DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s response dated 8/26/26 has been accepted and entered. In response to a restriction requirement, applicant elected Group I comprising claims 1-9. Accordingly, claims 10-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Applicant notes that the election is with “general traverse”. However, the MPEP requires a specific traverse, i.e., “applicant is required to specifically point out the reason(s) on which he or she bases his or her conclusion(s) that a requirement to restrict is in error. A mere broad allegation that the requirement is in error does not comply with the requirement of 37 CFR 1.111. Thus the required provisional election (see MPEP § 818.01(b)) becomes an election without traverse if accompanied by an incomplete traversal of the requirement for restriction”. See MPEP 818. Applicant generally alleges the inventions are "sufficiently closely related” but does not provide any rationale, reason or evidence as to why this is the case. Applicant also generally alleges examination of all the claims would not pose a significant burden on the examiner, but does not provide any rationale, reason or evidence as to why this is the case.
Accordingly, the election of Group 1, claims 1-9 is elected without traverse. Furthermore,
as stated in MPEP 803, “a serious burden on the examiner may be prima facie shown by appropriate explanation of separate classification, or separate status in the art, or a different field of search”. See also MPEP 808.02. The restriction included evidence of separate classification, “ invention III requires search in G05D1/021, control of position of an aircraft where the intended control result if landing the aircraft, not required for inventions I or II; invention I requires search in B64U80/30 arrangements for data transmission on UAVs, not required for inventions II or III.” This is sufficient evidence as noted in the MPEP and Applicant has not addressed it.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
With respect to claims 1-9, the published spec. ¶ 17 “"a" and "an" are intended to include one or at least one and the singular also includes the plural unless it is obvious that it is meant otherwise”. Such an interpretation, is unclear, indefinite and contrary to the plain meaning of a singular article. For example, with respect to “a location” recited in claim 2, such an interpretation would render the claims indefinite and would be contrary to the plain ordinary meaning of the limitation. Accordingly, use of “a” and “an” in the claims is interpreted as a singular article rather than plural.
With respect to claim 8, the italicized text constitutes intended use: “the orchestration processor is further configured to land airborne mobile platforms to increase a time the mobile airborne platforms can perform a task by conserving battery or fuel”.
With respect to system claims, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114, section II. Accordingly, “[f]unctional claim language that is not limited to a specific structure covers all devices that are capable of performing the recited function”. See MPEP 2114, section IV; In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. Accordingly, recitations of functional language intended uses and results carried out by processor is taught or disclosed by a component that is capable of performing the recited functional language. See Texas Instruments, Inc. v. United States ITC, 988 F.2d 1165, 1172, 1993 U.S. App. LEXIS 4426, *15-16, 26 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1018, 1023, 93 Daily Journal DAR 8738, 11 Fed. Cir. (T) 38, 14 Int'l Trade Rep. (BNA) 2481 (“clause that merely states the result of the limitations in the claim adds nothing to the patentability or substance of the claim . . . the "whereby/to preclude" clauses of claims 12, 14 and 17 merely describe the result of arranging the components of the claims in the manner recited in the claims” (emphasis added)).
Furthermore, the limitation “to increase a time the mobile airborne platforms can perform a task by conserving battery or fuel” does not impose any further patentable limitation on an orchestration processor configured to land airborne mobile platforms because the purpose of performing the landing does not impose a structural, material, or manipulative difference on the claimed processor, mobile platform or the act of landing. See MPEP 2111.04 (“Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure . . . examples of claim language . . . that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are . . . “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses . . . The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 285 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (finding that a "wherein" clause limited a process claim where the clause gave "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1-9, the metes and bounds of claim limitations introduced with “a” or “an”, i.e., “a task” in claim 1; “a location” claim 2, etc. are unclear and indefinite in view of the specification and remaining claim language. The published specification (¶ 17) “‘a’ and ‘a’ are intended to include one or at least one and the singular also includes the plural unless it is obvious that it is meant otherwise”. Such an interpretation, is unclear, indefinite and contrary to the plain meaning of a singular article. For example, with respect to “a location” recited in claim 2, such an interpretation would render the claims indefinite and would be contrary to the plain ordinary meaning of the limitation. For the purposes of examination use of “a” and “an” in the claims is interpreted as a singular article rather than including plural. Deleting interpretations such as this from the specification which require reading terms contrary to their intended meaning would overcome the rejection.
101 organizing human activity
Disaster response case 18172373
((US-10586118-B2 OR US-10203701-B2 OR US-10078808-B1).did. AND USPT.dbnm.) OR ((US-20230409054-A1 OR US-20240304097-A1 OR US-20130065628-A1 OR US-20210176818-A1 OR US-20220253076-A1 OR US-20050267651-A1 OR US-20190051169-A1 OR US-20190101923-A1 OR US-20210312725-A1 OR US-20240044651-A1 OR US-20210256845-A1 OR US-20240046719-A1 OR US-20190025820-A1 OR US-20200346751-A1 OR US-20210158233-A1 OR US-20220157178-A1 OR US-20170123418-A1 OR US-20180174448-A1 OR US-20200121533-A1 OR US-20240241516-A1 OR US-20240403802-A1).did. AND PGPB.dbnm.)
(UAV OR (aerial OR flying) near2 (platform OR drone OR vehicle OR robot) OR drone) SAME (drop$4 OR releas$4 OR deliver$4 OR airdrop$4) near6 (payload OR suppl$4 OR medical OR package) near10 (time OR timing OR hour OR minute OR ETA OR time$5) AND (UAV OR (aerial OR flying) near2 (platform OR drone OR vehicle OR robot) OR drone) near8 (paus$4 OR hover$4 OR idl$4 OR wait$4 OR holding near2 pattern OR delay$4 OR halt$4 OR postopon$4 OR static OR stationary)
(UAV OR (aerial OR flying) near2 (platform OR drone OR vehicle OR robot) OR drone) SAME (drop$4 OR releas$4 OR deliver$4 OR airdrop$4) near6 (payload OR suppl$4 OR medical OR package) WITH (specific OR particular OR exact OR predetermined OR scheduled OR distinct OR precise OR calculated OR estimated OR schedule) near5 (time OR timing OR hour OR minute OR ETA OR time$5) AND (UAV OR (aerial OR flying) near2 (platform OR drone OR vehicle OR robot) OR drone) near8 (paus$4 OR hover$4 OR idl$4 OR wait$4 OR holding near2 pattern OR delay$4 OR halt$4 OR postopon$4 OR static OR stationary)
(UAV OR (aerial OR flying) near2 (platform OR drone OR vehicle OR robot) OR drone) SAME (drop$4 OR releas$4) near6 (payload OR deliver$4 OR suppl$4 OR medical OR package) WITH (specific OR particular OR exact OR predetermined OR scheduled OR distinct OR precise OR calculated OR estimated) near5 (time OR timing OR hour OR minute OR ETA OR time$5)
AND (target OR destination OR coordinate OR lattitude OR longitude OR area OR region OR emergency OR disaster OR accident OR rout$4 OR navigat$4 OR directions) AND (role OR responsibilit$ OR task$4 OR servic$4) AND (time OR timing OR schedul$4 OR hour OR minute OR ETA)
(H04W4/90 OR B64U2101/55 OR B64U2101/57 OR B64U2101/58 OR G08G1/087 OR G08G5/58 OR G05D1/0027 OR G05D1/104 OR G05D1/692).cpc.
(H04W4/90).cpc. AND (respon$ OR dispatch$ OR rescu$4 OR deploy$4 OR mobiliz$4 OR launch$4 OR activat$4 OR rout$4 OR navigat$4 OR disseminat$4 OR send$4) WITH (swarm OR fleet OR group OR convoy OR government OR military OR task near2 force OR squadron OR cavalcade OR caravan OR company OR team OR collaborat$4 OR group OR armada OR strike near2 force OR brigade OR battalion) near8 (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous$3 OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance OR drone OR bus OR truck OR digger OR excavator OR trackhoe OR backhoe OR crawler OR plow$4 OR dozer OR bulldozer) AND (AI OR (synthetic OR comput$4 OR computational OR artificial) near2 intelligence OR machine near2 learn$4 OR neural OR ANN OR deep near2 learn$4 OR cognit$4 near2 comput$4 OR CNN OR convolution$4 OR "ML")
(H04W4/90).cpc. AND (respon$ OR dispatch$ OR rescu$4 OR deploy$4 OR mobiliz$4 OR launch$4 OR activat$4 OR rout$4 OR navigat$4 OR disseminat$4 OR send$4) WITH (swarm OR fleet OR group OR convoy OR government OR military OR task near2 force OR squadron OR cavalcade OR caravan OR company OR team OR collaborat$4 OR group OR armada OR strike near2 force OR brigade OR battalion) near8 (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous$3 OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance OR drone OR bus OR truck OR digger OR excavator OR trackhoe OR backhoe OR crawler OR plow$4 OR dozer OR bulldozer)
AND (determin$ OR assign$3 OR dispatch$ OR direct$4 OR select$4 OR appoint$4 OR designat$ OR choos$4 OR nominat$4 OR rout$4) near6 (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance OR drone OR bus OR truck OR trackhoe OR backhoe OR crawler OR plow$4 OR dozer OR bulldozer)
(emergency OR disaster OR catastroph$4 OR accident OR calamity disaster OR flood OR earthquake OR fire OR hurricane OR tsunami OR tornado OR landslide OR mudslide OR eruption OR power ADJ grid OR storm OR blackout OR grid near2 fail$4 OR explosion OR volcan$4) SAME (respon$ OR dispatch$ OR rescu$4 OR deploy$4 OR mobiliz$4 OR launch$4 OR activat$4 OR rout$4 OR navigat$4 OR disseminat$4 OR send$4) WITH (swarm OR fleet OR group OR convoy OR government OR military OR task near2 force OR squadron OR cavalcade OR caravan OR company OR team OR collaborat$4 OR group OR armada OR strike near2 force OR brigade OR battalion) near8 (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous$3 OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance OR drone OR bus OR truck OR digger OR excavator OR trackhoe OR backhoe OR crawler OR plow$4 OR dozer OR bulldozer) AND (determin$ OR assign$3 OR dispatch$ OR direct$4 OR select$4 OR appoint$4 OR designat$ OR choos$4 OR nominat$4) near6 (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance OR drone OR bus OR truck OR trackhoe OR backhoe OR crawler OR plow$4 OR dozer OR bulldozer) WITH (task$4 OR duty OR responsibility OR errand OR action near2 item OR role OR assignment OR objective OR function OR operation OR mission OR undertaking OR order OR service OR itinerary OR agenda) AND (AI OR (synthetic OR comput$4 OR computational OR artificial) near2 intelligence OR machine near2 learn$4 OR neural OR ANN OR deep near2 learn$4 OR cognit$4 near2 comput$4 OR CNN OR convolution$4 OR "ML") WITH (formulat$ OR design$4 OR select$4 OR determin$ OR assign$3 OR dispatch$ OR direct$4 OR select$4 OR appoint$4 OR designat$ OR choos$4 OR prepar$4 OR devis$4 OR evaluat$4 OR strateg$4 OR calculat$4 OR compute OR enumerate OR assess$4 OR estimat$4 OR analyz$4 OR analysis OR plan$4 OR orchestrat$3) near10 (respon$ OR dispatch$ OR rescu$4 OR deploy$4 OR mobiliz$4 OR launch$4 OR activat$4 OR rout$4 OR navigat$4 OR disseminat$4 OR send$4 OR task$4 OR duty OR responsibility OR errand OR action near2 item OR role OR assignment OR objective OR function OR operation OR mission OR undertaking OR order OR service OR itinerary OR agenda)
(collaborat$ OR fleet OR swarm$ OR group OR (emergency OR disaster) WITH (respon$ OR dispatch$ OR rescue) WITH (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance)) AND (determin$ OR assign$3 OR dispatch$ OR direct$4 OR select$4 OR appoint$4 OR designat$) near6 (vehicle OR AV OR UAV OR autonomous OR robot OR ambulance OR truck OR bus OR machine) WITH (task$4 OR duty OR responsibility OR errand OR action near2 item OR role OR assignment ) AND (emergency OR disaster OR flood OR earthquake OR fire OR hurricane OR tsunami) SAME (vehicle OR AV OR autonomous OR UAV OR unmanned OR robot OR ambulance OR truck OR bus) WITH (navigat$4 OR rout$4 OR path$4 OR travel$4 OR logistic$4 OR traveling near2 salesman)
Sensor array detecting gas case 18714856
((US-20250028048-A1 OR US-20160131514-A1 OR US-20250354901-A1 OR US-20210140934-A1 OR US-20240151640-A1 OR US-20190376890-A1 OR US-20220082495-A1 OR US-20210247369-A1 OR US-20110122397-A1 OR US-20210190745-A1 OR US-20240361200-A1 OR US-20240210950-A1 OR US-20220034718-A1 OR US-20230314266-A1 OR US-20120092649-A1 OR US-20230160789-A1 OR US-20170003684-A1 OR US-20210382475-A1 OR US-20240028051-A1 OR US-20230274651-A1 OR US-20230213413-A1 OR US-20220170810-A1 OR US-20220268952-A1 OR US-20210255158-A1 OR US-20210055180-A1 OR US-20200182780-A1 OR US-20200182779-A1 OR US-20190204189-A1 OR US-20190011935-A1 OR US-20180188129-A1 OR US-20240110902-A1 OR US-20200334927-A1).did. AND PGPB.dbnm.) OR ((US-12066353-B2 OR US-11940817-B2 OR US-10866226-B1 OR US-8433472-B2).did. AND USPT.dbnm.)
(G01N21/3504 OR G01N2021/1793 OR G01N33/0004 OR B64U2101/30 OR G01M15/102).cpc.
lidar AND (gas OR gaseous OR plume) SAME (emission near2 (flow OR rate) OR flow?rate OR flow near2 rate OR concentration OR flux) AND (quad near2 copter OR quadcopter OR remot$4 near2 pilot$4 OR unmanned?air$4 OR UAV OR RPA OR UAS OR RPV OR drone OR (pilotless OR pilot?less OR unmanned) near3 (aerial OR vehicle OR aircraft OR airplane OR flying))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 20200166928 to Sudarsan et al. (Sud)
With respect to claim 1, Sud discloses a system, comprising:
at least one orchestration processor configured by non-transitory processor executable code to:
(i.e., FIG. 2 is a block diagram of a particular example of a hub device 102. The hub device 102 of FIG. 2 may be a stationary hub device 102A or a mobile hub device 102B of FIG. 1, and corresponding descriptions, i.e., ¶ 25)
establish a datalink with a plurality of mobile platforms;
(i.e., the stationary hub device 102A can communicate with other stationary devices (e.g., infrastructure devices 106) via wired connections and can communicate with mobile device (e.g., unmanned vehicles 104 and mobile hub devices 102B) via wireless connections, and corresponding descriptions, i.e., ¶ 26)
determine a set of capabilities for each of the plurality of mobile platforms;
(i.e., The inventory data 230 can also include information indicative of capabilities of each of the unmanned vehicles 104, ¶ 30)
define a task within the capabilities of at least one mobile platform in the plurality of mobile platforms; and
(i.e., vehicle selection model 222 is executable by the processor 210 to evaluate the inventory data 230, task assignment data 232, the map data 234, and the location data 214, to assign one or more unmanned vehicles 104 of the plurality of unmanned vehicles 104 to perform a task of a task assignment, ¶ 34)
instruct the corresponding mobile platform to perform the task; and
(i.e., assign one or more unmanned vehicles 104 of the plurality of unmanned vehicles 104 to perform a task of a task assignment, ¶ 34)
a plurality of mobile platforms, each comprising:
one or more sensors; and
at least one platform processor configured by non-transitory processor executable code to:
send a set of platform capabilities to the at least one orchestration processor; and
(i.e., T vehicle selection model 222 is executable by the processor 210 to evaluate the inventory data 230, task assignment data 232, the map data 234, and the location data 214, to assign one or more unmanned vehicles 104 of the plurality of unmanned vehicles 104 to perform a task of a task assignment, ¶ 34)
receive the task from the orchestration processor.
(i.e., assign one or more unmanned vehicles 104 of the plurality of unmanned vehicles 104 to perform a task of a task assignment, ¶ 34)
With respect to claim 2, Sud discloses each at least one platform processor is further configured to send sensor output data representative of a location of the corresponding mobile platform to the orchestration processor.
(i.e., The location data 214 can also include peer location data indicating the locations of peer devices (e.g., peer hub devices, infrastructure devices, unmanned vehicles, or a combination thereof), ¶ 28)
With respect to claim 3, Sud discloses the data representative of a location comprises a location relative to a ground control device.
(i.e., the location data 214 can be determined by one or more location sensors 216, such as a global positioning system receiver, a local positioning system sensor, a dead-reckoning sensor, etc. If the hub device 102 is a stationary hub device 102A, the location data 214 can be preprogrammed in the memory 212 or can be determined by one or more location sensors 216. The location data 214 can also include peer location data indicating the locations of peer devices (e.g., peer hub devices, infrastructure devices, unmanned vehicles, or a combination thereof), ¶ 28)
With respect to claim 4, Sud discloses the plurality of mobile platforms includes uncrewed surface, air, and subsurface platforms.
(¶ 42-43 FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a particular example of an unmanned vehicle 104. The unmanned vehicle 104 includes or corresponds to an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an unmanned combat aerial vehicle (UCAV), an unmanned ground vehicle (UGV), an unmanned water vehicle (UWV), or an unmanned hybrid vehicle (UHV) that can operate in more than one domain, such as in air and in water; 51-52)
(¶ 15 unmanned aerial vehicles, unmanned land vehicles, unmanned water vehicles, unmanned submersible vehicles)
With respect to claim 5, Sud discloses the orchestration processor is further configured to:
individually monitor, select, and task one or more behaviors of one or more mobile platforms in the plurality of mobile platforms based on the one or more sensors associated with a corresponding mobile platform.
(i.e., the vehicle selection model 222 can select an unmanned vehicle 104 that has equipment capable of performing the task and that has sufficient fuel or battery charge, and that has particular other characteristics (e.g., flight range, off-road tires, etc.) to accomplish the task. In some implementations, the vehicle selection model 222 can also select the unmanned vehicle 104 based on other information, such as the peer location data, ¶¶ 30-34; 26-28 the location data 214 can be determined by one or more location sensors 216, such as a global positioning system receiver, a local positioning system sensor, a dead-reckoning sensor, etc. If the hub device 102 is a stationary hub device 102A, the location data 214 can be preprogrammed in the memory 212 or can be determined by one or more location sensors 216. The location data 214 can also includes peer devise, i.e., unmanned vehicles)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sud in view of US 20250028048 to Pomerantz et al. (Pom)
With respect to claim 6, Sud discloses the orchestration processor is further configured to task two or more heterogeneous mobile platforms in the plurality of mobile platforms to achieve a common objective
(¶ 15 “unmanned vehicle 104 is used as a generic term to include unmanned aerial vehicles, unmanned land vehicles, unmanned water vehicles, unmanned submersible vehicles, or combinations thereof.”)
(i.e., After the vehicle selection model 222 selects the one or more unmanned vehicles 104 to perform the task, the hub device 102 assigns the one or more unmanned vehicles 104 to the task by storing information (e.g., in the inventory data 230) indicating that the one or more unmanned vehicles 104 are occupied, instructing the one or more unmanned vehicles 104, and deploying the one or more unmanned vehicles 104, ¶ 34. The cost-benefit model 228 is configured to consider a priority assigned to the task (e.g., how important is successful accomplishment of this specific task to accomplishment of an overall goal or objective), ¶ 35; 30-34)
However, Sud fails to explicitly disclose the term “sensor array”. Pom, from the same field of endeavor, discloses
task two or more heterogeneous mobile platforms in the plurality of mobile platforms to establish a mobile geographically dispersed sensor array1.
(FIG. 1 mobile geographically dispersed sensor array includes a land vehicle 14 with sensor 16 coordinating with UAVs 12a-12c with sensors 16 and corresponding description; FIG. 8 plurality of vehicles used as mobile dispersed sensor array and corresponding description, i.e., ¶ 59-61 would depart from one location, fly over one site in accordance with a first travel path 60, emit the laser down from the vehicle 11 to the site, measure the laser light returning from the site to the single photon detector (e.g., light detector unit 16) to determine the methane emissions, then the vehicle 11 may fly to the next site and execute a second travel path 60. After measuring one or multiple sites, the vehicle 11 would land. The vehicle 11 could fly an optimized route, as described in PCT Application published under No. WO 2020/018867. This system might be of interest if the vehicle 11 is operated beyond a visual line of sight, which would reduce the cost of piloting the vehicle 11. With that approach, the system would be less expensive than a traditional LiDAR system mounted on a manned aircraft.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement the sensor array disclosed by Pom in the system of Sud in order to maximize information collection efficiency by using the strengths of variant vehicle types in a coordinated manner, i.e., ground vehicles may have a longer power life for surveying and a variant angle of detection; UAVs may be more maneuverable in a greater degree of directions and have an additional variant angle of detection (Pom, ¶¶ 61 “ a plurality of ground robot(s) that move using wheels, tracks, or legs so called Unmanned Ground Vehicles (UGVs), such as the land vehicles 14. This has the advantage of reduced safety and regulatory concerns and reduced power consumption and thus longer potential lifetimes as opposed to flying objects, such as aerial vehicles 12”; 59)
With respect to claim 7, Sud discloses wherein the orchestration processor is further configured to aggregate defined tasks into aggregate behaviors.
(abstract, dispatch coordinates identifying a dispatch location from which to dispatch, from the mobile hub device, one or more unmanned vehicles to perform a task of the task assignment.; ¶¶ 3, 23-24; 31, 34-37, 48, 51-52)
(i.e., operating in the coordination role, can receive status information 332 from peer devices of the group, generate aggregate status information for the group based on the status information 332, and transmit the aggregate status information 332 to a remote command device. When the coordination and control device is operating in the coordination role, the peer devices of the group can operate autonomously and cooperatively to perform a task, ¶ 55).
However, Sud fails to explicitly disclose the term “sensor array”2. Pom, from the same field of endeavor, discloses aggregating defined tasks into defined behaviors to create a sensor array (FIG. 1 mobile geographically dispersed sensor array includes a land vehicle 14 with sensor 16 coordinating with UAVs 12a-12c with sensors 16 and corresponding description; FIG. 8 plurality of vehicles used as mobile dispersed sensor array and corresponding description, i.e., ¶ 59-61 would depart from one location, fly over one site in accordance with a first travel path 60, emit the laser down from the vehicle 11 to the site, measure the laser light returning from the site to the single photon detector (e.g., light detector unit 16) to determine the methane emissions, then the vehicle 11 may fly to the next site and execute a second travel path 60. After measuring one or multiple sites, the vehicle 11 would land. The vehicle 11 could fly an optimized route, as described in PCT Application published under No. WO 2020/018867. This system might be of interest if the vehicle 11 is operated beyond a visual line of sight, which would reduce the cost of piloting the vehicle 11. With that approach, the system would be less expensive than a traditional LiDAR system mounted on a manned aircraft.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to implement the sensor array disclosed by Pom in the system of Sud in order to maximize information collection efficiency by using the strengths of variant vehicle types in a coordinated manner, i.e., ground vehicles may have a longer power life for surveying and a variant angle of detection; UAVs may be more maneuverable in a greater degree of directions and have an additional variant angle of detection (Pom, ¶¶ 61 “ a plurality of ground robot(s) that move using wheels, tracks, or legs so called Unmanned Ground Vehicles (UGVs), such as the land vehicles 14. This has the advantage of reduced safety and regulatory concerns and reduced power consumption and thus longer potential lifetimes as opposed to flying objects, such as aerial vehicles 12”; 59)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sud in view of Pom and further in view of
With respect to claim 8, Sud in view of Pom fail to explicitly disclose the orchestration processor is further configured to land airborne mobile platforms to increase a time the mobile airborne platforms can perform a task by conserving battery or fuel.
Hor, from the same field of endeavor, discloses an orchestration processor is further configured to land airborne mobile platforms to increase a time the mobile airborne platforms can perform a task by conserving battery or fuel.
(i.e., ¶ 153 If a manual UAV deployment is selected at decision block 1311, then the emergency data manager 100 will establish a UAV control link to the emergency network entity GUI 143 as shown at operation block 1313. The emergency data manager 100 will then interact with the UAV dispatch controller in operation block 1315 and will dispatch a UAV. In operation block 1317, the dispatched UAV will provide data to the emergency network entity GUI 143. The method of operation then terminates as shown. The emergency network entity operator may terminate operation of the drone by, for example, selecting a return button on the GUI 143 which will cause the dispatched UAV to auto navigate back to its home base. The emergency data manager UAV dispatch controller also constantly monitors the battery status of the dispatched UAV. If the emergency data manager determines that the battery power remaining is becoming insufficient to return the UAV to its home base, the UAV will automatically be returned such that it does not become stranded due to low battery power. In the case of deployment of a medical payload, the medical payload may be left the emergency location. Additionally, in such a low battery condition, and alternative drone may be identified by the emergency data manager and deployed to the emergency location such that it arrives prior to the departure of the UAV having the low battery issue).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date to land airborne mobile platforms to increase a time the mobile airborne platforms can perform a task by conserving battery or fuel to prevent UAVs from being stranded (Hor, ¶ 153).
With respect to claim 9, Sud in view of Pom in view of Hor disclose the orchestration processor is further configured to:
periodically reposition the mobile airborne platforms to reposition and reorient at least one corresponding sensor
Claim 1. A system, comprising:
at least one orchestration processor configured by non-transitory processor executable code to:
establish a datalink with a plurality of mobile platforms;
determine a set of capabilities for each of the plurality of mobile platforms;
define a task within the capabilities of at least one mobile platform in the plurality of mobile platforms; and
instruct the corresponding mobile platform to perform the task; and
a plurality of mobile platforms, each comprising:
one or more sensors; and
at least one platform processor configured by non-transitory processor executable code to:
send a set of platform capabilities to the at least one orchestration processor; and
receive the task from the orchestration processor.
Claim 2. The system of Claim 1, wherein each at least one platform processor is further configured to send sensor output data representative of a location of the corresponding mobile platform to the orchestration processor.
Claim 3. The system of Claim 2, wherein the data representative of a location comprises a location relative to a ground control device.
Claim 4. The system of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of mobile platforms includes uncrewed surface, air, and subsurface platforms.
Claim 5. The system of Claim 1, wherein the orchestration processor is further configured to:
individually monitor, select, and task one or more behaviors of one or more mobile platforms in the plurality of mobile platforms based on the one or more sensors associated with a corresponding mobile platform.
Claim 6. The system of Claim 5, wherein the orchestration processor is further configured to:
task two or more heterogeneous mobile platforms in the plurality of mobile platforms to establish a mobile geographically dispersed sensor array.
Claim 7. The system of Claim 1, wherein the orchestration processor is further configured to:
aggregate defined tasks into aggregate behaviors to create a sensor array.
Claim 8. The system of Claim 7, wherein the orchestration processor is further configured to:
land airborne mobile platforms to increase a time the mobile airborne platforms can perform a task by conserving battery or fuel.
Claim 9. The system of Claim 8, wherein the orchestration processor is further configured to:
periodically reposition the mobile airborne platforms to reposition and reorient at least one corresponding sensor.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
1 Under a BRI an array includes an arrangement of things, i.e., definition of array, dictionary.com, noun “order or arrangement, as of troops drawn up for battle”. Available at: ARRAY Definition & Meaning | Dictionary.com
2 Under a BRI an array includes an arrangement of things, i.e., definition of array, dictionary.com, noun “order or arrangement, as of troops drawn up for battle”. Available at: ARRAY Definition & Meaning | Dictionary.com