Priority
The priority documents cannot be found. If Applicant determines this is an error, please provide date(s) submitted and number of pages.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. Pub. No. US 2024/0038138 A1 [Kim].
1. Kim discloses a display driver [Fig. 1A] comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a display command set (DCS) from outside [310 & ¶¶ 71-72 receiving interface 310 may receive the video stream DPAC and the clock CLKm output from the host];
a control part configured to generate a DCS in response to input display information [Fig. 1A, Data Controller generates DATA and DE’]; and
a DCS selector [340] configured to select between the DCS received from the outside [DATA & ¶ 72 where the data DATA and the clock CLKm are transmitted to the data controller] and the DCS generated from the control part [DE’].
2. Kim discloses wherein the control part includes a micro control unit (MCU) [Fig. 1A, 330 & 343].
5. Kim discloses wherein while a first DCS level is being set by the DCS received from the outside, a second DCS level is set by the DCS generated from the control part [see Fig. 1A generally where multiple iterations set a number of levels].
6. Kim discloses wherein the DCS from the control part is generated during an active interval during which pixel data of input images are received through the receiver [¶ 94 necessary in active-matrix as disclosed].
10. Kim discloses a plurality of function modules configured to perform different functions by receiving the DCS which is set by the DCS selector [Fig. 1A, 330 & 343].
11. Kim discloses the control part includes a memory storing a plurality of sets of firmware having different DCSs, and the DCS selector is configured to deliver the DCS read from the memory by the control part to one or more of the function modules [¶¶ 63-65].
13. Kim discloses a display device [Fig. 1A] comprising:
a display panel including a plurality of data lines, a plurality of gate lines intersecting the data lines, and a plurality of pixels arranged for displaying input images [¶¶ 112-113];
an application processor (AP) configured to output a display command set (DCS) [Fig. 1A, 200 & 300 and ¶ 120, for instance], pixel data of input images, and timing signals [by means of 300]; and
a display driver IC (Integrated Circuit) configured to receive the DCS, the pixel data of the input images, and the timing signals from the AP, and to supply data voltages converted from the pixel data to the data lines [Data Controller & 340], wherein the display driver IC includes: a receiver configured to receive a DCS from outside [Data Controller];
a micro control unit (MCU) configured to generate a DCS in response to input display information [340]; and
a DCS selector configured to select between the DCS received from the outside and the DCS generated from the MCU [343].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
3. The examiner takes official notice that it is notoriously old and well known to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have display information include one or more of a frame frequency of input images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim as required by this claim, since such a modification improves response of image display.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lin et al. Pub. No. US 2016/0093267 A1 [Lin].
16. Kim discloses a display device [Fig. 1A] comprising:
a display panel including a plurality of data lines, a plurality of gate lines intersecting the data lines, and a plurality of pixels arranged for displaying input images [¶¶ 112-113];
a data driver configured to convert received pixel data into data voltages and to supply the data voltages to the data lines [Fig. 1A, 200 & 300];
a timing controller configured to receive the pixel data of the input images and timing signals, and to transmit the pixel data to the data driver [Data Controller & 340]; and
a receiver configured to receive the pixel data of the input images, timing signals, external command codes, and display information from a host system [310];
a micro control unit (MCU) configured to generate internal command codes in response to the display information [340]; and
a selector configured to select between the external command codes and the internal command codes [330].
Kim is silent on a power supply configured to output driving voltages to the display panel, the data driver, and the timing controller. However, Lin teaches display device with power supply as required [¶ 19, for instance]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim with Lin, since such a modification is necessary to stable driving.
18. Kim in view of Lin teaches wherein the MCU is configured to output the internal command codes during an active interval during which the pixel data of the input images are received through the receiver [¶ 94 necessary in active-matrix as taught in modified invention].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-9, 12, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
4. The register setting limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify the base without destroying it.
7. The predetermined limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify the base without destroying it.
8. The porch interval limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify the base without destroying it.
9. The flag signal limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify the base without destroying it.
12. The defect limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify the base without destroying it.
14. The algorithm limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record. Furthermore, it would not be obvious to modify the base without destroying it.
15. See reason for claim 9.
17. See reason for claim 14.
20. See reason for claim 9.
Conclusion
/Gustavo Polo/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622