DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo (US 2021/0005129).
In regard to claim 1, Kondo teaches a driver (element 100) configured to drive a liquid crystal panel (element 300 and paragraph 29), the driver comprising: a first terminal to an n-th terminal (SSEG1 and 2) electrically coupled to segment electrodes of the liquid crystal panel (ESEG1 and 2); and a first segment driving circuit to an n-th segment driving circuit configured to output a static-driving or duty-driving drive signal to the first terminal to the n-th terminal (paragraph 32), wherein the first segment driving circuit to the n-th segment driving circuit are each configured to output the static-driving drive signal when the static driving is set, and output the duty-driving drive signal when the duty driving is set (figs. 5, 6, and paragraph 78. Kondo shows each segment being driving by different duty ratios ranging from 0 to 100. Paragraph 58 shows the second segment electrode can also be driven at any duty ratio. A duty ratio of 100% is a static driving signal. Either segment electrode can be driven with a static signal (100%) or a duty driving signal).
In regard to claim 2, Kondo teaches a data supplying circuit configured to supply each of the segment driving circuits with display data (element 500 and paragraph 46), and selection data based on which the static driving or the duty driving is selected (paragraph 46, instruction data).
In regard to claim 3, Kondo teaches wherein the segment driving circuits are each configured to output the static-driving drive signal when the static driving is selected based on the selection data, and output the duty-driving drive signal when the duty driving is selected based on the selection data (paragraph 46, Kondo teaches the instruction data is used to select the duty ratio. When the duty ratio is 100% static driving is selected).
In regard to claim 5, Kondo teaches wherein the segment driving circuits are each configured to output the static-driving drive signal in synchronization with a frame signal for static driving when the static driving is selected, and the duty-driving drive signal in synchronization with a frame signal for duty driving when the duty driving is selected (see fig. 3, the signal is in synchronization with selection period (frame period as defined in paragraph 33 of Kondo) The static driving (100% duty ratio) and duty-driving both start at the beginning of the selection period).
in regard to claim 10, Kondo teaches wherein the first terminal to the n-th terminal are arranged along a side of the driver (fig. 2, it’s inherent the terminals of a device are arranged along at least one side).
In regard to claim 11, Kondo teaches an electro-optical apparatus comprising: the driver according to claim 1; and the liquid crystal panel (fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: In regard to claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the selection data set at an s-th bit and the duty or static driving set at the t-th to a u-th bit.
In regard to claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the separate static driving and duty driving circuits.
In regard to claims 7-9, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious a common driving circuit for static driving and a common driving circuit for duty-driving.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621