrieve a fourth data value of the second data type for the data subject (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0073]-[0074], [0078], [0098], line 10-13, matching ‘Sales Revenue’ and ‘Sale Person’ with term ‘sales’, matching ‘store name’ with ‘Store Name’, matching ‘Bangalore’ with column ‘City’, generating tuples as ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name, City’, ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name’, ‘Sales Revenue, City’; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified; the business object data sources can be searched to identify data items that satisfy the tuples).
Regarding claim 7, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 6, further teach: wherein performing the targeted data action comprises: utilizing the third data value from the first data source and the fourth data value from the third data source as the targeted data for the data subject (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0073]-[0074], [0078], [0098], line 10-13, matching ‘Sales Revenue’ and ‘Sale Person’ with term ‘sales’, matching ‘store name’ with ‘Store Name’, matching ‘Bangalore’ with column ‘City’, generating tuples as ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name, City’, ‘Sales Revenue, Store Name’, ‘Sales Revenue, City’; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified; the business object data sources can be searched to identify data items that satisfy the tuples; also see paragraph [0084], executing on multiple business objects data sources through the data source connection to fetch data items represented by the tuples).
As per claims 8 and 16, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claim 1 and are similarly rejected.
As per claim 13, this claim rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claim 3 and is similarly rejected.
Claims 4-5, 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaitheeswaran et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0166573 A1) in view of Atkins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,240,422 B1), further in view of KABRA et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0081435 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 1, further teach wherein determining, based on the first graph data structure by the computing hardware, that the first data source stores data of the second data type (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0007], line 14-21, Fig. 6A, 6B1-6B2, illustrates the mapping of data fields that storing targeted data in one or more business object data sources; identifying one or more columns in which the identified one or more data items are stored) but do not explicitly disclose: utilizing a machine learning model to process features of data fields of the first data source to generate a prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type.
KABRA teaches: utilizing a machine learning model to process features of data fields of the first data source to generate a prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type (paragraph [0032], using machine learning, for instance, aspects can determine which of the candidate data classes of the collection are more likely to match the data of the target column; when a particular class matches with a threshold level of confidence, further comparison could be avoided; potentially be mapped to data classes in the collection of candidate data class so that data classes in the available collection can be correlated to target dataset columns; also see paragraph [0025], the data classification system further processes and classified data by storing it to database, possibly after applying modifications, transformations, or the like based on the data classes assigned to the various columns of the received data; also see Fig. 2A-2B, paragraph [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include utilizing a machine learning model to process features of data fields of the first data source to generate a prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type into data retrieval of Vaitheeswaran.
Motivation to do so would be to include utilizing a machine learning model to process features of data fields of the first data source to generate a prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type to reduce the number of data classes to attempt to match against; when a particular class matches with a threshold level of confidence, further comparison could be avoided (KABRA, paragraph [0032], line 8-11).
Regarding claim 5, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins and KABRA teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 4, further teach wherein utilizing the machine learning model to process the features of the data fields of the first data source to generate the prediction that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type comprises: utilizing a classification neural network to generate a confidence indicator that the data fields are used for storing data of the second data type; and determining that the confidence indicator satisfies a threshold level of confidence (KABRA, paragraph [0032], using machine learning, for instance, aspects can determine which of the candidate data classes of the collection are more likely to match the data of the target column; when a particular class matches with a threshold level of confidence, further comparison could be avoided; potentially be mapped to data classes in the collection of candidate data class so that data classes in the available collection can be correlated to target dataset columns; also see paragraph [0025], the data classification system further processes and classified data by storing it to database, possibly after applying modifications, transformations, or the like based on the data classes assigned to the various columns of the received data; also see paragraph [0040], any class with a confidence level above some threshold (say 50%) in classifying columns associated with a given term may be selected for comparison to value(s) in the target column; also see Fig. 2A-2B, paragraph [0026], [0038]; noted, it is noted that one of the ordinary skill in the art would know that machine learning model comprising neural network; see FUKUMOTO et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0397598 A1)).
As per claims 14 and 15, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claims 4 and 5 respectively and are similarly rejected.
As per claims 19 and 20, these claims are rejected on grounds corresponding to the same rationales given above for rejected claims 4 and 5 respectively and are similarly rejected.
Claims 9-11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaitheeswaran et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0166573 A1) in view of Atkins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,240,422 B1), further in view of ISHERWOOD et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0357333 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 8, further teach: wherein the operations further comprise generating metadata for the first data source by: determining that the third data type is eligible to query the first data source in response to scanning a plurality of data types comprising the first data type, the second data type, and the third data type in the first data source (Vaitheeswaran, table 7, paragraph [0030], [0044], [0058], [0069], for each query term, the business object engine also identifies metadata associated with the identified one or more business object data sources by searching the multiple master tables; the search engine can identify a match for query term by identifying the type of data that the query term represented, the search engine can search index document storage and metadata that satisfies the converted query format, upon identifying columns that match the search query, the search engine can generate a query that includes the identified metadata; also see paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue}) but do not explicitly disclose: generating the metadata of the first data source to include the third data type within a set of known queryable data types for the first data source.
ISHERWOOD teaches: generating the metadata of the first data source to include the third data type within a set of known queryable data types for the first data source (paragraph [0058], the name 502 in this example is ‘doctormail’ which may be a user specified unique name for the content property, and which is a human meaningful name that can be used for a search query; also see paragraph [0057], extracting a specific metadata field or other data value from objects, index the extract data value under a user-defined name, and make that data value multi-dimensional queryable via a search query; also see paragraph [0024], the data may be indexed with added, changed, or otherwise enhanced metadata that make the data easier to find, regardless of the type of data or the storage location of data).
Vaitheeswaran and ISHERWOOD are analogous art since they are in the same field of endeavor: querying data object, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include generating the metadata of the first data source to include the third data type within a set of known queryable data types for the first data source to make data easier to find, regardless of the type of data or the storage location of the data (ISHERWOOD, paragraph [0024], line 11-12).
Regarding claim 10, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins and ISHERWOOD teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 9, further teach: wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the first data type is not eligible to query the targeted data from the first data source; and excluding the first data type from the set of known queryable data types for the first data source from the metadata (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0085]-[0086], [0098], line 10-13, validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; determining the ‘Review group’ may not have relationship with other, and consequently disregard all tuples containing ‘Review Group’, noted, tuples that are not passed validation check, which are considered “not queryable”; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified).
Regarding claim 11, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins and ISHERWOOD teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 10, further teach: wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the set of known queryable data types from the metadata of the first data source does includes a third data type (ISHERWOOD, paragraph [0058], the name 502 in this example is ‘doctormail’ which may be a user specified unique name for the content property, and which is a human meaningful name that can be used for a search query; also see paragraph [0057], extracting a specific metadata field or other data value from objects, index the extract data value under a user-defined name, and make that data value multi-dimensional queryable via a search query; also see paragraph [0024], the data may be indexed with added, changed, or otherwise enhanced metadata that make the data easier to find, regardless of the type of data or the storage location of data); and in response to determining that the third data type is eligible to query the first data source, modifying the metadata to include the third data type in the set of known queryable data types (ISHERWOOD, paragraph [0058], the name 502 in this example is ‘doctormail’ which may be a user specified unique name for the content property, and which is a human meaningful name that can be used for a search query; also see paragraph [0057], extracting a specific metadata field or other data value from objects, index the extract data value under a user-defined name, and make that data value multi-dimensional queryable via a search query; also see paragraph [0024], the data may be indexed with added, changed, or otherwise enhanced metadata that make the data easier to find, regardless of the type of data or the storage location of data).
Regarding claim 17, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 8, further teach: determining that the first data type is eligible for querying the second data source by: accessing a set of known queryable data types for the second data source from metadata of the second data source (Vaitheeswaran, table 7, paragraph [0030], [0044], [0058], [0069], for each query term, the business object engine also identifies metadata associated with the identified one or more business object data sources by searching the multiple master tables; the search engine can identify a match for query term by identifying the type of data that the query term represented, the search engine can search index document storage and metadata that satisfies the converted query format, upon identifying columns that match the search query, the search engine can generate a query that includes the identified metadata; also see paragraph [0078], [0080], [0082], [0085]-[0086], generating tuples that use for searching with various combination; validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; validating the tuples based on relationship between vertex; the validated tuples as follow: {City, Sales Revenue}, {Store Name, Sales Revenue}, {City, Store name, Sales Revenue}) but do not explicitly disclose: determining that the set of known queryable data types comprises the first data type.
ISHERWOOD teaches: determining that the set of known queryable data types comprises the first data type (paragraph [0058], the name 502 in this example is ‘doctormail’ which may be a user specified unique name for the content property, and which is a human meaningful name that can be used for a search query; also see paragraph [0057], extracting a specific metadata field or other data value from objects, index the extract data value under a user-defined name, and make that data value multi-dimensional queryable via a search query; also see paragraph [0024], the data may be indexed with added, changed, or otherwise enhanced metadata that make the data easier to find, regardless of the type of data or the storage location of data).
Vaitheeswaran and ISHERWOOD are analogous art since they are in the same field of endeavor: querying data object, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include determining that the set of known queryable data types comprises the first data type to make data easier to find, regardless of the type of data or the storage location of the data (ISHERWOOD, paragraph [0024], line 11-12).
Regarding claim 18, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins and ISHERWOOD teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 17, further teach: determining that the set of known queryable data types from the metadata of the second data source does not include the second data type; and in response to determining that the second data type is ineligible to query the second data source, modifying the metadata to exclude the second data type in the set of known queryable data types (Vaitheeswaran, paragraph [0085]-[0086], [0098], line 10-13, validating the tuples to check whether the generated tuple is valid, a valid path can exist if one of the following conditions is true- (1) if both the object belong to same relational table, (2) if object belong to two different tables and there exists a direct/indirect join relationship between the two different tables; determining the ‘Review group’ may not have relationship with other, and consequently disregard all tuples containing ‘Review Group’, noted, tuples that are not passed validation check, which are considered “not queryable”; business objects data sources that are each associated with associated with metadata at least partially represented by the identified query term can be identified).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaitheeswaran et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0166573 A1) in view of Atkins et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,240,422 B1), and ISHERWOOD et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0357333 A1), further in view of McCormick (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0057781 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Vaitheeswaran as modified by Atkins and ISHERWOOD teach all claimed limitations as set forth in rejection of claim 9, but do not explicitly disclose: wherein the operations further comprise: determining that a new field corresponding to an additional data type is added to a first graph data structure for the first data source after generation of the metadata for the first data source.
McCormick teaches: determining that a new field corresponding to an additional data type is added to a first graph data structure for the first data source after generation of the metadata for the first data source (Fig. 3, paragraph [0049]-[0050], paragraph [0072], paragraph [0035], the retrieval method may be a ‘scan’ and ‘get’; compacted multiple fields using delimiter to generate compacted metadata, for example, first name concatenated with last name using a period as delimiter; also see paragraph [0023]-[0024], paragraph [0034], paragraph [0038], line 12-15).
Vaitheeswaran and McCormick are analogous art since they are in the same field of endeavor: object data retrieval, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include determining that a new field corresponding to an additional data type is added to a first graph data structure for the first data source after generation of the metadata for the first data source to build a mapping; this mapping is used when retrieving objects from the key-value data store (McCormick, paragraph [0030], line 14-19).
Conclusion
/KEN HOANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2168