DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 26th 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2, states the following limitation “wherein the electronic display comprises a reflective electrophoretic display module based on an active matrix thin-film transistor (TFT) substrate.”. Examiner is unsure what applicant is referring to by “a reflective electrophoretic display module”. Therefore, examiner determines by broadest reasonable interpretation that “reflective electrophoretic display module” is a module in a reflective electrophoretic display (EDP). Thus, the claim will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batten et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180186309 A1 (hereinafter Batten).
Regarding claim 1, Batten teaches a digital number plate, comprising:
a support member (Metallic Backplate Para. 01550 and 0160) comprising one or more brackets (Mounting the Digital License Plate to the Vehicle Backplate, Fig. 11 and Fig. 16) positioned to be releasably secured to a vehicle; The digital license plate is mounted on a vehicle (Para. 0044) in which is it secured by various security measures. The security measures include anti-theft screws, hidden bolt heads, pry-resistant designs, interlock elements, or any other mechanical attachment to prevent removal (Para. 0154-0155).
a display enclosure(Frame Surrounding Digital License Plate Display Para. 0085 and Fig. 11) carried by the support member(Metallic Backplate Para. 01550 and 0160);
an electronic display (Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) carried by the display enclosure(Frame Surrounding Digital License Plate Display Para. 0085 and Fig. 11);
and an outer cover (Physical Protective Cover, Para. 0097) operably coupled to the display enclosure(Frame Surrounding Digital License Plate Display Para. 0085 and Fig. 11) to define a sealed enclosure surrounding the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027),
wherein, during operation, the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) is configured to display vehicle registration data (Registration Information, Para. 0028) and/or other indicia associated with the vehicle. (Fig. 1)
While Batten fails to explicitly disclose:
and wherein the outer cover further comprises a transparent portion at least partially aligned with the electronic display,
Batten teaches the protective cover can be made from plexiglass (Para. 0097). Plexiglass is known to be a transparent material. Thus, a cover made of plexiglass surrounding the digital license plate is a transparent portion at least partially aligned with the electronic display.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Batten’s Physical Protective Cover to incorporate Batten’s own teaching of a cover made from plexiglass. Since doing so would provide the benefit of protecting the display from damage (Batten et al Para. 0097) while still being able to view the display.
Regarding claim 4, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the sealed enclosure defined by the outer cover(Physical Protective Cover, Para. 0097) and the display enclosure(Frame Surrounding Digital License Plate Display Para. 0085 and Fig. 11) comprises a water-resistant (Hydrophobic Protective Coatings, Para. 0097) enclosure surrounding the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027).
Regarding claim 6, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1, further comprising a camera (Digital License Plate Camera 1812, Para. 0178, 0182-0184).
Regarding claim 7, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1, further comprising a power source (Battery, Solar Panel, Wind Generator, or Any Other Suitable Power Source Coupled to Vehicle and Display System, Para. 0030) carried by the support member, and wherein the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) is operably coupled with and powered via the power source (Para. 0030).
Regarding claim 8, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 7, further comprising a solar element (Solar Panel, Para. 0030), wherein the solar element is operably coupled with and configured to recharge the power source. (Para. 0030)
Regarding claim 9, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) is operably coupled with and powered via vehicle power (Power Source of Vehicle, Para. 0030).
Regarding claim 10, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) includes one or more color elements (Content can be Rendered in Colors, Para. 0037, 0088, 0095, and 0174) configured to cause the vehicle registration data(Registration Information, Para. 0028) and/or other indicia associated with the vehicle to be displayed in color (Para. 0174 and 0177).
Regarding claim 11, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 10 wherein the color elements(Content can be Rendered in Colors, Para. 0037, 0088, 0095, and 0174) include one or more liquid crystal display (LCD) elements (Para. 0031, 0087-0088, and 0096).
Regarding claim 12, Batten teaches a digital number plate system (Para. 0027), comprising:
a digital number plate including:
a memory (Memory Module 416 Para. 0046 and Memory Module 1206, Para. 0098) and processor (Processor 130 Para. 0027, 0031-0032 and Processor 120, Para. 0028);
an electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027);
a communication module (Communication Scheme Para. 0098 and Fig. 12) configured with wireless (Wi-Fi Module, Para. 0055 and 0099) and machine to machine protocols (Bluetooth module, Para. 0055 and 0076);
and a power supply(Battery, Solar Panel, Wind Generator, or Any Other Suitable Power Source Coupled to Vehicle and Display System, Para. 0030);
wherein the memory(Memory Module 416 Para. 0046 and Memory Module 1206, Para. 0098) stores instructions that, when executed by the processor(Processor 130 Para. 0027, 0031-0032 and Processor 120, Para. 0028), control the digital number plate to:
establish a connection with a mobile computing device (Communication Device 140, Para. 0039-0042) and a remote host server (Central Server 1204, Para. 0100 or Remote Server, Para. 0035 and 0041) via the communication module(Communication Scheme Para. 0098 and Fig. 12);
receive display data (Content, Information, and Data, Para. 0027 and 0039-00042) from the mobile computing device(Communication Device 140, Para. 0039-0042) and/or the remote host server(Central Server 1204, Para. 0100 or Remote Server, Para. 0035 and 0041); (Para. 0041)
control the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) to display an image (Content Associated with Vehicle, such as Registration Information, Para. 0028) in response to the display data(Content, Information, and Data, Para. 0027 and 0039-00042); and
(Central Server 1204, Para. 0100 or Remote Server, Para. 0035 and 0041) (Any Information Regarding Display)(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027).
While Batten fails to explicitly teach update the host server with a status of the electronic display. Batten teaches a communication scheme (Para. 0098 and Fig. 12) that communicates with a communication device 140 (Para. 0039-0042) and several different servers (Central Server 1204, Para. 0100 or Remote Server, Para. 0035 and 0041). According to paragraphs 0027 and 0041 the communication device 140 receives and updates content to be displayed on the digital licensed plate. The content can be stored in storage devices 150 that connect to remote servers. As well as in paragraph 0100 other servers like the central server 1204 contain configuration information regarding the display. Thus, the remote servers and the central server 1204 would be updated with information about the display as it is modified. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Batten’s Servers to incorporate Batten’s own teaching of Updating the Servers. Since doing so would provide the benefit of ensuring the information the servers handle/store are up to date and correct. As managing servers is essential for maintaining performance and system stability.
Regarding claim 14, Batten teaches the digital number plate system of claim 12 wherein the communication module(Communication Scheme Para. 0098 and Fig. 12) is further configured to operate via a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol (Para. 0076).
Regarding claim 15, Batten teaches the digital number plate system of claim 12, further comprising a camera(Digital License Plate Camera 1812, Para. 0178, 0182-0184).
Regarding claim 16, Batten teaches the digital number plate system of claim 12 wherein the power supply is powered via vehicle power(Power Source of Vehicle, Para. 0030).
Regarding claim 17, Batten teaches the digital number plate system of claim 12 wherein the digital number plate further includes a content moderation system (Para. 0028-0029). The content displayed regarding registration information is displayed to conform to the state vehicle code standards, which is a form of content moderation. As well as other information displayed such as advertisements and messages are regulated as they can be non-related to the user.
Regarding claim 18, Batten teaches the digital number plate system of claim 12 wherein the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) includes one or more color elements(Content can be Rendered in Colors, Para. 0037, 0088, 0095, and 0174) configured to cause the image to be displayed in color.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batten et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180186309 A1 (hereinafter Batten) in view of NPL “Flexible Displays: Substrate and TFT Technology Options and Processing Strategies” by Kalluri R. Sarma (Hereinafter Sarma)
Regarding claim 2, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the electronic display(Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027) comprises a reflective electrophoretic display (Para. 0067, 0069 and 0088) module
However, Batten fails to explicitly teach:
based on an active matrix thin-film transistor (TFT) substrate.
Batten and Kuo are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of displays such as LCDs, EPDs, and etc…
Kuo teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the electronic display (Various Displays LCD, EPD, OLED, etc... Page 2) comprises a reflective electrophoretic display module based on an active matrix thin-film transistor (TFT) substrate. TFT technologies were developed for fabricating flexible displays on glass substrates (Pages 2-3, Section Introduction). There are various other viable substrates for each display (Pages 3-11 Section: Substrate Options) such as metal foils, plastic, and polymers. TFT is a crucial component in modern displays and displays are often created with glass, acrylic, metals, plastics, and etc… Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Batten’s Display to incorporate any of Kuo’s Substrates. Since doing so would provide the benefit of utilizing standard substrates in displays. As well as TFT is a cost-effective format that reduces energy use and provides fast response times.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batten et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180186309 A1 (hereinafter Batten) in view of Butler et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20250083594 A1 (hereinafter Butler).
Regarding claim 3, Batten fail to explicitly teach the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the electronic display further includes an antiglare hard-coated display surface.
However, Butler teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the electronic display (Digital Display for Digital License Plate 1, Para. 0025-0026) further includes an antiglare hard-coated display surface (UV/IR Blocking Films on anti-Glare, Para. 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Batten’s Physical Protective Cover to incorporate Butler’s UV/IR Blocking Films. Since doing so would provide the benefit of blocking sunlight on the display and increasing the readability of the content being displayed.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batten et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180186309 A1 (hereinafter Batten) in view of Johnson et al. U.S. Patent 11836738 B1 (hereinafter Johnson).
Regarding claim 5, Batten teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the sealed enclosure defined by the outer cover(Physical Protective Cover, Para. 0097) and the display enclosure(Frame Surrounding Digital License Plate Display Para. 0085 and Fig. 11) comprises a (Digital License Plate Dynamic Display, Para. 0027).
However, Batten fails to explicitly teach a waterproof enclosure surrounding the electronic display.
Batten and Johnson are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of utilizing displays to simulate/create license plates.
Johnson teaches the digital number plate of claim 1 wherein the sealed enclosure defined by the outer cover (Waterproof Housing 11) and the display enclosure(Display Cover 12) comprises a waterproof (Col. 4 Lines 4-30) enclosure surrounding the electronic display(Electronic Visual Display Screen 13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Batten’s Physical Protective Cover to incorporate Johnson Waterproof Housing. Since doing so would provide the benefit of extending the use-life of the electronic license plate by ensuring the display is weather resistant (Johnson et al. Col. 4 Lines 23-30).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batten et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180186309 A1 (hereinafter Batten) in view of Kong et al. Chinese Patent Application CN 113093580 A (hereinafter Kong).
Regarding claim 13, Batten fails to teach the digital number plate system of claim 12 wherein the communication module is further configured to operate via a Narrow Band Internet of Things (NBIoT) protocol. Batten teaches a communication module that facilitates several wireless connectivity’s such as Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and Cellular Services (Para. 0055-0056).
Batten and Kong are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of a creating a digital number plate.
Kong teaches the digital number plate system of claim 12 wherein the communication module is further configured to operate via a Narrow Band Internet of Things (NBIoT) protocol. (Page 2, Section: Contents of the Invention Para. 3) NBIoT is a low-power wide area cellular technology designed to transmit low, infrequent, and delay-tolerant data. License plate information rarely changes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Batten’s Wireless Connectivity to incorporate Kong’s NBIoT Protocol. Since doing so would provide the benefit of increasing cost efficiency as NBIoT utilizes consumes less power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL “Active-Matrix Array Based on Thin-Film Transistors Using Emerging Materials for Application: From Lab to Industry” by Seongjae Kim and Hocheon Yoo (hereinafter Kim) teaches assessing the performance of TFTs Displays and the material needed.
/BRIANNA RENAE COCHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615