DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 2-21 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4-10, 12-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12/258,040. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims comprise substantially similar scope, comprising all pending claim limitations, thereby anticipating the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 8-10, 11, and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murashkin et al. (US 2020/0377105) in view of Weng (US 2023/0394823).
Regarding claim 2:
Murashkin teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (memory 130) that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving sensor data associated with a physical environment, the physical environment comprising an object (see at least ¶0066);
determining, based at least in part on a reference graph and the sensor data, current scene context data associated with the object (receiving sensor data, see at least ¶0036, Fig. 8 S802), wherein:
the reference graph comprises a node associated with a feature vector (grid representing the area based on a set of feature vectors, see at least ¶0036, ¶0153-0175, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, S808), and
the current scene context data is generated using a machine-learned model and the feature vector environment (velocity mask indicative of a velocity of object, set of dynamic objects in the environment see at least ¶0020, 0036, Fig. 8, S810, S812);
determining, based at least in part on the current scene context data and the reference graph, future scene context data associated with the object (predicting future location and velocity of dynamic objects, see at least ¶0019, ¶0032-0036);
associating the current scene context data and the future scene context data (context data, including current and future positions and velocities are associated with particular objects, and therefore with each other); and
controlling an autonomous vehicle based at least in part on the future scene context data (determining control procedure, see at least ¶0020, 0036, Fig. 8, S816).
Murashkin is silent as to using an attention-based machine learning model.
Weng teaches a system and method of trajectory prediction for an autonomous vehicle, including utilizing a n attention-based machine learning model for predicting trajectory of objects in an environment (see at least ¶0061-0064).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the system and method of controlling an autonomous vehicle based on a machine learning model predicting trajectories as taught by Murashkin with the technique of utilizing an attention-based machine learning model for predicting trajectories as taught by Weng in order to provide the expected result of an efficient model for trajectory prediction by focusing on relevant details over extraneous data.
Regarding claim 3:
Murashkin teaches the limitations as in claim 2 above.
Weng further teaches wherein the object is the autonomous vehicle (see at least ¶0060).
Regarding claim 5:
Murashkin further teaches determining, based at least in part on the sensor data, state data associated with the object (occupancy mask, indicative of presence of object);;
determining the current scene context data further based at least in part on the state data environment (velocity mask indicative of a velocity of object, set of dynamic objects in the environment see at least ¶0020, 0036, Fig. 8, S810, S812);
determining, based at least in part on the current scene context data, future state data (predicting future location and velocity of dynamic objects, see at least ¶0019, ¶0032-0036); and
determining the future scene context data based at least in part on the future state data and the reference graph (predicting future location and velocity of dynamic objects, see at least ¶0019, ¶0032-0036).
Regarding claim 6:
Murashkin further teaches wherein determining the future scene context data further comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the current scene context data, a subset of the reference graph comprising two or more nodes of the reference graph (generating a tensor including a grid representing the area based on a set of feature vectors, see at least ¶0036, ¶0153-0175, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, S808, occupancy mask, indicative of presence of object); and
determining the future scene context data based at least in part on feature vectors associated with individual ones of the two or more nodes (corrected tensor representation based on vehicle movement, see at least ¶0021-0025).
Regarding claim 8:
Murashkin further teaches wherein the two or more nodes represent a discrete portion of the physical environment (see at least Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9:
Murashkin further teaches wherein determining the future scene context data further comprises:
determining, based at least in part on the current scene context data and a route of the autonomous vehicle, a future position of the object relative to the physical environment (see at least ¶0033-0036);
determining, based at least in part on the future position, a subset of the reference graph comprising two or more nodes of the reference graph (see at least ¶0033-0038); and
determining the future scene context data based at least in part on an individual feature vector associated with individual ones of the two or more nodes (see at least ¶0033-0038).
Regarding claims 10, 11, 13-21, the combination of Murashkin and Weng teaches a system and method as above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619