DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dropping device” in claim 14 (interpreted to be a dropping chute).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, “moving the bottom plate away from each other” is indefinite because it is unclear how one singular bottom plate can move “away from each other”, as the claim has not specified that there are multiple separate parts of the bottom plate. For examination purposes, “moving the bottom plate away from each other” is being interpreted to mean “moving the bottom plate away.”
Regarding claim 15, “the frequency of dropping the object” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shim (US 2017/0029152).
Regarding claim 14, Shim discloses a filling method comprising:
receiving an object (Fig. 2, object is pills) (Para. 0024-0025) to be filled into a container (Fig. 2, item 1);
converting a falling posture (Fig. 2) (Para. 0024-0025) of the object from a first posture (Fig. 2, first posture is pills on the transfer plate 222) (Para. 0024-0025) to a second posture (Fig. 2, second posture is pills on relay unit 42 waiting to be discharged into pouch 1) by using a dropping device (Fig. 2, item 30, 32) (Para. 0024-0025);
moving the object converted into the second posture into a filling trough (Fig. 2, item 42, 423, 422), wherein a bottom plate (Fig. 2, item 422) of the filling trough is movable (Para. 0029-0031) and extends downward (Para. 0029-0031) at a predetermined inclination angle (Fig. 2, plate 422 is inclined to block outlet of hopper 421) with respect to a horizontal plane along a moving direction of the object (Fig. 2) (Para. 0029-0031); and
in response to receiving a signal (Fig. 2) (Para. 0037, signal is received by controller 33 from photo-coupler 32) indicating that the container reaches below the filling trough (Para. 0037), moving the bottom plate (Para. 0037) away from each other (Para. 0037) to form an opening at a bottom side of the filling trough (Fig. 2) (Para. 0037), so as to cause the object to fall into the container (Para. 0037).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, or fairly suggest a dropping device comprising: a feeding port provided on an upper side of the dropping device and configured to receive an object; a first side wall extending from an edge of the feeding port in a direction deviated from a vertical direction by a first angle; a second side wall disposed opposite to the first side wall and extending from the edge of the feeding port in a direction deviated from the vertical direction by a second angle, the second angle being greater than the first angle; and a discharging port provided on a lower side of the dropping device and configured to discharge the object from the dropping device.
The prior art of record that comes closest to teaching these limitations is Nagayama (JP-2010189071-A). Nagayama teaches a dropping device comprising: a feeding port provided on an upper side of the dropping device and configured to receive an object; a first side wall extending from an edge of the feeding port in a direction deviated from a vertical direction by a first angle; a second side wall disposed opposite to the first side wall and extending from the edge of the feeding port in a direction deviated from the vertical direction by a second angle; and a discharging port provided on a lower side of the dropping device and configured to discharge the object from the dropping device. However, Nagayama fails to teach the second angle being greater than the first angle. Additionally, it would require an unreasonable combination of references that would not suffice for a realistic case of obviousness. Moreover, Applicant has provided criticality for the limitation of the second angle being greater than the first angle in order to adjust the posture of the object falling into the dropping chute by the inclined second side wall, thus preventing jamming and blocking of the object by the inclined first side wall (see for example, Para. 0067 of Applicant’s specification).
Regarding claims 2-13, claims 2-13 are allowed because they depend from allowed claim 1.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to disclose, teach, or fairly suggest a filling method comprising: receiving an object to be filled into a container; converting a falling posture of the object from a first posture to a second posture by using a dropping device; moving the object converted into the second posture into a filling trough, wherein a bottom plate of the filling trough is movable and extends downward at a predetermined inclination angle with respect to a horizontal plane along a moving direction of the object; and in response to receiving a signal indicating that the container reaches below the filling trough, moving the bottom plate away from each other to form an opening at a bottom side of the filling trough, so as to cause the object to fall into the container; wherein the dropping device comprises a movable plate, the movable plate constituting a portion of a second side wall of the dropping device close to a discharging port of the dropping device, wherein converting the falling posture of the object from the first posture to the second posture by using the dropping device comprises: moving the movable plate at a frequency greater than the frequency of dropping the object.
The prior art of record that comes closest to teaching these limitations is Shim (US 2017/0029152). Shim teaches a filling method comprising: receiving an object to be filled into a container; converting a falling posture of the object from a first posture to a second posture by using a dropping device; moving the object converted into the second posture into a filling trough, wherein a bottom plate of the filling trough is movable and extends downward at a predetermined inclination angle with respect to a horizontal plane along a moving direction of the object; and in response to receiving a signal indicating that the container reaches below the filling trough, moving the bottom plate away from each other to form an opening at a bottom side of the filling trough, so as to cause the object to fall into the container. However, Shim fails to teach wherein the dropping device comprises a movable plate, the movable plate constituting a portion of a second side wall of the dropping device close to a discharging port of the dropping device, wherein converting the falling posture of the object from the first posture to the second posture by using the dropping device comprises: moving the movable plate at a frequency greater than the frequency of dropping the object. Additionally, it would require an unreasonable combination of references that would not suffice for a realistic case of obviousness. Moreover, Applicant has provided criticality for the limitation of the frequency of movement of the movable plate being greater than the frequency of dropping the object in order to eliminate object jamming in the dropping chute due to the frequent movement of the movable plate (see for example, Para. 0033 of Applicant’s specification).
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731