DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 26, 27, 29, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mackin (EP3061465). The reference to Mackin teaches structure as claimed including an automatic tray table disinfection system comprising: a light system configured to emit a light that illuminates a surface of a tray table in a stored position, wherein the light has a set of characteristics that disinfects the surface of the tray table. (at least pg 005733999, at least fig 2). It is noted that a light produces heat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin (EP3061465). The reference to Mackin teaches structure substantially as claimed, as discussed above. A plurality of light sources with different light shapes is a matter of design parameters and well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and a reasonably predictable result. Further, the method would have been obvious in view of the structures.
Claim(s) 3 , 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being).unpatentable over Mackin (EP3061465) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Deschamps et al (WO2025012573 ). The reference to Mackin teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above the only difference is that the light is not specifically stated as emitted near a grazing incidence. However, the reference to Deschamps et al recognizes the use of such to be old (“ The internal and external surfaces of each tube 250, 251, 252 are made of a material having absorption capacities of at least incident UVC radiation, even at grazing incidence, on these internal and external surfaces”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Mackin with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a light emitted near a grazing incidence, as taught by Deschamps since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed.
Claim(s)14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being).unpatentable over Mackin (EP3061465) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Davis (20240424157). The reference to Mackin teaches structure substantially as claimed as discussed above the only difference is that the tray is not transparent. However, the reference to Davise (see at least abstract)teaches the use of providing a transparent surface be old. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of Mackin with a reasonable expectation of success, to include a transparent tray, as taught by Davis since such are conventional alternative structures used in the same intended purpose and environment and would have been a reasonably predictable result, thereby providing structure as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited teach structure similar to applicant’s including tray sanitation structures.
/JOSE V CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637