DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 11/08/2025. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-15 & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karczewicz et al. (US 20240414339, hereinafter Karczewicz) in view of Coban et al. (US 20190387259, hereinafter Coban).
Regarding Claim 1, Karczewicz discloses a computer-implemented method for encoding video data, the method comprising:
generating a vector of transform coefficients of prediction residues that are associated with a block of source video data ([0022], a video encoder performs a transform (e.g., discrete cosine transform (DCT)) on the residual values to generate coefficient values);
computing a block step size scaling value ([0076], FIG. 7, Coefficients in states 0 and 1 use the Q0 (even integer multiples of step size) quantizer. Coefficients in states 2 and 3 use Q1 (odd integer multiples of step size) quantizer. That is, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q0 (e.g., even integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 0 or 1. Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q1 (e.g., odd integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 2 or 3);
computing a first quantizer step size based on the block step size scaling value; computing a second quantizer step size based on the block step size scaling value ([0074] FIG. 6, using two scalar quantizers in quantization level mapping 600: first quantizer Q0 maps the transform coefficient levels, also called quantization levels, to even integer multiples of the quantization step size Δ. The second quantizer Q1 maps the transform coefficient levels to odd integer multiples of quantization step size Δ or to zero; [0076], FIG. 7, Coefficients in states 0 and 1 use the Q0 (even integer multiples of step size) quantizer. Coefficients in states 2 and 3 use Q1 (odd integer multiples of step size) quantizer; [0088] FIG. 8, two scalar quantizers the first quantizer Q0′ and the second quantizer Q1′);
performing one or more trellis coded quantization operations on the vector of transform coefficients using the first quantizer step size and the second quantizer step size to generate a vector of quantization indices ([0072] using quantization offset scheme for dependent quantization, such as Trellis Coded Quantization (TCQ) to determine quantization offsets; [0089] use separate quantization offsets or inverse-quantization offsets (e.g., offset values) for state driven two quantizers used in TCQ instead of using one common one for both quantizers. Additionally, in some examples, luma and chroma components may use separate offsets for respective quantization); and
performing one or more entropy coding operations on the vector of quantization indices to generate an encoded version of the block of source video data ([0065], video encoder scans the transform coefficients, producing a one-dimensional vector from the two-dimensional matrix including the quantized transform coefficients and encodes the one-dimensional vector, e.g., according to context-adaptive binary arithmetic coding (CABAC)).
Karczewicz does not explicitly disclose computing the block step size scaling value based on contextual metadata.
Coban teaches computing the block step size scaling value based on contextual metadata ([0115] Trellis Coded Quantization (TCQ) using a significance map (or greater than 1 or 2 flags) using a parity of a partial set of syntax elements, deriving the state machine based on a parity of the number of nonzero coefficients in a neighborhood of coefficient that is being coded; [0120] TCQ using a significance map to determine contexts for context encoding values of syntax elements, such as significant coefficient flags, greater than 1 flags, greater than 2 flags, or the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of step size scaling value based on contextual metadata as taught by Coban ([0120]) into the encoding & decoding system of Karczewicz in order to enable achieving switching between context sets by changing the parity of the level of the previous coefficients so as to minimize residual differential (RD) cost and improve a computation efficiency of a video encoder and/or a video decoder (Coban, [0173]).
Regarding Claim 2, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Karczewicz discloses wherein a reconstruction value for a first quantization index included in the vector of quantization indices comprises an integer multiple of either the first quantizer step size or the second quantizer step size ([0074] FIG. 6, using two scalar quantizers in quantization level mapping 600: first quantizer Q0 maps the transform coefficient levels, also called quantization levels, to even integer multiples of the quantization step size Δ. The second quantizer Q1 maps the transform coefficient levels to odd integer multiples of quantization step size Δ or to zero; [0088] FIG. 8, two scalar quantizers used: the first quantizer Q0′ and the second quantizer Q1′).
Regarding Claim 3, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Karczewicz discloses wherein the first quantizer step size is further computed based on a first scalar quantization step size ([0076], FIG. 7, Coefficients in states 0 and 1 use the Q0 (even integer multiples of step size) quantizer. Coefficients in states 2 and 3 use Q1 (odd integer multiples of step size) quantizer. That is, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q0 (e.g., even integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 0 or 1. Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q1 (e.g., odd integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 2 or 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Karczewicz discloses wherein the second quantizer step size is further computed based on a second scalar quantization step size ([0076], FIG. 7, Coefficients in states 0 and 1 use the Q0 (even integer multiples of step size) quantizer. Coefficients in states 2 and 3 use Q1 (odd integer multiples of step size) quantizer. That is, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q0 (e.g., even integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 0 or 1. Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q1 (e.g., odd integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 2 or 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Coban discloses further comprising selecting a default step size scaling value included in the contextual metadata based on a step size scaling granularity ([0115] Trellis Coded Quantization (TCQ) using a significance map (or greater than 1 or 2 flags) using a parity of a partial set of syntax elements, deriving the state machine based on a parity of the number of nonzero coefficients in a neighborhood of coefficient that is being coded; [0120] TCQ using a significance map to determine contexts for context encoding values of syntax elements, such as significant coefficient flags, greater than 1 flags, greater than 2 flags, or the like). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, Karczewicz discloses wherein the block step size scaling value is further computed based on the default step size scaling value ([0076], FIG. 7, Coefficients in states 0 and 1 use the Q0 (even integer multiples of step size) quantizer. Coefficients in states 2 and 3 use Q1 (odd integer multiples of step size) quantizer. That is, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q0 (e.g., even integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 0 or 1. Video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may quantize or inverse-quantize, as appliable, coefficients using quantizer Q1 (e.g., odd integer multiples of step size Δ) if the state of state machine 700 is 2 or 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, Coban discloses wherein the contextual metadata includes at least one of a coding plane type, a frame type, a slice type, a position within a prediction structure, a block type, a size type, one or more transform coefficient energy levels, a scalar quantization step size, or a transform coefficient position within a transform block ([0115] Trellis Coded Quantization (TCQ) using a significance map (or greater than 1 or 2 flags) using a parity of a partial set of syntax elements, deriving the state machine based on a parity of the number of nonzero coefficients in a neighborhood of coefficient that is being coded; [0120] TCQ using a significance map to determine contexts for context encoding values of syntax elements, such as significant coefficient flags, greater than 1 flags, greater than 2 flags, or the like). The same reason or rational of obviousness motivation applied as used above in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 11-15 & 17-19, computer-readable media claims 11-15 & 17-19 of using the corresponding method claimed in claims1-3, 5, and 8-10, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 20, computer system claim 20 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Claims 4, 6-7 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karczewicz et al. (US 20240414339, hereinafter Karczewicz) in view of Coban et al. (US 20190387259, hereinafter Coban) and Chen et al. (US 20210400276, hereinafter Chen)
Regarding Claim 4, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first scalar quantization step size comprises a scalar quantization AC quantizer step size.
Chen teaches wherein the first scalar quantization step size comprises a scalar quantization AC quantizer step size ([0071] At least one embodiment can include deactivating dependent scalar quantization for transform coefficients located in the high frequency regions, wherein the value of QStateTransTable might be set based on the position of the sub-block, which can also be called “coefficient group (CG)”. Then, one can apply a variant such as the following: [0072] only activate dependent scalar quantization for the first sub-block, which contains the DC level; or [0073] only activate dependent scalar quantization for the first sub-block and one or more additional sub-blocks located in the top-left of the coding block, which contain the DC level and low frequency coefficients. The number of sub-blocks in which dependent scalar quantization is applied (e.g., referred to hereinafter as a parameter or value named “DSQSwitchPoint”) can be one predefined value, or a value DSQSwitchPoint, which depends on a factor such as the size of the coding block (width and height)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization AC as taught by Chen ([0072]) into the encoding & decoding system of Karczewicz & Coban in order to save encoding complexity, in particular with computation of an approximated distortion based on the prediction or the prediction residual signal (Chen, [0067]).
Regarding Claim 6, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second scalar quantization step size comprises a scalar quantization DC quantizer step size.
Chen teaches wherein the second scalar quantization step size comprises a scalar quantization DC quantizer step size ([0071] At least one embodiment can include deactivating dependent scalar quantization for transform coefficients located in the high frequency regions, wherein the value of QStateTransTable might be set based on the position of the sub-block, which can also be called “coefficient group (CG)”. Then, one can apply a variant such as the following: [0072] only activate dependent scalar quantization for the first sub-block, which contains the DC level; or [0073] only activate dependent scalar quantization for the first sub-block and one or more additional sub-blocks located in the top-left of the coding block, which contain the DC level and low frequency coefficients. The number of sub-blocks in which dependent scalar quantization is applied (e.g., referred to hereinafter as a parameter or value named “DSQSwitchPoint”) can be one predefined value, or a value DSQSwitchPoint, which depends on a factor such as the size of the coding block (width and height)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization AC as taught by Chen ([0072]) into the encoding & decoding system of Karczewicz & Coban in order to save encoding complexity, in particular with computation of an approximated distortion based on the prediction or the prediction residual signal (Chen, [0067]).
Regarding Claim 7, Karczewicz in view of Coban discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization AC quantizer step size, and the second quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization DC quantizer step size.
Chen teaches wherein the first quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization AC quantizer step size, and the second quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization DC quantizer step size ([0071] At least one embodiment can include deactivating dependent scalar quantization for transform coefficients located in the high frequency regions, wherein the value of QStateTransTable might be set based on the position of the sub-block, which can also be called “coefficient group (CG)”. Then, one can apply a variant such as the following: [0072] only activate dependent scalar quantization for the first sub-block, which contains the DC level; or [0073] only activate dependent scalar quantization for the first sub-block and one or more additional sub-blocks located in the top-left of the coding block, which contain the DC level and low frequency coefficients. The number of sub-blocks in which dependent scalar quantization is applied (e.g., referred to hereinafter as a parameter or value named “DSQSwitchPoint”) can be one predefined value, or a value DSQSwitchPoint, which depends on a factor such as the size of the coding block (width and height)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of quantizer step size comprises a trellis coded quantization AC as taught by Chen ([0072]) into the encoding & decoding system of Karczewicz & Coban in order to save encoding complexity, in particular with computation of an approximated distortion based on the prediction or the prediction residual signal (Chen, [0067]).
Regarding Claim 16, computer-readable media claim 16 of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 7, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487