Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ware et al (US20170286017) hereinafter Ware.
As to claim 16, Ware discloses a computing system comprising: a memory comprising a plurality of dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) banks capable of concurrent access (Fig. 29, and memory 803, and para. 0106); and one or more deterministic processor devices configured to execute instructions in a program order determined in advance by a compiler, wherein the one or more deterministic processor devices are coupled to the near-compute memory (Fig. 29, and controller 801, para. 0106).
As to claim 17, Ware discloses the computing system, wherein the plurality of DRAM banks share a global address space (Fig. 29, and para. 0107, where all memory controls is within this memory space).
As to claim 18, Ware discloses the computing system, wherein the one or more deterministic processor devices comprise a plurality of deterministic processor devices, and wherein each respective processor device of the plurality of processor devices is configured to access each DRAM bank of the plurality of DRAM banks (Fig. 29, and para. 0106).
As to claim 19, Ware discloses the computing system, wherein the one or more deterministic processor devices comprise one or more of: one or more field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs); and one or more application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs) configured for machine-learned inference operations (Fig. 27, and paras. 0104 – 0107 describes the machine learning function, and the silicon embodiment is captured in para. 0112).
As to claim 20, Ware discloses the computing system, further comprising: one or more row buffers configured to store full-row retrieved data obtained via full-row data retrieval from the memory (Fig. 2, and para. 0035); an done or more switching devices configured to route retrieved data from the one or more row buffers to one or more functional units of the one or more deterministic processors, wherein routing the retrieved data comprises reshaping the retrieved data (Fig. 2, where command determines the routing path, para. 0036).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Independent claims 1, 14, and their dependents thereof are allowed because the approved terminal disclaimer overcomes the double patent rejection with regards to US12260118.
Conclusion
/C.A.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184