DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,634,792, claims 1-20 are rejected over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,655, and claims 1-20 are rejected over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,985. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of overlapping compositions as outlined in the table below:
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/406746 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of overlapping compositions as outlined in the table below:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Component
Instant (wt.%)
'792 Patent (wt.%)
'655 Patent (wt.%)
'985 Patent (wt.%)
'746 App (wt.%)
Al
1.0-3.5
1.0-3.5
1.0-3.5
1.5-4.5
1.0-3.5
Ti
0.0-3.6
0.0-3.6
0.0-<3.0
1.1-3.4
0.0-3.6
Nb
0.0-6.0
0.0-6.0
0.0-6.0
0.0-4.0
0.0-6.0
Ta
0.0-4.9
0.0-4.9
0.0-4.9
0.0-5.2
0.0-4.9
W
0.0-5.4
0.0-5.4
0.0-5.4
0.9-6.6
0.0-5.4
Mo
0.0-4.0
0.0-4.0
0.0-4.0
0.0-2.9
0.0-4.0
Co
8.9-30.0
8.9-30.0
8.9-30.0
0.0-24.0
8.9-30.0
Cr
10.8-20.6
10.8-20.6
15.0-20.6
16.0-17.3
10.8-20.6
C
0.02-0.35
0.02-0.35
0.02-0.35
0.02-0.15
0.02-0.35
B
0.001-0.2
0.001-0.2
0.001-0.2
0.001-0.015
0.001-0.2
Zr
0.001-0.01
0.001-0.01
0.001-0.5
0.0-0.1
0.001-0.5
Re
0.0-5.0
0.0-5.0
0.0-5.0
0.0-3.0
0.0-5.0
Ru
0.0-8.5
0.0-8.5
0.0-8.5
0.0-2.0
0.0-8.5
Ir
0.0-4.6
0.0-4.6
0.0-4.6
0.0-3.0
0.0-4.6
V
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
Pd
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
Pt
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
0.0-1.0
Si
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
Y
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
La
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
Ce
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
0.0-0.1
S
0.0-0.003
0.0-0.003
0.0-0.003
0.0-0.003
0.0-0.003
Mn
0.0-0.25
0.0-0.25
0.0-0.25
0.0-0.25
0.0-0.25
Fe
0.0-6.0
0.0-6.0
0.0-6.0
0.0-5.0
0.0-6.0
Cu
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
Hf
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-0.5
0.0-1.0
0.0-0.5
Ni
Balance
Balance
Balance
Balance
Balance
The instant claims and those of US 11,634,792, US 12,258,655, US 12,319,985, and application 19/406746 recite overlapping ranges and the courts have held that where ranges overlap or lie inside a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
In addition to the overlapping compositions as outlined above, instant claim 11 recites a γ’ content expected to be present in the compositions of the ‘792 patent, the ‘655 patent, the ‘985 patent, and the ‘746 application as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 20 recite a sum of Mo and W being up to 10.8% and this renders the claims indefinite as the upper bound of Mo is 4.0 wt.% and W is 5.4 wt.% for a total upper limit of 9.4 wt.%. It is unclear how the total of Mo and W can exceed 9.4 wt.% and therefore the scope of the claim is unclear. This may be overcome by amending the sum of Mo and W to an upper limit of 9.4 wt.%.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation a Cr content of 15.0% or more where “or more” is an unbounded upper limit, and the claim also recites a Cr content of 10.8-20.6% which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Similar language is in claims 16-20 regarding the content of Ta, Nb, Ti, W, and Cr. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. This rejection may be overcome by amending the claimed Ta, Nb, Ti, W, and Cr contents to the upper limits set forth in claim 1 (e.g. claim 7 may be amended to 15.0 wt.% or more and 20.6 wt.% or less).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snider (GB2252563).
Considering claim 1, Snider teaches a nickel-based alloy for gas turbines (abstract). The composition of the alloy is set forth in the table below (p.4 last paragraph - p.5 continuing paragraph).
Component
Instant (wt.%)
Snider (wt.%)
Al
1.0-3.5
0.5-1.5
Ti
0.0-3.6
2.0-3.5
Nb
0.0-6.0
3.5-6.0
Ta
0.0-4.9
1.0-2.0
W
0.0-5.4
1.0-3.0
Mo
0.0-4.0
3.0-6.0
Co
8.9-30.0
8.0-12
Cr
10.8-20.6
14-18
C
0.02-0.35
0.02-0.15
B
0.001-0.2
0.002-0.05
Zr
0.001-0.01
0.01-0.1
Ni
Balance
Balance
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the instantly claimed alloy, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Snider as Snider teaches a Ni alloy with composition overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, Snider teaches a W content of 1.0-3.0 wt.% and a Mo content of 3.0-6.0 wt.% and total amount W+Mo ranges from 1.0-9.0 wt.% overlapping the first claimed expression. Snider also teaches an Al content of 0.5-1.5%, a Ti content of 2.0-3.5%, a Nb content of 3.5-6.0%, and a Ta content of 1.0-2.0% and this encompasses an Al content of 1.0, a Ti content of 2.0, a Nb content of 3.5 wt.%, and a Ta content of 1.0% this corresponds to [1.0Al+0.5(2.0Ti)+1.5(0.3(3.5Nb)+0.15(1.0Ta))] = 3.8 overlapping the second claimed expression.
Considering claim 2, Snider teaches in the above table an Al content of 0.5-1.5%, a Ti content of 2.0-3.5%, a Nb content of 3.5-6.0%, and a Ta content of 1.0-2.0% and this encompasses [0.5(2.0Ti)+(0.3(3.5Nb)+0.15(1.0Ta)]/1.5Al = ~1.46 falling with the instantly claimed expression. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 3, Snider teaches in the above table a W content of 1.0-3.0 wt.% and a Mo content of 3.0-6.0 wt.% and total amount W+Mo ranging from 1.0-9.0 wt.% overlapping the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 4, Snider teaches in the table above an Al 0.5-1.5 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Snider teaches in the above table a W content of 1.0-3.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 6, Snider teaches in the above table a Mo content of 3.0-6.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 10, Snider teaches in the above table a Nb content of 3.5-6.0%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 11, Snider teaches a γ’ volume fraction of 25-40% (abstract; Claim 4). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 12, Snider is silent regarding the presence of Rh, Ru, and Ir and teaches a W content of 1.0-3.0 wt.% in the above table. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 13, Snider is silent regarding the presence of Rh, Ru, and Ir and these are considered to be absent (i.e. ~zero percent).
Considering claim 14, Snider teaches an Al content of 0.5-1.5%, a Ti content of 2.0-3.5%, a Nb content of 3.5-6.0%, and a Ta content of 1.0-2.0% and this encompasses an Al content of 1.0,% a Ti content of 2.0%, a Nb content of 3.5 wt.%, and a Ta content of 1.0% this corresponds to [1.0Al+0.5(2.0Ti)+0.3(3.5Nb)+0.15(1.0Ta)] = 3.2 overlapping the claimed expression. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 15, Snider teaches in the above table a Mo content of 3.0-6.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 16, Snider teaches in the above table a Ta content of 1.0-2.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 17, Snider teaches in the above table a Nb content of 3.5-6.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 18, Snider teaches in the above table a Ti content of 2.0-3.05 wt%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 19, Snider teaches in the above table a W content of 1.0-3.0 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 20, Snider teaches in the above table Snider a Cr content of 14-18 wt.% and a total amount W+Mo ranging from 1.0-9.0 wt.% overlapping the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson (US 5,476,555).
Considering claim 1, Erickson teaches nickel-cobalt based alloys (abstract) having increased thermal stability and microstructural stability at elevated temperatures (Column 1 lines 12-15) including the composition outlined in the table below (Column 4 lines 11-28).
Component
Instant (wt.%)
Erickson (wt.%)
Al
1.0-3.5
0-5
Ti
0.0-3.6
0-5
Nb
0.0-6.0
0-2.5
Ta
0.0-4.9
0-6
W
0.0-5.4
0-6
Mo
0.0-4.0
0-6
Co
8.9-30.0
20-35
Cr
10.8-20.6
12-19
C
0.02-0.35
0.002-0.07
B
0.001-0.2
0-0.04
Zr
0.001-0.01
0-0.06
Ni
Balance
Balance
V
0.0-0.5
0-2.5
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the instantly claimed alloy, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Erickson as Erickson teaches a Ni alloy with composition overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Further, Erickson teaches a W content of 0-6 wt.% and a Mo content of 0-6 wt.% and total amount W+Mo ranges from 0-12 wt.% overlapping the first claimed expression. Erickson also teaches an Al content of 0-5%, a Ti content of 0-5%, a Nb content of 0-2.5%, and a Ta content of 0-6% and these ranges fall within and overlap the second claimed expression.
Considering claim 2, Erickson teaches an Al content of 0-5%, a Ti content of 0-5%, a Nb content of 0-2.5%, and a Ta content of 0-6% as outlined in the table above and these ranges fall within and overlap the claimed expression. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 3, Erickson teaches a W content of 0-6 wt.% and a Mo content of 0-6 wt.% and total amount W+Mo ranges from 0-12 wt.% as outlined in the table above.
Considering claim 4, Erickson teaches an Al content of 0-5 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Erickson teaches a W content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 6, Erickson teaches a Mo content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 7, Erickson teaches Ti content 0-5 wt.% and a Cr content of 12-19% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 8, Erickson teaches a Co content of 20-35 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 9, Erickson teaches a Zr content of 0-0.6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 10, Erickson teaches a Nb content of 0-2.5 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 12, Erickson teaches a W content of 0-6 wt.% and is silent regarding the presence of Rh, Ru, and Ir.
Considering claim 13, Erickson is silent regarding the presence of Rh, Ru, and Ir and is considered absent these materials (e.g. ~zero).
Considering claim 14¸ Erickson teaches an Al content of 0-5%, a Ti content of 0-5%, a Nb content of 0-2.5%, and a Ta content of 0-6% as outlined in the table above and these ranges fall within and overlap the claimed expression. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 15, Erickson teaches a Mo content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 16, Erickson teaches a Ta content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 17, Erickson teaches a Nb content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 18, Erickson teaches a Ti content of 0-5 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 19, Erickson teaches a W content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 20, Erickson teaches a Cr content of 12-19%, a W content of 0-6 wt.%, and a Mo content of 0-6 wt.% as outlined in the table above where a total amount W+Mo ranges from 0-12 wt.%. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784